AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 8
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 8
Reviews Accepted: 8
Reviews Rejected: 0
8 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Slinglow, 17 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Greek Islands

We walked the Cycladic Islands of Naxos and Amorgos. This was slightly different to our previous (four) holidays with On Foot, in that rather than walking from one location to another we stayed at one place in each Island, choosing from a variety of different walks each day and returning to the hotel. As usual with On Foot, the routes are well laid out and the walking guides they provide are accurate and helpful.

We walked the Cycladic Islands of Naxos and Amorgos. This was slightly different to our previous (four) holidays with On Foot, in that rather than walking from one location to another we stayed at one place in each Island, choosing from a variety of different walks each day and returning to the hotel. As usual with On Foot, the routes are well laid out and the walking guides they provide are accurate and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the fifth holiday we have taken with this specialist European walking holiday company. They arrange self-guided walks in a number of European locations, providing detailed walking notes, maps and gps apps for you. You set out from the hotel in the morning with your rucksack for the day and your luggage is taken to the next location for you. They have local agents to assist you if you have any issues during the trip. On one occasion we have needed such assistance due to unusual weather conditions and we received excellent and prompt response. They are a nice, low pressure, laid back company; we now try to use them at least once a year and know we will be well served.

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Andy, 31 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

warm and friendly walking in the Lesser Cyclades

1 late autumn week in Naxos and Amorgos, walking routes with notes and maps provided by On Foot Holidays. Wonderful accommodation and friendly staff. Excellent food (a treat for vegetarians). Excellent swimming opportunities from quiet beaches. Wonderful landscapes and sightseeing.

1 late autumn week in Naxos and Amorgos, walking routes with notes and maps provided by On Foot Holidays. Wonderful accommodation and friendly staff. Excellent food (a treat for vegetarians). Excellent swimming opportunities from quiet beaches. Wonderful landscapes and sightseeing.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays - from the first contact with queries about a holiday, the staff are helpful and friendly. They know their business, know their local contacts, and have an eye for detail. (For example, they had kept an eye on the local ferry timetables, keeping us informed of changes right up to the last minute).

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Sandman, 26 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Greece: The Cycladic Islands of Naxos and Amorgos

It was a self-guided walking tour of Naxos and Amorgos (Islands in Greece)

It was a self-guided walking tour of Naxos and Amorgos (Islands in Greece)

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided very good information on the hikes. They were very quick to answer any questions during the planning of the trip. We didn’t really run into any emergency situations or anything like that.

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Cherrie, 25 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Laid back Greek holiday

We hiked the lovely trails of Naxos and Amorgos, ate great food and met some wonderful people.

We hiked the lovely trails of Naxos and Amorgos, ate great food and met some wonderful people.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot is the best hiking holiday tour operator in Europe, We wish they would expand to other continents! This was our 2nd vacation with them and they did not disappoint. Logistics were flawless, accommodations delightful and the hikes breathtaking.

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Peter, 20 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect variety and excellent accommodation

We loved each aspect of the holiday. Naxos and Amorgós offer a really varied diet, but in both we stayed in delightful hotels, with very helpful hosts, and the walks were ideally suited to our group, which needed differing degrees of arduousness. The walking notes were comprehensive and accurate, and we only wishes we had longer on the second island.

We loved each aspect of the holiday. Naxos and Amorgós offer a really varied diet, but in both we stayed in delightful hotels, with very helpful hosts, and the walks were ideally suited to our group, which needed differing degrees of arduousness. The walking notes were comprehensive and accurate, and we only wishes we had longer on the second island.

Rating for tour operator:

At every stage, they gave us really useful information, and were very kind and understanding when some of our original group had to drop out, and then when another friend asked to join us at the last minute. We never needed to contact their representative on Naxos, but all the people we dealt with were remarkably helpful.

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by JW, Kent, 29 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walking holiday in a beautiful traditional part of Greece

Two island walking holiday based on Naxos and Amorgos. A selection of detailed walking instructions were provided and we were free to do as much or as little as we wished. The walks were interesting and well described, and there was also plenty of time for sight-seeing, swimming, and enjoying the very good food and drink. We really enjoyed visiting this relatively undeveloped area which is rich in history and natural beauty.

Two island walking holiday based on Naxos and Amorgos. A selection of detailed walking instructions were provided and we were free to do as much or as little as we wished. The walks were interesting and well described, and there was also plenty of time for sight-seeing, swimming, and enjoying the very good food and drink. We really enjoyed visiting this relatively undeveloped area which is rich in history and natural beauty.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays were very responsive and helpful following my initial request for suggestions for a walking trip in Greece. Everything was done well from start to finish, with plenty of information of where we were going and what we needed to do. There were excellent suggestions for dining, arrangements with a local taxi driver if we needed a lift, and highly detailed maps and instructions for the walks. It was a great holiday experience and we would happily use this operator again.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Ally, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great walking in beautiful island settings

We very much enjoyed the places we stayed in which reflected the real country rather than being hotels-anywhere. The people we met through the company were all helpful and friendly. The walks were well designed and very clearly explained so we could relax and enjoy the views.

We very much enjoyed the places we stayed in which reflected the real country rather than being hotels-anywhere. The people we met through the company were all helpful and friendly. The walks were well designed and very clearly explained so we could relax and enjoy the views.

Rating for tour operator:

They were both extremely efficient and extremely helpful. All the business side was dealt with clearly and competently, and they dealt with our questions immediately and positively.

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Ms C C 17, 20 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday on Greece islands

We spent 4 days in Naxos and 3 days in Amorgos on self guided walks provided by On Foot Holidays. We stayed in lovely hotels that were accessible to restaurants, stores, etc. The walks took us to beautiful places and we were able to have a good feel for the country, culture, people. WE took ferries from one island to the next, which were really a nice way to see the larger island geography. And the weather was excellent !

We spent 4 days in Naxos and 3 days in Amorgos on self guided walks provided by On Foot Holidays. We stayed in lovely hotels that were accessible to restaurants, stores, etc. The walks took us to beautiful places and we were able to have a good feel for the country, culture, people. WE took ferries from one island to the next, which were really a nice way to see the larger island geography. And the weather was excellent !

Rating for tour operator:

They are terrific! They worked with me to get the best itinerary. They are very flexible and responsive. They provide very accurate directions and maps. They are very thorough and think through every detail, which makes everything work out perfectly. The hotels they select are very lovely- small, accessible and the hotel managers are very attentive and accommodating. They have good partners with Taxis and give a lot of information about taxis, buses, etc. The transfers are seamless.