AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Spirit of Colombia Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Spirit of Colombia

Overall Holiday Rating
96%
Excellent 7
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 9
Reviews Accepted: 9
Reviews Rejected: 0
9 reviews
Sort by:
Spirit of Colombia by belmonty, 9 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Colombia, heart stopping country

Three weeks in Colombia and Costa Rica, wide ranging experiences from eco lodges to rustic farm on nature reserve. Tremendous road travel over the Andes and seamless air travel where needed. Wonderful people, beautiful scenery, gorgeous small towns and experienced and friendly guides. A holiday that perfectly matched the brief we originally discussed with the tour operator

Three weeks in Colombia and Costa Rica, wide ranging experiences from eco lodges to rustic farm on nature reserve. Tremendous road travel over the Andes and seamless air travel where needed. Wonderful people, beautiful scenery, gorgeous small towns and experienced and friendly guides. A holiday that perfectly matched the brief we originally discussed with the tour operator

Rating for tour operator:

JLA were really careful about sorting out whether their suggestions matched our needs. We had numerous discussions on the phone and by email before the final plan was finalised. The arrangements worked seamlessly. The trip was fascinating. Their pre departure information was tremendous and their app which included the itinerary, tickets, maps and weather forecasts was really helpful.

Spirit of Colombia by RFL, 12 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Varied, interesting and well run

A journey through Colombia allowing us to see different aspects of the country. We observed coffee and sugar production at a local level. Brilliant wildlife experiences:- Condor flying amongst wax palms; Birds, reptiles and fish on the Magdalena. Unspoilt archaeological sites.

A journey through Colombia allowing us to see different aspects of the country. We observed coffee and sugar production at a local level. Brilliant wildlife experiences:- Condor flying amongst wax palms; Birds, reptiles and fish on the Magdalena. Unspoilt archaeological sites.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised. Brilliant guide.

Spirit of Colombia by Gill, Wapping, 6 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Four weeks in Colombia

We travelled to Bogotà, Villa de Leyva, the Amazonas, Pereira and the coffee region, Medellín, Cartagena and Tayrona National Park. We had an amazing experience discovering the scenery, birdlife, fruits and indigenous cultures of Colombia. Our guides were very knowledgeable and happy to answer all sorts of questions about Colombian culture.

We travelled to Bogotà, Villa de Leyva, the Amazonas, Pereira and the coffee region, Medellín, Cartagena and Tayrona National Park. We had an amazing experience discovering the scenery, birdlife, fruits and indigenous cultures of Colombia. Our guides were very knowledgeable and happy to answer all sorts of questions about Colombian culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America organised everything and it all went like clockwork. All their counterparts in Colombia went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Spirit of Colombia by dg, 19 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Very well-organised trip which gave us a good overview of the places visited

A trip to Colombia with a week's family visit in Bogota and then trips to S Agustin, Popayan, Pereira and Medellin.

A trip to Colombia with a week's family visit in Bogota and then trips to S Agustin, Popayan, Pereira and Medellin.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and flexible to our slightly unusual requirements. Good information about destinations,

Spirit of Colombia by Michy , 2 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

South and Central America mix of group and bespoke 7 weeks

Group tour weaverbird colombia 2 weeks then to Galápagos Islands for a week,. After that a couple weeks in Nicaragua before flying to Yucatan for self drive 10 days.

Group tour weaverbird colombia 2 weeks then to Galápagos Islands for a week,. After that a couple weeks in Nicaragua before flying to Yucatan for self drive 10 days.

Rating for tour operator:

They are amazing. I wouldn't go to central or South America with any other . This is the second time we've used them. They are a responsible tour operator that fits with our principles of supporting local business. The hotels are small independents and the guides all local. Everything is very effienctly done and my husband and I felt safe in their hands

Spirit of Colombia by Alan, 13 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

Overall a very good tour.

A wide ranging tour of Colombia giving a good flavour of different parts of the country.

A wide ranging tour of Colombia giving a good flavour of different parts of the country.

Rating for tour operator:

JLA tours benefit from excellent specialist knowledge of Latin America and a strong commitment to customer care particularly thyrough the high quality of their tour leaders.

Spirit of Colombia by Giacomo, 6 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

An excellent introduction to various aspects of Colombian geography and culture in the highlands and on the Caribbean Coast.

After a guided tour of Santa Fé de Bogotá, and a visit to the gold museum, we flew to San Agustín to see the archaeological park and make a journey through the hills on horseback. We then took time out in Bogotá to walk up to Lake Guatavita, see an outstanding tango orchestra and dancers perform in a large theatre, paid for by the City Council, visit more museums & take a tour on the city tourist bus, with its young actors performing en route...

After a guided tour of Santa Fé de Bogotá, and a visit to the gold museum, we flew to San Agustín to see the archaeological park and make a journey through the hills on horseback. We then took time out in Bogotá to walk up to Lake Guatavita, see an outstanding tango orchestra and dancers perform in a large theatre, paid for by the City Council, visit more museums & take a tour on the city tourist bus, with its young actors performing en route. Then we journeyed to the Tayrona National Park, where we walked along a jungle track, crossing columns of leaf-cutter ants and seeing monkeys in the canopy overhead. We finally arrived at a series of small bays on the Caribbean Coast. The water temperature was just right for a relaxing swim. Next, we travelled on to Aracata to see Gabriel García Márquez' childhood home, then on to Mompos for a journey down the River Magdalena and a study of the brilliant night sky from our hotel roof, under the guidance of Daniele Binaghi. Finally, we drove on to Cartagena de Indias for a city tour, drinks on the walls, a roof top dinner and a ticket for the Hay Festival in Cartagena. A truly memorable experience!

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was meticulously prepared and organised. We were found competitive air fares and given all the advice we could have wanted. The places visited were varied and our guide (Daniele Binaghi) attended to all our needs. No detail was too small for him. He managed all payments for local guides, advised on the best restaurants in every town and suggested interesting places to visit in our spare time. Journey Latin America must be congratulated for putting together such an interesting itinerary.

Spirit of Colombia by Timmy, 16 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

A varied tour of Colombia.

A good holiday, which was well led and guided, but let down by poor accommodation in several locations.

A good holiday, which was well led and guided, but let down by poor accommodation in several locations.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America were organised and efficient. The tour leader was excellent and most of the local guides were very good.

Spirit of Colombia by K Hutton Cheltenham, 16 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Authentic and Comprehensive

Weaverbird Colombia with JLA - Expert tour leader coupled with expert local guides meant this comprehensive tour really got us to experience an exciting and unknown destination. The small size of the group compared to many holidays and the lack of other tour operators around only heightened the enjoyment.. JLA organised a requested tour extension expertly and modified our request to improve the trip further. GREAT value for money

Weaverbird Colombia with JLA - Expert tour leader coupled with expert local guides meant this comprehensive tour really got us to experience an exciting and unknown destination. The small size of the group compared to many holidays and the lack of other tour operators around only heightened the enjoyment.. JLA organised a requested tour extension expertly and modified our request to improve the trip further. GREAT value for money

Rating for tour operator:

Expert, friendly , customer focussed.