AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Central America discovery Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Central America discovery

Overall Holiday Rating
92%
Excellent 15
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
Central America discovery by PeterE, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A trip across Central America taking in El Salvador, Honduras. Guatemala and Belize

Travelling by minibus and one plane between the four countries seeing Mayan ruins at for sites and finishing with a three day stay on a beach at Belize

Travelling by minibus and one plane between the four countries seeing Mayan ruins at for sites and finishing with a three day stay on a beach at Belize

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America gave us what we asked for and more. Holiday went without a hitch and surpassed our widest reams

Central America discovery by VikingErik, 25 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Our third outstanding trip with Journey Latin America

We travelled overland from Panama, through Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala - an exceptional insight into each of the countries (unfortunately we had to fly over Nicaragua as the security situation there meant a change to our original schedule). We spent three weeks meeting the locals, staying in excellent local hotels and enjoying excursions to experieince the wildlife, scenery, culture and history of each of the places we visited...

We travelled overland from Panama, through Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala - an exceptional insight into each of the countries (unfortunately we had to fly over Nicaragua as the security situation there meant a change to our original schedule). We spent three weeks meeting the locals, staying in excellent local hotels and enjoying excursions to experieince the wildlife, scenery, culture and history of each of the places we visited.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time we've travelled with Journey Latin America and I have no hesitation in highly recomending them. They really know the countries we've visited, have excellent local contacts and know how to get the best for their customers. I should also mention our tour leaders who have been exceptional On this trip Cesar became a friend - there really wasn't more he could have done for us.

Central America discovery by swebbews, 19 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

3 great weeks in Central America

There were too many highlights to list here, but from the beautiful waters of the Caribbean at Bocas del Toro (Panama) to the Mayan ruins at Copan (Honduras), the whole holiday exceeded our expectations.

There were too many highlights to list here, but from the beautiful waters of the Caribbean at Bocas del Toro (Panama) to the Mayan ruins at Copan (Honduras), the whole holiday exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

We have done several holidays with JLA, and once again they provided a memorable experience. The tour leader Cesar Pineda was superb, always managing to anticipate the group's needs.

Central America discovery by RH088, 22 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Good introduction to Central America

Fast paced tour, generally very interesting.

Fast paced tour, generally very interesting.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised trip overall, and good individual service from operator in arranging a tour extension.

Central America discovery by Mrs L P 17, 27 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating introduction into Central America

We visited Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador and Guatamala in a small guided group.

We visited Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador and Guatamala in a small guided group.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America are the specialists in this area - we have made 4 trips with them. Very knowledgeable and helpful - expensive holidays but good value for money. Nice interesting hotels and tours.

Central America discovery by JulieR, 18 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Sensational JLA

I organised 2 back to back trips with JLA, one a tailor made trip to columbia, the second a small group tour (alcion) through panama, costa rica, nicaragua, el salvador, honduras and guatemala.

I organised 2 back to back trips with JLA, one a tailor made trip to columbia, the second a small group tour (alcion) through panama, costa rica, nicaragua, el salvador, honduras and guatemala.

Rating for tour operator:

From the query stage to the return home JLA were simply oustanding. Their patience and professionalism were exceptional. The standard of both trips was simply excellent and their tour guides were far beyond expectations. The guides dealt superbly with significant problems including a couple of significant medical emergencies, a strike at a border crossing and dealing with a very diverse group of tourists. The proof of a good holiday company is how they deal in a crisis and JLA were wonderful in all aspects. All were exceptionsl at their job, interesting, interested, safety concious, fun and responsible. Without doubt, JLA are the company that exceeded my expectations on group tours and where possible i will use them and recommend them to others. The private tour was equally exceptional. In short, we felt exceptionally happy with everything about 7 week trip that JLA had organised

Central America discovery by Aura, 3 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Good introduction to countries, culture etc. with excellent leadership

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Rating for tour operator:

helpful, dealt with queries quickly and efficiently

Central America discovery by Aura, 3 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Good introduction to countries, culture etc. with excellent leadership

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Well organised, comprehensive, sensitive to local cultures, with an excellent guide

Rating for tour operator:

helpful, dealt with queries quickly and efficiently

Central America discovery by The whisky man!, 31 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excitement and adventure in safe and experienced hands of JLA.

We recently travelled with JLA on a trip across six countries of Central America covering 3000kms in 24 days in 11 hotels using various forms of transport but with one superb and very experienced, professional and yet warm and fun tour leader - without whom we would never have made it past our first stop of Panama City!

We recently travelled with JLA on a trip across six countries of Central America covering 3000kms in 24 days in 11 hotels using various forms of transport but with one superb and very experienced, professional and yet warm and fun tour leader - without whom we would never have made it past our first stop of Panama City!

Rating for tour operator:

First rate in every respect - if only more operators got it so right.

Central America discovery by Magnet, 7 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Discovery tour

It was 3 weeks tour of Central America. It was classed as a Discovery tour which essentially was a 'no frills' tour. An excellent experience .

It was 3 weeks tour of Central America. It was classed as a Discovery tour which essentially was a 'no frills' tour. An excellent experience .

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America obviously has a wealth of experience in this region.