Ciceroni Travel

Reviews of Ciceroni Travel

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 347
Reviews accepted: 347
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
340
Good
7
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

A wonderful and rewarding visit to Riga

By Dorothy and Harold on 30 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Riga & its Surroundings >

Ciceroni's organisation of our visit to Latvia was outstanding. As well as a very efficient Cioeroni leader we had an excellent local guide which ensured we were able to fully appreciate and enjoy the delights of Riga and nearby palaces and castles, including the historical background to this charming country.
We stayed at a first class hotel in the pedestrianized centre of the old town of Riga and so we were able to walk to the many nearby local restaurants.

All in all it was a most successful and enjoyable holiday. Dorothy and Harold Couch



Dorothy and Harold Couch

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ciceroni specialises in small Art/History tours and there organisation is very efficient and always provides a knowledgeable and thoughtful introduction to the country visited.

Delightful Sussex

By Jess on 29 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Firle Treasure Collection >

An inspiring day spent in an English Country House, with amazing collections of furniture, porcelain and works of art.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Good organisation with a personal touch.

This was a Study Day to Firle Place, Sussex - a fantastic opportunity to learn about the several different collections

By G/J on 28 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Firle Treasure Collection >

This is an Historic Houses Association venue, and it certainly lived up to that title. The Curator of the exhibitions was able to give us all sorts of titbits of information, which would not be told to a normal tour group. The items are displayed so that they are a coherent picture of a family home, but are also individually accessible. Definitely more 'user friendly' than the general run of museums.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

As usual, Ciceroni had all the right contacts to ensure that the day went smoothly, was instructive, and also a friendly occasion.

Day trip to Firle Place

By Simon on 28 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Firle Treasure Collection >

The day consisted of a morning tour of the house guided by the curator of Firle, Deborah Gage, and an afternoon showing of the outstanding Sevres porcelain collection by Dame Rosalind Savill. The whole day was spectacular and the organisation by Ciceroni was excellent.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Small but superb!

Excellent accomodation ,company and management

By Hanseatics on 28 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Riga & its Surroundings >

expected enjoyment fully fulfilled.Riga full of history and good meals notdisappointed by country availability

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have had long experience of Ciceroni Travel and have never been disappointed

By Not remembered Ciceroni Croatia tour on 27 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about The Dalmatian Coast >

a tour of Croatia

Rating for tour operator Excellent

excellent

Excellant guided tour of Latvia with Ciceroni

By Bachus on 27 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Riga & its Surroundings >

Our party of twenty friends and clients of Ciceroni were led by Stephen Brook as company organiser.He had arranged for a local Latvin guide to introduce us to the art galleries ,palaces and medieval buildings of the earlier inhabitants.In addition he gave us his knowledge of its traditions which deepened our understanding of a country we had never visited but which offered so much with a very welcoming population.We stayed at the Grand Palace Hotel in the centre of Riga,very comfortable,good food and facilities .We enjoyed a visite to The Latvian National Opera for a performance of Romeo and Juliet, pre booked, essential as the theatre was full.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have travelled with Ciceroni for several years. They are well organised, friendly and provide excellent itineries

As always Ciceroni give their travellers the very best experience on all fronts

By Chorister on 26 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Riga & its Surroundings >

Everything was of the highest calibre. Our guide was excellent his knowledge of his country and it's history was imparted in a way that showed his passion for his homeland which was a joy to hear. The places we visited were interesting and gave us a great overview of Latvia.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

As always Ciceroni provide their travellers with every comfort and great care is taken of them to make the most of their visit.

Sussex Explored: the Glyndebourne Festival combined visits to estates & gardens in the mornings with superb operas in the evenings.

By Enthusiastic Eliza on 4 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about The Glyndebourne Festival >

Ciceroni Tours look after their clients - whom they think of, and treat as friends- by ensuring that they are accommodated in excellent hotels and delighted by fine dining in nearby hostelries. Our visit to the Gravetye Manor benefited from the Head Gardener's enthusiastic expertise and advice and included a superb lunch in the Manor's Michelin=-starred restaurant. Inside Firle Place, facing a painting by Van Dyck, we were guided by the art historian Debo Gage, who stated, simply; "My family has lived in this house for 500 years. At Glyndebourne we saw operas which had received outstanding critical acclaim: Mozart's La Clemenza de Tito, Donizetti's Don Pasquale and - the climax - Verdi's La Traviata. On each occasion we dined indoors in one of the Glyndebourne restaurants.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Founded by Dr Tom Duncan, who has both studied Music and taught Art Hiistory, Ciceroni Tours combine - according to their location - gardens, art history and music. When leading a tour, Tom Duncan himself gives short background lectures on our coach journeys. When he is not himself the leader, other members of the Ciceroni staff - or local guides furnish us with the same kind of information . There are seldom more than 22 members per tour. An outstanding feature is the use of a sound system which enables us to head a quietly delivered commentary at some distance from the guide. As a tour group, we are, therefore unobtrusive.

great operatic experience

By operafan on 30 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about The Glyndebourne Festival >

Very comfortable hotel , excellent visits to gardens and Firle Place. Organisation excellent with very good transport. My only quibble was our long evening journey from the hotel to Glyndebourne. I feel two smaller buses and a trip along the more direct route would have been preferable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficient.