AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Umbria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Umbria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 11
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 11
Reviews Accepted: 11
Reviews Rejected: 0
11 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Kakwafalls, 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

This walk alternates "forest bathing" with walking through small Italian towns in their everyday splendour

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly ...

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly surprised that it is not just Tuscany and Piedmont that have first rate wine. The walking included quite a bit of up and down, which we liked. The people that we met are at least as wonderful as those that we have met throughout this beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent support, including large scale, detailed maps, a separate map in a separate folder for each day's walk, which we liked, and a GPS track, which we really needed. Stephano was readily available by phone if we needed assistance at any time. The connections between accommodations and luggage transfer was seamless. We felt really appreciated and well taken care of. We have already recommended this tour to a number of friends that are also hikers.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Tiramisu , 7 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Umbria on foot holiday

Glorious self guided walking holiday from Spoleto to Mompeo staying in farm stays, b&bs, hotels. Warm welcomes, delicious food, rural quiet unaffected Umbria. We lingered in some Beautiful places Labro, Casperia, and especially in agriurismo le mole sul farfa... it’s a holiday to take time over.

Glorious self guided walking holiday from Spoleto to Mompeo staying in farm stays, b&bs, hotels. Warm welcomes, delicious food, rural quiet unaffected Umbria. We lingered in some Beautiful places Labro, Casperia, and especially in agriurismo le mole sul farfa... it’s a holiday to take time over.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot are like an old pair of walking boots! Comfortable easy to get along with and familiar with terrain

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Andy, 13 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb walking and food in the foothills of Umbria

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful. Can't fault anything really. Everything went as planned and I knew they were only a phone call away if it hadn't.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Gasman, 14 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking holiday

This was a walking tour of Unbria and we had an excellent time which was aided by the very good accommodation and organisation

This was a walking tour of Unbria and we had an excellent time which was aided by the very good accommodation and organisation

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised tour with excellent communication throughout. The printed information, itinerary and maps were of the highest order and made things very easy. Highly recommend.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Umbria by GEE, 4 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastically scenic Umbrian medium level walk

We had only passed through this region of Italy previously and so we were very rewarded on our self-guided walk with spectacular scenery daily, good to excellent accommodation & food, really helpful and friendly hosts each night plus amazing weather! It only rained a few drops one evening going to dinner. Our walk overlapped into the Lazio region and and we knew to expect both it and Umbria to be very scenic but we were blown away by the beauty ...

We had only passed through this region of Italy previously and so we were very rewarded on our self-guided walk with spectacular scenery daily, good to excellent accommodation & food, really helpful and friendly hosts each night plus amazing weather! It only rained a few drops one evening going to dinner. Our walk overlapped into the Lazio region and and we knew to expect both it and Umbria to be very scenic but we were blown away by the beauty especially after the climb to our accommodation in Labro. The view from there was stunning.

Rating for tour operator:

Given that I am in Australia and our Tour Operator is in England, all communications are by email. I have corresponded with a number of On Foot staff as we have now done 3 walks with them and are planning another two for 2018. Whenever I send them an email I find, without fail, that I have answer from one of the staff the next day. They are extremely professional with a friendly manner and nothing is ever a problem and, whenever possible, they go that extra mile with specific information that may assist in planning and executing walks.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Utah traveller , 7 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Best independent walking trip ever

Seven days walking in the Sabine Hills in Umbria, amidst medieval villages, old Roman villas, ancient olive groves, wild pigs, old churches, mountains, valleys and towns. Wonderful chance to explore a new place without the burdens of walking with a group or carrying luggage. Great route maps, wonderful and unique accomodations, perfect mix of outdoor activity, culture and great food.

Seven days walking in the Sabine Hills in Umbria, amidst medieval villages, old Roman villas, ancient olive groves, wild pigs, old churches, mountains, valleys and towns. Wonderful chance to explore a new place without the burdens of walking with a group or carrying luggage. Great route maps, wonderful and unique accomodations, perfect mix of outdoor activity, culture and great food.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organized, responsive and reliable. OnFoot Holidays succeeded in arranging a trip for the two of us that felt as if we were amongst the few that had ever done it. All of the arrangements went off without a hitch and luggage was successfully transferred each day.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Kelly, 17 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Umbria!

