AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Crete Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Crete

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 50
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 51
Reviews Accepted: 51
Reviews Rejected: 0
51 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Crete by James from Atlanta, 6 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Crete

We spent two weeks touring the major archaeological sites of ancient Crete, in the company of three professional, practicing archaeologists eager to share their passion for Crete. And along the way, we enjoyed wonderful local cuisine and charming local accommodations in beautiful settings. What's not to love?

We spent two weeks touring the major archaeological sites of ancient Crete, in the company of three professional, practicing archaeologists eager to share their passion for Crete. And along the way, we enjoyed wonderful local cuisine and charming local accommodations in beautiful settings. What's not to love?

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Tours is magnificent. Their planning, communication, responsiveness, and attentiveness are without equal.

Exploring Crete by Ingrid, 30 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete

This trip hit five stars on all fronts. This was a mother/daughter trip and the first time in Crete for both of us. It exceeded all expectations. Our guide, Maria's incredible knowledge and hernability to weave history and myth together made the many sites we visited that much more fascinating. The hotels were unique, including old, remote village homes converted into charming hotels. The meals were a treat in themselves, locally sourced ...

This trip hit five stars on all fronts. This was a mother/daughter trip and the first time in Crete for both of us. It exceeded all expectations. Our guide, Maria's incredible knowledge and hernability to weave history and myth together made the many sites we visited that much more fascinating. The hotels were unique, including old, remote village homes converted into charming hotels. The meals were a treat in themselves, locally sourced and deliciously prepared, and the itinerary took us through Crete's variable and beautiful landscape. For anyone interested in history from that part of the world, I would highly recommend this trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Very personal service and expertly arranged trip. All details were taken care of and great care was taken to accommodate individual group members' requests and needs.

Exploring Crete by Univac25, 27 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete

Excellent and detailed guided tours of the important sites in Crete from Neolithic through Byzantine times. Fine dining with emphasis on local Cretan ingredients and staying mostly in unique boutique hotels.

Excellent and detailed guided tours of the important sites in Crete from Neolithic through Byzantine times. Fine dining with emphasis on local Cretan ingredients and staying mostly in unique boutique hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful in providing alternate meals for special diet needs. Personally made arrangements to for COVID testing requirements of entry and exit, which would have been awkward to try to do yourself.

Exploring Crete by Jeanne, 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

exploring Crete and Minoan enthusiasms

thorough tour all around the island, with highly knowledgeable and really pleasant guides

thorough tour all around the island, with highly knowledgeable and really pleasant guides

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a superbly run tour operator: itineraries are well thought through; logistics quickly and quietly managed; fascinating dinner discussions; and a virtuoso bus driver .

Exploring Crete by Denise S., 11 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete: Archaeology, Nature & Food

We were on this tour October, 2021. This is an in depth view of the many Minoan sites on Crete. This tour is superb because of the two experts, Maria Girtzi Phd., archeologist, and Paul Besson, historian. We stayed at a range of lodging across the island and experienced town and mountain-top venues. One must understand how active this tour is with many marvelous experiences, but only for the truly fit.

We were on this tour October, 2021. This is an in depth view of the many Minoan sites on Crete. This tour is superb because of the two experts, Maria Girtzi Phd., archeologist, and Paul Besson, historian. We stayed at a range of lodging across the island and experienced town and mountain-top venues. One must understand how active this tour is with many marvelous experiences, but only for the truly fit.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travel has assembled a group of expert guides that differentiate these tours from others by virtue of the expertise of the "on the ground" tour leaders.

Exploring Crete by Dennis, 3 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Being submerged in the archaeological history of Crete

Our experience in Crete began on 6 Oct and ended on 20 Oct. My wife and I soaked up our exploration of Crete through the windows of archaeology, nature, and cuisine. Our only regret was that we did not have more time to go into greater depth in our explorations. The topography was fascinating, especially in terms of how the ancient sites fit into what we were seeing in old and existing cities and strucutres. Of course, it was interesting to ...

Our experience in Crete began on 6 Oct and ended on 20 Oct. My wife and I soaked up our exploration of Crete through the windows of archaeology, nature, and cuisine. Our only regret was that we did not have more time to go into greater depth in our explorations. The topography was fascinating, especially in terms of how the ancient sites fit into what we were seeing in old and existing cities and strucutres. Of course, it was interesting to sample the cuisine for our meals from the east to west, as well as the north and south of Crete. The food was always very fresh and delectable. Of course, with our waking on the archaeological sites and in the cities kept us in good shape inspite of the great meals. We highly recommend this tour for those interested in ancient times and even to modern times. Our tour guides were excellent in explaining where we going and what we should learn at each site and then provided us with detailed info on what we just visited. They had special insight on the cuisine. We are very happy that we could take advantage of what Peter Sommer's team had to offer in this wonderful tour of Crete's archaeology, nature, and cuisine.

