AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Umbria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Umbria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 17
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 17
Reviews Accepted: 17
Reviews Rejected: 0
17 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Liz, 21 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Umbrian hills

We went on a self guided walking holiday in Umbria starting near Spoleto and ending in Mompeo.. The countryside was beautiful and the route easy to follow. It was one of the best holidays I’ve ever had

We went on a self guided walking holiday in Umbria starting near Spoleto and ending in Mompeo.. The countryside was beautiful and the route easy to follow. It was one of the best holidays I’ve ever had

Rating for tour operator:

Really helpful in arranging all aspects of the holiday from the pick up at Rome airport on arrival. Everything ran smoothly and to plan. We have used On Foot Holidays before and will continue to do so. The pack of information supplied is invaluable; well thought out and presented and containing all possible information we might require.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Northyorkshireman, 20 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking in glorious, unspoilt ancient woodlands and mountains

Seven days of carefully planned routes through beautiful countryside, stopping each night in delightful, medieval towns and villages or rural bed and breakfast farms or houses. Late Spring in Umbria is ideal for observing flora, wildlife and incredible views. The added bonus being the lack of other folk along the way. In fact we walked for seven days without meeting a single other hiker.

Seven days of carefully planned routes through beautiful countryside, stopping each night in delightful, medieval towns and villages or rural bed and breakfast farms or houses. Late Spring in Umbria is ideal for observing flora, wildlife and incredible views. The added bonus being the lack of other folk along the way. In fact we walked for seven days without meeting a single other hiker.

Rating for tour operator:

Communication with clients is second to none. Even questions asked on a Sunday are answered on that day. The walking routes are meticulously prepared and well thought out and the maps and instructions are extensive and most valuable. All of the accomodation was ideal and obviously, carefully selected. We have traveled with On Foot four times and are already thinking about the next trip with them.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Peter H, 1 Jan 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking in the footsteps of St Francis

We walked for a week in the Umbrian sunshine, following paths originally walked by St Francis of Assisi. The walking was rewarding, the scenery beautiful, the meals and drinks at the end of each day somehow tasted better as we felt we'd had to work for them.

We walked for a week in the Umbrian sunshine, following paths originally walked by St Francis of Assisi. The walking was rewarding, the scenery beautiful, the meals and drinks at the end of each day somehow tasted better as we felt we'd had to work for them.

Rating for tour operator:

Walks on Foot were instrumental in the original design of the route, arranged all of our accommodation, maps and baggage transfers and were hugely accommodating as we had to change dates at least three times because of Covid restrictions. They were always very responsive to requests for information or updates - it felt a very personal service.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Marc J, 6 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday in Umbria and Lazio

This was already our sixth walking holiday with On Foot Holidays. Just as with the others, this walk down central Italy had it all: great views and pretty villages, excellent accommodation with friendly hosts and wonderful food. As ever, the On Foot staff were helpful, very professional and always quick to respond to queries.

This was already our sixth walking holiday with On Foot Holidays. Just as with the others, this walk down central Italy had it all: great views and pretty villages, excellent accommodation with friendly hosts and wonderful food. As ever, the On Foot staff were helpful, very professional and always quick to respond to queries.

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Coco, 5 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Perfection

As always with on foot holidays the trip was well organized. The hosts were very pleasant , friendly and very helpful. The accommodations are as described, always clean no unpleasant surprises. I highly recommend on foot holidays UK

As always with on foot holidays the trip was well organized. The hosts were very pleasant , friendly and very helpful. The accommodations are as described, always clean no unpleasant surprises. I highly recommend on foot holidays UK

Rating for tour operator:

Please see previous comment

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by AR092020, 9 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Umbria walking holiday

A wonderful week walking through a quiet corner of Umbria. Brambles, cowbells, wine and hilltop villages.

A wonderful week walking through a quiet corner of Umbria. Brambles, cowbells, wine and hilltop villages.

Rating for tour operator:

In our experience On Foot are always friendly and professional, with superb attention to detail. They manage to be efficient while at the same time offering an wonderfully personalised experience.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Kakwafalls, 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

This walk alternates "forest bathing" with walking through small Italian towns in their everyday splendour

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly ...

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly surprised that it is not just Tuscany and Piedmont that have first rate wine. The walking included quite a bit of up and down, which we liked. The people that we met are at least as wonderful as those that we have met throughout this beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent support, including large scale, detailed maps, a separate map in a separate folder for each day's walk, which we liked, and a GPS track, which we really needed. Stephano was readily available by phone if we needed assistance at any time. The connections between accommodations and luggage transfer was seamless. We felt really appreciated and well taken care of. We have already recommended this tour to a number of friends that are also hikers.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Tiramisu , 7 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Umbria on foot holiday

Glorious self guided walking holiday from Spoleto to Mompeo staying in farm stays, b&bs, hotels. Warm welcomes, delicious food, rural quiet unaffected Umbria. We lingered in some Beautiful places Labro, Casperia, and especially in agriurismo le mole sul farfa... it’s a holiday to take time over.

Glorious self guided walking holiday from Spoleto to Mompeo staying in farm stays, b&bs, hotels. Warm welcomes, delicious food, rural quiet unaffected Umbria. We lingered in some Beautiful places Labro, Casperia, and especially in agriurismo le mole sul farfa... it’s a holiday to take time over.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot are like an old pair of walking boots! Comfortable easy to get along with and familiar with terrain

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Andy, 13 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb walking and food in the foothills of Umbria

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful. Can't fault anything really. Everything went as planned and I knew they were only a phone call away if it hadn't.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Gasman, 14 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking holiday

This was a walking tour of Unbria and we had an excellent time which was aided by the very good accommodation and organisation

This was a walking tour of Unbria and we had an excellent time which was aided by the very good accommodation and organisation

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised tour with excellent communication throughout. The printed information, itinerary and maps were of the highest order and made things very easy. Highly recommend.

Reviewer's images: