AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 21
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 21
Reviews Accepted: 21
Reviews Rejected: 0
21 reviews
Sort by:
Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by DigbyFlip, 7 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic Indian adventure

This was our first time to India and it certainly won't be our last. We had the most wonderful holiday with a great variety of activities and plenty of leisure time to relax. The pace was just right for us two 66 year olds. Our driver Ajit was with us the whole time we were travelling around, he was not only an excellent driver but nothing was too much trouble for him. We particularly loved the Dehli food tour which took us to about 7 different ...

This was our first time to India and it certainly won't be our last. We had the most wonderful holiday with a great variety of activities and plenty of leisure time to relax. The pace was just right for us two 66 year olds. Our driver Ajit was with us the whole time we were travelling around, he was not only an excellent driver but nothing was too much trouble for him. We particularly loved the Dehli food tour which took us to about 7 different places for street food, so we sat with the locals, ate the same food, and felt the true hustle and bustle of Dehli. All our senses were bombarded. We had a walking tour of a village in Ramathra and met lots of the villagers, which was a great privilege. We also did a mini safari at Rohet and met 2 farming families living very simply, they made us very welcome. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly throughout our trip. We stayed in some magnificent boutique hotels, some forts and a havelli - each had its own charm and personality. We felt everyone was doing their utmost to make sure we had the most wonderful experience - and we did! And the Taj Mahal took my breath away. We have so many happy memories.

Rating for tour operator:

James Wilmshurst, The Experience Travel Group put our itinerary together after a few chats with us. He really listened to what we wanted from our holiday and he got the itinerary and pace just right.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 07 Feb 2018:

Dear Jean

Thanks for this lovely review - delighted your first trip to India went so well. Great to hear your detailed feedback over the phone as well.

Please do pass on the ETG word to friends and family, word of mouth communication really does help us.

Hope to hear from you again in the future for another trip to India

Best

James & The ETG Team

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by m1964, 28 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Perfect Tailor-made Holiday to the Golden Triangle in India

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur in 10 days. My parents (ages 74 and 79), my sister and I. The trip was planned and organised only a few weeks in advance and during UK holiday season. Still, everything was perfectly taken care of ! Hotels that were an experience in themselves, a great driver and car, amazing guides, tours and activities. All was as described, and great care was taken to comply with all our big and small requests. Despite the short notice, ...

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur in 10 days. My parents (ages 74 and 79), my sister and I. The trip was planned and organised only a few weeks in advance and during UK holiday season. Still, everything was perfectly taken care of ! Hotels that were an experience in themselves, a great driver and car, amazing guides, tours and activities. All was as described, and great care was taken to comply with all our big and small requests. Despite the short notice, the planning was done with patience and even a multi-draft process.

Rating for tour operator:

We have nothing but praise for ETG. It is no coincidence that this is our fifth trip with this company. They are reliable, super efficient, patient and their implementation is on the spot ! Special thanks to Sara Wells, for planning this specific trip for us, to the last detail. All our travels with ETG have been memorable and special experiences !

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 29 Jan 2018:

Dear Michal,

We're so pleased that you had a great holiday in India along with your parents and sister. We're very proud that you have chosen to holiday with us no less than 5 times! I'll pass on your comments to Sara who will be pleased to hear - thanks again and we look forward to hearing you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
MD & Co-founder
Experience Travel Group

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by Biggs family, 4 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Christmas/New Year in India

We've just come back from a fantastic two weeks in Rajasthan, cycling round Jaipur on Christmas day and seeing New Year in at Lake Pichola in Udaipur. The whole package was excellent, and we couldn't fault the guides, our driver, the food, the hotels, the itinerary, the transfers or anything else.

We've just come back from a fantastic two weeks in Rajasthan, cycling round Jaipur on Christmas day and seeing New Year in at Lake Pichola in Udaipur. The whole package was excellent, and we couldn't fault the guides, our driver, the food, the hotels, the itinerary, the transfers or anything else.

