AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Crete Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Crete

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 39
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 40
Reviews Accepted: 40
Reviews Rejected: 0
40 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Crete by Maggie, 4 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beyond expectations which were high at the start

Everything about it excellent, our guides not only experts but considerate & warm & able to impart their knowledge with lively & engaging enthusiasm. The days’ events were varied & exciting, our driver quite wonderful, never an anxious moment on even the most demanding mountain roads, our meals carefully considered & delicious, ditto the accommodation, staying in a mountain village an interesting & unique experience.

Everything about it excellent, our guides not only experts but considerate & warm & able to impart their knowledge with lively & engaging enthusiasm. The days’ events were varied & exciting, our driver quite wonderful, never an anxious moment on even the most demanding mountain roads, our meals carefully considered & delicious, ditto the accommodation, staying in a mountain village an interesting & unique experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We had taken a Peter Sommer tour to Sicily previously & had been so happy with this Company & the way we travellers were looked after & informed, we would not have considered using anyone else with whom to explore Crete. It is particularly helpful being able to deal with the people in their office personally. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Peter Sommer to my friends & family.

Exploring Crete by Dick from Houston, 20 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Crete Tour

Comprehensive view of the island and its food, people, folklore, and archeology.

Comprehensive view of the island and its food, people, folklore, and archeology.

Rating for tour operator:

Maria and Michael were extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. Their knowledge of the island is extensive and they were able to adapt to changing weather conditions.

Reviewer's images:
Exploring Crete by DJW77, 12 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A comprehensive exploration of Cretan culture, food and the archeological sites....

We had a wonderful trip. The food and accommodations were very good and also very interesting....no run of the mill hotels! Our mountain top aerie overlooking the Libyan Sea was amazing. And we had a dinner that could have been cooked by the Minoans....in the pots that they would have used! Visiting the sites with working archeologists made a huge difference in our understanding and new knowledge of the ancient inhabitants. Everything ...

We had a wonderful trip. The food and accommodations were very good and also very interesting....no run of the mill hotels! Our mountain top aerie overlooking the Libyan Sea was amazing. And we had a dinner that could have been cooked by the Minoans....in the pots that they would have used! Visiting the sites with working archeologists made a huge difference in our understanding and new knowledge of the ancient inhabitants. Everything we saw came to life for us!

Rating for tour operator:

Heinrich and Maria are very knowledgeable about everything we saw .....and that we ate. They spent many hours arranging the trip so we could get a sense of the progression of the different civilizations of the island....and planning the meals....always delicious. They are caring and made sure that any issues were resolved satisfactorily for all. And I must mention that they were FUN! It was such a wonderful trip I have signed up for Exploring Sicily next year! I am sure I will be delighted again.

Exploring Crete by Alwen, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

An unforgettable holiday on Crete that showcased the best of this beautiful island's archaeology, geography, history, culture and food

A 14 day small-group exploration of Crete's history, geography and culture, accompanied by passionate and knowledgeable expert guides who helped tour participants to interpret several thousand years of incredible history through an exploration of the Cretan landscape and culture.

A 14 day small-group exploration of Crete's history, geography and culture, accompanied by passionate and knowledgeable expert guides who helped tour participants to interpret several thousand years of incredible history through an exploration of the Cretan landscape and culture.

Rating for tour operator:

A Peter Sommer Travels imprint means that we have confidence that we will not only see and experience the best that a location has to offer, but that we will see it guided by experts who both love their specialist subject and will enthusiastically share their passion with tour participants.

Exploring Crete by HJA, 22 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Crete: a complete and joyful experience

The tour covered all aspects of Cretan archaeology, history, gastronomy and scenery, conducted by enthusiastic experts combined with brilliant organisation. The leaders were attentive to our every need. The tour was so well structured that we never felt stressed or tired.

The tour covered all aspects of Cretan archaeology, history, gastronomy and scenery, conducted by enthusiastic experts combined with brilliant organisation. The leaders were attentive to our every need. The tour was so well structured that we never felt stressed or tired.

Rating for tour operator:

Small company with much expertise and experience with very personal service.

Exploring Crete by Gina, 21 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stimulating and enriching mental, physical and social experience

This holiday was meant to introduce a small group to archeological sites under the guidance of a Greek historian and an archeologist.We visited many interesting sites and nearby museums and learned from an expert the basic principles of archeology as an evidence based science that attempts to discern how people of the past lived. The other focuses of the trip were nature and food. During the two weeks, we sampled foods from many different areas ...

