AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus Traveller Reviews

Reviews of From Halicarnassus to Ephesus

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 11
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 11
Reviews Accepted: 11
Reviews Rejected: 0
11 reviews
Sort by:
From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Douglas, 30 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by gulet.

This was our fifth trip with the company, and the third guided by Peter. A fourteen day gulet trip from Halicarnassus to Ephesus and return, visiting archaeological sites most days, but with time for swimming, shopping and enjoying superb Turkish cuisine both on board and ashore.

This was our fifth trip with the company, and the third guided by Peter. A fourteen day gulet trip from Halicarnassus to Ephesus and return, visiting archaeological sites most days, but with time for swimming, shopping and enjoying superb Turkish cuisine both on board and ashore.

Rating for tour operator:

Enthusiasm and dedication are Peter's hallmarks and his tireless drive for perfection is always evident.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Ms A G 19, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb in every respect

Our 5th gulet trip in the Mediterranean with Peter Sommer Travels. Fascinating archaeology, great acccommodation, beautiful Turkish food and wine, fabulous swimming in secluded coves, all with a small group of like minded people, two excellent, helpful guides, a beautiful boat crewed by a friendly professional group of young Turks. What more can you ask for for the perfect holiday? The whole experience from booking to drop off at the airport ...

Our 5th gulet trip in the Mediterranean with Peter Sommer Travels. Fascinating archaeology, great acccommodation, beautiful Turkish food and wine, fabulous swimming in secluded coves, all with a small group of like minded people, two excellent, helpful guides, a beautiful boat crewed by a friendly professional group of young Turks. What more can you ask for for the perfect holiday? The whole experience from booking to drop off at the airport ran seamlessly and pleasurably.

Rating for tour operator:

Attention to detail+++, a great presenter, professional, erudite, fun, helpful and so considerate of the needs and ability of his guests..

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Vickery, 23 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Simply the best Turkey Cruise and Archaeology holiday.

What a way to spend two weeks, cruising the Western Turkey shores, visiting amazing Archaeological sites with a world renowned Turkey specialist archaeological tour guide, combined with great food, excellent crew, secluded bay swimming, all while travelling on a beautiful wooden Gulet.

What a way to spend two weeks, cruising the Western Turkey shores, visiting amazing Archaeological sites with a world renowned Turkey specialist archaeological tour guide, combined with great food, excellent crew, secluded bay swimming, all while travelling on a beautiful wooden Gulet.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels run a very professional tour operation, specialising in Gulet cruises in the Aegean Sea together with expert tour guides. Could not fault any aspect of the whole tour and company.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by MakaB, 22 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excelent

The first organised holiday I have been on and the experience has encouraged me to book further trips. Service and organisation was excellent

The first organised holiday I have been on and the experience has encouraged me to book further trips. Service and organisation was excellent

Rating for tour operator:

The quality of the presentation and information was amazing.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Swimming Lynne, 22 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Best Holiday Experience Ever

The combination of cruising and archaeology is just perfect on this type of holiday. There is plenty of time to swim, rest, read and sightsee as well as seeing the incredible archaeological sites. To travel to these sites with an experienced and knowledgeable archaeologist brings the sites to life and you learn so much. Highly recommended

The combination of cruising and archaeology is just perfect on this type of holiday. There is plenty of time to swim, rest, read and sightsee as well as seeing the incredible archaeological sites. To travel to these sites with an experienced and knowledgeable archaeologist brings the sites to life and you learn so much. Highly recommended

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer's and his team focus on making the trip the best experience. From the local guides to the boat crew you feel safe and comfortable and that their first priority is you and your enjoyment of the trip.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Kaz traveling by Gulet, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

The joys of Gulet travelling and enjoying the historical past

Once again had a great holiday experience sailing on a turkish gulet , this is the 4th trip Ive done with this company and can highly recommend them.The tours are well planned and thought out, you learn so much about the historical past ,whilst seeing the beauty of Turkey.

Once again had a great holiday experience sailing on a turkish gulet , this is the 4th trip Ive done with this company and can highly recommend them.The tours are well planned and thought out, you learn so much about the historical past ,whilst seeing the beauty of Turkey.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels are well organised , helpful and friendly staff. The trip destinations cover a number of different areas and are done in such a way that you are seeing the best of a country's historical past , its current culture and food.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Donald, 17 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus and back by gulet - five-star all the way !

A small group of experienced travelers joined with Peter who is an expert and engaging archaeologist to enjoy relaxation and mental stimulation on a a Turkish gulet based tour. Peter is an excellent tour guide who puts incredible attention into the detailed needs of his guests The food and wine on the boat were superb. The crew were highly motivated and endearing. There was an excellent mix of downtime and and enjoyment with daily archaeological ...

