Ciceroni Travel

Reviews of Ciceroni Travel

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 324
Reviews accepted: 324
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
317
Good
7
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Beautiful Bulgaria

By Voyager on 21 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Full of pleasant surprises from Thracian Gold through Roman architecture, Byzantine churches, icons and frescoes to surprisingly good wine and food.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Our every need well researched and provided for.

Excellent

By Jo on 21 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was a holiday to Bulgaria, a country which I have always wanted it visit. When I found that Ciceroni with whom I had travelled previously was offering a trip I was delighted as I have travelled with them on previous occasions and have always found their trips first class. From beginning to end, the trip was excellent. The registration and the pre-trip information went very smoothly. I live in Canada, so I had some questions which were answered in a timely and in a satisfactory manner.

All the travel arrangements were very well planned, from the very good hotels to the meals. I am vegetarian and I was delighted that this had been into account with every group meal. There were no issues as can sometimes be the case.

The tour guide with his extensive knowledge of Bulgarian history, culture, art and religion was one of the best that I have encounter inn my extensive travels. He even spoke Bulgarian.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

My tour operator was Ciceroni Travel with whom I have travelled on many occasions. They are a small "boutique" travel company which specialize in up-market cultural tours.

Their tour guides are very high quality and are usually from an academic background. This particular guide had been a Senior Classics Master at a prestigious public school and had worked with the governments of Bulgaria and Iran.

Everything I needed for a perfect holiday

By Mogs47 on 18 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about An Invitation to the Veneto >

A wonderful mix of 'culture', relaxation, and amiable travelling companions. Just what I needed.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ciceroni Travel specialise in cultural holidays for small groups of, mostly, older travellers. Tour Leaders are excellent and knowledgeable, and pace the tours to the needs of their clients. Travelling on my own for the first time, I was welcomed into the group which comprised several solo travellers and some couples.
I will travel with Ciceroni again.

By Dicky on 16 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about An Invitation to the Veneto >

Six nights and seven days of bliss, very good hotel, our own very comfortable coach, two very experienced guides. WE went to north Italy to see PALLADIO architecture and frescoes in each building, wonderful, wonderful. Well done Chiceroni.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very efficient, very pleasant, a joy to be a member of the party. Will look forward to the next tour.

Andrea Palladio brings the Ancient World to Life again.

By Ingo on 12 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about An Invitation to the Veneto >

Tom Duncan, CICERONI, with his deep knowledge of the Ancient World whisked us from one Palladio Villa to the next with the result that at the end of our holiday near Vicenca we could image life during Roman times.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

CICERONI TRAVEL, a small company excels in their efficiency. Everything during the holiday came up to expectation. The smallest problem would be solved straight away and nothing was too much trouble. We felt extremely well looked after the whole time and our Tour Director and Lecturer made our holiday a great experience, not to be missed.

Erudite cultural tuition, with fun!

By JRF on 10 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about An Invitation to the Veneto >

The visits were comprehensive to buildings by Palladio and associates in the Veneto, as well as a day in Padua. We had access to private villas, including 4 meals in these buildings with the owners, creating a special intimacy. The tuition was erudite, but always fun.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Extremely knowledgable, but fun.

Enjoyment at a high level

By Elena H. on 8 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about An Invitation to the Veneto >

Good programme, well organised in a lovely area with lots of architectural/art history. Good value for what was included

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well led with a good programme and in depth talks on the various venues visited. Always kept well informed of what was happening, and good details given as to local cafes/restaurants etc. A degree of eccentricity adds to the charm and binds the group together.

A culture treat that was enlightening and informative

By Culture vulture on 23 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Extremadura Explored >

Great attention to detail and a beautiful balance between culture and exposure to new experiences.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Wit, humour and knowledge were blended in a seamless web!

A wonderful introduction to the riches of a lesser known region of Spain

By Codger on 22 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Extremadura Explored >

Very comfortable hotels, many visits to important towns and places of interest, very well informed guides, very good and varied food and drink. A full programme, excellently managed, that also left time for personal relaxation. The who,e group was very good company. Tom Duncan was his usual erudite and witty self.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ciceroni has fully competent and helpful staff in the office and in the field. It offers a wide selection of holidays for those who wish to explore the history and culture of a region.

A very thorough tour of the several cultural highlights of Extramadura punctuated by memorable group meals.

By bob on 19 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Extremadura Explored >

I was particularly interested in the regions very fine Roman remains and we visited all these with an expert local guide whose English was excellent. It was a pity that Tom Duncan was not fit enough to accompany us on two days, because his mini-lectures are always both erudite and full of good humour. The hotels we stayed in were first-class although the situation of one in the historic centre of Caceres meant quite a trek each day to and from our coach which could not enter the centre's narrow streets. The weather was mixed ranging from almost summer temperatures to rain and gloom but we saw the Roman remains in glorious sunshine. We also visited a number of pleasing small towns and the magnificent pilgrimage monastery at Gudalupe. A main feature of this holiday were the group meals one of which rates as the best (4 courses) that I have personally ever had,

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficient,and considerate