AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
CICERONI Travel

CICERONI Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of CICERONI Travel

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 451
Good 10
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 461
Reviews Accepted: 461
Reviews Rejected: 0
461 reviews
Sort by:
Connoisseurs' Versailles by The Dandy Don, 6 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Terrific access to Versailles Palace in the company of experts

We have had more than one holiday with Ciceroni and they are a joy. You visit interesting places (usually with specialy access) with an interesting mix of people and the accomodation and food is pretty good too. The Ciceroni manager makes you feel very welcome and the expert helps bring it all to life. It is unusual when on a holiday trip to have a great time AND learn a lot!

We have had more than one holiday with Ciceroni and they are a joy. You visit interesting places (usually with specialy access) with an interesting mix of people and the accomodation and food is pretty good too. The Ciceroni manager makes you feel very welcome and the expert helps bring it all to life. It is unusual when on a holiday trip to have a great time AND learn a lot!

Rating for tour operator:

Very well run business - tour managers are friendly, helpful and on top of any issues. To get a world expert to accompany the group is amazing.

Connoisseurs' Versailles by RBS, 5 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Extremely interesting and well conducted

This was with Ciceroni to Versailles where we had privileged access on both a private and two public days - but then to places not normally open to the public - all conducted by the Curator and his staff. This visit was led by Dame Rosalind Savill who imparted her distinguished scholarship and research also. All in all a most interesting and enjoyable holiday.

This was with Ciceroni to Versailles where we had privileged access on both a private and two public days - but then to places not normally open to the public - all conducted by the Curator and his staff. This visit was led by Dame Rosalind Savill who imparted her distinguished scholarship and research also. All in all a most interesting and enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Ciceroni on many occasions and never been disappointed in either their content or arrangements.

Venice for Connoisseurs by AB, 29 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Record Acqua Alta in Venice

When I booked for a November Venice holiday I realised it might be wet or foggy but I had not anticipated the highest water level for 50 years. The experience was interesting and one advantage was an absence of other tourists. Some sites were closed especially St Mark’s and Torcello cathedral but a lot was open and I was amazed at how well hotels, shops etc were coping.

When I booked for a November Venice holiday I realised it might be wet or foggy but I had not anticipated the highest water level for 50 years. The experience was interesting and one advantage was an absence of other tourists. Some sites were closed especially St Mark’s and Torcello cathedral but a lot was open and I was amazed at how well hotels, shops etc were coping.

Rating for tour operator:

I was most impressed with the way in which the tour manager obtained waterproof boots for all members of the group, discovered which sites were open and rearranged visits accordingly, found which restaurants were open and remained helpful, kind and patient throughout. Despite the difficult circumstances, an excellent holiday.

Venice for Connoisseurs by jak, 28 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Webbed Feet in Venice

The group paddled and floated its way around Venice during a week of the highest tides that the city has had to endure for over fifty years. Several of our scheduled visits were impossible to fulfil because of the flooding, including the evening visit to San Marco. But thanks to amazing - and cheerful - ad hoc improvisation by the tour management, a much revised programme every day enabled us to visit (eg) churches that were still miraculously open...

The group paddled and floated its way around Venice during a week of the highest tides that the city has had to endure for over fifty years. Several of our scheduled visits were impossible to fulfil because of the flooding, including the evening visit to San Marco. But thanks to amazing - and cheerful - ad hoc improvisation by the tour management, a much revised programme every day enabled us to visit (eg) churches that were still miraculously open.

Rating for tour operator:

Our expert lecturer was a fount of erudite and witty information, no matter whether the visits were scheduled or last minute diversions. Day by day our tour manager, with his fluent Italian and his mobile phone, constructed some remarkable alternative visits. The hotel staff maintained their morale and ours under exceptionally difficult circumstances. Against tough odds Ciceroni gave us - in several senses - a memorable week.

Venice for Connoisseurs by Loyal client., 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Flooded venice

Our holiday was an experience, having been to Venice many times high water in the past was manageable by everyone not so this time . The floods were tidal so sometimes it was fairly clear. Poor Torcello suffered ,the Hotel Cipriani managed a good lunch despite water everywhere the garden was flooded. All Churches were closed and a lot of restaurants James Hill did his best and if the restaurant answered we hoped to go there. Our lecturer ...

