AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Journey through Western Isles Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Journey through Western Isles

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 39
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 39
Reviews Accepted: 39
Reviews Rejected: 0
39 reviews
Sort by:
Journey through Western Isles by Mike M, 27 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Different World

Started badly due to CalMac delaying ferry crossing by two days and thus unable to explore Barra but the support from McKinlay Kidd was exemplary. The beautiful scenery was mind blowing and all the local people were so friendly and helpful. Inevitably Hotels were towards the basic as choice was limited but generally the food was good/excellent and the staff welcoming, informal and fun.

Started badly due to CalMac delaying ferry crossing by two days and thus unable to explore Barra but the support from McKinlay Kidd was exemplary. The beautiful scenery was mind blowing and all the local people were so friendly and helpful. Inevitably Hotels were towards the basic as choice was limited but generally the food was good/excellent and the staff welcoming, informal and fun.

Rating for tour operator:

Stepped in immediately to assist after ferry issues which which was much appreciated by a very stressed couple who had spent two days sitting on the ferry tarmac before managing to leave on the third. McKinlay were very helpful in proposing an itinerary which met our wishes and we think they got it just right

Journey through Western Isles by Philbers, 3 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Outer Hebrides

12 nights travelling the length of the Outer Hebrides. What a fantastic holiday surrounded by breathtaking scenery and meeting wonderful people. If you want a relaxing holiday then you must do this.

12 nights travelling the length of the Outer Hebrides. What a fantastic holiday surrounded by breathtaking scenery and meeting wonderful people. If you want a relaxing holiday then you must do this.

Rating for tour operator:

Mckinlay kidd were superb from start to finish . They organised our whole holiday and it ran like clockwork. Knowledgeable staff who took the stress out of organising a holiday . Would recommend them to everyone.

Journey through Western Isles by Jules, 11 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife on Outer Hebridies.

We wanted a holiday where we could see Scottish wildlife and this was perfect .. The holidays accommodation and ferries was all booked by McKinley Kidd and saved a lot of preparation. All the accommodation was bed and breakfast and we booked evening meals well in advance as there are limited eating establishments which get full very quickly .. I think the scenery on the islands especially the Isle of Harris was the nicest I have ever seen.. If ...

We wanted a holiday where we could see Scottish wildlife and this was perfect .. The holidays accommodation and ferries was all booked by McKinley Kidd and saved a lot of preparation. All the accommodation was bed and breakfast and we booked evening meals well in advance as there are limited eating establishments which get full very quickly .. I think the scenery on the islands especially the Isle of Harris was the nicest I have ever seen.. If you want a holiday with theme parks and busy towns with shops this is not for you . For us spotting wildlife and taking life easy the holiday was perfect and all the bed and breakfasts the owners were lovely and really helpful .

Rating for tour operator:

We have had several holidays which McKinley Kidd have organised and have thoroughly enjoyed them all. Everything has always been to an outstanding level.

Journey through Western Isles by Paul, 9 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Hebridean Tour

We’ll organised tour at lovely accommodation.

We’ll organised tour at lovely accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Put themselves out, particularly when difficulties with inter-island ferries, organising last minute accommodation when threat of cancelled crossing at last minute.

Journey through Western Isles by Rimik, 8 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful ...beautiful accommodation....quietly well organised, fuss free.

South to north of the Outer Hebrides. We drove ourselves. Had a fantastic time. Plenty of time to go gently and see everything we could. Great place to visit. It helped enormously that someone else (Mk-Kidd) did the organising. Produced the amount of info that was both necessary and helpful, and communicated brilliantly.Immediately responsive when a ferry had to be cancelled. We felt well supported if we needed to be.

South to north of the Outer Hebrides. We drove ourselves. Had a fantastic time. Plenty of time to go gently and see everything we could. Great place to visit. It helped enormously that someone else (Mk-Kidd) did the organising. Produced the amount of info that was both necessary and helpful, and communicated brilliantly.Immediately responsive when a ferry had to be cancelled. We felt well supported if we needed to be.

Rating for tour operator:

Exactly the amount of timely, clear and thorough communication that we appreciated. well deserving of any accolade they receive.

Journey through Western Isles by IDHM, 8 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Hebridean magic

We toured the length of the Outer Hebrides from Barra to Butt of Lewis, wonderful scenery, hospitality and experiences throughout

We toured the length of the Outer Hebrides from Barra to Butt of Lewis, wonderful scenery, hospitality and experiences throughout

Rating for tour operator:

this was our 5th tailored trip with McKinlay Kidd and they are difficult to fault. Well thought out routes, great accommodation, really useful and comprehensive recommendations, very responsive. Think Scottish Islands think Mckinlay Kidd.

Journey through Western Isles by Alan G, 18 Jun 2023
Holiday Rating:

The Wonderful Outer Hebrides

8 days exploring the islands by private car

8 days exploring the islands by private car

Rating for tour operator:

They arranged excellent accommodation for each of our 8 nights and provided plenty of information to prepare us for the holiday

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 19 Jun 2023:

Thank you Alan. The Outer Hebrides are indeed a special part of this country and we are delighted that your visit there was such a success.

Journey through Western Isles by Biscuits , 24 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Best of the West

A tour of the outer Hebrides

A tour of the outer Hebrides

Rating for tour operator:

The best we have used, caring and user frIendly

Journey through Western Isles by Mike, 20 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Far exceeded our expectations in every way

Island hopping around the Hebrides

Island hopping around the Hebrides

Rating for tour operator:

Everything went like clockwork and the accommodation was far above expectations. Their holiday guide app was so useful, it’s recommendations were well researched and helped lift our whole experience.

Journey through Western Isles by Mary S, 8 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Everything went like clockwork

Received excellent customer service from initial enquiry right through to end of holiday. I drove through the Outer Hebrides, and Skye.

Received excellent customer service from initial enquiry right through to end of holiday. I drove through the Outer Hebrides, and Skye.

Rating for tour operator:

Malvina went above and beyond to arrange my itinerary, even rebooking the entire holiday when I said I would like to go to St. Kildas. She was also a reassuring voice on the phone whilst on holiday, during a time of ferry disruption. I felt at all times that I was in safe hands. Thank you Malvina!