AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 16
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Laurie, 26 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

This was the number one item on my lifelong bucket list and it surpassed all expectations.

My holiday was an Everest Base Camp 14 day trek at the end of November 2019. My friend and I signed up for The Mountain Company’s Luxury Everest Base Camp trek. The weather was perfect as was all the organisation. The extreme cold at night, the inevitable effects of high altitude, and the steepness of some of the climbs made reaching our goal amazingly rewarding. This was an absolutely outstanding holiday.

My holiday was an Everest Base Camp 14 day trek at the end of November 2019. My friend and I signed up for The Mountain Company’s Luxury Everest Base Camp trek. The weather was perfect as was all the organisation. The extreme cold at night, the inevitable effects of high altitude, and the steepness of some of the climbs made reaching our goal amazingly rewarding. This was an absolutely outstanding holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

The planning, preparation and attention to detail was first class. The trek ran like clockwork and everyone involved from the Mountain Company, from the Guide and Porter to the team in Kathmandu and in the UK were all fantastic and so professional. . The route had been extremely well thought through and included 3 acclimatisation days to ensure the effects of altitude sickness were minimised. A brilliant holiday thanks to a brilliant company. Thank you .

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Rich, 24 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Luxury Everest base camp trek: the holiday of a lifetime

Our trip to Everest base camp was the holiday of a lifetime – except that now we can't wait to go back to the Himalayas. Spending time in the mountains we've read so much about was incredible, and we met wonderful people throughout our trip. We were very comfortable in the luxury lodges – and everyone was so hospitable and welcoming.

Our trip to Everest base camp was the holiday of a lifetime – except that now we can't wait to go back to the Himalayas. Spending time in the mountains we've read so much about was incredible, and we met wonderful people throughout our trip. We were very comfortable in the luxury lodges – and everyone was so hospitable and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

Superb! Flawless arrangements throughout and everyone at The Mountain Company was generous with knowledge and advice.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Base Camp Trekker, 19 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Holiday of a lifetime - trek to Everest base camp

We did The Mountain Company, Luxury Everest base camp trip. The scenery was tremendous and the route through the Kumbhu Valley was extremely interesting and varied and the local people very friendly. It was very well planned and organised by The Mountain Company. The itinerary allowed 3 - 4 days for acclimatisation, with really interesting side trips to Thame and Amadablam base camp, we didn't experience any altitude sickness. Hiking uphill ...

We did The Mountain Company, Luxury Everest base camp trip. The scenery was tremendous and the route through the Kumbhu Valley was extremely interesting and varied and the local people very friendly. It was very well planned and organised by The Mountain Company. The itinerary allowed 3 - 4 days for acclimatisation, with really interesting side trips to Thame and Amadablam base camp, we didn't experience any altitude sickness. Hiking uphill was, however, very tough at altitude. The pre trip information was very informative. The accommodation was the best available, the food was good and the beds comfortable, but it was cold in the bedrooms (warm in bed with the hot water bottle provided). We went from 28th Oct to 14th Nov 2019, the weather was excellent and the trail wasn't very busy. I could recommend this trip to intrepid travellers who like hiking and don't mind doing without some home comforts - it is Nepal and everything is carried up the valley by porters, yaks or mules, electricity might be unreliable and hot water unavailable especially at the higher elevations. It was fabulous experience, I'm so glad we went.

Rating for tour operator:

We felt well looked after. The main point of contact with the company was the trekking guide who was friendly and helpful and inspired great confidence. All arrangements went very smoothly.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by R&S, 20 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trek to Everest base camp

Walking into Everest base camp has been something we’ve wanted to do for many years and we couldn’t have had a better experience than the trek we took with The Mountain Company.

Walking into Everest base camp has been something we’ve wanted to do for many years and we couldn’t have had a better experience than the trek we took with The Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator:

We have nothing but praise for The Mountain Company. We received all the information we needed before booking, and the organisation of our trip from arrival in Nepal to departure after a successful trek was superb. We benefited from the knowledge of, and passion for, the Himalayas of our guide, and it was a pleasure to spend time with him and our porter, while the advice and support of managing director Roland Hunter allowed us to make the very most of our experience.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Paul , 15 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A superbly organised holiday to Everest Base Camp (EBC) which perfectly satisfied the lifelong ambitions of three ageing Fogies!

A fourteen consecutive day luxury trek in Nepal from Lukla to EBC and back to Lukla. The fourteen days included three acclimatisation days. The Mountain Company provided two guides, each of whom were professionally fantastic at their jobs and kept us moving and safe over the fortnight, and lovely guys to boot. They also provided two porters, also great at their jobs. The pre-tour info, answering of questions/queries, communications, accommodation, ...

A fourteen consecutive day luxury trek in Nepal from Lukla to EBC and back to Lukla. The fourteen days included three acclimatisation days. The Mountain Company provided two guides, each of whom were professionally fantastic at their jobs and kept us moving and safe over the fortnight, and lovely guys to boot. They also provided two porters, also great at their jobs. The pre-tour info, answering of questions/queries, communications, accommodation, itinerary, were all faultless in our view.

Rating for tour operator:

See answer to question just above. In summary I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending The Mountain Company.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Tommy, 22 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trekking expedition to Everest Base Camp

The ‘holiday’ experience consisted of trekking through majestic Nepal with its stunning landscape, culture and people. The trip culminated with a visit to EBC at 5300m and to a Everest View point at 5643m where there was stunning views of Everest Nuptse Lhotse Lhotse Shah and the Khumbu icefall and glacier. We then had to walk out back to Lukla then take a plane back to Katmandu. We spent a couple of days in Katmandu either end of the visit...

