AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Discover Adventure Ltd

Discover Adventure Ltd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Discover Adventure Ltd

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 131
Good 9
Average 4
Poor 2
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 147
Reviews Accepted: 147
Reviews Rejected: 0
147 reviews
Sort by:
Lands End to John O Groats by Bob, 10 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Land's End to John O'Groats cycle

The ride was physically harder than I expected. Completed it due to lots of positive support and encouragement. The support team were competent, capable and outstanding in extra support. Accommodation was either good or better. Amazing experience.

The ride was physically harder than I expected. Completed it due to lots of positive support and encouragement. The support team were competent, capable and outstanding in extra support. Accommodation was either good or better. Amazing experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure. All bookings etc done by email. All question and problems dealt with promptly. On the tour I was surprised ( and delighted) at the standard of the accommodation. Felt very supported and the bike maintenance enroute was often done before needing to ask.

Everest Base Camp Trek by ALouise, 5 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp - A once in a lifetime experience I am now confident I will be back again in the Himalayas!

I had the most incredible time on the Everest Base Camp Trek. From the busy streets of Kathmandu to the icy cold of the High Himalayas, the trip had it all. We woke to views of Everest from our bedroom in the teahouse, we ate enough garlic soup to last you a lifetime and got to spend 19 days with a great bunch of supportive and friendly people, who I am now lucky enough to call friends. It was supposed to be a once in a lifetime experience but ...

I had the most incredible time on the Everest Base Camp Trek. From the busy streets of Kathmandu to the icy cold of the High Himalayas, the trip had it all. We woke to views of Everest from our bedroom in the teahouse, we ate enough garlic soup to last you a lifetime and got to spend 19 days with a great bunch of supportive and friendly people, who I am now lucky enough to call friends. It was supposed to be a once in a lifetime experience but now I am sure I will be back in the Himalayas.

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure were great throughout the whole process. We had lots of information before we went on the trip with itineraries, kit lists, training plans etc and we were kept updated by the team on some minor changes to the travel arrangements. We were met in the airport by the team and the trip began. Whilst we were abroad, DA had two crew with us the whole time including a Doctor to support us and to resolve any issues that arose. We received full trip briefings once we were in Nepal and were kept up to date with the plans and itinerary. We also had the support of a team of local crew who facilitated the whole trip and allowed it to run like a dream. DA organised all the accommodation and food where included (all the time we were in the mountains) and even arranged a city tour of Kathmandu which was excellent. The trip ran very smoothly and Discover Adventure were great throughout. I would thoroughly recommend.

Transylvania Winter Wilderness by polly, 28 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous

Snow shoeing in the Transylvanian alps and sleeping in an ice hotel for one night

Snow shoeing in the Transylvanian alps and sleeping in an ice hotel for one night

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure are exactly that, giving people, especially solo travelers, the chance to discover adventure , under safe conditions

Northern Lights Winter Trek by JSCambs, 8 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Northern Lights Trekking November 2018

This was a fantastic experience, the challenge was harder than expected but the camaraderie in the group was excellent, with everyone helping each other on tough sections. The DA staff were very good and the local guides excellent.

This was a fantastic experience, the challenge was harder than expected but the camaraderie in the group was excellent, with everyone helping each other on tough sections. The DA staff were very good and the local guides excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

DA were well organised and support staff included a doctor with the group.

Great Wall of China Trek by Stick, 20 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Discovery Adventure Great Wall of China Trek - Excellent, well-managed and glorious

Discovery Adventure Great Wall of China Trek - this took us to Beijing and the wall. 10 Day holiday, 8 days of trekking which varied between easy and steep. The trekking was hard at times but not too long so overall not so exhausting. The areas we visited were off the beaten track led by a very knowledgeable guide with excellent English language skills. The sanitation was occasionally challenging but what we expected. The actual walking ...

Discovery Adventure Great Wall of China Trek - this took us to Beijing and the wall. 10 Day holiday, 8 days of trekking which varied between easy and steep. The trekking was hard at times but not too long so overall not so exhausting. The areas we visited were off the beaten track led by a very knowledgeable guide with excellent English language skills. The sanitation was occasionally challenging but what we expected. The actual walking was superb.

Rating for tour operator:

pre-holiday advice was excellent but occasionally the planning was a bit haphazard although this was partly due to the Chinese admin.

Great Wall of China Trek by Mrs C B 18, 19 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

One of the best things I have ever done . It was so well organized.

One of the best things I have ever done . It was so well organized.

Rating for tour operator:

First class

Great Wall of China Trek by Shannon, 30 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great Wall of China Trek

China was fantastic - an absolute dream come true! It was challenging and really tough at times but the sense of achievement I had was unreal. The culture and the views were stunning: I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The extension offered which I went on was also amazing, well planned and definitely added something to the trip - loved it from beginning to end!

China was fantastic - an absolute dream come true! It was challenging and really tough at times but the sense of achievement I had was unreal. The culture and the views were stunning: I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The extension offered which I went on was also amazing, well planned and definitely added something to the trip - loved it from beginning to end!

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure is absolutely brilliant - I always say I'd never go with anyone else! Their service and support are excellent, and the trips are fantastic!

Great Wall of China Trek by Juleswill1, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing time on the great wall

Discover adventure great wall trek was very well organised. Accommodation was as expected apart from one which was dubious near Jinshanlin and last 2 were better than expected so evened it iut

Discover adventure great wall trek was very well organised. Accommodation was as expected apart from one which was dubious near Jinshanlin and last 2 were better than expected so evened it iut

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised advised me of every step in process. Allowed me to defer a year when my dad was dying last year so very happy with hem

Reviewer's images:
London to Amsterdam Cycle by Helz, 26 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well put together trip!

I cycled from London to Amsterdam with Discover Adventure. The trip was very well organised, great team and really nice laid back break and meal stops. It really made all the difference during the long hours of cycling!

I cycled from London to Amsterdam with Discover Adventure. The trip was very well organised, great team and really nice laid back break and meal stops. It really made all the difference during the long hours of cycling!

Rating for tour operator:

Really nice, friendly and approachable team. Well planned trip.

Lands End to John O Groats by Stevie, 16 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Lands End to John O' Goats cycle ride

A thoroughly enjoyed my holiday and appreciated the planning and support given by Discovery Adventure.

A thoroughly enjoyed my holiday and appreciated the planning and support given by Discovery Adventure.

Rating for tour operator:

They were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. They carried out the work they did always with a smile and a joke. Which made our experience one whichI'll never forget.