AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising the Lycian Shore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising the Lycian Shore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 23
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 23
Reviews Accepted: 23
Reviews Rejected: 0
23 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mrs R C 19, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing the spirit, toning up the body

Cruise on a gulet along the Lycian coast

Cruise on a gulet along the Lycian coast

Rating for tour operator:

very attentive to the requests of clients

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mr G G 19, 11 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

instructive, amusing and relaxing at the same time

a well organized gulet cruise along the Lycian coast , alternating visits to archeological sites to pleasant stops in cosy bays for swimming

a well organized gulet cruise along the Lycian coast , alternating visits to archeological sites to pleasant stops in cosy bays for swimming

Rating for tour operator:

very efficient and kind

Cruising the Lycian Shore by David, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore, 31 Aug 2019

This gullet-based tour visited many important archaeological sites, particularly Greek and Hellenistic-Roman era (450BC-200AD), located along the Lycian coast of Turkey. It includes time for swimming, taking in the local culture and cuisine and for improving understanding of the development of human civilisation in the Mediterranean.

This gullet-based tour visited many important archaeological sites, particularly Greek and Hellenistic-Roman era (450BC-200AD), located along the Lycian coast of Turkey. It includes time for swimming, taking in the local culture and cuisine and for improving understanding of the development of human civilisation in the Mediterranean.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers are a very professional company and the trip was very professionally run, with archaeological experts to help inform and guide. Accommodation onboard is comfortable and all meals provided during the trip.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Alison, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect holiday for mind, body and soul.

We spent two weeks on a gulet, exploring the Lycian coast, mainly archaeological sites, in Turkey. It was the perfect combination of relaxation, learning. We swam off the boat, visited ancient sites and villages and enjoyed some very good food. Our guides were excellent, as were the crew of the boat. There were no crowds and we enjoyed the company of the other guests. We had never been on any other type of organised tour before our first ...

We spent two weeks on a gulet, exploring the Lycian coast, mainly archaeological sites, in Turkey. It was the perfect combination of relaxation, learning. We swam off the boat, visited ancient sites and villages and enjoyed some very good food. Our guides were excellent, as were the crew of the boat. There were no crowds and we enjoyed the company of the other guests. We had never been on any other type of organised tour before our first trip with Peter Sommer Travels in 2013. We have now done seven and are already thinking about where to go next year. That probably says more than any review we could give.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels specialise in expert-led archaeological tours, some of them land based and others by boat. They cover Greece, Turkey, Italy and Croatia, as well as more recently added tours based in England, Scotland and Ireland.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by SimonT, 21 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding service

From the gulet crew, to the tour guide, archaeologist and the recommended hotel, the service we experienced was exceptional. They really worked hard to make sure we felt special.

From the gulet crew, to the tour guide, archaeologist and the recommended hotel, the service we experienced was exceptional. They really worked hard to make sure we felt special.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been using Peter Sommer Travels for 7 years now and find their levels of service and expertise hard to match. They truly care about their guests and do their utmost to provide an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Reviewer's images:
Cruising the Lycian Shore by Becasse, 18 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfection

Two weeks in a gullet with a wonderful crew who looked after our every need looking at Greco-Roman sites on the Lycian Coast. We enjoyed the services of a knowledgeable and helpful archaeologist and our holiday was managed beautifully by Cem Yucesoy who redefines the word 'fixer'. He ensured everything ran like clockwork and made it all look effortless. We were blessed with travelling companions who were both 'sympa' and like minded.

Two weeks in a gullet with a wonderful crew who looked after our every need looking at Greco-Roman sites on the Lycian Coast. We enjoyed the services of a knowledgeable and helpful archaeologist and our holiday was managed beautifully by Cem Yucesoy who redefines the word 'fixer'. He ensured everything ran like clockwork and made it all look effortless. We were blessed with travelling companions who were both 'sympa' and like minded.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel looked after us beautifully. It was the first time we'd used him but by day 2 we realised why he has much repeat business - the attention to detail and general professionalism shone through and made for a wonderful holiday

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Lovey, 22 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Joyous Lycian Experience

This holiday with Peter Sommer Travel really highlighted to me how important it is to have someone with passion and experience to show you around the ancient towns and cities and unlock their secrets making them come alive so that you see the people of ancient times playing and living their daily lives in the streets, shops and temples.

This holiday with Peter Sommer Travel really highlighted to me how important it is to have someone with passion and experience to show you around the ancient towns and cities and unlock their secrets making them come alive so that you see the people of ancient times playing and living their daily lives in the streets, shops and temples.

Rating for tour operator:

I was at first apprehensive about a cruise with strangers all be it only 11 other passengers but that fear was put aside as we were immediately welcomed and befriended by both the wonderful ,crew and the other passengers. Having Peter as our amazingly patient and knowledgeable guide and Jem handling the logistics and operations in his quite efficient manner made the holiday all the more enjoyable . Our every need and whim was met. So much so that we have already booked next year for another trip

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mike & Lovelle, 13 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Coast

The holiday was truly wonderful. I was a little apprehensive that a number of the other passengers knew each other from previous holidays but we were immediately made welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and how everybody circulated and chatted to each other. There was a good balance of socializing, cultural input, great swimming and daily archeological walks through lovely countryside. Even if you were not mad about ...

The holiday was truly wonderful. I was a little apprehensive that a number of the other passengers knew each other from previous holidays but we were immediately made welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and how everybody circulated and chatted to each other. There was a good balance of socializing, cultural input, great swimming and daily archeological walks through lovely countryside. Even if you were not mad about archeology the walks were very worthwhile. The catering was excellent and varied introducing us to the cuisine from various regions of Turkey. The crew were very attentive to our every need and really spoilt us. We came away feeling relaxed with a whole bunch of new friends and having gained a new understanding of the history of the region.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter has the knack of making archeology and the many layers of history come alive. Cem lent the Turkish reality to every conversation What impressed me the most was their ability to find beautiful places and to understand what the group enjoyed doing most and made every effort to accommodate requests. There was a nice balance of activities and free time. The trip was extremely well organized and the crew very professional. Every person felt that they were special.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Kazbar, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore

relaxing , enjoyable , well planned and great ancient sites

relaxing , enjoyable , well planned and great ancient sites

Rating for tour operator:

well organised & planned , always ensured clients well being and experience at the top of their list

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mermaid Lynne, 6 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Coast Turkey September 2018

I had a wonderful holiday. The combination of swimming, boating, food, fun and archaeology is brilliant

I had a wonderful holiday. The combination of swimming, boating, food, fun and archaeology is brilliant

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels in a very professional organisation. Their attention to detail that makes travelling in small groups so enjoyable is second to none. In fact I have booked my third trip in a row with Peter Sommer Travels as I enjoy their style of travel very much.