Our holiday was an experience, having been to Venice many times high water in the past was manageable by everyone not so this time . The floods were tidal so sometimes it was fairly clear. Poor Torcello suffered ,the Hotel Cipriani managed a good lunch despite water everywhere the garden was flooded. All Churches were closed and a lot of restaurants James Hill did his best and if the restaurant answered we hoped to go there. Our lecturer was, as always, superb he gave us lectures when we were trapped in the hotel interesting and they followed on when ever needed. The Hotel Management were kind gave us Prosecco and nibbles during the lecture as we were so good humoured . We did visit churches and galleries sometimes using duckboards. My memory of an emptied St Marks with flood water was the bare bones of this magnificent church reflected in the water..

Rating for tour operator:

On this difficult occasion they managed incredibly well with tireless efforts made on our behalf.

Exploring Persia & Iran by Patricia, 14 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ancient Frontiers: Exploring Persia and Iran

Fascinating sites and culture in perfect weather

Fascinating sites and culture in perfect weather

Rating for tour operator:

First class guides, accommodation and food, very well organised

Vases & Volcanoes: Naples by renrutnelle, 4 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Classical sites around the Bay of Naples

Ciceroni tours are first rate. Having traveled with Ciceroni to Sicily, we knew they were the right choice for a trip to classical sites around the Bay of Naples. We had fine visits to Paestum, Pompeii, the baths at Baia and the amphitheatre and market place in Pozzuoli, and Herculaneum and the Villa Oplantis. The tour was rounded off with a wonderful trip to the Island of Ischia to see the marvelous garden of Lady Walton and a day in the Archeol...

Ciceroni tours are first rate. Having traveled with Ciceroni to Sicily, we knew they were the right choice for a trip to classical sites around the Bay of Naples. We had fine visits to Paestum, Pompeii, the baths at Baia and the amphitheatre and market place in Pozzuoli, and Herculaneum and the Villa Oplantis. The tour was rounded off with a wonderful trip to the Island of Ischia to see the marvelous garden of Lady Walton and a day in the Archeological Museum and Capodimonte Museum in Napes. Our lecturer Christopher Smith, former Director of the British Academy of Rome, was extremely knowledgeable, witty, and humane. The The Grand Hotel Santa Lucia was perfectly situated on the Via Partenope right on the bay, giving us the opportunity to walk to restaurants with ease and safety and, as it happened, to see the full moon over the bay in the evenings. A wonderful trip.

Rating for tour operator:

All arrangements were excellently managed by our tour leader, James Hill. Two wonderful aspects of Ciceroni tours are the morning coffee (and "convenience") break built into each day, and the free time built into the schedule. The combination of careful preparation and flexibility in these tours offers a rich and rewarding experience of art and culture in beautiful spaces without the the "forced march" morning, noon, and night of some other tours.

Vases & Volcanoes: Naples by Emperor Hadrian, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Academic Excellence and Holiday Elegance

It was one of the best holidays we have had. The archaeology of Naples is outstanding. Our leader and our lecturer are first rate and our balcony looking over the bay was a joy. The hotel was stylishly elegant and most obliging.

It was one of the best holidays we have had. The archaeology of Naples is outstanding. Our leader and our lecturer are first rate and our balcony looking over the bay was a joy. The hotel was stylishly elegant and most obliging.

Rating for tour operator:

Our first holiday with Ciceroni but not our last!

CICERONI Travel by Johanna, 4 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

This Was a Perfect Holiday

Ths holiday was to Riga in Latvia and to the countryside around Riga. I travelled with Ciceroni. This was prpbably my twelfth trip with them and as usual all aspects of the trip were perfect. The hotel was superior as were the meals and the ground transportation. Our guide, Peteris was outstanding in his knowledge of Latvian history and culture. His love of his country shown throughout his commentary.. I thoroughly enjoyed this excellent trip

Ths holiday was to Riga in Latvia and to the countryside around Riga. I travelled with Ciceroni. This was prpbably my twelfth trip with them and as usual all aspects of the trip were perfect. The hotel was superior as were the meals and the ground transportation. Our guide, Peteris was outstanding in his knowledge of Latvian history and culture. His love of his country shown throughout his commentary.. I thoroughly enjoyed this excellent trip

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was Ciceroni which is a small boutique tour company in Oxfordshiire, in the UK which focusses on small high end tours to places of cultural and historical interest.

CICERONI Travel by PMnyc, 29 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A stellar cultural introduction to the beauties of Riga and environs

Six days of active exploration of Riga, Rundale, and the Gauja Valley, with an emphasis on art,architecture and history.

Six days of active exploration of Riga, Rundale, and the Gauja Valley, with an emphasis on art,architecture and history.

Rating for tour operator:

Ciceroni was attentive to every need and most helpful to me when arranging my travel to and from the US. Our hotel in the center of Riga was charming and comfortable. Our local guide was extremely knowledgeable. Group meals were at interesting and varied venues, and the food and wines were uniformly excellent.