AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

West Highland Line Experience Traveller Reviews

Reviews of West Highland Line Experience

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 12
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 12
Reviews Accepted: 12
Reviews Rejected: 0
12 reviews
Sort by:
West Highland Line Experience by David D., 9 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Delightful 3 night stay at the Old Pines. Journey on the Jacobite to Mallaig fabulous. Great seats on the train, brilliant sunny weather. the most beautiful scenery.

Exceeded all our hopes a wonderful railway journey & an excellent hotel. We spent eleven days in Scotland including Raasay, Skye, Plockton, Helensburgh & Edinburgh. A fabulous holiday & mainly superb weather

Exceeded all our hopes a wonderful railway journey & an excellent hotel. We spent eleven days in Scotland including Raasay, Skye, Plockton, Helensburgh & Edinburgh. A fabulous holiday & mainly superb weather

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd Most helpful friendly staff, Professional & knowledgable . Hope to use again

West Highland Line Experience by AussieTraveller, 10 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Three Day Highlands Tour

I contacted McKinlay Kidd to organise the ultimate brief Scottish Highlands tour, as I had some additional time after a work trip in Europe, and had never seen Scotland before. MK arranged a three-day tour of the Highlands which included train travel from Glasgow, a return trip on the Jacobite Steam Train and wonderful accommodation. Definitely not long enough, as there is so much more to see, but it has certainly wet my appetite to return ...

I contacted McKinlay Kidd to organise the ultimate brief Scottish Highlands tour, as I had some additional time after a work trip in Europe, and had never seen Scotland before. MK arranged a three-day tour of the Highlands which included train travel from Glasgow, a return trip on the Jacobite Steam Train and wonderful accommodation. Definitely not long enough, as there is so much more to see, but it has certainly wet my appetite to return soon!

Rating for tour operator:

Being from Australia, time difference made contact limited, but Tom at MK organised everything for me and the whole process was seamless. First class tickets for trains, amazing accommodation and awesome scenery made for a fabulous brief holiday. I definitely plan to return to Scotland, and look forward to some more exceptional service and experiences!

West Highland Line Experience by Mrs J W 18, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

West highland experience

Lovely hotel in Speem Bridge ... the Old Pines .. with great views and easily accessible walks. Steam train was interesting experience.

Lovely hotel in Speem Bridge ... the Old Pines .. with great views and easily accessible walks. Steam train was interesting experience.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd are always excellent in quality and support given

West Highland Line Experience by Audrey, 30 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

My partner and myself along with 4 of our friends had an excellent time

The holiday was beautifully planned and Ken & Imogen and their staff treated us very well at the Old Pines Hotel,. The food was excellent and they could not do enough for us. The trip on the Jacobite steam train was fun, particularly as I had ordered two bottles of champagne for the journey. We had lunch in the Steam Inn and the Langoustines done in a ginger and lime were to die for. The rest of the meal was excellent too.

The holiday was beautifully planned and Ken & Imogen and their staff treated us very well at the Old Pines Hotel,. The food was excellent and they could not do enough for us. The trip on the Jacobite steam train was fun, particularly as I had ordered two bottles of champagne for the journey. We had lunch in the Steam Inn and the Langoustines done in a ginger and lime were to die for. The rest of the meal was excellent too.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd did a wonderful job of planning and organising the trip, everything went to plan. My friends from abroad were very impressed. We were really delighted that they had organised fantastic weather for us as well!!We will certainly come again and will recommend McKinley Kidd to our friends and families.

West Highland Line Experience by Sandy, 7 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trip on the jacobite steam train

Organised from start to finish and all I had to do was turn up

Organised from start to finish and all I had to do was turn up

Rating for tour operator:

Highly recommend. Attentive and superior service

West Highland Line Experience by EC, 1 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

short break in western Highlands

This was a short excursion to celebrate a birthday. The focal point was a return journey on the steam train from Fort William to Mallaig. The hotel we stayed in was comfortable and pleasant and the food was locally sourced, mainly organic and delicious. The location was stunning.

This was a short excursion to celebrate a birthday. The focal point was a return journey on the steam train from Fort William to Mallaig. The hotel we stayed in was comfortable and pleasant and the food was locally sourced, mainly organic and delicious. The location was stunning.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and accommodating. Some of the travel plans were arranged by ourselves to allow for a possibly delayed flight, but McKinlay Kidd organised the hotel and the train and we were delighted with both

West Highland Line Experience by Fraynee, 26 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Scotland at its Autumnal best

We travelled by train from Cheltenham to Edinburgh. A very pleasant first class journey. Arrived at Channings Hotel which was a 20 minute walk from City centre. A perfect quiet location. Channings was a delightful well preserved Georgian building. Helpful staff, comfortable lounges and room. Good food. After 2 days we left for the Highlands and Spean Bridge. A very pleasant train journey through beautiful countryside to Spean Bridge. We were ...

