AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ciceroni Travel

Ciceroni Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ciceroni Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 389
Good 10
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 399
Reviews Accepted: 399
Reviews Rejected: 0
399 reviews
Sort by:
Philadelphia & the Du Ponts by Cymro, 23 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

First-rate US tour

A great tour to Philadelphia, which captured the best of its history, art, culture, architecture and gardens. Philadelphia may not be an obvious choice, but it's a very walkable city with plenty of options for the visitor.

A great tour to Philadelphia, which captured the best of its history, art, culture, architecture and gardens. Philadelphia may not be an obvious choice, but it's a very walkable city with plenty of options for the visitor.

Rating for tour operator:

From first enquiry to post-tour satisfaction follow-up, Ciceroni exhibit the very best that one might expect from a bespoke, top-quality tour operator. The Tour leader, James, ensured that everything went smoothly and he was both knowledgeable and efficient. All in all, this was a super tour from Ciceroni.

Italian Lakes: Gardens & Villas by franki, 16 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Stimulating and fun

Excellently arranged by Ciceroni as always. Superbly led by James. A varied and thought provoking experience with amazing highlights such as a historical display of pianos expertly played, and a flute in a magical garden.

Excellently arranged by Ciceroni as always. Superbly led by James. A varied and thought provoking experience with amazing highlights such as a historical display of pianos expertly played, and a flute in a magical garden.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, efficient, professional and well known and well liked by all the owners of properties visited.

Exploring Persia & Iran by Rusty, 16 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

A childhood dream realised 65 years later

This was an excellently planned trip to a country, Iran, that raised some uncertainties in the minds of one or two friends. These anxieties were completely dispelled by the warmth of welcome we encountered from North to South of Iran.

This was an excellently planned trip to a country, Iran, that raised some uncertainties in the minds of one or two friends. These anxieties were completely dispelled by the warmth of welcome we encountered from North to South of Iran.

Rating for tour operator:

Ciceroni helped us prepare for the trip from start to finish with assistance with Visa applications, what was acceptable wear for women in Iran, and appropriate conduct therein. An excellent reading list was provided and the operator planned an excellent route south from Tehran to Shiraz and north through Isfahan back to Tehran.

Italian Lakes: Gardens & Villas by Mary, 15 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

one of the most enjoyable holidays I ever experienced

It was well prepared and organised. We had two excellent Guides and as usual, Ciceroni gave us some special and unique experiences while in the Italian Lakes. We felt well cared for, even to the extent that James put my heavy case on the check-in scales on the homeward journey!

It was well prepared and organised. We had two excellent Guides and as usual, Ciceroni gave us some special and unique experiences while in the Italian Lakes. We felt well cared for, even to the extent that James put my heavy case on the check-in scales on the homeward journey!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent - see above comments

Exploring Persia & Iran by Mr S W 18, 12 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Iran at its most friendly and interesting

A group tour of Iran, from Tehran to Yazd to Shiraz to Isphahan and Persepolis and back to Tehran. No problems with hotels or meals, and a very comfortable coach with fully trustworthy staff. Extraordinarily beautiful monuments and buildings, well displayed museums, bustling towns, and great friendliness everywhere. Most memorable.

A group tour of Iran, from Tehran to Yazd to Shiraz to Isphahan and Persepolis and back to Tehran. No problems with hotels or meals, and a very comfortable coach with fully trustworthy staff. Extraordinarily beautiful monuments and buildings, well displayed museums, bustling towns, and great friendliness everywhere. Most memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled several times with Ciceroni and have never been disappointed. As a guide, Tom Duncan excels with deep intelligence and knowledge, challenging views, and great wit. He is never less than educational and entertaining, and ensures that all members of the group are happily involved.. And the support he receives from his office is excellent.

