AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 7
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 7
Reviews Accepted: 7
Reviews Rejected: 0
7 reviews
Sort by:
Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by YakforXmas, 19 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

High adventure

Trekking from Dunai through lower and upper Dolpo to Johnsom. This is a fabulous but demanding trek past the beautiful Lake Phoksundo and over 6 x 5,000+ passes. Absolutely stunning scenery and challenging walking which was exactly what we hoped for. We were extremely well looked after.

Trekking from Dunai through lower and upper Dolpo to Johnsom. This is a fabulous but demanding trek past the beautiful Lake Phoksundo and over 6 x 5,000+ passes. Absolutely stunning scenery and challenging walking which was exactly what we hoped for. We were extremely well looked after.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was very well organised and the staff knowledgeable, professional and fun. I highly recommend them

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by Nick, 29 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Nepal Himalayan trek in Upper Dolpo region

This was a wonderful 30 day trek in a remote area of Nepal, along a section of the great himalayan trail. We were a group of ten, seven of whom are friends from New Zealand who have previously trekked together in Nepal, while the other three were from the UK. There were 25 days of walking, averaging 8 hours per day, mostly at altitudes over 4,000 metres and crossing six passes over 5,000 metres. This is a remote and quite arid region, with ...

This was a wonderful 30 day trek in a remote area of Nepal, along a section of the great himalayan trail. We were a group of ten, seven of whom are friends from New Zealand who have previously trekked together in Nepal, while the other three were from the UK. There were 25 days of walking, averaging 8 hours per day, mostly at altitudes over 4,000 metres and crossing six passes over 5,000 metres. This is a remote and quite arid region, with endless spectacular vistas, and rich with Tibetan culture. It was superbly organised by The Mountain Company, in partnership with their Kathamandu agent: www.themountaincompany.co.uk

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is based in the UK with a partner in Kathamandu. They are experienced mountain trekking operators, and we have previously trekked with them up to the base of Mt Kachenjunga in the east Nepalese Himalaya.

Reviewer's images:
Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by Henry , 15 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A magical hidden kingdom.

An incomparable and profound journey into isolation and stunning beauty. A highly challenging trek into Upper Dolpo that denmanded blood, sweat and tears.

An incomparable and profound journey into isolation and stunning beauty. A highly challenging trek into Upper Dolpo that denmanded blood, sweat and tears.

Rating for tour operator:

First class. Clearly a company that delivers what it promises and deals fairly, squarely, honestly and with efficiency with any problems that arise through exemplary leadership. Roland Hunter remains as personable and committed as ever to his clients and company. Almas, Chandra Rai and Jo are highly professional managers and accomplished grass roots troubleshooters!

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by MartinX, 12 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A different world - remote and beautiful mountain scenery

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom trek in a seldom visited part of Nepal close to the China/Tibet border. A 25 day trek camping near remote villages in astonishing scenery and seeing a very different way of life.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom trek in a seldom visited part of Nepal close to the China/Tibet border. A 25 day trek camping near remote villages in astonishing scenery and seeing a very different way of life.

Rating for tour operator:

Their pre-trip information was excellent-both accurate and detailed. All my advance enquiries were answered fully and promptly. The trek itself was very well organised and every effort was made to ensure our group (10 in number) got the maximum enjoyment from the trip (in sometimes very difficult conditions both in terms of remoteness and climate).

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by Paul C, 26 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Scenery, Culture, Wildlife and History. Upper Dolpo has it all

Recently completed a 4 week trek with The Mountain Company in the Upper Dolpo region of Nepal, it was challenging but immensely rewarding to see such a rich tapestry of culture, landscapes and wildlife. I highly recommend this trek. The route takes in six x five thousand metre passes and you get the chance to stay at Phoksundo Lake and Shey Gompa. The area is full of Tibetan influence. The stunning views of Upper Dolpo will stay with me for ...

Recently completed a 4 week trek with The Mountain Company in the Upper Dolpo region of Nepal, it was challenging but immensely rewarding to see such a rich tapestry of culture, landscapes and wildlife. I highly recommend this trek. The route takes in six x five thousand metre passes and you get the chance to stay at Phoksundo Lake and Shey Gompa. The area is full of Tibetan influence. The stunning views of Upper Dolpo will stay with me for a long time. We saw Tibetan Wolf, Jackal, lots of Blue Sheep and Marmots and more than 40 species of birds including regular Lammergeier and Griffon Vulture.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company are a small British based tour operator who specialise in Himalaya treks and importantly for me, they genuinely care about their Sherpa guides, kitchen and porter staff. They plan their treks in great detail and plan rest days at strategic points to ensure that everyone has the best chance of completing the trek. The quality and experience of their group leaders and Sirdhars is second to none. This was my 5th trek with The Mountain Company which speaks for itself!

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by Pod51, 9 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Upper Dolpo, Nepal

This was an amazing trek in the remote region of Upper Dolpo, trekking through an area strongly influenced with Tibetan culture. The scenery is spectacular trekking through beautiful gorges - never far from a pounding river, staying alongside wonderful villages e.g. Ringmo, Shey and Tinje and spending time alongside side the turquoise blue lake of Phoksumdo. There is challenge too ... regularly crossing spectacular passes with mountain vistas...

This was an amazing trek in the remote region of Upper Dolpo, trekking through an area strongly influenced with Tibetan culture. The scenery is spectacular trekking through beautiful gorges - never far from a pounding river, staying alongside wonderful villages e.g. Ringmo, Shey and Tinje and spending time alongside side the turquoise blue lake of Phoksumdo. There is challenge too ... regularly crossing spectacular passes with mountain vistas. The schedule is well planned with additional days to acclimatise, plenty of good food to provide us with the energy to complete the trek and enjoy the area.

Rating for tour operator:

I have regularly trekked with The Mountain Company, the itineraries are very well planned, the treks are extremely well led both with Western Leadership and local Sirdar and Guides. This trek in particular there was an excellent relationship and engagement between all the crew and trekkers. It's great to see that as much care is taken regarding the health and well being of the crew on the trek as the clients. The trek leaders have access to high quality weather forecasts and satellite communication. Very well managed trek.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by CB, 8 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Dolpo, Nepal : May 2017

Fabulous trek through remote region of north-west Nepal.

Fabulous trek through remote region of north-west Nepal.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company organised everything brilliantly!