AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

NC3 Taste of the North Traveller Reviews

Reviews of NC3 Taste of the North

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 11
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 12
Reviews Accepted: 12
Reviews Rejected: 0
12 reviews
Sort by:
NC3 Taste of the North by Mr R S 19, 18 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

North Spain Encounter

A three centre holiday tour starting in Bilbao with the Guggenheim - moving to the vineyards of Roija and the medieval delights of Laguardia and thence to the sunshine beaches of the North Spain Coastline. Different experience in each but wonderful variety

A three centre holiday tour starting in Bilbao with the Guggenheim - moving to the vineyards of Roija and the medieval delights of Laguardia and thence to the sunshine beaches of the North Spain Coastline. Different experience in each but wonderful variety

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator could not have been more helpful - and armed with the App we had all the information we needed - and a lot more

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Jul 2019:

Thank you Bob for your comments, we're glad you had an excellent holiday and you liked the variety offered in this region of northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Jul 2019:

Thank you for your kind words, it's great to see our work is appreciated.

NC3 Taste of the North by Rowland, 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY IN NORTHERN SPAIN

Portsmouth to Bilboa then hotels and a cottage in La Rioja and Cantabrica. Just the right of amount of driving and the distances were fine. We received very useful advice from Andy and Guru when we explained we didn't want to do too much daily driving.

Portsmouth to Bilboa then hotels and a cottage in La Rioja and Cantabrica. Just the right of amount of driving and the distances were fine. We received very useful advice from Andy and Guru when we explained we didn't want to do too much daily driving.

Rating for tour operator:

We received very useful advice from Andy and Guru when we explained we didn't want to do too much daily driving. We had a few initial issues with the self catering cottage but these were quickly and efficiently dealt with and it was fantastic to have Andy at the end of the phone. In fact, it was this cottage in the Picos which proved to be a real highlight of the holiday. We would not have included the locations we finally chose without Casas Cantabricas. One point forth future: the directions and access details to the hotels needs to be updated e.g. entrances now chained off (Santalliana Del Mer); no longer entry bollards (Leon) and a note about the tricky new key (Picos).

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 Jun 2019:

Thank you Tracey and Andrew, we're very happy you've enjoyed your holidays in Northern Spain, with so many different regions within short distances.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your kind words, we're glad to help. Also thank you for your suggestions, we'll make sure those improvements get in the system.

NC3 Taste of the North by CJ Herts, 9 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Circular driving tour of northern Spain

Excellent detailed arrangements and directions throughout the tour which was put together according to our wishes.. Hotels were well chosen in areas that were away from the tourist trail and allowed the chance to see both the countryside and rural life. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Excellent detailed arrangements and directions throughout the tour which was put together according to our wishes.. Hotels were well chosen in areas that were away from the tourist trail and allowed the chance to see both the countryside and rural life. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy to contact with quick response to any question. Provided ample information and expertise.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Oct 2018:

Thank you Colin for your great feedback, we're very happy to see you enjoyed your holiday in Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Oct 2018:

Thank you again for your comments, we're always happy to respond to all your queries.

NC3 Taste of the North by Biscotti, 22 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

City, Castle, Cobbles

A fantastic holiday in 3 different areas. Bilbao was a nice city for a bit of culture. The castle hotel was more than we could have hoped for. The cobbled streets of Santillana del Mare were picturesque. All the recommended sights were good suggestions.A perfect holiday, off the beaten track.

A fantastic holiday in 3 different areas. Bilbao was a nice city for a bit of culture. The castle hotel was more than we could have hoped for. The cobbled streets of Santillana del Mare were picturesque. All the recommended sights were good suggestions.A perfect holiday, off the beaten track.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabrica were very helpful throughout . We were able to extend our car hire period, lots of information, including road maps, guide books were sent as soon as we had booked, road closures and alternative routes were advised before we left. We had absolute confidence that they would be available if we should need them.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thanks Louise, sounds like you had a great time and really made the most out of the contrasts northern Spain has to offer!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

And glad to hear that all our efforts are appreciated - music to our ears!

NC3 Taste of the North by Rog, 25 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent itinery

Fly/drive tour of northern Spain with three prearranged hotels in Laguardia, Santillana del Mar and Bilbao. Travel directions and suggested places to visit were included, with the assurance of in territory help if we needed it. We would not have found these places on our own. All went brilliantly, could not fault it.

Fly/drive tour of northern Spain with three prearranged hotels in Laguardia, Santillana del Mar and Bilbao. Travel directions and suggested places to visit were included, with the assurance of in territory help if we needed it. We would not have found these places on our own. All went brilliantly, could not fault it.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas Itinerary was "built" especially for our requirements. Comprehensive information package was provided. Questions we raised prior to the holiday were immediately answered.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 31 May 2017:

Thanks Roger - we're so glad you had such a great time!

NC3 Taste of the North by Charlie , 12 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful self drive visit to Northern Spain

Casas Cantabricas organised our self-drive holiday to Bilbao, Santillana del Mar and Laguardia in the Rjoca region. The three hotels we stayed in were all excellent and the car hire experience worked perfectly with no nasty surprises at the end. We thought about organising the trip ourselves but we'd never have found hotels like the three we stayed in and the supporting documentation was outstanding- including itineraries, a guide book, a map ...

