AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 27
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Mr P D 16, 25 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exciting and rewarding

The walk was in the Alpes Maritimes. We started from La Brigue and walked to Fontan and then on the Breil, Sospel Ste Agnes and finally Menton on the Mediterranean. Each days walk was set out with maps and detailed instructions guiding us through the countryside to our destination. Together with a booklet for the historic town of Sospel and a book setting out general information about each stage, we were well informed of the area to be encountered...

The walk was in the Alpes Maritimes. We started from La Brigue and walked to Fontan and then on the Breil, Sospel Ste Agnes and finally Menton on the Mediterranean. Each days walk was set out with maps and detailed instructions guiding us through the countryside to our destination. Together with a booklet for the historic town of Sospel and a book setting out general information about each stage, we were well informed of the area to be encountered. The scenery and villages were well worth the exertion of the climbs. The accommodation in each town was well selected for its friendliness and access to the town.

Rating for tour operator:

The presentation of the information and the attitude of the operators shows them to be a professional body. At the end of the walk I was contacted regarding my experience and for any improvements they can make to the walk.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Gordy, 15 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday in Alpes Maritimes

A fantastic route through wonderful countryside with excellent views, staying at vert friendly family run hotels. Excellent route instructions and other information.

A fantastic route through wonderful countryside with excellent views, staying at vert friendly family run hotels. Excellent route instructions and other information.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays are very professional. They take great care to ensure you have a positive experience, and pay great attention to detail. The route descriptions are accurate without being too fussy, and the accompanying notes give interesting information about the area.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Mrs H D 15, 9 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

MAJESTIC VIEWS, QUAINT VILLAGES AND GREAT HOSPITALITY

We have been hiking for 15 years plus and always with an organised tour company with guides. This self guided experience was one of the highlights of our adventures to date and feel very confident in recommending this choice to anyone. The Alps to the Mediterranean was exciting, full of wonderful landscapes, food, history and importantly the hospitality afforded to us, very good hosts especially in La Brigue. The guide book, maps and ...

We have been hiking for 15 years plus and always with an organised tour company with guides. This self guided experience was one of the highlights of our adventures to date and feel very confident in recommending this choice to anyone. The Alps to the Mediterranean was exciting, full of wonderful landscapes, food, history and importantly the hospitality afforded to us, very good hosts especially in La Brigue. The guide book, maps and the GPS made the trip easy and gave us confidence to try other options in the future. All the Staff at On Foot Holidays were absolutely great to deal with, prompt replies, efficient and friendly. Overall excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Everyone we dealt with were knowledgeable, friendly and prompt in responding to our concerns.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Mr F O 15, 26 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

great walking holiday

Excellent accomodation and food. Great info on walks with alternatives. Everyone very helpful. Good to see a new place each day

Excellent accomodation and food. Great info on walks with alternatives. Everyone very helpful. Good to see a new place each day

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and helpful

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Depps, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Brilliantly organised to our personal requirements.

We found the holiday that we wanted originally on Google. On Foot holidays met our requirements but dates and timings for our purpose had to be adapted. On Foot Holidays were able to be flexible . Mary who I originally spoke to was not only happy to try to meet our requirements but also came cross as genuinely excited about what we wanted to achieve and where we wanted to arrive at , at the end of our destination. I did not want to start off ...

We found the holiday that we wanted originally on Google. On Foot holidays met our requirements but dates and timings for our purpose had to be adapted. On Foot Holidays were able to be flexible . Mary who I originally spoke to was not only happy to try to meet our requirements but also came cross as genuinely excited about what we wanted to achieve and where we wanted to arrive at , at the end of our destination. I did not want to start off and finish at the normal start and finishing points,but On Foot holidays still arranged for couriers to move our luggage onto collection points at Hotels that we did not use. From start to finish our holiday was impeccably organised. The walking routes were finally detailed in not only direction but in detailed description which was passionate about the terrain and environment .even with the prospect of a 10 mile walk most days was exciting when you read the about your planned route. Finally the small hotels that were chosen by On Foot holidays were perfect. Particularly Hotel Fleur des Alpes, where Robbie the proprietor stoked up a log burner to dried out our walking clothes and could not be more helpful. Giving us his phone to talk to Richard. On Foot Holidays man on the ground who was checking up on us and looking into potential hight snow problems for our walk(snowing at the end of May which was not normal for area). He also drove us to the start of our second days walk to save us waiting for the train out of kindness and no monetary reward. Le Saint Yves was also similarly hosted, with M. Tibert moving us to his best table when he found out we were on On Foot Holidays. Great wholesome rustic food and bedding still ironed in house by an elderly relative. In conclusion can't wait for our next On Foot holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Exceptional attention to detail and personal service that We have not experienced before.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Rita, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely fabulous!

