AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising the Lycian Shore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising the Lycian Shore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 27
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Lycian Shore by Robert A, 3 Jan 2022
Holiday Rating:

A beautul vaction along the Lycian Shore

Originally, I was signed up for the Cyclades trip, but it was canceled due to the Turkish Greek border being closed. I was able to change my trip to Cruising the Lycian Shore which was within the Turkish borders. While I was disappointed that I wasn't taking the trip to Greece, I ended up loving the Lycian Shore. Since it was a 2 week cruise, there was a perfect balance between exploring the ruins and time for relaxation (snorkeling, kayaking, ...

Originally, I was signed up for the Cyclades trip, but it was canceled due to the Turkish Greek border being closed. I was able to change my trip to Cruising the Lycian Shore which was within the Turkish borders. While I was disappointed that I wasn't taking the trip to Greece, I ended up loving the Lycian Shore. Since it was a 2 week cruise, there was a perfect balance between exploring the ruins and time for relaxation (snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, or lounging on the deck). Our archeologist, Heinrich, was extremey knowledgeable and a wonderful storyteller. He really made the history come alive. And our guide, Ugar, anticpated every want and need even before I knew what I wanted or needed. In the end, I was so happy that I had taken the cruise, and I am booked on the Cyclades crusie this summer. An amazing experience.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the second trip I took with Peter Sommers and on each trip my expectations were exceeded. In short Peter Sommers Travel is a first class operation -- from booking until you leave for the airport on your return. I think one thing that makes the trip special is that Peter is very involved with the itieneray and has traveled to the ruins and places himself. On one of our excursions we had lunch at the home of one of Peter's Turkish friends! Being able to experience the culture in such a personal and intimate way is a hallmark of the two trips I have taken with Peter Sommers. The guide and archeologist could not have been more informed and helpful. And I cannot forget the incredible food prepared on the boat. Our chef was creative and inspired, and offered a wondrful variety of dishes which were rarely repeated. The boat was absolutely beatutiful with a skilled and friendly crew. An excellent rating for my experience with Peter Sommers Travel does not seem high enough.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Bonnie, 13 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

A truly wonderful experience

Two friends joined me on this Peter Sommers Cruise this last September 2021. . After postponing this cruise due to Covid we decided to just go for it. One of my friends summed it up. “ It was a trip of a life time for her. Fabulous boat, crew, guides and other passengers. We all had a great time. Beautiful clear warm water. Great swimming and kayaking just about every day Historic sites that were almost for our eyes only. Turkey is a fabulous ...

Two friends joined me on this Peter Sommers Cruise this last September 2021. . After postponing this cruise due to Covid we decided to just go for it. One of my friends summed it up. “ It was a trip of a life time for her. Fabulous boat, crew, guides and other passengers. We all had a great time. Beautiful clear warm water. Great swimming and kayaking just about every day Historic sites that were almost for our eyes only. Turkey is a fabulous country many unexpected surprises for all of us. If this sounds good don’t wait go for it Exceeded my expectations for sure…Bonnie Levy

Rating for tour operator:

A very hands on personal company. I will recommend Peter Sommers cruises and plan to take another one as soon as I can work it in

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Shelbydel, 7 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore

It was superb. It was badly needed after over 18 months of no travel due to SARS-COVID-19. The trip more than fulfilled my expectations and there were absolutely no distractions nor disruptions to lessen the experience. I expected, and was given, a mixture of relaxation in a setting of a few other guests, all of whom were extremely pleasant fellow travelers. I have done three previous trips with Peter Sommer Travels mixing archeology, superb ...

It was superb. It was badly needed after over 18 months of no travel due to SARS-COVID-19. The trip more than fulfilled my expectations and there were absolutely no distractions nor disruptions to lessen the experience. I expected, and was given, a mixture of relaxation in a setting of a few other guests, all of whom were extremely pleasant fellow travelers. I have done three previous trips with Peter Sommer Travels mixing archeology, superb food, and the ambience of the Turkish "gulet" This was the best yet. The learning experience; as in previous trips, with tours and lectures of the ancient cities of Lycia was everything for which I had hoped. The warm waters of the eastern Mediterranean as the setting helps a great deal with the company owning the gulet providing a superb platform for food and accommodations as arranged by Peter Sommer Travels completing a very welcome two weeks of "getting away from it all".

Rating for tour operator:

As above, our experience was flawless. We landed at Dalaman Airport; spent a couple of night Gogek, embarked, sailed, and left the boat at Fethiye for our return flight to Istanbul. The flawless performance began at Dalaman when the arranged transport to Gojek was totally smooth. The end game; that involved the necessary Covid testing to get back into the states, went without any upset. The local, professional guide that accompanied our tour was superb and complimented the archeologist that works as part of the Sommer organization. Each day went smoothly from breakfast to lights out. Everything was taken care of without any hesitation and the gulet company, ship, and crew could not have been more satisfactory from a guest's standpoint.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Montana Linda, 30 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore

An amazing combination of visiting educational archeological sites with a brilliant archeologist and swimming, kayaking and snorkeling beautiful clear waters. A beautiful Turkish Gulet was our home for two weeks and the food was above all expectations, cooked and presented by our Turkish chef.