Rating for tour operator:

We had two guides. One was a trained archaeologist and the other was an expert in the ancient to the modern history of Crete. In addition, we had an excellent van driver who was amazing in taking us to sites withut any difficulty. This organization was put together by Peter Sommer's organization and operated without any problems. What more could we ask for.

Exploring Crete by Dr K G 19, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary tour offered by an extraordinary company

In short, enlightening and thoroughly enjoyable! Crete presents layer after layer of history and culture, some verging on myth and some speculative. Much of the recent history can be characterized as "turbulent". It all makes for a fascinating place to visit, particularly in the company of our knowledgeable guides.

In short, enlightening and thoroughly enjoyable! Crete presents layer after layer of history and culture, some verging on myth and some speculative. Much of the recent history can be characterized as "turbulent". It all makes for a fascinating place to visit, particularly in the company of our knowledgeable guides.

Rating for tour operator:

It is hard to exaggerate the quality of the experience which Peter Sommer Travels provides. The guides are extremely highly qualified (importantly, they know what they know and what they don't know (i.e., is not known)). They also clearly have a passion for the history and culture which they present, and it shows in their enthusiasm. At the same time, every effort is made to make the trip an enjoyable experience, from beautiful accommodations to fantastic meals which most often explore regional specialties. All in all, I can't recommend Peter Sommer Travel highly enough.

Exploring Crete by Mr. B V 19, 22 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Great guides and wonderful trip. Terrific insight by well planned tour providing marvelous insight into a fascinating part of the world.

Great guides and wonderful trip. Terrific insight by well planned tour providing marvelous insight into a fascinating part of the world.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and helpful

Exploring Crete by bobnbob, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Explolring Crete, by Peter Sommer Tours

An extended tour of Crete, taking in fascinating towns, archaeological sites and cultural encounters. The tour guides, Heinrich and Maria, were superb at narration, local expertise, logistics and general helpfulness. We greatly enjoyed this tour.

An extended tour of Crete, taking in fascinating towns, archaeological sites and cultural encounters. The tour guides, Heinrich and Maria, were superb at narration, local expertise, logistics and general helpfulness. We greatly enjoyed this tour.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth tour with Peter Sommers, after tours of the Peloponnesus, Athens and the Dodecanese Islands in Greece, and a tour of rural Ireland. Their tour guides are particularly superb in expertise and logistics.

Exploring Crete by Ken, 4 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Extremely educational and a wonderful culinary and cultural experience.

We explored a variety of archaeological sites in Crete--mostly Minoan but also a healthy sampling of Greek, Roman and Byzantine centers as well. Our tour had two wonderful guides who were very knowledgeable about the history and archaeological significance of the sites we visited, and could explain it all with great precision and clarity. They also arranged lodging for us in some unusual and delightful hotels and villages. An additional plus ...

We explored a variety of archaeological sites in Crete--mostly Minoan but also a healthy sampling of Greek, Roman and Byzantine centers as well. Our tour had two wonderful guides who were very knowledgeable about the history and archaeological significance of the sites we visited, and could explain it all with great precision and clarity. They also arranged lodging for us in some unusual and delightful hotels and villages. An additional plus of this trip was the great variety of Cretan cuisine, both food and wines, that we got to enjoy. By the end of the trip, I felt that I had experienced a college course in a Study Abroad location condensed into two weeks, and it was absolutely wonderful. One of the highlights for me was having a dinner prepared by a food archaeologist using the foods, techniques and cooking vessels characteristic of the Proto/Neopalatial periods of Minoan history. Our guides (Heinrich and Maria) were terrific at making the history of the sites come alive, but they also conveyed an appreciation of the contemporary culture of Crete as we were experiencing it daily. Now, if only I could crack Linear A.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the first Peter Sommers tour that my wife and I had taken. Everything was extremely well organized. They were unusually helpful with arranging transfers and accommodations for extra days we were in Crete but not yet part of the tour. The housing, food, transportation and site visits all were so seamlessly well managed that I felt quite pampered. I certainly don't live this well at home!