Exploring Persia & Iran by lazibones, 11 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Persia - History Ancient and Modern

When visiting the Iran of today, it is as well not to have too high an expectation of a holiday surrounded in luxury and all creature comforts...... What makes up for the appalling traffic and sometimes scary driving is the charm and friendliness of the people, stunning scenery, beautiful gardens, and just so much more. Historical sights abound - the stuff of the romantic legends of ones youth!

When visiting the Iran of today, it is as well not to have too high an expectation of a holiday surrounded in luxury and all creature comforts...... What makes up for the appalling traffic and sometimes scary driving is the charm and friendliness of the people, stunning scenery, beautiful gardens, and just so much more. Historical sights abound - the stuff of the romantic legends of ones youth!

Rating for tour operator:

Ciceroni Travel care for the traveller from the moment you pick up the phone to book a holiday until the moment you have collected your luggage from the carousel upon the return home.

Exploring Persia & Iran by Hacker, 8 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Ancient Frontiers; Exploring Persia and Iran. 2 Weeks in Iran

A guided tour of the best that Iran has to offer, incorporating History, Culture, Buildings and Remains, all delivered in a hugely interesting and entertaining way.

A guided tour of the best that Iran has to offer, incorporating History, Culture, Buildings and Remains, all delivered in a hugely interesting and entertaining way.

Rating for tour operator:

Ciceroni is a very well established and creative tour company, specialising in the educated traveller. No art snobbery here but plenty of information, well presented making the whole experience hugely absorbing but presented with a light and amusing touch.

Petra & the Treasures of Jordan by Jane, 8 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Meticulously planned itinerary to Jordan by Ciceroni

The quality of Guides was excellent (one from UK, a professor of ancient history and a Jordanian) Hotels were very well chosen for location, comfort and facilities. Extremely good coach driver for all of the trip Sites visited were well planned and extensively covered without being over the top

The quality of Guides was excellent (one from UK, a professor of ancient history and a Jordanian) Hotels were very well chosen for location, comfort and facilities. Extremely good coach driver for all of the trip Sites visited were well planned and extensively covered without being over the top

Rating for tour operator:

Quality planning of sites to visit, leaving out lesser important ones, very comfortable hotels, food, very knowledgeable guides, who communicate well and inclusive welcome for all guests especially those travelling alone. Every effort is made to make everyone happy!

Eastern Sicily's Private Gardens by Tina, 7 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Private Gardens of Eastern Sicily.

I had not been to Sicily before, and took a little time to decide where to start with visiting the island. I decided on this trip, and only covering a small part of the island, as well as gardens, struck me as a good place to begin. And, I wasn’t disappointed from the baked earth of Sicily I saw some extraordinary challenges. Arid gardens, cactus of all ages, shape and size, to lush orchards, and a garden of the owners ‘Journey of Life”. ...

I had not been to Sicily before, and took a little time to decide where to start with visiting the island. I decided on this trip, and only covering a small part of the island, as well as gardens, struck me as a good place to begin. And, I wasn’t disappointed from the baked earth of Sicily I saw some extraordinary challenges. Arid gardens, cactus of all ages, shape and size, to lush orchards, and a garden of the owners ‘Journey of Life”. Kind generous hosts, who also managed to entertain us to lunch of Sicilian cuisine. Utterly delicious. This island holds manny secrets I’m sure, and one day I will hope to return,

Rating for tour operator:

Always helpful, and everything seems to me the traveller to run like clockwork. Being a solo traveller this is very important to have a company one can rely on.

Exploring Persia & Iran by bearskin, 5 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

It was a fascinating and rewarding trip

Iran was a revelation - it was both physically and intellectually stimulating. I feel lucky to have seen so many exceptional sites and met the charming and friendly Iranian people

Iran was a revelation - it was both physically and intellectually stimulating. I feel lucky to have seen so many exceptional sites and met the charming and friendly Iranian people

Rating for tour operator:

Tom was so interesting and managed to put over his knowledge in a clear and amusing way. His knowledge of the history and cultural aspects of the country are enormous.