An amazing combination of visiting educational archeological sites with a brilliant archeologist and swimming, kayaking and snorkeling beautiful clear waters. A beautiful Turkish Gulet was our home for two weeks and the food was above all expectations, cooked and presented by our Turkish chef.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our fourth trip with Peter Sommer Travels and each one has been perfectly designed and executed. We have loved every one. Attention to all details is perfect and the skill of the tour directors is fantastic. A wonderful learning experience coupled with relaxing free time. The Turkish Gulet's that were our home for two weeks had great accomodations and food beyond compare. In all, just great trips.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mrs R C 19, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing the spirit, toning up the body

Cruise on a gulet along the Lycian coast

Cruise on a gulet along the Lycian coast

Rating for tour operator:

very attentive to the requests of clients

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mr G G 19, 11 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

instructive, amusing and relaxing at the same time

a well organized gulet cruise along the Lycian coast , alternating visits to archeological sites to pleasant stops in cosy bays for swimming

a well organized gulet cruise along the Lycian coast , alternating visits to archeological sites to pleasant stops in cosy bays for swimming

Rating for tour operator:

very efficient and kind

Cruising the Lycian Shore by David, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore, 31 Aug 2019

This gullet-based tour visited many important archaeological sites, particularly Greek and Hellenistic-Roman era (450BC-200AD), located along the Lycian coast of Turkey. It includes time for swimming, taking in the local culture and cuisine and for improving understanding of the development of human civilisation in the Mediterranean.

This gullet-based tour visited many important archaeological sites, particularly Greek and Hellenistic-Roman era (450BC-200AD), located along the Lycian coast of Turkey. It includes time for swimming, taking in the local culture and cuisine and for improving understanding of the development of human civilisation in the Mediterranean.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers are a very professional company and the trip was very professionally run, with archaeological experts to help inform and guide. Accommodation onboard is comfortable and all meals provided during the trip.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Alison, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect holiday for mind, body and soul.

We spent two weeks on a gulet, exploring the Lycian coast, mainly archaeological sites, in Turkey. It was the perfect combination of relaxation, learning. We swam off the boat, visited ancient sites and villages and enjoyed some very good food. Our guides were excellent, as were the crew of the boat. There were no crowds and we enjoyed the company of the other guests. We had never been on any other type of organised tour before our first ...

We spent two weeks on a gulet, exploring the Lycian coast, mainly archaeological sites, in Turkey. It was the perfect combination of relaxation, learning. We swam off the boat, visited ancient sites and villages and enjoyed some very good food. Our guides were excellent, as were the crew of the boat. There were no crowds and we enjoyed the company of the other guests. We had never been on any other type of organised tour before our first trip with Peter Sommer Travels in 2013. We have now done seven and are already thinking about where to go next year. That probably says more than any review we could give.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels specialise in expert-led archaeological tours, some of them land based and others by boat. They cover Greece, Turkey, Italy and Croatia, as well as more recently added tours based in England, Scotland and Ireland.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by SimonT, 21 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding service

From the gulet crew, to the tour guide, archaeologist and the recommended hotel, the service we experienced was exceptional. They really worked hard to make sure we felt special.

From the gulet crew, to the tour guide, archaeologist and the recommended hotel, the service we experienced was exceptional. They really worked hard to make sure we felt special.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been using Peter Sommer Travels for 7 years now and find their levels of service and expertise hard to match. They truly care about their guests and do their utmost to provide an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Reviewer's images:
Cruising the Lycian Shore by Becasse, 18 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfection

Two weeks in a gullet with a wonderful crew who looked after our every need looking at Greco-Roman sites on the Lycian Coast. We enjoyed the services of a knowledgeable and helpful archaeologist and our holiday was managed beautifully by Cem Yucesoy who redefines the word 'fixer'. He ensured everything ran like clockwork and made it all look effortless. We were blessed with travelling companions who were both 'sympa' and like minded.

Two weeks in a gullet with a wonderful crew who looked after our every need looking at Greco-Roman sites on the Lycian Coast. We enjoyed the services of a knowledgeable and helpful archaeologist and our holiday was managed beautifully by Cem Yucesoy who redefines the word 'fixer'. He ensured everything ran like clockwork and made it all look effortless. We were blessed with travelling companions who were both 'sympa' and like minded.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel looked after us beautifully. It was the first time we'd used him but by day 2 we realised why he has much repeat business - the attention to detail and general professionalism shone through and made for a wonderful holiday