AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Crete Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Crete

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 33
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 34
Reviews Accepted: 34
Reviews Rejected: 0
34 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Crete by Rob B, 30 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

An rewarding tour of a richly historic and beautiful island

The tour met our expectations of learning more about the history of Crete. The knowledge and experience of Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi, both experienced archaeologists enabled us to understand the Minoan sites so much better than if we had visited them on our own. The comprehensive design of the tour program is to be commended.

The tour met our expectations of learning more about the history of Crete. The knowledge and experience of Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi, both experienced archaeologists enabled us to understand the Minoan sites so much better than if we had visited them on our own. The comprehensive design of the tour program is to be commended.

Rating for tour operator:

Our experience with Peter Sommer Travels was very positive and when the tour program had to be changed on one day due to two bridges having been washed away the guides took part of their day off to organize a replacement program. Our dealings with head office was very responsive.

Exploring Crete by Avid Traveler, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Getting to Know and Love Crete

We had a fantastic tour of Crete with Peter Sommer Travels. The guides provided in-depth, engaging and highly knowledgeable interpretation of each site, with a good deal of humour and passion thrown in. The itinerary was thoughtfully designed and very well prepared. The choice of destinations, food and accommodations were excellent, with awesome and really interesting settings. We could not have chosen a better way to see and learn about Crete!

We had a fantastic tour of Crete with Peter Sommer Travels. The guides provided in-depth, engaging and highly knowledgeable interpretation of each site, with a good deal of humour and passion thrown in. The itinerary was thoughtfully designed and very well prepared. The choice of destinations, food and accommodations were excellent, with awesome and really interesting settings. We could not have chosen a better way to see and learn about Crete!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided excellent organization and logistics, smoothly delivered. The food and accommodation were top notch, the guides were also top notch, the transportation by bus was very comfortable with expert driving, airport trasnfers were well organized and smooth, and the overall experience was terrific.

Exploring Crete by Al, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well travelled couple had the best experience in our lives primarily due to the qualified Archaeologists leading our tour

Experienced archaeologists interpret almost 4000 year old Minoan and Dorian sites from a perspective that no other guide could give. Because they have done many excavations themselves, they really know their subject. One a PHD and lecturer at the Hellenic Open University and the other a co-editor of the Blue Book on the Aegean. Maria gives great perfomances while presenting Greek mythology in the context of the site visit. Heinrich is a wealth ...

Experienced archaeologists interpret almost 4000 year old Minoan and Dorian sites from a perspective that no other guide could give. Because they have done many excavations themselves, they really know their subject. One a PHD and lecturer at the Hellenic Open University and the other a co-editor of the Blue Book on the Aegean. Maria gives great perfomances while presenting Greek mythology in the context of the site visit. Heinrich is a wealth of knowledge.

Rating for tour operator:

they obviously have done a great job planning. What Michelin describes as a 3 week adventure, they accomplish in 10 days in depth.

Exploring Crete by Ms A M 18, 13 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Astonishing Crete

As ever the trip was a well balanced itinerary of ancient and contemporary Crete, and Heinrich's profound depth of knowledge and evidence based commentary was excellent. This was scholarship at its best - expert subject knowledge, impartial analysis and great story telling. The hotels were also a delight, each giving a different experience and capturing a different facet of this diverse island. I also enjoyed some fantastic food and (more ...

As ever the trip was a well balanced itinerary of ancient and contemporary Crete, and Heinrich's profound depth of knowledge and evidence based commentary was excellent. This was scholarship at its best - expert subject knowledge, impartial analysis and great story telling. The hotels were also a delight, each giving a different experience and capturing a different facet of this diverse island. I also enjoyed some fantastic food and (more surprising to me at least) wine. The effort that goes into sourcing great local food (as opposed to just opting for standard international fare) is always a highlight of your tours and adds enormously to appreciation and understanding of the culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels focus on providing enjoyable, enriching and mind expanding travel. They have great attention to detail and deliver a very personal service. As a single traveller I very much appreciate the highly sociable ambience the tour leaders create on every trip.

Exploring Crete by Pmerk, 17 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Crete

All aspects were excellent.

All aspects were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

All was excellent.

Exploring Crete by JackieM, 13 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Crete

The tour of Crete was fabulous! The tour and country exceeded my expectations. The accommodations were great......from a modern hotel with all the amenities to small villages with very comfortable, interesting apartments. The food was incredible.......the local produce, cheeses and meats and seafood were well prepared and copious. Our fellow tour-mates were great travel companions: we represented the USA, UK and Canada. Crete was wonderful ...

The tour of Crete was fabulous! The tour and country exceeded my expectations. The accommodations were great......from a modern hotel with all the amenities to small villages with very comfortable, interesting apartments. The food was incredible.......the local produce, cheeses and meats and seafood were well prepared and copious. Our fellow tour-mates were great travel companions: we represented the USA, UK and Canada. Crete was wonderful with widely differing terrain and fascinating archeology.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour guides were outstanding. Maria and Heinrich were well-matched and complimented one another well. I really enjoyed the mythology presented by Maria. The tour was well planned with every detail addressed.

Exploring Crete by Mr W H 18, 5 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Archaelogical tour of Crete

A well led trip by two thoroughly professional and sociable guides. The accommodation was a treat with stays in old mansions and converted mountain village homes.

A well led trip by two thoroughly professional and sociable guides. The accommodation was a treat with stays in old mansions and converted mountain village homes.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third trip with Peter Sommer and recommend them highly to firends.

Exploring Crete by MandL, 17 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete: Archaeology, Nature & Food

A wonderful first visit to Crete, guided by experts as part of a small group (10 guests) to visit key sites throughout the island. Superb accommodation, meals and company. No reservations in recommending this holiday.

A wonderful first visit to Crete, guided by experts as part of a small group (10 guests) to visit key sites throughout the island. Superb accommodation, meals and company. No reservations in recommending this holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels arranges the most interesting and attractive tours. Clients are treated like family members and no effort is spared to make everything as good as it can possibly be.

Exploring Crete by DBM, 16 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Crete

I found Crete to be very interesting enhanced by the two guides. I especially enjoyed the culinary aspects. Our guides were interesting, engaging, and fun!

I found Crete to be very interesting enhanced by the two guides. I especially enjoyed the culinary aspects. Our guides were interesting, engaging, and fun!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer offers terrific value for the money. Easy planning. Some of the best guides. True professionals in every way.

Exploring Crete by SAM, 15 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Crete, it’s history, culture, and food

We spent 12 lovely days exploring Crete, the Minoan civilization, it’s rich Roman, Venetian, Turkish, and Greek history. We enjoyed the beauty of the island and the food was fantastic.

We spent 12 lovely days exploring Crete, the Minoan civilization, it’s rich Roman, Venetian, Turkish, and Greek history. We enjoyed the beauty of the island and the food was fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first tour with Peter Sommer but we hope it is not our last. We were a group of 10 with two fantastic guides, two of the best we have ever experienced.