AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Central America discovery Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Central America discovery

Overall Holiday Rating
96%
Excellent 33
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 36
Reviews Accepted: 36
Reviews Rejected: 0
36 reviews
Sort by:
Central America discovery by swebbews, 19 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

3 great weeks in Central America

There were too many highlights to list here, but from the beautiful waters of the Caribbean at Bocas del Toro (Panama) to the Mayan ruins at Copan (Honduras), the whole holiday exceeded our expectations.

There were too many highlights to list here, but from the beautiful waters of the Caribbean at Bocas del Toro (Panama) to the Mayan ruins at Copan (Honduras), the whole holiday exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

We have done several holidays with JLA, and once again they provided a memorable experience. The tour leader Cesar Pineda was superb, always managing to anticipate the group's needs.

Central America discovery by RH088, 22 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Good introduction to Central America

Fast paced tour, generally very interesting.

Fast paced tour, generally very interesting.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised trip overall, and good individual service from operator in arranging a tour extension.

Central America discovery by Mrs L P 17, 27 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating introduction into Central America

We visited Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador and Guatamala in a small guided group.

We visited Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador and Guatamala in a small guided group.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America are the specialists in this area - we have made 4 trips with them. Very knowledgeable and helpful - expensive holidays but good value for money. Nice interesting hotels and tours.

Central America discovery by JulieR, 18 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Sensational JLA

I organised 2 back to back trips with JLA, one a tailor made trip to columbia, the second a small group tour (alcion) through panama, costa rica, nicaragua, el salvador, honduras and guatemala.

I organised 2 back to back trips with JLA, one a tailor made trip to columbia, the second a small group tour (alcion) through panama, costa rica, nicaragua, el salvador, honduras and guatemala.

Rating for tour operator:

From the query stage to the return home JLA were simply oustanding. Their patience and professionalism were exceptional. The standard of both trips was simply excellent and their tour guides were far beyond expectations. The guides dealt superbly with significant problems including a couple of significant medical emergencies, a strike at a border crossing and dealing with a very diverse group of tourists. The proof of a good holiday company is how they deal in a crisis and JLA were wonderful in all aspects. All were exceptionsl at their job, interesting, interested, safety concious, fun and responsible. Without doubt, JLA are the company that exceeded my expectations on group tours and where possible i will use them and recommend them to others. The private tour was equally exceptional. In short, we felt exceptionally happy with everything about 7 week trip that JLA had organised

Central America discovery by Aura, 3 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Good introduction to countries, culture etc. with excellent leadership

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Rating for tour operator:

helpful, dealt with queries quickly and efficiently

Central America discovery by Aura, 3 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Good introduction to countries, culture etc. with excellent leadership

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Rating for tour operator:

helpful, dealt with queries quickly and efficiently

Central America discovery by The whisky man!, 31 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excitement and adventure in safe and experienced hands of JLA.

We recently travelled with JLA on a trip across six countries of Central America covering 3000kms in 24 days in 11 hotels using various forms of transport but with one superb and very experienced, professional and yet warm and fun tour leader - without whom we would never have made it past our first stop of Panama City!

We recently travelled with JLA on a trip across six countries of Central America covering 3000kms in 24 days in 11 hotels using various forms of transport but with one superb and very experienced, professional and yet warm and fun tour leader - without whom we would never have made it past our first stop of Panama City!

Rating for tour operator:

First rate in every respect - if only more operators got it so right.

Central America discovery by Magnet, 7 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Discovery tour

It was 3 weeks tour of Central America. It was classed as a Discovery tour which essentially was a 'no frills' tour. An excellent experience .

It was 3 weeks tour of Central America. It was classed as a Discovery tour which essentially was a 'no frills' tour. An excellent experience .

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America obviously has a wealth of experience in this region.

Central America discovery by A couple from the north of England, 27 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

Group tour [15 people] through 6 countries in Central America by bus and boat

Very flexible travel arrangements..able to fly from Manchester via Amsterdam and avoid going through the US. Very varied scenery and places to stay..Panama Canal ,coffee farm tour, an island off the Caribbean coast of Panama, Ometepe Island in Lake Nicaragua, cloud forest in Monteverde, Costa Rica, lots of volcanoes and Spanish Colonial towns. Many border crossings, different buses and changes of currency..all made easy by our superb indefatigable ...

Very flexible travel arrangements..able to fly from Manchester via Amsterdam and avoid going through the US. Very varied scenery and places to stay..Panama Canal ,coffee farm tour, an island off the Caribbean coast of Panama, Ometepe Island in Lake Nicaragua, cloud forest in Monteverde, Costa Rica, lots of volcanoes and Spanish Colonial towns. Many border crossings, different buses and changes of currency..all made easy by our superb indefatigable guide who could not have been more organised or helpful. Would highly recommend both this trip and Journey Latin America.

Rating for tour operator:

As above

Central America discovery by Hils, 31 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Central America

A group tour of 6 countries in Central America - Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala. A fantastic taste of the 6 countries with inevitably lots of travelling from place to place. We had a rich variety of forms of transport - private bus, public bus, chicken bus, small water taxis, ferries, tuc tuc, horses and zip-wires! Walked in forests and saw amazing vegetation, birds and animals. We marvelled at volcanoes...

A group tour of 6 countries in Central America - Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala. A fantastic taste of the 6 countries with inevitably lots of travelling from place to place. We had a rich variety of forms of transport - private bus, public bus, chicken bus, small water taxis, ferries, tuc tuc, horses and zip-wires! Walked in forests and saw amazing vegetation, birds and animals. We marvelled at volcanoes. We ate in many different style restaurants and sampled street food. Visited ruins, museums and saw lots of Spanish colonial architecture.

Rating for tour operator:

Thoroughly friendly, knowledgeable and professional at all points of contact from the initial contact with Alexandra at JLA, through the booking process to being looked after by a world class tour leader - Daniele Binaghi. JLA have an in-depth knowledge of South America and put together really interesting and good value tours.