AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 26
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 26
Reviews Accepted: 26
Reviews Rejected: 0
26 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Lynn, 18 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lovely way to see the Village Perchés in the South of France

We had a wonderful 5 night hike from La Brigue to Menton by the sea. It was challenging but not too difficult. The route notes made sense. The views were spectacular and we had some great food along the way.

We had a wonderful 5 night hike from La Brigue to Menton by the sea. It was challenging but not too difficult. The route notes made sense. The views were spectacular and we had some great food along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the 3rd trip we've done with On Foot Holidays (Amalfi Coast and Spain's Basque Country before this one) and each time we've had some beautiful routes, easy to follow route notes and saw some gorgeous parts of Europe. The On Foot Crew are very professional and responsive.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Dr Helen, 3 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular Alpes Maritimes walking holiday.

Superb routes through spectacular Alpes Maritimes countryside. Excellent service and organization. Highlights included the views and wildflowers, La Brigue accommodation, incredible routes through forests, rivers, mountain villages.

Superb routes through spectacular Alpes Maritimes countryside. Excellent service and organization. Highlights included the views and wildflowers, La Brigue accommodation, incredible routes through forests, rivers, mountain villages.

Rating for tour operator:

Very impressive service and friendly hosts to provide luggage transfers, advice on local highlights and great meals. Great walking directions and wonderful accommodations. The route from La Brigue to Menton was absolutely spectacular.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Cathy, 17 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Alpes Maritimes

8 day walk in the Alpes Maritimes region in France. It's hard to put into words just how good it was. Magnificent scenery, challenging but achievable walking, beautiful medieval towns, comfortable accommodation with personable hosts. Added to all this, our luggage moved for us from one place to the next, a local contact who phoned to see that all was well early in the trip and who was easily contactable when we needed to speak to him. The ...

8 day walk in the Alpes Maritimes region in France. It's hard to put into words just how good it was. Magnificent scenery, challenging but achievable walking, beautiful medieval towns, comfortable accommodation with personable hosts. Added to all this, our luggage moved for us from one place to the next, a local contact who phoned to see that all was well early in the trip and who was easily contactable when we needed to speak to him. The walk was perhaps more challenging than we expected and we were very glad to have walking poles, particularly for the downhill stretches, and where there was loose scree underfoot.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays has been a dream to book a holiday through. Their level of communication has been the best we've ever experienced - personal and detailed. The written walking directions were for the most part accurate, with the gpx file adding an extra layer of security. This was very welcome on long downhill stretches that looked more like a goat trail than a path and where no markers had been see for a while!

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Tanya J., 29 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays Alpes Maritimes Walk - An Unforgettable Experience!

Can't say enough great things about our experience walking the Alps Maritime trek - the views were stunning, the trails easy to navigate and well groomed, and the lodging and food along the way fantastic (especially Les Iris which was a very cute B&B whose lovely host, Pina, cooked a fabulous dinner for us and went above and beyond coordinating with On Foot and sending my husband's wedding ring back to us after he lost it on the property).

Can't say enough great things about our experience walking the Alps Maritime trek - the views were stunning, the trails easy to navigate and well groomed, and the lodging and food along the way fantastic (especially Les Iris which was a very cute B&B whose lovely host, Pina, cooked a fabulous dinner for us and went above and beyond coordinating with On Foot and sending my husband's wedding ring back to us after he lost it on the property).

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first walk using a travel company and Debbie and Simon at On Foot Holidays were absolutely fantastic. They were very professional, friendly, responsive and also went above and beyond coordinating the return of my husband's wedding ring which he lost on the trip. The packet of maps and information was very well put together and we are looking forward to doing another walk with On Foot in 2019.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by JOGLEWALK, 19 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walking holiday in the Alpes Maritimes

This was a six day self-guided walking trip along scenic mountain paths, passing through picturesque medieval villages and finishing on the Mediterranean coast. We stayed mostly in comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation, with dinner and packed lunches usually provided by very welcoming hosts.

This was a six day self-guided walking trip along scenic mountain paths, passing through picturesque medieval villages and finishing on the Mediterranean coast. We stayed mostly in comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation, with dinner and packed lunches usually provided by very welcoming hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our third walking trip with On Foot Holidays. They provided detailed and informative maps and route notes, booked all of the hand-picked accommodation and arranged the transfer of luggage each day. They went out of their way to ensure that the holiday was perfect. Most importantly, the route planning information was of a very high standard, so that our safety was assured at all times during the walk.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by AS, 26 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful scenery, fascinating villages

Walking the Alpes- Maritimes was an amazing experience. We loved the scenery-the steep mountains with the panoramic views from the top and the seaside walk from Cap Martin to Menton. The villages were delightful, so full of history and we loved walking the cobbled laneways exploring them. We especially loved La Brigue and the perched village of St Agnes. The track notes were excellent- we didn't get lost once. The background information on ...