This holiday was meant to introduce a small group to archeological sites under the guidance of a Greek historian and an archeologist.We visited many interesting sites and nearby museums and learned from an expert the basic principles of archeology as an evidence based science that attempts to discern how people of the past lived. The other focuses of the trip were nature and food. During the two weeks, we sampled foods from many different areas of Crete. We also experienced the natural variation in topography of the region through extensive travel in rural areas and by staying in accommodations in traditional Cretan villages. The small group allowed for many interactions and the develop,ent of close relationships with people of like minded interests.

Rating for tour operator:

This is a very professional, well organized tour that offers a variety of wonderful experiences that encompass archeology, culture and nature. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to anyone!

Exploring Crete by Rob B, 30 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

An rewarding tour of a richly historic and beautiful island

The tour met our expectations of learning more about the history of Crete. The knowledge and experience of Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi, both experienced archaeologists enabled us to understand the Minoan sites so much better than if we had visited them on our own. The comprehensive design of the tour program is to be commended.

The tour met our expectations of learning more about the history of Crete. The knowledge and experience of Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi, both experienced archaeologists enabled us to understand the Minoan sites so much better than if we had visited them on our own. The comprehensive design of the tour program is to be commended.

Rating for tour operator:

Our experience with Peter Sommer Travels was very positive and when the tour program had to be changed on one day due to two bridges having been washed away the guides took part of their day off to organize a replacement program. Our dealings with head office was very responsive.

Exploring Crete by Avid Traveler, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Getting to Know and Love Crete

We had a fantastic tour of Crete with Peter Sommer Travels. The guides provided in-depth, engaging and highly knowledgeable interpretation of each site, with a good deal of humour and passion thrown in. The itinerary was thoughtfully designed and very well prepared. The choice of destinations, food and accommodations were excellent, with awesome and really interesting settings. We could not have chosen a better way to see and learn about Crete!

We had a fantastic tour of Crete with Peter Sommer Travels. The guides provided in-depth, engaging and highly knowledgeable interpretation of each site, with a good deal of humour and passion thrown in. The itinerary was thoughtfully designed and very well prepared. The choice of destinations, food and accommodations were excellent, with awesome and really interesting settings. We could not have chosen a better way to see and learn about Crete!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided excellent organization and logistics, smoothly delivered. The food and accommodation were top notch, the guides were also top notch, the transportation by bus was very comfortable with expert driving, airport trasnfers were well organized and smooth, and the overall experience was terrific.

Exploring Crete by Al, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well travelled couple had the best experience in our lives primarily due to the qualified Archaeologists leading our tour

Experienced archaeologists interpret almost 4000 year old Minoan and Dorian sites from a perspective that no other guide could give. Because they have done many excavations themselves, they really know their subject. One a PHD and lecturer at the Hellenic Open University and the other a co-editor of the Blue Book on the Aegean. Maria gives great perfomances while presenting Greek mythology in the context of the site visit. Heinrich is a wealth ...

Experienced archaeologists interpret almost 4000 year old Minoan and Dorian sites from a perspective that no other guide could give. Because they have done many excavations themselves, they really know their subject. One a PHD and lecturer at the Hellenic Open University and the other a co-editor of the Blue Book on the Aegean. Maria gives great perfomances while presenting Greek mythology in the context of the site visit. Heinrich is a wealth of knowledge.

Rating for tour operator:

they obviously have done a great job planning. What Michelin describes as a 3 week adventure, they accomplish in 10 days in depth.

Exploring Crete by Ms A M 18, 13 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Astonishing Crete

As ever the trip was a well balanced itinerary of ancient and contemporary Crete, and Heinrich's profound depth of knowledge and evidence based commentary was excellent. This was scholarship at its best - expert subject knowledge, impartial analysis and great story telling. The hotels were also a delight, each giving a different experience and capturing a different facet of this diverse island. I also enjoyed some fantastic food and (more ...

As ever the trip was a well balanced itinerary of ancient and contemporary Crete, and Heinrich's profound depth of knowledge and evidence based commentary was excellent. This was scholarship at its best - expert subject knowledge, impartial analysis and great story telling. The hotels were also a delight, each giving a different experience and capturing a different facet of this diverse island. I also enjoyed some fantastic food and (more surprising to me at least) wine. The effort that goes into sourcing great local food (as opposed to just opting for standard international fare) is always a highlight of your tours and adds enormously to appreciation and understanding of the culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels focus on providing enjoyable, enriching and mind expanding travel. They have great attention to detail and deliver a very personal service. As a single traveller I very much appreciate the highly sociable ambience the tour leaders create on every trip.