AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising the Lycian Shore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising the Lycian Shore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 18
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Lycian Shore by Becasse, 18 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfection

Two weeks in a gullet with a wonderful crew who looked after our every need looking at Greco-Roman sites on the Lycian Coast. We enjoyed the services of a knowledgeable and helpful archaeologist and our holiday was managed beautifully by Cem Yucesoy who redefines the word 'fixer'. He ensured everything ran like clockwork and made it all look effortless. We were blessed with travelling companions who were both 'sympa' and like minded.

Two weeks in a gullet with a wonderful crew who looked after our every need looking at Greco-Roman sites on the Lycian Coast. We enjoyed the services of a knowledgeable and helpful archaeologist and our holiday was managed beautifully by Cem Yucesoy who redefines the word 'fixer'. He ensured everything ran like clockwork and made it all look effortless. We were blessed with travelling companions who were both 'sympa' and like minded.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel looked after us beautifully. It was the first time we'd used him but by day 2 we realised why he has much repeat business - the attention to detail and general professionalism shone through and made for a wonderful holiday

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Lovey, 22 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Joyous Lycian Experience

This holiday with Peter Sommer Travel really highlighted to me how important it is to have someone with passion and experience to show you around the ancient towns and cities and unlock their secrets making them come alive so that you see the people of ancient times playing and living their daily lives in the streets, shops and temples.

This holiday with Peter Sommer Travel really highlighted to me how important it is to have someone with passion and experience to show you around the ancient towns and cities and unlock their secrets making them come alive so that you see the people of ancient times playing and living their daily lives in the streets, shops and temples.

Rating for tour operator:

I was at first apprehensive about a cruise with strangers all be it only 11 other passengers but that fear was put aside as we were immediately welcomed and befriended by both the wonderful ,crew and the other passengers. Having Peter as our amazingly patient and knowledgeable guide and Jem handling the logistics and operations in his quite efficient manner made the holiday all the more enjoyable . Our every need and whim was met. So much so that we have already booked next year for another trip

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mike & Lovelle, 13 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Coast

The holiday was truly wonderful. I was a little apprehensive that a number of the other passengers knew each other from previous holidays but we were immediately made welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and how everybody circulated and chatted to each other. There was a good balance of socializing, cultural input, great swimming and daily archeological walks through lovely countryside. Even if you were not mad about ...

The holiday was truly wonderful. I was a little apprehensive that a number of the other passengers knew each other from previous holidays but we were immediately made welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and how everybody circulated and chatted to each other. There was a good balance of socializing, cultural input, great swimming and daily archeological walks through lovely countryside. Even if you were not mad about archeology the walks were very worthwhile. The catering was excellent and varied introducing us to the cuisine from various regions of Turkey. The crew were very attentive to our every need and really spoilt us. We came away feeling relaxed with a whole bunch of new friends and having gained a new understanding of the history of the region.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter has the knack of making archeology and the many layers of history come alive. Cem lent the Turkish reality to every conversation What impressed me the most was their ability to find beautiful places and to understand what the group enjoyed doing most and made every effort to accommodate requests. There was a nice balance of activities and free time. The trip was extremely well organized and the crew very professional. Every person felt that they were special.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Kazbar, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore

relaxing , enjoyable , well planned and great ancient sites

relaxing , enjoyable , well planned and great ancient sites

Rating for tour operator:

well organised & planned , always ensured clients well being and experience at the top of their list

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mermaid Lynne, 6 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Coast Turkey September 2018

I had a wonderful holiday. The combination of swimming, boating, food, fun and archaeology is brilliant

I had a wonderful holiday. The combination of swimming, boating, food, fun and archaeology is brilliant

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels in a very professional organisation. Their attention to detail that makes travelling in small groups so enjoyable is second to none. In fact I have booked my third trip in a row with Peter Sommer Travels as I enjoy their style of travel very much.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Douglas J, 2 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Expectations Exceeded Again.

Primarily a tour of historical archaeological sites, and given that these sites are often on or close to the coast, it make sense to visit them from the water, as would have been the case in ancient times, adding the enjoyment of living aboard a traditional Turkish gulet and swimming in the magical waters of the Mediterranean. I am left with the all encompassing feeling that the delights of this trip were not restricted by what our hosts ...

