AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 20
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 20
Reviews Accepted: 20
Reviews Rejected: 0
20 reviews
Sort by:
Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Emma, 16 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Dhaulagiri Circuit Trek

There are many rewards for doing this remote and challenging trek in a beautiful area of Nepal. It's a one-way trek so no doubling back. There are few other trekkers on the trail. You get a variety of scenery and landscapes, including a few villages lower down. If you're at base camp in climbing season then you might be lucky to meet a few climbers. The views of Dhaulagiri and other mountains towering over you at close quarters are captivating...

There are many rewards for doing this remote and challenging trek in a beautiful area of Nepal. It's a one-way trek so no doubling back. There are few other trekkers on the trail. You get a variety of scenery and landscapes, including a few villages lower down. If you're at base camp in climbing season then you might be lucky to meet a few climbers. The views of Dhaulagiri and other mountains towering over you at close quarters are captivating. The satisfaction of trekking over 2 challenging passes gives it the edge and makes for a memorable trek.

Rating for tour operator:

I was very happy with my first-ever trekking experience with The Mountain Company. From pre-departure to the trek itself I was really impressed with the professional standard and the super-friendly and caring crew. The food was particularly good and so was the excellent level of communication throughout. Safety and good service were clear priorities. I’d definitely recommend The Mountain Company to others and trek with them again.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Highlander, 9 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Dhaulagiri delights

A camping trek to Dhaulagiri base camp and beyond, ending at Jomsom. A great adventure holiday with stunning views and a superb trekking crew who went out of their way to keep us safe, incredibly well fed, always seeking to help and a never ending supply of smiles and hard work. A massive thanks to Chandra, Dorjee, Bal, Joms, Arjun and Robin together with their brilliant support crew.

A camping trek to Dhaulagiri base camp and beyond, ending at Jomsom. A great adventure holiday with stunning views and a superb trekking crew who went out of their way to keep us safe, incredibly well fed, always seeking to help and a never ending supply of smiles and hard work. A massive thanks to Chandra, Dorjee, Bal, Joms, Arjun and Robin together with their brilliant support crew.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company (TMC) led by Roland Hunter provide a personal service, aimed at providing a fantastic and safe experience for both trekkers and support crew in the wild environment of the Himalaya. Always available to chat pre trip, Roland endeavours to meet every trekker in Kathmandu before and after the trek and seeks a review of your experience post event which he does take seriously. I have already booked another trek this year with TMC!

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Trevor, 7 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Dhaulagiri Circuit Trek - Nepal

This was a remote and challenging trek. TMC were excellent in both communication and the services provided on the ground. The food provided on the trek was the best we’ve ever had and nothing was too much trouble.

This was a remote and challenging trek. TMC were excellent in both communication and the services provided on the ground. The food provided on the trek was the best we’ve ever had and nothing was too much trouble.

Rating for tour operator:

After trekking in Nepal with other companies, we decided to give TMC a go. Well, we weren’t disappointed. From the excellent and regular community provided pre, during and post trek through to services on the ground, great logistics and delightful and varied food. Nothing was too much trouble and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking to trek in Nepal or elsewhere in the Himalaya or Karakoram ranges. We’ve signed up again with TMC for Pakistan this year - after all, once you’re on to a good thing stick with it!

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Niko, 5 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Dhaulagiri Circuit -20 wonderful days up to 5500m

Every morning started with a cup of hot tea brought to the tend by our sherpas- regardless if minus 20 grade celcius in 5000m or in the warmer valley. We lived for 3 weeks with nature - started in the valley walking up the 5000m pass - a unique experince none of us could have had without the guidance and support of the TMC team.

Every morning started with a cup of hot tea brought to the tend by our sherpas- regardless if minus 20 grade celcius in 5000m or in the warmer valley. We lived for 3 weeks with nature - started in the valley walking up the 5000m pass - a unique experince none of us could have had without the guidance and support of the TMC team.

Rating for tour operator:

The team of Mountain Company demonstrated all the time a great wealth of experience and energy to make sure we could enjoy the magic of the Himalaya at all times. We felt very save in all situations. The team of TMC - international leader, sherpas, porter and kitchen crew worked together closely and created a seamless experience for us - their guests and friends! I alleays felt hughe respect for these kind professionals! Thank you!

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Kenny O, 3 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Delights of Dhaulagiri, Nepal

What a fantastic country with superb people. Nepal may be poor but its people and culture are rich. This trek is a chance to loose yourself in the remote areas of Nepal where few people travel. It provides a seamless transition from hot and humid valleys to the snowy wilderness of the high areas surrounding Dhaulagiri. Butterflies abound and raptors soar.