This excursion was a final celebration of a two- year battle with breast cancer. I decided I couldn't let cancer and the anger I was carrying around define the rest of my life. I needed to do something momentous at the end of my most negative life experience. My On Foot Holidays Umbria hike was the most incredible, empowering and positive thing I could have done for myself. I turned something so aweful into a very positive and precious experience ...

This excursion was a final celebration of a two- year battle with breast cancer. I decided I couldn't let cancer and the anger I was carrying around define the rest of my life. I needed to do something momentous at the end of my most negative life experience. My On Foot Holidays Umbria hike was the most incredible, empowering and positive thing I could have done for myself. I turned something so aweful into a very positive and precious experience that I will carry forward from here as I rejoin the real world. There are no words that can do justice to how the wonderful people at On Foot were in meeting and surpassing my hopes and expectations for those precious 12 days. Every detail of my adventure was meticulously laid out and allowed me the luxury of really being able to enjoy the moment. There truly is no better way to experience a place than on your own two feet. The local hotels, agroturismos and On Foot support staff on the ground in Umbria were all wonderful. There was absolutely nothing negative to report. The Italian people, the mountains, the food......what a place! I am so so grateful to Debbie and Emma and everyone at On Foot Holidays! I will be one very satisfied return customer! Where to next?

Rating for tour operator:

I've said it all. The entire On Foot team were so amazing. I will definitely be planning my next hike with them. Maybe Spain?

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by minstrel, 20 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

a pleasant challenge finished off with the chance to dig a little deeper in to Rome

7 days walking in Umbria , 4 days in Rome to finish off, walks all well planned and directed , good maps and advice , all accommodation excellent , what's not to like

7 days walking in Umbria , 4 days in Rome to finish off, walks all well planned and directed , good maps and advice , all accommodation excellent , what's not to like

Rating for tour operator:

very professional , would definitely use On foot holidays, again , they planned it well for us and their descriptions were accurate , the overnight accomModation in particular was all excellent and gave a good taste of rural Umbria. We didn't need to access any emergency or special services but I am confident that if we did they would have given us as much help as they could.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Jim, 21 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Umbria

We had a splendid walking holiday walking in Umbria in June courtesy of On Foot Holidays. The countryside was beautiful, green and unspoilt. We stayed in some interesting places and much enjoyed the food,wine and wildlife

We had a splendid walking holiday walking in Umbria in June courtesy of On Foot Holidays. The countryside was beautiful, green and unspoilt. We stayed in some interesting places and much enjoyed the food,wine and wildlife

Rating for tour operator:

My son and I have enjoyed a number of walking holidays with On Foot Holidays. They have always provided an excellent service and are very responsive to any requests for information. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. The routes take to some lovely parts of Europe and the quality of accommodation is of a high standard as is the literature and notes that the Company produces

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by JB, 8 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Challenging walk in glorious Italian 'wilderness'

Seven walking days through Umbria from Spoleto to Mompeo, most days not seeing another walker. Enjoying the challenge of navigating winding paths and tracks, with excellent detailed accurate notes (and a handy GPS for back-up). Nights spent in ancient hilltop towns and agriturismos consuming well-deserved wonderful 4-course Italian meals with wine (and losing weight!), our charming hosts committed to our enjoyment.

Seven walking days through Umbria from Spoleto to Mompeo, most days not seeing another walker. Enjoying the challenge of navigating winding paths and tracks, with excellent detailed accurate notes (and a handy GPS for back-up). Nights spent in ancient hilltop towns and agriturismos consuming well-deserved wonderful 4-course Italian meals with wine (and losing weight!), our charming hosts committed to our enjoyment.

Rating for tour operator:

impeccable service – courteous, prompt and efficient during the walk and before (and we were a nuisance, changing our dates and plans several times due to unforeseen circumstances). Holiday passed without a glitch, every step of the walk and moment of accommodation went just as planned so our energy could be focused on climbing those hills and admiring the spectacular views. On Foot Holidays is highly recommended, we'll be walking with them again.