Ciceroni Travel

Reviews of Ciceroni Travel

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 373
Reviews accepted: 373
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
364
Good
9
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Superb

By Mr A B 17 on 14 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Baroque Rome >

An outstanding combination of thoughtful preparation and brilliant execution

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very helpful and nicely personalised

Baroque Rome at it’s best.

By John on 14 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Baroque Rome >

The organisation of this tour was absolutely first class. It was intellectually satisfying and the hotel and restaurants were well chosen. Once the working day was over, the evening was made pleasant as Ciceroni Travel attracts intelligent and people wi5h similar interests. I will certain travel with this company again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Great

Amazing Baroque experience

By Matron on 13 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Baroque Rome >

The holiday started badly by our missing our onward flight to Rome due to ice at Aberdeen but after that setback it was upbeat all the way. A lovely hotel in the same square as the Pantheon & endless great restaurants just round the corner from the hotel. The culture was something else, amazing Bernini statues which took my breath away. Caravaggios to be lusted over even if too many were on loan to the UK or Milan! We visited a private home & saw an amazing Caravaggio in the drawing room, how lucky was that. One of the highlights was our visit to St Peter’s & it was great to see Pope John Paul the second in his private side Chapel as we had seen him when he was brought up from the tombs below to lie in state in the Basillica before being Canonised in 2003. This was an amazing few days in Rome, not to be missed

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Tom Duncan is a wonderful tour leader. He has so many facts at his fingertips & makes what he is talking about come alive. His knowledge is remarkable & he can talk for hours on his favourite subjects so has to be reined in by his very able number two in Italy, James Hill. He gets entry to places other tourists never go such as the private apartments where we saw the Caravaggios. I could not praise him highly enough.

Baroque Rome.

By Simple engineer. on 13 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Baroque Rome >

Very educational, very entertaining, very full progamme. Excellent food and accommodation. Full marks to Ciceroni.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Cannot recommend Ciceroni highly enough. They convert philistines into art historians - astonishing.

Art & Music in Milan & Cremona

By clog on 30 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Art & Music in Milan & Cremona >

It was an extremely well conceived exploration of the various facets of culture in Milan followed by a quite amazing musical experience in Cremona. It included a number of unusual galleries and private collections.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The UK office and tour organiser in Italy were most competent. The tour leader was so very well versed in all aspects of the visit.

Very well organized and managed

By Tailend Charlie on 30 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Art & Music in Milan & Cremona >

I was amazed when I got home just what we had done and seen both artistically and musically in so short a time

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was my third tour with Ciceroni and will happily do another any time

Ciceroni Travel to Milan

By Pete on 30 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Art & Music in Milan & Cremona >

This was a comprehensive week's tour of the sights, art galleries and churches of Milan, Cremona and Crema with visits to violin maker's and organ builder's workshops, plus private homes and collections, all enlivened by expert commentaries by Ciceroni Travel's founder, the art historian Tom Duncan. Choice accommodation and excellent meals. We have joined ten or so Ciceroni tours before and remain addicted.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Tom Duncan is an erudite and entertaining art historian and a delight to listen to.

a great insight into national collections

By douglas c on 24 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Madrid: Habsburgs & Bourbons >

wonderful weather! ideally situated hotel. great to have private viewing at the Prado. very good guides. well managed

Rating for tour operator Excellent

first time, but 2 more booked!

An enjoyable and informative holiday

By Graham on 19 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Good
Find more about Vases & Volcanoes: Naples >

We enjoyed our visits to Greek and Roman sites , the commentaries and the arrangements for the trips.

Rating for tour operator Good

Very good service and arrangements

Completely up to Ciceroni's high standards

By Taffy on 18 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Vases & Volcanoes: Naples >

An excellent cultural tour to the ancient Roman sites in the bay of Naples. A very good hotel, excellent logistical planning,and a small congenial group of like minded people. Both James Hill and Christopher Smith were first class as guides. Christopher, having recently moved on from being the director of the British School in Rome, was bang up to date with the excavations, especially in Herculaneum, which the British School administers on behalf of the Packard interests.
Our visit was marred by one of us ( both in our late 70s) being bumped off the British Airways flight home. Cicerone have been and are being most helpful in helping to get some compensation. We are appalled by British Airways service. So all travellers beware! Even on a group ticket you can be bumped. So be prepared with a back up plan, especially if one of a couple gets bumped. Make a back up plan for what you would do. Are you fully prepared to travel alone if you have to?

Rating for tour operator Excellent

First class. I hope to do more of their tours