What a fantastic country with superb people. Nepal may be poor but its people and culture are rich. This trek is a chance to loose yourself in the remote areas of Nepal where few people travel. It provides a seamless transition from hot and humid valleys to the snowy wilderness of the high areas surrounding Dhaulagiri. Butterflies abound and raptors soar.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company have returned to Nepal following the COVID restrictions and the Dhaulagiri Circuit was one of the first treks. Their attention to post COVID precautions was faultless and all the team remained fit and healthy. Likewise the safety provisions during the tented 15 day trek sets them aside in particular their equipment and procedures for dealing with altitude related conditions. This gave reassurance and allowed the trekking team to enjoy the fantastic scenery, the superb service and the attenuative crew who always had a smile. I can safely say I have never had freshly cooked chips served at altitude before. Well done The Mountain Company ably led by Roland Hunter who takes a personal overview of all details. Also well done to the support team including Jason Day, Chandra Bahadur Rai, Arjun, Dorjee, Bal, Jons Lama , Robin and the mules!.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Lrnc, 18 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

An 18 day trek around the Dhaulagiri Circuit

A strenuous trek in a remote region of Nepal taking in Dhaulagiri Base Camp, French Pass (5360m), Hidden Valley and Dhampus Pass (5240m). This is a camping trek. The guiding, support and help provided by the Sirdar, international leader, sherpas, cook, kitchen staff and porters were superb and the scenery and views were fantastic.

A strenuous trek in a remote region of Nepal taking in Dhaulagiri Base Camp, French Pass (5360m), Hidden Valley and Dhampus Pass (5240m). This is a camping trek. The guiding, support and help provided by the Sirdar, international leader, sherpas, cook, kitchen staff and porters were superb and the scenery and views were fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

The Moutain Company and their staff provide a first-rate highly personal service and their treks are planned meticulously.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Mike, 14 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Dhaulagiri Circuit - fantastic camping trek with an outstanding owner-managed tour operator.

A fantastic trek. It's got everything; terraced hillsides, bamboo woodland, spectacular valleys between even more spectacular mountains, high passes and glaciers. The only thing it's not got are crowds of other trekkers. This was my first Nepal trip and I will certainly return.

A fantastic trek. It's got everything; terraced hillsides, bamboo woodland, spectacular valleys between even more spectacular mountains, high passes and glaciers. The only thing it's not got are crowds of other trekkers. This was my first Nepal trip and I will certainly return.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company are a very professionally run business. Roland, the owner met with us before and after the trek. The trek itinerary was well thought out to minimize the chance of developing altitude sickness. Pre trek info was excellent. Food quality and hygiene were excellent. Our European trek leader Natalie was outstanding. Her man-management and leadership skills were obviously borne of many years experience. She had a great manner and worked well with our local team leader. I'll definitely use The Mountain Company again.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Ali, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience! A journey with unforgettable landscapes and soundscapes.

I enjoyed every step! The experience of walking across stunning landscapes and feeling so small will remain a memory forever. I had the privilege to be surrounded by new friends and a great team. Our group leader, Nat, was incredible! Thank you, once again!

I enjoyed every step! The experience of walking across stunning landscapes and feeling so small will remain a memory forever. I had the privilege to be surrounded by new friends and a great team. Our group leader, Nat, was incredible! Thank you, once again!

Rating for tour operator:

TMC are a very professional and caring operator. For me, safety on such trips is key. TMC aligned with my expectations and even exceeded it at times. The group leader, Nat, and the supporting team did an excellent job in looking after us! We were fed very well, kept warm and enjoyed some very funny and unforgettable moments. Thank you TMC, will be back for more!

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Tom, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Best company, best trek, best people

This was an experience from a company that is at the top of their game. Well planned and well executed by guides and staff that can't be surpassed. The food was varied and of a quality you would expect in a restaurant. Also it was always all you could eat. Tremendous hygiene practiced by all and no one got sick. The trek was designed to be as safe as possible and practiced with use of a sat phone for weather reports and oxy meter readings ...

This was an experience from a company that is at the top of their game. Well planned and well executed by guides and staff that can't be surpassed. The food was varied and of a quality you would expect in a restaurant. Also it was always all you could eat. Tremendous hygiene practiced by all and no one got sick. The trek was designed to be as safe as possible and practiced with use of a sat phone for weather reports and oxy meter readings at all dinners to stay up on everyone's health. Good differentiator as to why choose this company. Overall a great experience that I will always cherish.

Rating for tour operator:

Tour operator has the vast experience and relationships with the on the ground guides, staff and cooks to run a 1st class trip. Has the best website and the best safety practices based on years in the business. You have the feeling that Roland really cares about his clients.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Tufty, 8 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Dhualagiri Circuit October 2019

...

Thoroughly enjoyed , met all expectations and was exactly as described on the web site by The Mountain Company. We ate very well, food was amazing , how they produce it on burners never failed to amaze and delight me. The structure of the holiday worked really well, people were like minded and quickly the friendship dynamic was established. The knowledge and good sense from The Moutain Company , particularly with the rest days , so important to our altitude acclimatisation paid off and allowed us to enjoy an absolutely fantastic area. Nepal holds a very special place in my heart and Dhulagiri further confimed this for me. I felt safe and supported every step of the way.

Rating for tour operator:

From first investigation of the website when planning my trip followed by the information and speedy response with all communication The Mountain Company are first class. No surprises everything exactly as described. Very knowledgeable putting a fantastic itinerary together with UK and local guides a combination that I had not previously experienced that works really well and I will certainly look for in the future. Travelling with a PAC chamber real piece of mind with expert guides. Before we set off a proper kit check and an emphasis for hygiene soap and water hand washing and antibacterial hand wash allowed our group no sickness a real result.