Rating for tour operator:

Very thoroughly devised itinerary, with thought given to the fact that we were travelling with a 12-year-old with no travel experience outside of Europe.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Jan 2018:

Hi Andrew, I am so glad you had a fantastic time in Rajasthan. Great that the whole experience was faultless. A magical country to spend the festive season too! Thank you for your feedback, Best wishes Sara

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Jan 2018:

Thanks Andrew, I am delighted you enjoyed the itinerary and it suited the whole family. Best wishes Sara

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by happy camper, 20 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

lots of travelling and lots of experiences

travelled to India with Experience travel, everything was incredibly well organised and ran smoothly. All staff in this country and in India were to a fault polite, prompt and generally pleasant and helpful. Particularly liked that the company rang after our holiday to check everything had gone well. I will definitely use Experience Travel again and recommend them too

travelled to India with Experience travel, everything was incredibly well organised and ran smoothly. All staff in this country and in India were to a fault polite, prompt and generally pleasant and helpful. Particularly liked that the company rang after our holiday to check everything had gone well. I will definitely use Experience Travel again and recommend them too

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel have been very helpful and James carried out my brief exceptionally well, the partner company they use in India Creative travel were excellent throughout. The experiences we did and the companies that Experience use again were all very professional and helpful

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Nov 2017:

Dear Deb

Thank you so much for this lovely review. Delighted you had such a great time. We love to see how you're holiday went as it is the most important thing to us.

Please do recommend us to friends and family - word of mouth referrals are really mean a lot to us.

Look forward to hearing from you again.

James & The ETG Team.

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by Victoria, 3 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Out of the ordinary experiences

We had two weeks in India doing an amazing array of unusual things - from learning and practising how to hand block print through to helping to make meals at a Sikh Gurdwara.

We had two weeks in India doing an amazing array of unusual things - from learning and practising how to hand block print through to helping to make meals at a Sikh Gurdwara.

Rating for tour operator:

They were brilliant at coming up with unusual things to do that allowed us to experience India as it is today, not just the palaces and forts of the past.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 06 Nov 2017:

Dear Victoria

We're delighted to hear you had such a great time in India. It's great you got to experience varying sides to the region.

We really appreciate your review and hope to hear from you again soon.

James & The ETG Team.

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by Jenny, 6 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Very interesting and varied experiences in Rajasthan

We had an itinerary that included Udaipur, Jodhpur, Jaipur, Agra and Delhi. We visited all the major sites with excellent guides and a very good driver to look after us. Our hotels were all of very good quality and included a nice mix, including a luxury, a haveli and one homestay. It was all well organised and ran smoothly with a ground agent on hand to deal with any problems.

We had an itinerary that included Udaipur, Jodhpur, Jaipur, Agra and Delhi. We visited all the major sites with excellent guides and a very good driver to look after us. Our hotels were all of very good quality and included a nice mix, including a luxury, a haveli and one homestay. It was all well organised and ran smoothly with a ground agent on hand to deal with any problems.

Rating for tour operator:

We chose to use Experience Travel because of a personal recommendation and were delighted with the itinerary they provided for us. All our guides were excellent and although we loved touring the palaces and forts we particularly enjoyed some of the more unusual experiences. We spent an evening cooking with a lovely family in Jaipur, had a fascinating afternoon touring the cantonement in Agra with an Indian gentleman whose family owned one of the grand British bungalows and had an exciting cycle rickshaw ride around Old Delhi. It was a fabulous holiday and I thoroughly recommend it.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 07 Mar 2017:

Dear Jenny,

That is fantastic - it is great you got to experience a lot of different aspects of Rajasthani life, including time in Narlai!

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, much appreciated. Hopefully we'll hear from you again soon!

All the best,

James

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by AML, 14 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent, personalised trip, with a great mixture of cultural experiences.

2 week visit to Rajastan

2 week visit to Rajastan

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by Usha, 20 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating Rajasthan, Delhi & Agra

We spent 2 weeks (not long enough!!) visiting the highlights of Delhi, Agra and the Rajasthani cities of Jodhpur, Jaipur and Udaipur. We visited rural villages; saw beautiful temples, majestic palaces and forts; enjoyed the riot of colour of the saris; the exquisitely patterned fabrics; the crazy traffic (elephants, camels & cows sharing the road with our car) and meeting the very likeable Indian people. We ate at some great Indian restaurants, ...

We spent 2 weeks (not long enough!!) visiting the highlights of Delhi, Agra and the Rajasthani cities of Jodhpur, Jaipur and Udaipur. We visited rural villages; saw beautiful temples, majestic palaces and forts; enjoyed the riot of colour of the saris; the exquisitely patterned fabrics; the crazy traffic (elephants, camels & cows sharing the road with our car) and meeting the very likeable Indian people. We ate at some great Indian restaurants, watered gentle elephants, enjoyed a dinner in outback India under the stars, were amazed/amused by the noise of the Diwali celebration and enjoyed a traditional Rajasthani dance & puppet show. All in all, it was a fascinating experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The Experience Travel Group did a wonderful job designing our itinerary for us, taking full note of our what we wanted to see and offering great advice on activities and accommodation. Their travel adviser who designed our trip had lived & travelled through India for 8 months so was very knowledgeable. Everything went very smoothly at all times during our trip. We had excellent guides and drivers and good accommodation.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 21 Nov 2016:

Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for posting this lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your trip and I'll pass on your comments to the team and our suppliers in India. I'm glad you enjoyed the amazing variety Rajasthan has to offer!

