AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Expert Africa

Tailor-made Kenya Safari Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tailor-made Kenya Safari

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 29
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 29
Reviews Accepted: 29
Reviews Rejected: 0
29 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made Kenya Safari by Tony, 8 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

Superb Safari

Our trip was to 3 different camps in Kenya. (Offbeat Meru in Meru, Kicheche Laikipia in Ol Pejeta and Kicheche Bush in Olare Motorogi. We were very happy with each of the camps, food was excellent (as non-meat eaters we were very well catered for), guiding and wildlife viewing was excellent. All arrangements worked very smoohly. We had a wonderful trip.

Our trip was to 3 different camps in Kenya. (Offbeat Meru in Meru, Kicheche Laikipia in Ol Pejeta and Kicheche Bush in Olare Motorogi. We were very happy with each of the camps, food was excellent (as non-meat eaters we were very well catered for), guiding and wildlife viewing was excellent. All arrangements worked very smoohly. We had a wonderful trip.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was very careful to listen to our requirementsand was very keen to find out what we wanted from the trip. They were very knowledgeable, having visited the camps themselves. Advice was very good. It is the second time we have used Expert Africa, and we will use them again.

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by stonestacker, 29 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

First rate classic African safari

We were extremely pleased with the prompt response, efficiently organized tour and great properties that were booked for us by Expert Africa. All facets of our trip were well coordinated, with the transfers between camps and airports waiting for us with a name placard and a friendly person. This has been our sixth safari and one of the best we have experienced. We would go with Expert Africa again and recommend them to our friends. We ...

We were extremely pleased with the prompt response, efficiently organized tour and great properties that were booked for us by Expert Africa. All facets of our trip were well coordinated, with the transfers between camps and airports waiting for us with a name placard and a friendly person. This has been our sixth safari and one of the best we have experienced. We would go with Expert Africa again and recommend them to our friends. We had not been to Kenya since 2001, but would definitely return.

Rating for tour operator:

Eleanor was very prompt with answering our questions and designed our safari just the way we had suggested to her. All the information that we needed for our trip was provided.

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by AlisonB, 21 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful time at alfajiri

A fantastic place to relax, regroup and reflect upon two weeks of had graft safari'ing. We were desperately in need of peace and quiet and looking after following 15 days of intense travelling and early morning starts and trekking up volcanoes and the like.

A fantastic place to relax, regroup and reflect upon two weeks of had graft safari'ing. We were desperately in need of peace and quiet and looking after following 15 days of intense travelling and early morning starts and trekking up volcanoes and the like.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa NEVER disappoint - they are knowledgable, experienced individuals who can be relied upon to deliver a professional, insightful and highly considered set of options for the client to decide on what type of experience they want at a price which fits their budget

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by jollid, 2 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Style and real wilderness in Kenya

With ten days to spend on holiday in Kenya during the rainy season at short notice, we turned to Expert Africa to roganise something. They gave us a few recommendations of things we didn't know about or hadn't done before on previous visits to Kenya. The Emakoko was a real fibnd, a loverly safari lodge, with a real safari vibe in Nairobi national park. Food was good, ambience was lovely and this is a fantastic place to spend time near the main ...

With ten days to spend on holiday in Kenya during the rainy season at short notice, we turned to Expert Africa to roganise something. They gave us a few recommendations of things we didn't know about or hadn't done before on previous visits to Kenya. The Emakoko was a real fibnd, a loverly safari lodge, with a real safari vibe in Nairobi national park. Food was good, ambience was lovely and this is a fantastic place to spend time near the main airport. From there, we felw to Laikipia to stay at Laikipia Wilderness. The camp is lovely but perhaps visually not the most lovely in the area. However, the exprience was world class if you want to be immersed into the wilderness experience. Guiding was great, the wildife was varied and the chance to view wild dogs really up close was wonderful. Honestly, if you want a relaxed experience, good guiding and to forget about the real world, this place is it. From there we went on to Saruni Samburu, a complete contrast. Seeing this place at the start fo the rainy season was interesting, like being in a BBC wildlife documentary, as colours changed and the wildlife woke up. The lodge itself is truly spectacular: the photos on their website do not lie.

Rating for tour operator:

Richard Trillo at Expert Africa write the Rough guide to Kenya, so is truly an expert. He was spot on in his recommendations, efficient and helpful. Pricing was exactly what we expected for the lodges we had chosen. We have used Expert Africa before for Zambia and elsewhere and have always been impressed.

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by V&R, 25 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Safari

11 days in Kenya, in tented safari camps in four different reserves/conservancies. We saw a wonderful lot of animals and an unbelievable number of bird species. A particularly special aspect was the thoughtful and sustainable principles on which the camps were run, the collaboration with the Masai and the opportunity this gave us to meet the Masai staff.

11 days in Kenya, in tented safari camps in four different reserves/conservancies. We saw a wonderful lot of animals and an unbelievable number of bird species. A particularly special aspect was the thoughtful and sustainable principles on which the camps were run, the collaboration with the Masai and the opportunity this gave us to meet the Masai staff.