The ‘holiday’ experience consisted of trekking through majestic Nepal with its stunning landscape, culture and people. The trip culminated with a visit to EBC at 5300m and to a Everest View point at 5643m where there was stunning views of Everest Nuptse Lhotse Lhotse Shah and the Khumbu icefall and glacier. We then had to walk out back to Lukla then take a plane back to Katmandu. We spent a couple of days in Katmandu either end of the visit. The whole expedition was excellent and was even above expectations from the group. As three friends we will saviour the memories. The guides from the company were excellent and became our new friends at the end of the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

The company was very organised, information and website were excellent. Due to the arduous nature of the ‘holiday’ we were given careful instructions on the do’s and don’t’s particularly associated with the physicality of the trip and health aspects. The schedule and acclimatization phase was meticulously planned with considerations of individual needs. Health and welfare were monitored at all times. We had a personal pre-expedition briefing and also a review at the end of the visit. Guides were knowledgeable resourceful opening doors into the beautiful culture and lovely Nepalese people. As a group we came up with several words to describe the experience, Tough; challenging; Awe-inspiring; Emotional in many ways; Friendship old and new; cultural; strong; Team; spiritual.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by P.M., 31 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trek to Everest Base Camp

This trip was an amazing adventure from start to finish. It's something I had wanted to do for a long time and it certainly did not disappoint!

This trip was an amazing adventure from start to finish. It's something I had wanted to do for a long time and it certainly did not disappoint!

Rating for tour operator:

I was delighted with the service from this tour operator all the way through from my initial enquiry to the trip itself. The attention to detail and response times to questions were excellent. The itinerary for the trip appealed more to me than what competitors were offering and I liked the smaller group sizes with excellent guide to trekker ratio. I was very well looked after!

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Laughing Buddha, 31 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Unrelenting undulations through the Himalayan Mountains

Wonderful 14 days trek from Lukla to Everest Base Camp, taking in Namche Bazaar, Thame, Ama Dablam Base Camp, EBC and of course Kala Pattar. Great Lodges, food stops and it goes without saying - viewnery.

Wonderful 14 days trek from Lukla to Everest Base Camp, taking in Namche Bazaar, Thame, Ama Dablam Base Camp, EBC and of course Kala Pattar. Great Lodges, food stops and it goes without saying - viewnery.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company nailed the acclimatisation itinerary with plenty of days to get the body in tune and make the key destinations of Everest and Ama Dablam based camps a pleasure as well as the climbs of Nangkartshang and Kala Pattar. Our guides were superb.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Mark R, 26 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

It was the trek of a lifetime - to and from Everest Basee Camp - extraordinary!!!! And this was thanks to The Mountain Company.

It was a 19 day trip, starting(1/4/18) and finishing in Kathmandu, focused on a 14 day trek to and from Everest Base Camp. You fly to Lukla a little airport 30 mins from Kathmandu. The trek is through landscape that seems other-worldly but the increasing altitude (EBC is 5300m) and more basic facilities makes it a significant physical and resilience stretch. It is one of the most exhilarating and rewarding things I have ever done in a stunning ...

It was a 19 day trip, starting(1/4/18) and finishing in Kathmandu, focused on a 14 day trek to and from Everest Base Camp. You fly to Lukla a little airport 30 mins from Kathmandu. The trek is through landscape that seems other-worldly but the increasing altitude (EBC is 5300m) and more basic facilities makes it a significant physical and resilience stretch. It is one of the most exhilarating and rewarding things I have ever done in a stunning part of the world. The trip had been put together as a ‘luxury’ trek. In that part of the world where remoteness dominates ‘luxury’ is a relative concept but much of the lower accommodation was great and every effort was made to find the best higher lodges - albeit they were not great.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company operate out of London and Kathmandu and was founded and is led by a successful Everest climber - Roland. He and his team did everything in their power to organise a trip that have you the best chance possible to succeed despite the altitude and to make the trip as comfortable as possible. Roland met us in Kathmandu before and after the trek to brief and debrief us and that attention to detail and quality of service was continued by his team, most notably our Sherpa guide. I find it hard to imagine that any other company could do a better job and would unreservedly recommend this to others.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Chris H, 23 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

A trek of a lifetime to Everest Base Camp

Our amazing trek through the Himalayas was very well organised by Mountain Company. Plenty of contact before the trip, with detailed requirements with regard to fitness, health & equipment. The trip itself was smoothly run, , our guides were excellent & a joy to spend time with. The pace was carefully managed to reflect altitude & we were reviewed medically daily, which I thought was very thorough. We had a few minor issues with accommodations, ...

Our amazing trek through the Himalayas was very well organised by Mountain Company. Plenty of contact before the trip, with detailed requirements with regard to fitness, health & equipment. The trip itself was smoothly run, , our guides were excellent & a joy to spend time with. The pace was carefully managed to reflect altitude & we were reviewed medically daily, which I thought was very thorough. We had a few minor issues with accommodations, which were quickly resolved to our satisfaction & really shows how Mountain Company care for their guests. The whole experience was physically & mentally challenging, but we wouldn't have missed it for the world. Can't recommend Mountain Company highly enough.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Company are a quality tour operator, I can't recommend them highly enough for a trek to EBC.