AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

Everest Base Camp in Nepal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Everest Base Camp in Nepal

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 16
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 17
Reviews Accepted: 17
Reviews Rejected: 0
17 reviews
Sort by:
Everest Base Camp in Nepal by vet, 4 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

fantastic apart from a number of poor quality guesthouses

Trekking to Everest base camp

Trekking to Everest base camp

Rating for tour operator:

Trekking tour to Everest base camp

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by SnoMo, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trekking experience with The Mountain Company since 2015.

All the treks that I have been on were very well organized. The trekking days took into consideration of acclimatization. The cultural activities made the treks even more meaningful.

All the treks that I have been on were very well organized. The trekking days took into consideration of acclimatization. The cultural activities made the treks even more meaningful.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is always very responsive to all enquiries. All the treaks are well planned. The right equipment, such safety gears are planned for each trek. Roland Hunter, the owner, is very ethical and environmentally friendly. He ensures all the Nepalese crew are well taken care of and safety is a priority for all. He promotes environmentally friendly trekking and even pay the crew to pick up garbage on the trail. I have been trekking with The Mountain Company since 2015 and would continue to do so until I cannot trek anymore.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Peanut, 5 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest base camp

It was an amazing trek, very well prepared and organised. The guides were outstanding and really helped us in learning about Nepal and the culture.

It was an amazing trek, very well prepared and organised. The guides were outstanding and really helped us in learning about Nepal and the culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Hebi and Bal were wonderful. Professional, personal and fun. They took very good care of us, and made us feel at ease. They were a pleasure with which to travel.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by SnoMo, 1 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp in Hillary's Footsteps

Trek to Everest Base Camp along the trail taken by Sir Edmund Hillary. The trek was led Robert Mads Anderson and Peter Hillary.

Trek to Everest Base Camp along the trail taken by Sir Edmund Hillary. The trek was led Robert Mads Anderson and Peter Hillary.

Rating for tour operator:

Provided all the necessary information (required equipment, hours of trekking per day, condition of the trails, etc) regarding the trek. Very responsive to all inquiries. Ensure everything is taken care of from start to finish.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by MJP3, 24 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp Trek / In The Footsteps of Hillary

Kathmandu to Lukla to Everest Base Camp and back.

Kathmandu to Lukla to Everest Base Camp and back.

Rating for tour operator:

Top people who know their business and know the terrain, the challenges, the many details of a long, complicated trip, and are able to adapt to the changing needs of the group and somehow manage to run a successful trip at great odds.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Base Camp Trekker, 29 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp - so much for the rest fo the Bucket List

This was a culmination of a number of adventures undertaken by someone old enough to know better. As a septuagenarian, I think I was saving the best until last, I certainly don't know now what I can do to top it. The tour was structured so very well, and our guide judged our ability admirably. Although we had trained hard for it, there is no substitute for doing a trek like this at high altitude. The Everest region is the most unspoilt and ...

This was a culmination of a number of adventures undertaken by someone old enough to know better. As a septuagenarian, I think I was saving the best until last, I certainly don't know now what I can do to top it. The tour was structured so very well, and our guide judged our ability admirably. Although we had trained hard for it, there is no substitute for doing a trek like this at high altitude. The Everest region is the most unspoilt and remarkable place I have seen in many years of travelling, and will forever occupy a place in my mind, and my heart.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company came recommended by a friend, and rightly so. Our guide ensured we got away to and from Lukla airport on time, when others were less fortunate because of the weather. We did so because we were first there and as anyone who knows the region, mornings are clearest. The lodges chosen were as good as any I imagine are available unless one is opting for luxury travel, and the overnight stops were planned to allow us to acclimatise properly, with the 'days off' used to climb high, sleep low. We will probably never know if it was this or the Diamox, or a combination of the two which prevented us suffering from altitude sickness, but the fact that we didn't is testament to the tour operators experience and pre-tour advice. The latter included recommendations on the kit we would need, and because of our age, they insisted on a sensible vetting process. The fact that we achieved our goal is in no small measure down to this and the preparation beforehand. I would not hesitate to recommend The Mountain Company to anyone.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Pierre, 20 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Adveture

Trekking up to Everest Base Camp in the Himalaya's.

Trekking up to Everest Base Camp in the Himalaya's.