We had five days of perfect hiking! Wonderful paths, really beautiful and interesting little villages, and hardly another human being in sight!

We had five days of perfect hiking! Wonderful paths, really beautiful and interesting little villages, and hardly another human being in sight!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays offered an excellent and friendly service from beginning to end! The walking instructions were very clear and everything worked perfectly.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by AG, 1 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Alpes Maritime walking holiday

A well organised and highly enjoyable 7 day September walk down the Roya valley in South Eastern France. Around 5-6 hours moderate walking each day, from the Alpine foothills down to the Mediterranean at Menton. It's not all downhill, with some stiff climbs. Never boring, with fine scenery, tiny stone villages, and a slightly remote atmosphere. The rural hotels were typically average but very welcoming and comfortable for the weary walkers, ...

A well organised and highly enjoyable 7 day September walk down the Roya valley in South Eastern France. Around 5-6 hours moderate walking each day, from the Alpine foothills down to the Mediterranean at Menton. It's not all downhill, with some stiff climbs. Never boring, with fine scenery, tiny stone villages, and a slightly remote atmosphere. The rural hotels were typically average but very welcoming and comfortable for the weary walkers, and a very comfortable hotel at the end! The organisation ran like clockwork. We'd happily do another walk in the region, and would certainly be very happy to use On Foot Holidays again.

Rating for tour operator:

The website is extremely clear and simple - no extraneous waffle - and says exactly what you need to know. The small team was very efficient, and it felt as if we were dealing with friends who knew what was going on and really wanted to help. They were completely flexible in dealing with our requests. This all followed through into the documentation and the organisation on the ground. All accurate and highly efficient. Overall, we thought this was by some distance the best walking company we have ever used, and a pleasure to deal with them.

On Foot Holidays responded to this review on 01 Oct 2014:

That's some accolade Adrian - thank you!

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Aussie Bulldog, 1 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Exquisite scenery in the South of France accompanied by beautiful villages and great food.

Having done the Wainwright Coast to Coast in 2013 my wife and looked for another self guided walk for 2014. We found OnFoot Holidays and chose their Alpes-Maritimes walk. The route instructions, and the route itself, were superb. Communication with them at all times before the walk could not be faulted. Accommodation was comfortable without being lavish. Food along the way was great. The mountain scenery was magnificent and the transition from ...

Having done the Wainwright Coast to Coast in 2013 my wife and looked for another self guided walk for 2014. We found OnFoot Holidays and chose their Alpes-Maritimes walk. The route instructions, and the route itself, were superb. Communication with them at all times before the walk could not be faulted. Accommodation was comfortable without being lavish. Food along the way was great. The mountain scenery was magnificent and the transition from mountain to sea wonderful. A fantastic well organized holiday. Would CERTAINLY use OnFoot again.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent. As stated above all communication and route maps and instructions faultless.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Chris Horn, 16 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Anderful walk through remote France to the sea

We walked through wonderful country to remote French villages and on to the sea on the south coast of France

We walked through wonderful country to remote French villages and on to the sea on the south coast of France

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly and personal. Very knowledgeable. Extremely well organised. Responded to, and informed us efficiently of, last minute problems. When a path was closed they researched [and walked] an alternative route and sent detailed maps and walking instructions to us in France - quite outstanding.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Sacha, 13 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic stroll through the Alpes

Great scenery, challenging but good level hike, fantastic food!

Great scenery, challenging but good level hike, fantastic food!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot gave us tons of info but let us enjoy our vacation without bothering us during it. However we knew they were always easy to reach and gave us tips about recent landslides, even organizing and paying for a cab through part of a hike we could not access!