We very much hope to see you again.

Regards,

James & the ETG team

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by alitraveller, 16 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Incredible India was a delight, fabulous experience - and I can't wait to go back!

This was a private tour arranged by Experience Travel in coordination with their Indian partners and with significant input from me! I had clear ideas about what I wanted to see, where I wanted to stay (some of the time) and was happy to listen to their suggestions as well. As a female travelling solo in India I was more than a little concerned about my personal safety but I was looked after every step of the way, from my wonderful drivers, ...

This was a private tour arranged by Experience Travel in coordination with their Indian partners and with significant input from me! I had clear ideas about what I wanted to see, where I wanted to stay (some of the time) and was happy to listen to their suggestions as well. As a female travelling solo in India I was more than a little concerned about my personal safety but I was looked after every step of the way, from my wonderful drivers, to the local guides and company reps, nothing was too much trouble. The itinerary was complicated but worked very well, the hotels were lovely (ranging from extremely top notch to wonderful little gems tucked away), the city tours were fabulous taking my up stairways and alleyways where I would never have dreamt of going alone to explore and experience the personal side of India as well as the famous sights and sites. Altogether it was truly a holiday of a lifetime (and I have travelled all over the world and been to some fantastic places) and overall the experience was unique and unforgettable.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel are attentive, always available, reliable and highly recommended. Not the cheapest company with which to travel but you do get what you pay for. I was not the easiest of clients but my constant questions were answered carefully, thoroughly and with humour. I feel I have a good relationship with the individuals at Experience Travel and would not hesitate to use them again.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Nov 2016:

Dear Alison,

We definitely feel we have a good relationship with you too! Great to hear you had such a wonderful time. Look forward to hearing more directly sometime soon.

Thank you for once again choosing us to organise your travel.

All the best,

Sam
Co-founder

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by Petal, 1 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful time seeing the many sides of India.

As well as visiting the usual tourist attractions accompanied by knowledgeable and helpful guides, we particularly enjoyed having the opportunity to see other less visited areas of the same cities. We were accompanied by locals who were keen to share their local knowledge and we were given memorable insights into how people spend their lives. These tours included a visit to an ancient part of Delhi, a village within sight of the Taj Mahal ...

As well as visiting the usual tourist attractions accompanied by knowledgeable and helpful guides, we particularly enjoyed having the opportunity to see other less visited areas of the same cities. We were accompanied by locals who were keen to share their local knowledge and we were given memorable insights into how people spend their lives. These tours included a visit to an ancient part of Delhi, a village within sight of the Taj Mahal and a wilderness centre outside Jaipur but the highlight was a cycle rickshaw tour one evening in Delhi where we kept stopping for street food and were able to visit a Sikh gurdwara, Asia's largest spice market and explore parts of the city we would otherwise have missed. In taking these tours we were supporting local tourist initiatives which was also a bonus. The accommodation had been carefully selected with very hospitable and welcoming hosts keen to make us feel at home in their charming properties - a welcome change from hotel chains! We had a truly brilliant time!

Rating for tour operator:

James of Experience Travel understood our requirements right from the start and created an unforgettable holiday in India taking into account our interests - a truly tailor made holiday, the highlights being the 'a little off the beaten track' experiences. The amount of information about the country and related issues was very useful as was the Vamoos app. Experience Travel were immensely helpful with queries before we went to India and all admin and paperwork was handled very efficiently. Once there, their agents were very professional and helpful and ensured any problems were dealt with extremely well. We had such a great time, we hope to travel again with Experience!

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 21 Nov 2016:

Hi Morag,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am so glad you had such an amazing time! I completely agree about the evening tour of Delhi, it is one of my favourite memories of North India.

Hopefully we'll hear from you again for another holiday to Asia!

All the best,

James & The ETG team

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 21 Nov 2016:

Thanks again Morag, I'll pass on your kind comments to the whole team.

Many thanks

James