We travelled by train from Cheltenham to Edinburgh. A very pleasant first class journey. Arrived at Channings Hotel which was a 20 minute walk from City centre. A perfect quiet location. Channings was a delightful well preserved Georgian building. Helpful staff, comfortable lounges and room. Good food. After 2 days we left for the Highlands and Spean Bridge. A very pleasant train journey through beautiful countryside to Spean Bridge. We were met by Ken owner of Old Pines Hotel where we were to stay. On arrival we sat in the sunshine and enjoyed a delicious tea of homemade scones, jam and cream. The view from where we sat in the gardens was spectacular. We quickly unpacked and went for a walk. We were spoilt for choice and all the pathways began at the stile opposite the entrance to Old Pines. It was so convenient. This place is really very special. Comfortable, delicious food, and surrounded by breath taking scenery. Ken and his family offered a great service. The Jacobite Steam Train trip the following day was such fun and the views amazing. We loved the opportunity to walk and explore in our own time. It was definitely one of our best holidays ever. We will return.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were Efficient from the first moment of contact. The holiday arrangements all ran very smoothly and according to plan. We were very impressed.

West Highland Line Experience by Di & Nick , 10 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Superb experience

We travelled from Glasgow to Spean Bridge to stay at The Old Pines Hotel for a 2 night break with a trip on The Jacobite Steam Experience included.This excursion took us on a fabulous 84 mile round trip from Fort William to Mallaig. Every aspect of our break was wonderful. The locations was breath-taking & all our needs were cater for at the hotel too.

We travelled from Glasgow to Spean Bridge to stay at The Old Pines Hotel for a 2 night break with a trip on The Jacobite Steam Experience included.This excursion took us on a fabulous 84 mile round trip from Fort William to Mallaig. Every aspect of our break was wonderful. The locations was breath-taking & all our needs were cater for at the hotel too.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd arranged everything for us including pick ups & transfers to & from the train stations & hotel & the first class excursion on the Jacobite steam train experience. With courtesy calls to ensure all was it should be, we were given a top class service & would highly recommend McKinley Kidd to anyone.

West Highland Line Experience by Smorgan, 22 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent holiday in a beautiful part of the uk

My Mother and I recently took a 3 day break to the Scottish Highlands to take the Jacobite train trip from Fort Wiliam to Mallaig. My mother finds walking difficult so I had arranged assistance for her. Mackinnley Kidd arranged everything for us so all we had to do was turn up! Everything was of such a high standard and everyone so helpful and kind to my Mother particularly. The hotel was more than first class . The whole experience was wonderful ...

My Mother and I recently took a 3 day break to the Scottish Highlands to take the Jacobite train trip from Fort Wiliam to Mallaig. My mother finds walking difficult so I had arranged assistance for her. Mackinnley Kidd arranged everything for us so all we had to do was turn up! Everything was of such a high standard and everyone so helpful and kind to my Mother particularly. The hotel was more than first class . The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish.

Rating for tour operator:

The company seem to specialise in trips of this kind and it showed. I would definitely use them again.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 22 May 2016:

We are all delighted that this trip was such a success, for both of you. Thank you for taking the time to post this review

West Highland Line Experience by Ming, 20 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

The West Highland Line Experience

This was a brief time out from a busy schedule, mixing activity with rest. It was planned for me down to the last detail, and everything just fitted into place. First class hotel accommodation at The Old Pines, Spean Bridge. The attention of the Proprietor, Ken, and his staff, was exceptional. Booking an extra night on to the original was a good decision by me.

This was a brief time out from a busy schedule, mixing activity with rest. It was planned for me down to the last detail, and everything just fitted into place. First class hotel accommodation at The Old Pines, Spean Bridge. The attention of the Proprietor, Ken, and his staff, was exceptional. Booking an extra night on to the original was a good decision by me.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd, Glasgow, were friendly, helpful and efficient. They took all the stress out of booking the different trains as well as the accommodation. It all went like clockwork, and they are obviously very knowledgeable.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 21 May 2016:

Many thanks for all your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed you holiday and hope we can help with a future arrangement.