AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 13
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 13
Reviews Accepted: 13
Reviews Rejected: 0
13 reviews
Sort by:
Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Digger Jeff, 14 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Gulet cruise

Several months ago, I returned from a Peter Sommer guided tour. Normally, I do not like guided tours, as I find that many tour and local guides lack detailed knowledge of the particular site and are rarely able to put it into a wider context. Examples of this were 1) passing a guided tour at Housesteads Roman Fort in 2008, where the guide was explaining how the Pilae in the granary were part of the bath house and 2) at Knossos on Crete in 1987, ...

Several months ago, I returned from a Peter Sommer guided tour. Normally, I do not like guided tours, as I find that many tour and local guides lack detailed knowledge of the particular site and are rarely able to put it into a wider context. Examples of this were 1) passing a guided tour at Housesteads Roman Fort in 2008, where the guide was explaining how the Pilae in the granary were part of the bath house and 2) at Knossos on Crete in 1987, a local guide was explaining that a room contained many columns because the Minoans worshipped columns! Imagine my surprise on returning to Knossos after 31 years, to come across a guide who clearly knew what he was talking about and could also put the site into context. Here we met Dr. Michael Metcalf of Peter Sommer Travels. This year we went on their ‘Walking and Crusing the Dodecanese’ with Michael. I had always wanted to visit these islands, but by ourselves, we would have been based on one island (Kos) and visited the others by ferry. This would have restricted us to the main towns, seeing nothing of the islands or peoples themselves. As an archaeologist and historian, I wanted to see something of the islands and their archaeology. I also love boats and walking. The tour fitted the bill perfectly. We visited a number of islands by Gulet, going into their interiors on foot and returning by minibus or vise versa. We saw a number of archaeological and historical sites, ranging from ancient Greek to WWII. We saw sites we would never have seen or dared to visit. The Gulets are small and you get to know everyone, and you become a tight knit group of friends. One thing I really liked, is that not all the meals were on the boat. We had many meals in local tavernas, meeting local people and putting money into local economy. Don’t get me wrong, the boat meals were excellent, and usually more than we could normally eat or drink. Another cruise we went on, did exactly the opposite. All meals were on the boat, again excellent, but we only saw part of the port town we were in. After the first few, they all looked the same. I can not recommend this tour company too highly.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable and helpful

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by BB, 9 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising the Dodecanese

On the gulet trip with Peter Sommer Travels I found a combination of unpacking once, the complete relaxation on the gulet, walking, learning and visiting the historical sites and great mix of like minded people a great experience. Life on board...healthy meals, quality wines, comfortable cabin, lots of water activities when the weather permitted, enough space on board to have a bit of solitude and relaxation when required...... This is all I ...

On the gulet trip with Peter Sommer Travels I found a combination of unpacking once, the complete relaxation on the gulet, walking, learning and visiting the historical sites and great mix of like minded people a great experience. Life on board...healthy meals, quality wines, comfortable cabin, lots of water activities when the weather permitted, enough space on board to have a bit of solitude and relaxation when required...... This is all I could want; I could have stayed forever and will certainly be back for the third time! Our guide was magnificent; his knowledge and passion and ability to inspire us is outstanding. Organisation was superb.

Rating for tour operator:

Wonderful organisation to fabulous destinations!

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Ms R B 17, 23 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dodecanese for 2 weeks

This was my first tour with Peter Sommers and also the first time I have gone on a cruise. Cruising on a Turkish gulet really was very special, as was being able to swim off the side of the boat in the clear blue water of the Aegean Sea. The islands we visited all offered something different, whether it was an archaelogical site, a crusader castle or a volcano. I especially enjoyed the mix of Turkish food on board and Greek specialities on the ...

