AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Journey through Western Isles Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Journey through Western Isles

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 31
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 31
Reviews Accepted: 31
Reviews Rejected: 0
31 reviews
Sort by:
Journey through Western Isles by Mike, 20 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Far exceeded our expectations in every way

Island hopping around the Hebrides

Island hopping around the Hebrides

Rating for tour operator:

Everything went like clockwork and the accommodation was far above expectations. Their holiday guide app was so useful, it’s recommendations were well researched and helped lift our whole experience.

Journey through Western Isles by Mary S, 8 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Everything went like clockwork

Received excellent customer service from initial enquiry right through to end of holiday. I drove through the Outer Hebrides, and Skye.

Received excellent customer service from initial enquiry right through to end of holiday. I drove through the Outer Hebrides, and Skye.

Rating for tour operator:

Malvina went above and beyond to arrange my itinerary, even rebooking the entire holiday when I said I would like to go to St. Kildas. She was also a reassuring voice on the phone whilst on holiday, during a time of ferry disruption. I felt at all times that I was in safe hands. Thank you Malvina!

Journey through Western Isles by Happy traveller , 23 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wet Hebridean holiday

We had a lovely holiday in spite of the rain as McKinlay Kidd took care of every detail. Very professional, treated us as individuals.

We had a lovely holiday in spite of the rain as McKinlay Kidd took care of every detail. Very professional, treated us as individuals.

Rating for tour operator:

All the arrangements were excellent, the quality accommodation was obviously carefully chosen and the holiday information was very helpful.

Journey through Western Isles by Lenconmargot , 27 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A taste of the Outer Hebrides

We spent 6 days following the Hebridean Way, exploring all the accessible islands from Vatersay to the Butt of Lewis

We spent 6 days following the Hebridean Way, exploring all the accessible islands from Vatersay to the Butt of Lewis

Rating for tour operator:

We were directed to McKinlay Kidd by another tour operator who was snowed under with booking enquires at the time we requested help last November. McKinlay Kidd dealt very efficiently with our enquiry and we were sent a suitable itinerary very quickly. The holiday experience proved to be excellent with good communication from McKinlay Kidd who chose lovely places for us to stay and booked all the ferries for us.

Journey through Western Isles by Jimrox545, 5 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

A tour of the western isles

Fantastic holiday with great hotels, food and stunning scenery.

Fantastic holiday with great hotels, food and stunning scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd provided us with a well managed holiday.

Journey through Western Isles by Laura, 27 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

expertly organised and well looked after throughout

An experience in the Outer Hebrides that we'll never forget. A week travelling around the three main island groups. Staying in lovely lodges and small hotels/inns.

An experience in the Outer Hebrides that we'll never forget. A week travelling around the three main island groups. Staying in lovely lodges and small hotels/inns.

Rating for tour operator:

A great range of accommodation and we were so looked after before, during and after the trip. When regulations changed they called us to make sure everything was alright and when there were potential ferry delays they got in touch to let us know they were keeping an eye on things so we didn't have to. Top class service

Journey through Western Isles by Jacky Mac, 15 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Highland Hoolie (thanks to the remnants of Hurricane Laura)

everything ran smoothly, no hiccups, first class accommodation throughout.

everything ran smoothly, no hiccups, first class accommodation throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication, responded to all enquiries.

Journey through Western Isles by Doctor Sahib, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peace and Beauty

Visiting 5 Scottish islands in Outer Hebrides and west of Scotland in 10 days .What we saw was natural beauty,peace and tranquillity in abundance

Visiting 5 Scottish islands in Outer Hebrides and west of Scotland in 10 days .What we saw was natural beauty,peace and tranquillity in abundance

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd an excellent tour operator

Journey through Western Isles by Elvis, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Journey through The Western Isles

Having never visited the Western Isles before and not really knowing what to expect we booked this trip with an open mind. We were not disappointed and it surpassed all our expectations. We started off in Oban to Barra, then North and South Uist, Harris and Lewis and finally Skye. All the islands are different but beautiful in their own way.. Barra, Harris and Lewis were my favourite. The beaches are stunning, even on a cloudy day and the food ...

Having never visited the Western Isles before and not really knowing what to expect we booked this trip with an open mind. We were not disappointed and it surpassed all our expectations. We started off in Oban to Barra, then North and South Uist, Harris and Lewis and finally Skye. All the islands are different but beautiful in their own way.. Barra, Harris and Lewis were my favourite. The beaches are stunning, even on a cloudy day and the food exceptional. If you enjoy shellfish and fish you cannot get any better than what is served on these islands.. Accommodation also was very good. I have to mention Broadway House which is run by Tom and Sue Reid on Lewis which was outstanding. A wonderful holiday and would definitely go again.

Rating for tour operator:

I found McKinlay Kidd on the internet and they were excellent. Very knowledgeable, helpful, professional and supplied a wonderful app full of suggestions, restaurants, walks, drives etc. They organised everything from accommodation to ferries and it all ran like clockwork. First rate.

Journey through Western Isles by Bellsdale Rovers, 3 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Experiences

We decided to have a short break to take in as much of the outer Hebrides as possible and left everything in the hands of or tour operator to book accommodation and travel arrangements and tickets for all passages. We were not disappointed and the details were perfect and most suited to our needs, We had 4 ferry crossings and all went without a hitch, the accommodations were all different but excellent in their own style and the welcome at ...

We decided to have a short break to take in as much of the outer Hebrides as possible and left everything in the hands of or tour operator to book accommodation and travel arrangements and tickets for all passages. We were not disappointed and the details were perfect and most suited to our needs, We had 4 ferry crossings and all went without a hitch, the accommodations were all different but excellent in their own style and the welcome at each could not have been more warmly, from the information given on each prior to our departure they were exactly as expected and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay at each. The cuisine at each venue was outstanding and we were absolutely blow away by the quality of the food on offer as well as the presentation. The good weather undoubtedly played a big part in the enjoyment of our holiday but the views were stunning and it may be that even in poorer weather we would have discovered different views and light conditions. We have travelled abroad over many years to many different locations and were a little concerned that the Hebrides may not equal some of those locations but nothing could be farther from the truth.

Rating for tour operator:

It was as if your daughter or son was making the arrangements for you and no requirement seemed to be difficult for them, they certainly went out of their way to assist with every detail and we will certainly be using them again and have encouraged our friends to do so also. You were kept informed throughout the whole process of booking and after booking prior to departure and given regular updates. The information given and detail was second to none we have experienced.