Primarily a tour of historical archaeological sites, and given that these sites are often on or close to the coast, it make sense to visit them from the water, as would have been the case in ancient times, adding the enjoyment of living aboard a traditional Turkish gulet and swimming in the magical waters of the Mediterranean. I am left with the all encompassing feeling that the delights of this trip were not restricted by what our hosts provided, but rather, were limited only by what we as guests could absorb.

Rating for tour operator:

In a review of a previous trip (this was our fourth), I described Peter as a mountain goat. I still feel that was an apt description, and on this occasion he confirmed his adeptness and agility in that guise and as the ultimate tour leader. Peter is the consummate host, ever aware of his guests preferences, predilections and foibles.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Sailorlass, 2 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic experience

From swimming in sapphire blue translucent water to seeing awe inspiring ancient sites peopled and bustling as Peter talks of their history and reads from contemporary writers, are amazing experiences. All this in the company of like minded people who also enjoy the luxury of the superb Mediterranean food, wine and care on the gulet as it cruises past stunning scenery or anchors in a secluded cove overnight. This was another incredible, ...

From swimming in sapphire blue translucent water to seeing awe inspiring ancient sites peopled and bustling as Peter talks of their history and reads from contemporary writers, are amazing experiences. All this in the company of like minded people who also enjoy the luxury of the superb Mediterranean food, wine and care on the gulet as it cruises past stunning scenery or anchors in a secluded cove overnight. This was another incredible, stimulating, relaxing, unforgettable experience. This was our fourth gulet tour with Peter Sommer Travels and we have already signed up for another.

Rating for tour operator:

Amazing attention to detail, but an inspiring and tremendously well informed tour leader who has the ability to make ancient sites come alive. A great person with whom to travel, fun, knowledgeable and responsive to any need.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by VJ, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Lycian Cruise

Our cruise along the Lycian Shore was both enjoyable and informative. We visited many interesting sites along the way and also had time for relaxing on the boat. The accomodation was very comfortable and pleasant. We enjoyed swimming from the boat to cool off when we stopped.

Our cruise along the Lycian Shore was both enjoyable and informative. We visited many interesting sites along the way and also had time for relaxing on the boat. The accomodation was very comfortable and pleasant. We enjoyed swimming from the boat to cool off when we stopped.

Rating for tour operator:

Our guide, Peter Sommer, always full of energy and enthusiasm, led us along the paths of the Lycian Coast, betraying a love and deep knowledge of the ancient history of the region. He introduced us to stories of the Lycians, Greeks and Romans. He was assisted by Cem Yucesoy who ensured that the trip went smoothly. We had every confidence in the captain and the crew who attended to our every need. The Chef provided excellent food throughout the cruise.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Ishbel, 26 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Bringing History Alive on the Lycian Coast

Our holiday allowed us to pursue an interest in archaeology in the company of a first class guide while enjoying the comfort of a beautiful hand built traditional gulet. The accommodation and Turkish cuisine was first class and great care was taken to match excellent local wines. Every effort was made to ensure the comfort of guests by a thoroughly professional crew and an outstanding local guide who seemed able to solve any problem with effici...

Our holiday allowed us to pursue an interest in archaeology in the company of a first class guide while enjoying the comfort of a beautiful hand built traditional gulet. The accommodation and Turkish cuisine was first class and great care was taken to match excellent local wines. Every effort was made to ensure the comfort of guests by a thoroughly professional crew and an outstanding local guide who seemed able to solve any problem with efficiency and good humour.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Tours is a highly regarded company specialising in the archaeology of the Mediterranean and features fine food and quality accommodation. We were fortunate to have Peter Sommers himself as our expert guide and he spared no effort in sharing his considerable knowledge to bring to life the history of the many and varied peoples who have occupied the Lycian coast over many hundreds of years.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Travelling Duo, 25 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Awsome

The Gulet was lovely cabin great food amazing. Swimming in lovely bays in warm water was something we all looked forward to, visiting ancient sites with a very knowledgeable Archiologist was also a great experience. The staff on the Gulet were also great very efficient and attentive.

The Gulet was lovely cabin great food amazing. Swimming in lovely bays in warm water was something we all looked forward to, visiting ancient sites with a very knowledgeable Archiologist was also a great experience. The staff on the Gulet were also great very efficient and attentive.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a great tour operator always thinks of everybody's needs this was our third trip with Peter Sommer travels so I guess we must enjoy it