AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

Everest Base Camp in Nepal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Everest Base Camp in Nepal

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 17
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
Everest Base Camp in Nepal by The Rennies, 17 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exhausting but Exhilarating!

It is only now we are back home and wrapped up in the minutiae of everyday life that I can fully appreciate what my husband Mark and I experienced during our 14-day trek to Everest Base Camp with The Mountain Company. I look back at photographs of us smiling and pointing up at Everest in the distance and can hardly believe that is me all togged up in a down jacket and woolly hat. The things my eyes have seen and the paths my tired legs have ...

It is only now we are back home and wrapped up in the minutiae of everyday life that I can fully appreciate what my husband Mark and I experienced during our 14-day trek to Everest Base Camp with The Mountain Company. I look back at photographs of us smiling and pointing up at Everest in the distance and can hardly believe that is me all togged up in a down jacket and woolly hat. The things my eyes have seen and the paths my tired legs have followed will stay with me for the rest of my life. And all the while, we were buoyed along by Khadka, our guide, who was part teacher, part doctor, and part hilarious little brother! We stayed smiling (most of the time), even through the toughest ‘ups’ and the steepest ‘downs’. We made it to Base Camp and up Kala Patar, we even survived the suspension bridges, and have returned home with a passion for the Himalaya and deep gratitude to The Mountain Company for making our trip possible.

Rating for tour operator:

We felt supported by The Mountain Company at all times, both during the booking process and also once we were we in Kathmandu and then on the trek itself. One of the reasons we chose this operator was that Roland Hunter, the Managing Director, visits the area regularly and personally selects the tea houses that are used on the trek, so we were confident of decent facilities. We had read great reviews about trekking with the company and we weren’t disappointed. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Mountain Company and would certainly use them again ourselves.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Siouxie, 9 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent guides & organisation

Everything was well organised & the pre trip info was accurate so no real surprises. Guides were well versed in English so communication was not a problem. The trip was well paced for me & the length of the trip worked well for acclimatisation.

Everything was well organised & the pre trip info was accurate so no real surprises. Guides were well versed in English so communication was not a problem. The trip was well paced for me & the length of the trip worked well for acclimatisation.

Rating for tour operator:

Plenty of pre trip info & advice. Also very easy to get in touch for little bits of extra info if needed.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Team Estonia, 15 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Over the moon trip!

We waited for this trip for so long and thought at some point that our expectations have gone too high but that was not the case. It exceeded all our hopes!

We waited for this trip for so long and thought at some point that our expectations have gone too high but that was not the case. It exceeded all our hopes!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company run by lovely Roland is the best tour operator we have come across. Everything was so smoothly organized and we could not have asked for anything else.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Ian , 1 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent trip to Everest Base Camp with the Mountain Company.

Booked a trip with the Mountain Company to Everest base Camp from the 5th March - 23rd March 2017. I cannot speak highly enough of the company, from getting collected from the airport in Kathmandu to being dropped off again 19 days later the drivers/guides and porters looked after us from start to finish. The trek to base camp was outstanding, we also went to the summit of Kala Pattar and had clear blue sky's as the sun came up over the ...

Booked a trip with the Mountain Company to Everest base Camp from the 5th March - 23rd March 2017. I cannot speak highly enough of the company, from getting collected from the airport in Kathmandu to being dropped off again 19 days later the drivers/guides and porters looked after us from start to finish. The trek to base camp was outstanding, we also went to the summit of Kala Pattar and had clear blue sky's as the sun came up over the summit of Everest. After the trek we returned to Kathmandu and Roland the company MD even made time to meet with us to gain feedback on the trip which shows he cares about his customers and likes to hear any positive or negative feedback from his clients. There was 3 people in our group and we had nothing but praise for the guides and porters who looked after us on the mountains, I would have no hesitation in using the Mountain Company again for any future treks.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Stratsy, 15 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

The Best Three Weeks of My Life!

The Mountain Company organised everything perfectly for myself and three friends to undertake the Everest Base Camp trek 13th December - 3rd January (with three nights in Kathmandu both at the beginning and end of our trek). Our two Sherpas and two "team guys" (Porters) were 100% attentive, knowledgeable and fun. The scenery was second to none - the peace and serenity of the mountains, not only surreal, but truly resonated with me - loved it...

The Mountain Company organised everything perfectly for myself and three friends to undertake the Everest Base Camp trek 13th December - 3rd January (with three nights in Kathmandu both at the beginning and end of our trek). Our two Sherpas and two "team guys" (Porters) were 100% attentive, knowledgeable and fun. The scenery was second to none - the peace and serenity of the mountains, not only surreal, but truly resonated with me - loved it. It had a humbling, silencing effect - loved the Nepalese communities, so friendly and they love their animals! Hardships of temperatures well below freezing, frozen water and no heating were a fun experience - all part of the incredible trek. Thank you Mountain Company and colleagues in Nepal - kindest regards, Jackie Stratton.

Rating for tour operator:

Roland Hunter at The Mountain Company organised everything perfectly and was always on hand to answer any queries via email or telephone. Totally dedicated and made us feel secure and happy with all the arrangements. Thank you Roland! Kind regards - Jackie Stratton.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by john w, 12 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Awesome

best experience of my life.

best experience of my life.

Rating for tour operator:

perfectly organised from beginning to end.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Susan, 12 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Everest Base Camp trek

Amazing three weeks in a beautiful part of the world. The scenery was spectacular and seeing the sun rising and setting over Everest was very special. Some tough days hiking but our Sherpa was great and really supportive. The whole trip was an experience I'll never forget and would highly recommend it to everyone.

Amazing three weeks in a beautiful part of the world. The scenery was spectacular and seeing the sun rising and setting over Everest was very special. Some tough days hiking but our Sherpa was great and really supportive. The whole trip was an experience I'll never forget and would highly recommend it to everyone.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were brilliant from start to finish. Roland responded very quickly to any queries I had and made the effort to meet me at the Hotel in Kathmandu. From being picked up at the airport, the entire trip ran smoothly and his staff in Nepal were great and couldn't do enough to ensure I had a great time. I wouldn't hesitate to use this company again.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by HJ, 11 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek

Great Experience, no stress, no issues, plenty of good memories. I was quite worried about altitude sickness but our tour was tailored to allow for acclimatisation, such that I didn't even require prophylactic altitude sickness medicine. I was also worried about getting an upset stomach in Nepal but our guide recommended safe places and foods to eat so there were no issues on the trek.

Great Experience, no stress, no issues, plenty of good memories. I was quite worried about altitude sickness but our tour was tailored to allow for acclimatisation, such that I didn't even require prophylactic altitude sickness medicine. I was also worried about getting an upset stomach in Nepal but our guide recommended safe places and foods to eat so there were no issues on the trek.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was taken care of. We were picked up and dropped off at the international airport. On the trail our guide was informative and friendly. He made sure our meals and rooms were also good quality.