AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Umbria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Umbria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 14
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 14
Reviews Accepted: 14
Reviews Rejected: 0
14 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Marc J, 6 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday in Umbria and Lazio

This was already our sixth walking holiday with On Foot Holidays. Just as with the others, this walk down central Italy had it all: great views and pretty villages, excellent accommodation with friendly hosts and wonderful food. As ever, the On Foot staff were helpful, very professional and always quick to respond to queries.

This was already our sixth walking holiday with On Foot Holidays. Just as with the others, this walk down central Italy had it all: great views and pretty villages, excellent accommodation with friendly hosts and wonderful food. As ever, the On Foot staff were helpful, very professional and always quick to respond to queries.

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Coco, 5 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Perfection

As always with on foot holidays the trip was well organized. The hosts were very pleasant , friendly and very helpful. The accommodations are as described, always clean no unpleasant surprises. I highly recommend on foot holidays UK

As always with on foot holidays the trip was well organized. The hosts were very pleasant , friendly and very helpful. The accommodations are as described, always clean no unpleasant surprises. I highly recommend on foot holidays UK

Rating for tour operator:

Please see previous comment

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by AR092020, 9 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Umbria walking holiday

A wonderful week walking through a quiet corner of Umbria. Brambles, cowbells, wine and hilltop villages.

A wonderful week walking through a quiet corner of Umbria. Brambles, cowbells, wine and hilltop villages.

Rating for tour operator:

In our experience On Foot are always friendly and professional, with superb attention to detail. They manage to be efficient while at the same time offering an wonderfully personalised experience.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Kakwafalls, 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

This walk alternates "forest bathing" with walking through small Italian towns in their everyday splendour

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly ...

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly surprised that it is not just Tuscany and Piedmont that have first rate wine. The walking included quite a bit of up and down, which we liked. The people that we met are at least as wonderful as those that we have met throughout this beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent support, including large scale, detailed maps, a separate map in a separate folder for each day's walk, which we liked, and a GPS track, which we really needed. Stephano was readily available by phone if we needed assistance at any time. The connections between accommodations and luggage transfer was seamless. We felt really appreciated and well taken care of. We have already recommended this tour to a number of friends that are also hikers.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Tiramisu , 7 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Umbria on foot holiday

Glorious self guided walking holiday from Spoleto to Mompeo staying in farm stays, b&bs, hotels. Warm welcomes, delicious food, rural quiet unaffected Umbria. We lingered in some Beautiful places Labro, Casperia, and especially in agriurismo le mole sul farfa... it’s a holiday to take time over.

Glorious self guided walking holiday from Spoleto to Mompeo staying in farm stays, b&bs, hotels. Warm welcomes, delicious food, rural quiet unaffected Umbria. We lingered in some Beautiful places Labro, Casperia, and especially in agriurismo le mole sul farfa... it’s a holiday to take time over.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot are like an old pair of walking boots! Comfortable easy to get along with and familiar with terrain

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Andy, 13 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb walking and food in the foothills of Umbria

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful. Can't fault anything really. Everything went as planned and I knew they were only a phone call away if it hadn't.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Gasman, 14 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking holiday

This was a walking tour of Unbria and we had an excellent time which was aided by the very good accommodation and organisation

This was a walking tour of Unbria and we had an excellent time which was aided by the very good accommodation and organisation

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised tour with excellent communication throughout. The printed information, itinerary and maps were of the highest order and made things very easy. Highly recommend.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Umbria by GEE, 4 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastically scenic Umbrian medium level walk

We had only passed through this region of Italy previously and so we were very rewarded on our self-guided walk with spectacular scenery daily, good to excellent accommodation & food, really helpful and friendly hosts each night plus amazing weather! It only rained a few drops one evening going to dinner. Our walk overlapped into the Lazio region and and we knew to expect both it and Umbria to be very scenic but we were blown away by the beauty ...

We had only passed through this region of Italy previously and so we were very rewarded on our self-guided walk with spectacular scenery daily, good to excellent accommodation & food, really helpful and friendly hosts each night plus amazing weather! It only rained a few drops one evening going to dinner. Our walk overlapped into the Lazio region and and we knew to expect both it and Umbria to be very scenic but we were blown away by the beauty especially after the climb to our accommodation in Labro. The view from there was stunning.

Rating for tour operator:

Given that I am in Australia and our Tour Operator is in England, all communications are by email. I have corresponded with a number of On Foot staff as we have now done 3 walks with them and are planning another two for 2018. Whenever I send them an email I find, without fail, that I have answer from one of the staff the next day. They are extremely professional with a friendly manner and nothing is ever a problem and, whenever possible, they go that extra mile with specific information that may assist in planning and executing walks.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Utah traveller , 7 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Best independent walking trip ever

Seven days walking in the Sabine Hills in Umbria, amidst medieval villages, old Roman villas, ancient olive groves, wild pigs, old churches, mountains, valleys and towns. Wonderful chance to explore a new place without the burdens of walking with a group or carrying luggage. Great route maps, wonderful and unique accomodations, perfect mix of outdoor activity, culture and great food.

Seven days walking in the Sabine Hills in Umbria, amidst medieval villages, old Roman villas, ancient olive groves, wild pigs, old churches, mountains, valleys and towns. Wonderful chance to explore a new place without the burdens of walking with a group or carrying luggage. Great route maps, wonderful and unique accomodations, perfect mix of outdoor activity, culture and great food.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organized, responsive and reliable. OnFoot Holidays succeeded in arranging a trip for the two of us that felt as if we were amongst the few that had ever done it. All of the arrangements went off without a hitch and luggage was successfully transferred each day.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Kelly, 17 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Umbria!

This excursion was a final celebration of a two- year battle with breast cancer. I decided I couldn't let cancer and the anger I was carrying around define the rest of my life. I needed to do something momentous at the end of my most negative life experience. My On Foot Holidays Umbria hike was the most incredible, empowering and positive thing I could have done for myself. I turned something so aweful into a very positive and precious experience ...

This excursion was a final celebration of a two- year battle with breast cancer. I decided I couldn't let cancer and the anger I was carrying around define the rest of my life. I needed to do something momentous at the end of my most negative life experience. My On Foot Holidays Umbria hike was the most incredible, empowering and positive thing I could have done for myself. I turned something so aweful into a very positive and precious experience that I will carry forward from here as I rejoin the real world. There are no words that can do justice to how the wonderful people at On Foot were in meeting and surpassing my hopes and expectations for those precious 12 days. Every detail of my adventure was meticulously laid out and allowed me the luxury of really being able to enjoy the moment. There truly is no better way to experience a place than on your own two feet. The local hotels, agroturismos and On Foot support staff on the ground in Umbria were all wonderful. There was absolutely nothing negative to report. The Italian people, the mountains, the food......what a place! I am so so grateful to Debbie and Emma and everyone at On Foot Holidays! I will be one very satisfied return customer! Where to next?

Rating for tour operator:

I've said it all. The entire On Foot team were so amazing. I will definitely be planning my next hike with them. Maybe Spain?