This was my first tour with Peter Sommers and also the first time I have gone on a cruise. Cruising on a Turkish gulet really was very special, as was being able to swim off the side of the boat in the clear blue water of the Aegean Sea. The islands we visited all offered something different, whether it was an archaelogical site, a crusader castle or a volcano. I especially enjoyed the mix of Turkish food on board and Greek specialities on the islands we visited. The guides were both exceptionally knowlegable and went out of their way to ensure that everyone had the best possible experience. I would highly recommend Peter Sommers Travel, and this tour, to anyone wanting a special holiday experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel - my first experience with them exceeded my expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to travel with them again. The tour was varied and interesting, the food was excellent and the guides were warm and extremely knowlegable. Every effort was made to accommodate peoples' differing needs.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by JT, 18 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful way to learn about a country you are visiting

A well thought out itinerary which provided an informative and enjoyable experience no matter how much you already knew about the history and archeology of these beautiful islands. Heinrich and Maria are knowledgeable and personable and, quite frankly, delightful people! Peter Sommer Travels obviously take care in ensuring those who lead their tors are top notch.

A well thought out itinerary which provided an informative and enjoyable experience no matter how much you already knew about the history and archeology of these beautiful islands. Heinrich and Maria are knowledgeable and personable and, quite frankly, delightful people! Peter Sommer Travels obviously take care in ensuring those who lead their tors are top notch.

Rating for tour operator:

A well respected operator that works hard to provide a unique travel experience for those interested in delving deeper into a country's culture and history when travelling.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Barry, 15 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding travel experience

Excellent tour all around. Wonderful guides, boat, crew. Well planned, organized and carried out. A very insightful educational as well as great holiday experience.

Excellent tour all around. Wonderful guides, boat, crew. Well planned, organized and carried out. A very insightful educational as well as great holiday experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and forthcoming in arranging our booking and responding to concerns with prompt and useful responses.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by EDG, 5 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous relaxing holiday cruising in the Dodecanese

I had a wonderful relaxing time Cruising the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer Travels. It was extremely well organised with highly professional tour leaders and Gulet crew. The archaeology, culture and more recent history were expertly explored in an interesting and stimulating way.

I had a wonderful relaxing time Cruising the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer Travels. It was extremely well organised with highly professional tour leaders and Gulet crew. The archaeology, culture and more recent history were expertly explored in an interesting and stimulating way.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provide superior customer service and have outstanding organisational skills. This allows their guests to relax and totally enjoy and immerse themselves in the wonderful experience.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Mrs C M 16, 30 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

A superb cultural holiday in the Greek islands

An expert led cruise on a Turkish gulet in the Dodecanese islands (Greece)

An expert led cruise on a Turkish gulet in the Dodecanese islands (Greece)

Rating for tour operator:

Very good

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Mr J C 16, 27 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lovely relaxing holiday in the Aegean

We spent two week cruising the Dodecanese islands, from Patmos in the north to Rhodes in the south, with a visit to Samos as well. I never get tired of sailing the Greek islands on a gulet. It's such a relaxed and enjoyable way to travel - beautiful blue seas & sky, lots of fresh food (and cold beer!), interesting archaeology & pretty harbours. An unexpected bonus this trip was to stay overnight in the sheltered anchorage of uninhabited Alimia ...

We spent two week cruising the Dodecanese islands, from Patmos in the north to Rhodes in the south, with a visit to Samos as well. I never get tired of sailing the Greek islands on a gulet. It's such a relaxed and enjoyable way to travel - beautiful blue seas & sky, lots of fresh food (and cold beer!), interesting archaeology & pretty harbours. An unexpected bonus this trip was to stay overnight in the sheltered anchorage of uninhabited Alimia - taking refuge from bad weather in a place used 2,300 years ago by the Rhodian fleet for that exact purpose. What a fascinating link to the past.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels are a small firm specialising in small group holidays in various countries around the Mediterranean

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Prof B T 16, 26 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Excellent

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by JW, 10 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

We were well looked after from start to finish. The holiday more than lived up to our expectations. We had a lot of fun.

Our holiday was perfect. We enjoyed, cruising, swimming good food, expert guidance and good company.

Our holiday was perfect. We enjoyed, cruising, swimming good food, expert guidance and good company.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer staff were considerate and helpful from the moment we booked till the moment we left the boat for home.