Walking the Alpes- Maritimes was an amazing experience. We loved the scenery-the steep mountains with the panoramic views from the top and the seaside walk from Cap Martin to Menton. The villages were delightful, so full of history and we loved walking the cobbled laneways exploring them. We especially loved La Brigue and the perched village of St Agnes. The track notes were excellent- we didn't get lost once. The background information on the flora and fauna made the walk even more interesting. The hotels were excellent and the food in every town was great

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot Holidays provided a comprehensive "Walkers' Pack" which made the holiday so much easier. Timetables and transport instructions on getting to start and from finish were provided, as were maps, track notes and background information.Any questions were promptly answered.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Periwinkle, 26 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful walking in the sunshine with amazing views.

One week in October 17 walking the Alpes Maritimes. Weather was fantastic, sun every day but not too hot for walking. Routes were challenging but worth it for the views. Walking to a different village every day with your luggage being transported was luxury. The accomodation was charming with very friendly hosts.

One week in October 17 walking the Alpes Maritimes. Weather was fantastic, sun every day but not too hot for walking. Routes were challenging but worth it for the views. Walking to a different village every day with your luggage being transported was luxury. The accomodation was charming with very friendly hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been with On Foot before and they never fail to disappoint - the area, the walks and the places to stay. Route instructions very detailed and accurate. We met a couple walking with Another Company who were very disappointed with the route they had been given, with rather a lot on the road. This is the fourth holiday with On Foot and they are always reliable.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Willatravel, 1 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Solo hiker loves the rewards of a challenging yet stunning route in the Maritime Alps

I did the Maritime Alps route with OnFoot Holidays. I added two extra nights in LaBrigue, France and one extra night in Menton, France. The route took me on sometimes challenging but always beautiful mountain paths to stunning perched villages and lovely valley towns. I hiked in early May and found the wildflowers in full bloom and few fellow hikers on the paths. I especially enjoyed exploring the towns of Tende and Sospel and the mountain ...

I did the Maritime Alps route with OnFoot Holidays. I added two extra nights in LaBrigue, France and one extra night in Menton, France. The route took me on sometimes challenging but always beautiful mountain paths to stunning perched villages and lovely valley towns. I hiked in early May and found the wildflowers in full bloom and few fellow hikers on the paths. I especially enjoyed exploring the towns of Tende and Sospel and the mountain setting--overlooking the Mediterranean--of St. Agnes. The hosts in the small village hotels were friendly and efficient in seeing that my bag arrived at its next destination. This trip worked well for me as a solo hiker. There is a train from Nice through the Roya valley which insures that should the weather turn bad, one always has a way to get to the next hotel. I did have to use it once, but was able to backtrack the next day and do the hike I had missed. Having the train provides a nice flexibility if you need to switch things up a bit. I absolutely loved this holiday and was sad when I reached the end in beautiful seaside Menton.

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot Holidays delivered on everything it promised on my holiday. As a solo hiker, I was required to have a GPS device, with digital maps provided to supplement the excellent notes provided. Each day was a new adventure as I walked from lovely village to lovely village, and the accommodations were exactly as described--varied and charming as one would expect in small villages. I appreciated the depth of information available on the company's website and have discovered that other companies require a personal inquiry before giving you all that information. I used the detailed information about the difficulty of the hikes and the route to choose my holiday. The company also provided detailed information about train schedules, how to reach the beginning of the hike, and about each of the villages I passed through. I needed to contact the company's representative in France one time, and he provided helpful advice.The company responded to each of my inquiries quickly and completely, and I look forward to walking with them again.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Morgan, 9 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Perfect blue skies and solitude in the Alpes Maritime

Alpes Maritime was a big surprise for us. Though high season in the rest of France we had this area almost to ourselves and it is a most beautiful area awash with fantastic flowers, butterflies and so much more. Also some completely unspoiled villages and towns with lots of history.

Alpes Maritime was a big surprise for us. Though high season in the rest of France we had this area almost to ourselves and it is a most beautiful area awash with fantastic flowers, butterflies and so much more. Also some completely unspoiled villages and towns with lots of history.

Rating for tour operator:

Very thorough and considerate. Information provided for the arrival and the daily walks were of very high quality. All of the hotels looked after us well.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Mr P D 16, 25 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exciting and rewarding

The walk was in the Alpes Maritimes. We started from La Brigue and walked to Fontan and then on the Breil, Sospel Ste Agnes and finally Menton on the Mediterranean. Each days walk was set out with maps and detailed instructions guiding us through the countryside to our destination. Together with a booklet for the historic town of Sospel and a book setting out general information about each stage, we were well informed of the area to be encountered...

The walk was in the Alpes Maritimes. We started from La Brigue and walked to Fontan and then on the Breil, Sospel Ste Agnes and finally Menton on the Mediterranean. Each days walk was set out with maps and detailed instructions guiding us through the countryside to our destination. Together with a booklet for the historic town of Sospel and a book setting out general information about each stage, we were well informed of the area to be encountered. The scenery and villages were well worth the exertion of the climbs. The accommodation in each town was well selected for its friendliness and access to the town.

Rating for tour operator:

The presentation of the information and the attitude of the operators shows them to be a professional body. At the end of the walk I was contacted regarding my experience and for any improvements they can make to the walk.