Rating for tour operator:

I valued their experience of Africa and could trust their advise and found their information pack very useful. Always helpful and prompt with replies. The holiday went off without a hitch.

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by HTE, 8 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic trip in Kenya, organized by Expert Africa

Our family took a 9-night safari trip to Kenya in July 2015. We started planning LONG in advance, and I worked over email with Richard Trillo of Expert Africa. He did an outstanding job of not only listening to our interests, but providing feedback that allowed us to adjust our plans - he worked with us very well. The trip itself was excellent, and the different parts (airport pickup, 1st night in Nairobi, transfers, safari camps) were stitched ...

Our family took a 9-night safari trip to Kenya in July 2015. We started planning LONG in advance, and I worked over email with Richard Trillo of Expert Africa. He did an outstanding job of not only listening to our interests, but providing feedback that allowed us to adjust our plans - he worked with us very well. The trip itself was excellent, and the different parts (airport pickup, 1st night in Nairobi, transfers, safari camps) were stitched together seamlessly. We spent four nights in the Lewa Conservancy (Lewa Safari Camp) and four nights in the Mara North Conservancy (Elephant Pepper Camp). We were very happy to have visited these two different regions of Kenya, and were completely satisfied with both locations: the staff, the site, the guide, the game drives. We also enjoyed the village visit at Lewa.

Rating for tour operator:

Our family took a 9-night safari trip to Kenya in July 2015. We started planning LONG in advance, and I worked over email with Richard Trillo of Expert Africa. He did an outstanding job of not only listening to our interests, but providing feedback that allowed us to adjust our plans - he worked with us very well. The trip itself was excellent, and the different parts (airport pickup, 1st night in Nairobi, transfers, safari camps) were stitched together seamlessly. I have nothing but good things to say about Expert Africa and would happily recommend them.

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by Dr J W 15, 4 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

A memorable safari to Kenya in June

We had a wonderful trip to three different camps in Kenya in the Ol Pejeta, Mara North and Olare Motorogi Conservancies. We stayed at very comfortable, small, traditional bush camps where the host were very friendly and welcoming. The food and drink was excellent throughout. The diversity and density of the wildlife on the Masai Mara was amazing and was the best wildlife experience we have ever had. All of our guides were friendly and very ...

We had a wonderful trip to three different camps in Kenya in the Ol Pejeta, Mara North and Olare Motorogi Conservancies. We stayed at very comfortable, small, traditional bush camps where the host were very friendly and welcoming. The food and drink was excellent throughout. The diversity and density of the wildlife on the Masai Mara was amazing and was the best wildlife experience we have ever had. All of our guides were friendly and very knowledgable. We are already planning our return visit there for next year.

Rating for tour operator:

I have booked a number of holidays through Expert Africa and they truly live up to their name. Their 'specialists' for each country really are expert and a specialist as they know the countries very well and have travelled extensively within them. For Instance, our trip to Kenya was booked through the author of the Rough Guide to Kenya. He even sent us a signed copy! We have never been disappointed with any of our trips booked through Expert Africa. We recommend them to our friends and we will certainly continue to use them in the future.

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by Travel Forever , 13 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic holiday to Kenya and Tanzania that fulfilled all we wanted to see and do.

This was a trip of a lifetime to Kenya and Tanzania. We visited Tortilis Camp for the views of Kilimanjaro plus the animals. Then we moved on to Olakira Camp in the Maasai Mara and had some fantastic animal sightings. We then crossed the border into Tanzania and flew to the South eastern Serengeti to see the thousands of Wildebeest. We stayed in Ndutu Camp and had some great drives seeing some fantastic animal sightings. From there we had a ...

This was a trip of a lifetime to Kenya and Tanzania. We visited Tortilis Camp for the views of Kilimanjaro plus the animals. Then we moved on to Olakira Camp in the Maasai Mara and had some fantastic animal sightings. We then crossed the border into Tanzania and flew to the South eastern Serengeti to see the thousands of Wildebeest. We stayed in Ndutu Camp and had some great drives seeing some fantastic animal sightings. From there we had a driver/guide to take us to see the Oldupai Gorge and then on to the Ngorongoro Crater where we saw many animals including Black Rhini. Finally we went to Lake Manyara National Park and saw tree lions being driven out of the tree by trumpeting elephants.

Rating for tour operator:

Our holiday was organised by Eleanor Dunkels from Expert Africa. She worked in conjunction with us to sort out the safari trip that we wanted so we could include all the places we wanted to visit. Overall it was a superb, fantastic trip and we saw all the things we had hoped to see plus much, much more. With thanks to Eleanor and Expert Africa this became the Holiday Of A Lifetime !

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by Sipho, 21 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Zanzibar and the Maasi Mara, great from start to finish

Zanzibar and two game camps in the Maasi Mara in Kenya. We arranged our own international flights and to/from Zanzibar. But Expert Africa handled everything in Kenya.

Zanzibar and two game camps in the Maasi Mara in Kenya. We arranged our own international flights and to/from Zanzibar. But Expert Africa handled everything in Kenya.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa smoothly handled our constantly changing plans and coordinating the half of the trip in Kenya that they arranged with the half we independently pieced together in Zanzibar.