AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Journey through Western Isles Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Journey through Western Isles

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 26
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 26
Reviews Accepted: 26
Reviews Rejected: 0
26 reviews
Sort by:
Journey through Western Isles by Laura, 27 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

expertly organised and well looked after throughout

An experience in the Outer Hebrides that we'll never forget. A week travelling around the three main island groups. Staying in lovely lodges and small hotels/inns.

An experience in the Outer Hebrides that we'll never forget. A week travelling around the three main island groups. Staying in lovely lodges and small hotels/inns.

Rating for tour operator:

A great range of accommodation and we were so looked after before, during and after the trip. When regulations changed they called us to make sure everything was alright and when there were potential ferry delays they got in touch to let us know they were keeping an eye on things so we didn't have to. Top class service

Journey through Western Isles by Jacky Mac, 15 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Highland Hoolie (thanks to the remnants of Hurricane Laura)

everything ran smoothly, no hiccups, first class accommodation throughout.

everything ran smoothly, no hiccups, first class accommodation throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication, responded to all enquiries.

Journey through Western Isles by Doctor Sahib, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peace and Beauty

Visiting 5 Scottish islands in Outer Hebrides and west of Scotland in 10 days .What we saw was natural beauty,peace and tranquillity in abundance

Visiting 5 Scottish islands in Outer Hebrides and west of Scotland in 10 days .What we saw was natural beauty,peace and tranquillity in abundance

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd an excellent tour operator

Journey through Western Isles by Elvis, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Journey through The Western Isles

Having never visited the Western Isles before and not really knowing what to expect we booked this trip with an open mind. We were not disappointed and it surpassed all our expectations. We started off in Oban to Barra, then North and South Uist, Harris and Lewis and finally Skye. All the islands are different but beautiful in their own way.. Barra, Harris and Lewis were my favourite. The beaches are stunning, even on a cloudy day and the food ...

Having never visited the Western Isles before and not really knowing what to expect we booked this trip with an open mind. We were not disappointed and it surpassed all our expectations. We started off in Oban to Barra, then North and South Uist, Harris and Lewis and finally Skye. All the islands are different but beautiful in their own way.. Barra, Harris and Lewis were my favourite. The beaches are stunning, even on a cloudy day and the food exceptional. If you enjoy shellfish and fish you cannot get any better than what is served on these islands.. Accommodation also was very good. I have to mention Broadway House which is run by Tom and Sue Reid on Lewis which was outstanding. A wonderful holiday and would definitely go again.

Rating for tour operator:

I found McKinlay Kidd on the internet and they were excellent. Very knowledgeable, helpful, professional and supplied a wonderful app full of suggestions, restaurants, walks, drives etc. They organised everything from accommodation to ferries and it all ran like clockwork. First rate.

Journey through Western Isles by Bellsdale Rovers, 3 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Experiences

We decided to have a short break to take in as much of the outer Hebrides as possible and left everything in the hands of or tour operator to book accommodation and travel arrangements and tickets for all passages. We were not disappointed and the details were perfect and most suited to our needs, We had 4 ferry crossings and all went without a hitch, the accommodations were all different but excellent in their own style and the welcome at ...

We decided to have a short break to take in as much of the outer Hebrides as possible and left everything in the hands of or tour operator to book accommodation and travel arrangements and tickets for all passages. We were not disappointed and the details were perfect and most suited to our needs, We had 4 ferry crossings and all went without a hitch, the accommodations were all different but excellent in their own style and the welcome at each could not have been more warmly, from the information given on each prior to our departure they were exactly as expected and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay at each. The cuisine at each venue was outstanding and we were absolutely blow away by the quality of the food on offer as well as the presentation. The good weather undoubtedly played a big part in the enjoyment of our holiday but the views were stunning and it may be that even in poorer weather we would have discovered different views and light conditions. We have travelled abroad over many years to many different locations and were a little concerned that the Hebrides may not equal some of those locations but nothing could be farther from the truth.

Rating for tour operator:

It was as if your daughter or son was making the arrangements for you and no requirement seemed to be difficult for them, they certainly went out of their way to assist with every detail and we will certainly be using them again and have encouraged our friends to do so also. You were kept informed throughout the whole process of booking and after booking prior to departure and given regular updates. The information given and detail was second to none we have experienced.

Journey through Western Isles by RobRoy, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical Holiday

McKinlay Kidd organised a 10 day holiday with 5 different stays ranging from a small B&B to a grand hotel so we could tour the Outer Hebrides. The organisation of the holiday was first class, faultless. All the accommodation was of the highest standard with a warm welcome everywhere. The travel hints such as where to eat and what to see was a Godsend. They advised us to book the nominated restaurants before we travelled which we did. When we ...