Rating for tour operator:

First class. Very organised. The pre-trip information was excellent and the trek guide and porter were extremely helpful and caring. Very professionally run and organised.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Tom Preshal, 9 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

A beautiful trek towards Everest base camp

A trek up from Lukla towards EBC, using Lodges for accommodating and T-houses for lunch. A very well arranged trek with three acclimatisation days and an excellent guide and assistant guide. Arranged by The Mountain Company who I couldn't recommend highly enough.

A trek up from Lukla towards EBC, using Lodges for accommodating and T-houses for lunch. A very well arranged trek with three acclimatisation days and an excellent guide and assistant guide. Arranged by The Mountain Company who I couldn't recommend highly enough.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company are a very well organised and knowledgeable company with experts in the UK and Kathmandu. They offer exactly the sort of support you need when trekking to remote areas. Their response to emails and inquiries is second to none.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Hels, 7 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing journey to the top of the world

This was the most amazing journey I have ever made. I spent a day in Kathmandu before heading up the Everest trail, trekking through the various villages, enjoying the most unbelievable scenery imaginable and being treated to a warm Nepali welcome. We spent several days acclimatising on the way up, getting off the beaten track to places like Ama Dablam base camp and enjoying the peace of being off the main trail. The trip takes you as far as ...

This was the most amazing journey I have ever made. I spent a day in Kathmandu before heading up the Everest trail, trekking through the various villages, enjoying the most unbelievable scenery imaginable and being treated to a warm Nepali welcome. We spent several days acclimatising on the way up, getting off the beaten track to places like Ama Dablam base camp and enjoying the peace of being off the main trail. The trip takes you as far as Everest Basecamp and then Kala Pattar for the view of Everest itself, before returning to Lukla via a different route. Having the extra couple of days at the end of the trek gave you a buffer in case of bad weather (so you didn’t miss your flight home!) or some extra sightseeing days in Kathmandu if the weather was in your favour. All in all, the most amazing trip I have ever done. I’ll definitely return to Nepal and will definitely use the Mountain Company again.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was very well organised and communication throughout was excellent and speedy. From the moment we arrived in Kathmandu we were very well looked after. All individuals were met from their various flights throughout the day and taken to the hotel. We received a comprehensive pre-trek briefing and were given some extra kit for the unexpected weather conditions, before being taken on a day’s sightseeing trip round Kathmandu. Our guides and porters were exceptional and we couldn’t have done this trip without them. Our welfare was the top priority. We had 2 guides for 5 people, they carried first aid kits & satellite phones everywhere. We were monitored for symptoms of altitude sickness every day and, when one of the group became very ill, the company were first class in arranging a speedy helicopter evacuation to Kathmandu where our team member received excellent care and made a speedy recovery. They even then helped arrange a couple of days in Pokhara for them while the rest of us were still trekking. Nothing was too much trouble. I couldn’t recommend them highly enough.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by The Rennies, 17 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exhausting but Exhilarating!

It is only now we are back home and wrapped up in the minutiae of everyday life that I can fully appreciate what my husband Mark and I experienced during our 14-day trek to Everest Base Camp with The Mountain Company. I look back at photographs of us smiling and pointing up at Everest in the distance and can hardly believe that is me all togged up in a down jacket and woolly hat. The things my eyes have seen and the paths my tired legs have ...

It is only now we are back home and wrapped up in the minutiae of everyday life that I can fully appreciate what my husband Mark and I experienced during our 14-day trek to Everest Base Camp with The Mountain Company. I look back at photographs of us smiling and pointing up at Everest in the distance and can hardly believe that is me all togged up in a down jacket and woolly hat. The things my eyes have seen and the paths my tired legs have followed will stay with me for the rest of my life. And all the while, we were buoyed along by Khadka, our guide, who was part teacher, part doctor, and part hilarious little brother! We stayed smiling (most of the time), even through the toughest ‘ups’ and the steepest ‘downs’. We made it to Base Camp and up Kala Patar, we even survived the suspension bridges, and have returned home with a passion for the Himalaya and deep gratitude to The Mountain Company for making our trip possible.

Rating for tour operator:

We felt supported by The Mountain Company at all times, both during the booking process and also once we were we in Kathmandu and then on the trek itself. One of the reasons we chose this operator was that Roland Hunter, the Managing Director, visits the area regularly and personally selects the tea houses that are used on the trek, so we were confident of decent facilities. We had read great reviews about trekking with the company and we weren’t disappointed. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Mountain Company and would certainly use them again ourselves.