Casas Cantabricas organised our self-drive holiday to Bilbao, Santillana del Mar and Laguardia in the Rjoca region. The three hotels we stayed in were all excellent and the car hire experience worked perfectly with no nasty surprises at the end. We thought about organising the trip ourselves but we'd never have found hotels like the three we stayed in and the supporting documentation was outstanding- including itineraries, a guide book, a map and the App containing all the info we needed

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas were excellent. Guru and Andy understood our needs well and adjusted the order of things to suit our flight times into and out of Bilbao from Edinburgh, even telling us where to re-fuel before we returned the hire car to the airport. All the arrangements worked well - from picking up the car at the airport to checking in and out at each hotel everything went very smoothly. We can't praise them highly enough and have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending them. We will certainly use them again.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 May 2017:

Many thanks John, we're so glad you had such a great time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 May 2017:

And thanks for those kind words, most appreciated!

NC3 Taste of the North by Katie, 14 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Enlightening tour of Rioja and Cantabria

Ferry Portsmouth to Santander thoroughly enjoyable experience - comfortable and excellent food and service. Stunning scenery andexcellent roads. Delicious food and wine at very reasnable cost. We stayed at relativele simple hotels which were entirely satisfactory.

Ferry Portsmouth to Santander thoroughly enjoyable experience - comfortable and excellent food and service. Stunning scenery andexcellent roads. Delicious food and wine at very reasnable cost. We stayed at relativele simple hotels which were entirely satisfactory.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabria. Efficient, friendly and SO helpful. It was really nice dealing with you, especially being able to chat on the phone. Best we have ever dealt with over 50 years!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2016:

We're so glad you enjoyed your Taste of the North tour and the ferry trip down to Spain. We think it's a wonderful introduction to the region - particularly if gastronomy is high on your list of priorities!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2016:

And thanks for those kind comments - that's really made our day! Hope to hear from you again sometime in the future.

NC3 Taste of the North by Karen H, 23 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Highlights of northern Spain

Our 10 day tour of northern Spain included 2 nights in each of 5 locations staying in small hotels / B&Bs, all of which were of a high standard and full of character. We particularly liked Castillo el Collado where the service was outstanding. The Basque region of Spain has much to offer and is extremely good value for money compared to other regions, although it does help to speak at least a little Spanish!

Our 10 day tour of northern Spain included 2 nights in each of 5 locations staying in small hotels / B&Bs, all of which were of a high standard and full of character. We particularly liked Castillo el Collado where the service was outstanding. The Basque region of Spain has much to offer and is extremely good value for money compared to other regions, although it does help to speak at least a little Spanish!

Rating for tour operator:

The comprehensive itinerary, which included detailed maps and directions, plus recommendations on places to visit or eat was exceptional. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Casas Cantabricas as a travel company, particularly as there are few operators that specialise in this area of Spain. They know the region inside out and provided a great personal service.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Aug 2016:

Thanks Karen - we're so glad you enjoyed the tour and the region so much - and we'll certainly pass your comments on to Castillo del Collado who be delighted we're sure!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Aug 2016:

And that's really made our day! Many, many thanks Karen and we hope we'll hear from you again sometime in the future!

NC3 Taste of the North by Claymires, 12 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Superlative organisation and personal service

This was a 10 night holiday to Northern Spain in June 2016, taking in Asturias, Cantabria and Rioja. We stayed in 5 different posadas and travelled around the regions by hired car.

This was a 10 night holiday to Northern Spain in June 2016, taking in Asturias, Cantabria and Rioja. We stayed in 5 different posadas and travelled around the regions by hired car.

Rating for tour operator:

We wanted to book a special holiday for our recent 40th wedding anniversary and happened upon Caminos by Casas Cantabrias. What a lucky find! After a discussion about where we wanted to visit, route etc, we were quickly booked up for our holiday. We then received detailed itineries, maps, vouchers, regional guides to the area and general food and vocabulary guide, point to point directions, local weather forecasts etc. We were also given access to an excellent app, which Lin gave great instructions for downloading. The guides and maps were of excellent quality and extremely useful, as was the app. This is a company with the personal touch and even provided a telephone number for us to phone if we ran into difficulties at any time. I can't praise Casas Cantabrias enough - website, staff and service - and am certainly recommending them to all my friends. This is what a travel company should be like - and this is what made our holiday so special.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Jul 2016:

That's fantastic Jeanette! So glad to hear you had such a wonderful holiday.

NC3 Taste of the North by Eva from Scotland, 1 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Culture, scenery and food in abundance

This was the first time my husband and I had visited Northern Spain. We had booked a self-drive holiday that included overnight accommodation just outside Bilbao, in Laguardia and Santilliana del Mar. It was fantastic. The different landscape and scenery, accompanied by amazing food and wine, plus really nice hotel and friendly people was brilliant. Even though the holiday was during peak-time in August the region did not feel overrun, with ...

This was the first time my husband and I had visited Northern Spain. We had booked a self-drive holiday that included overnight accommodation just outside Bilbao, in Laguardia and Santilliana del Mar. It was fantastic. The different landscape and scenery, accompanied by amazing food and wine, plus really nice hotel and friendly people was brilliant. Even though the holiday was during peak-time in August the region did not feel overrun, with beaches being easily accessible, a good choice of restaurants and plenty to do.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Organised booking quickly and without fuss and was always available over the phone and by email. Also, the operator has a very comprehensive website, and provided access to an App which contained our travel documents, maps, infomation etc.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Sep 2015:

Thanks Eva, glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed all the contrasts that northern Spain has to offer!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Sep 2015:

And thanks so much for those comments - glad you found the app useful, it's a new development this year but everyone seems to be very happy with it.