McKinlay Kidd organised a 10 day holiday with 5 different stays ranging from a small B&B to a grand hotel so we could tour the Outer Hebrides. The organisation of the holiday was first class, faultless. All the accommodation was of the highest standard with a warm welcome everywhere. The travel hints such as where to eat and what to see was a Godsend. They advised us to book the nominated restaurants before we travelled which we did. When we got there they were fully booked. The highlight of the trip was a visit to St Kilda, reserved by MKK. The boat company texted us to confirm the trip was on, so we just had to turn up. The time of one ferry was changed and again MKK phoned us to make us aware of the alteration. Overall we were delighted with the service and would certainly use them again.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Journey through Western Isles by Reesy, 16 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hebridean delight

A trip from Barra in the south, northwards through the Outer Hebrides via Uist, Harris and Lewis. We stayed two nights in four different locations (three B&B, one hotel) and used a hire car to see as much as possible. Amazing beaches, scenery, machair and we can see why it is a paradise for artists and photographers. Loved the remoteness and slower, more appreciative pace of life. Would happily return.

A trip from Barra in the south, northwards through the Outer Hebrides via Uist, Harris and Lewis. We stayed two nights in four different locations (three B&B, one hotel) and used a hire car to see as much as possible. Amazing beaches, scenery, machair and we can see why it is a paradise for artists and photographers. Loved the remoteness and slower, more appreciative pace of life. Would happily return.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd : excellent choice of itinerary which we left to them as the area was completely unknown to us. Very efficient booking of accommodation and ferries and everything worked like clockwork. They provided us with additional maps, local recommendations and an app that allowed us to get updated local weather. Talking to the B&B owners where we stayed, they liked working with MKK and appreciated the fact that the company regularly came and inspected the properties.

Journey through Western Isles by Dutch Couple, 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Feast

Having visited already many islands and archipelago’s in the North Atlantic we decided it was time to visit the lesser known islands and after an intensive search on the internet we ended up at McKinlay Kidd. Their ‘Journey through the Western Isles’ was exactly what we were looking for: self-drive so that we could bring our own bicycles and visiting as many islands as possible staying in small scale guest houses, B&B’s and hotels. Tooled with ...

Having visited already many islands and archipelago’s in the North Atlantic we decided it was time to visit the lesser known islands and after an intensive search on the internet we ended up at McKinlay Kidd. Their ‘Journey through the Western Isles’ was exactly what we were looking for: self-drive so that we could bring our own bicycles and visiting as many islands as possible staying in small scale guest houses, B&B’s and hotels. Tooled with Paul Murtons ‘Outer Hebrides’ and ‘Cycling the Hebrides’ we set off. And what a fantastic holiday it was! We have learned a lot about the history of the Hebrides and were surprised to experience that the Gaelic past is still so tangible here. Besides we were extremely lucky with the weather and we drove or cycled as much single track roads as possible. On one of the last days of our holiday we met a young women who -like we- cycled on the isles. When we tried to explain to her what we liked so much on the Hebrides she summarized: 'a feast for the eyes'. And that's what is was. A feast, not only for the eyes, but a feast altogether!

Rating for tour operator:

A small-scale tour operator who knows exactly what their customers like and they are able to offer that!

Journey through Western Isles by PatP, 26 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fly Drive to the Outer Hebrides

A great experience, enjoying the significant differences between the Hebridean Islands, and Hebridean hospitality - great food and accommodation

A great experience, enjoying the significant differences between the Hebridean Islands, and Hebridean hospitality - great food and accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third consecutive year holidaying with McKinlay Kidd, each time a tailor made holiday. Their agents are very pleasant to deal with and they know the areas well. We have always been very happy with the varied accommodation choices they offer, and the arrangements they have made on our behalf. If anything outside their control goes wrong, they are on the ball, managing outcomes to ensure that you are happy. If you are interested in the kind of holidays they offer, I don't think you will find anyone better.

Journey through Western Isles by Macduff, 23 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Outer Hebrides adventure,

My wife and I with two female friends decided to explore a part of Scotland we had not been before. We would be traveling by car which meant we would be using ferries. It was early September so the weather was an issue but as we were all ex scouts and guides we were prepared. We were not disappointed, the scenery and the friendliness of the people was excellent. We walked, did the usual tourist sites shops and pubs. We had a great holiday, great ...

My wife and I with two female friends decided to explore a part of Scotland we had not been before. We would be traveling by car which meant we would be using ferries. It was early September so the weather was an issue but as we were all ex scouts and guides we were prepared. We were not disappointed, the scenery and the friendliness of the people was excellent. We walked, did the usual tourist sites shops and pubs. We had a great holiday, great food, great folk and off course the Harris Gin!

Rating for tour operator:

It is a pleasure to praise and recommend McKinlay Kidd for organising our holiday to the Outer Hebrides. The organisation of our travel and accommodation was outstanding. The standard off our accommodation was excellent.