A small group of experienced travelers joined with Peter who is an expert and engaging archaeologist to enjoy relaxation and mental stimulation on a a Turkish gulet based tour. Peter is an excellent tour guide who puts incredible attention into the detailed needs of his guests The food and wine on the boat were superb. The crew were highly motivated and endearing. There was an excellent mix of downtime and and enjoyment with daily archaeological site visits. The group had time to to socialise and swap their experiences and knowledge. The vibe was good-humoured, collaborative and thoughtful of the needs of each other.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter and his team are miles ahead of the usual "packages" and superficial subject matter knowledge guides. Peter's admin team are switched on, prompt and able to to respond to individual needs.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Hali Carnassus, 23 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Food, Fun and Fantastic Folks with Peter Sommer's Travel

My husband and I took a two-week cruise with Peter Sommer Travel beginning September 18 and returning October 3. In the intimate setting of a Turkish gulet, we swept up the Turkish coast (ancient Caria), visiting seldom-visited spots, culminating with the much-visited Ephesus.The focus of the tour was classical archaeology and we had a first-rate practicing archaeologist on board to explain in considerable detail the history of the various sites...

My husband and I took a two-week cruise with Peter Sommer Travel beginning September 18 and returning October 3. In the intimate setting of a Turkish gulet, we swept up the Turkish coast (ancient Caria), visiting seldom-visited spots, culminating with the much-visited Ephesus.The focus of the tour was classical archaeology and we had a first-rate practicing archaeologist on board to explain in considerable detail the history of the various sites. Not only did he open our eyes to the history of this coast, but I left feeling that I understood some of the challenges facing archaeologists today. Of course there was ample time for more relaxing-type fun as well. We were wined and dined in style three times per day, consistently regaled with several different fresh vegetables from the region to accompany splendid main courses. The other travelers were loads of fun and the regional guide, a native Turk, ensured that everything went like clock-work from the land transport, restaurants on land, to making available swimming and hiking equipment. It is truly a luxury, when traveling as far afield as Turkey, to be able to ignore all the details and simply enjoy the sights! This is the second Peter Sommer tour we've taken (in a row). I'm sure another one is in our future!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel excursions are unique in their focus, I believe. Learning in an appropriate cultural context is central to Peter Sommer's vision of a good holiday. They employ highly qualified archaeologists who are also capable of explaining in lay persons' terms the beauty and historical import of the ruins and sites they select. Both tours we have been on have provided a perfect blend of walking/site-seeing and more relaxed fun. Peter Sommer Tours pays close attention to getting the logistics of travel perfect. The experience of the traveler is one of pure and seamless enjoyment and I have rarely eaten so well. They highlight regional specialties and local produce. The company also pays close heed to sustainable and responsible travel. Both of our trips (both to Turkey) have been absolutely memorable. Bravo Peter Sommer Travel!

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Mr K K 15, 22 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus: Swimming, Eating, and Learning

We went on a 2-week tour with Peter Sommer Travels along the Carian shore on a gulet with a dozen or so other guests. Our meals were generally on board, provided by the crew, and we motored along the coast. Each day we had two or three chances to swim in the Aegean capped by a visit on shore to an archaeological site led by a guide and an expert of Caria.

We went on a 2-week tour with Peter Sommer Travels along the Carian shore on a gulet with a dozen or so other guests. Our meals were generally on board, provided by the crew, and we motored along the coast. Each day we had two or three chances to swim in the Aegean capped by a visit on shore to an archaeological site led by a guide and an expert of Caria.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Peter Sommer Travels, and this tour was as good as the last. They took great care in preparing us for the trip, and we all felt like royalty on board the boat. Yet, we also learned much about the region we were touring (in this case the Carian coast) with knowledgeable and approachable guides, an impressive library of books on the geography and history of the region on board, and maps of each site we visited. With each trip we have taken our enthusiasm for the history and for the region has grown.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by JJ, NZ, 17 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Halicarnassus to Ephesus Gulet archaeology trip

Two weeks cruising on a gulet with an expert archaeologist and also a local expert guide with a small group; great cruising, fabulous walks to ancient sites and museums, and great sailing and food - an amazing experience.

Two weeks cruising on a gulet with an expert archaeologist and also a local expert guide with a small group; great cruising, fabulous walks to ancient sites and museums, and great sailing and food - an amazing experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer travels are the best company I've travelled with - and keep going back. Their tours are boutique, first class archaeology, great food, great sailing and interesting traveling companions - and going to some of the best places on the planet for unique experiences.