AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte Traveller Reviews

Reviews of NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte

Overall Holiday Rating
97%
Excellent 11
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 13
Reviews Accepted: 13
Reviews Rejected: 0
13 reviews
Sort by:
NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by BeckyJA, 13 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great alll round

All good - from car hire to hotels. As a family travelling with 3 children it is often difficult to get accommodation without having to have 3 rooms - all arranged for us with Cash Cantabricas

All good - from car hire to hotels. As a family travelling with 3 children it is often difficult to get accommodation without having to have 3 rooms - all arranged for us with Cash Cantabricas

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent - provided exactly what we asked for and were quick to help us with queries when we were travelling.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Sep 2017:

Thanks Rebecca - so glad to hear things worked out well for you and your family and that you enjoyed your first visit to the North of Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Sep 2017:

And thanks for that - we certainly hope we'll hear from you again sometime in the future!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Caroline S, 12 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Camino del Norte Tour

This was our first holiday without our daughter (who is now 18) and it exceeded our expectations. Everything was organised and sorted without fuss and detailed information about each stop of the tour was provided. The hotels we stayed in were lovely and gave a real mixture and taste of the different styles and regions of Northern Spain. I have already recommended this holiday and company to others and would book another tour through them again...

This was our first holiday without our daughter (who is now 18) and it exceeded our expectations. Everything was organised and sorted without fuss and detailed information about each stop of the tour was provided. The hotels we stayed in were lovely and gave a real mixture and taste of the different styles and regions of Northern Spain. I have already recommended this holiday and company to others and would book another tour through them again. A really great holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised tour and all the information we could possibly need was provided by way of an app, a book and a map. Really enjoyable holiday and I have no hesitation in recommending Casas Cantabricas.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Sep 2017:

Thanks Caroline, so glad you got so much out of the trip - especially as it was your first taste of freedom!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Sep 2017:

And thank you for those kind words - most appreciated!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Sophie, 31 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Marvellous mix of city and country in Northern Spain

2 nights in Bilbao for culture and city buzz (really lovely helpful staff and breakfast at the hotel). 7 nights self catering in Asturias (heavenly views) a great location for visiting coast and inland, 2 nights in Santiago - stunned by the huge cathedral and other churches (again amazing staff in gorgeous hotel). Visited a Coruna by train (very easy). We highly recommend this area for those wanting a slightly different holiday.

2 nights in Bilbao for culture and city buzz (really lovely helpful staff and breakfast at the hotel). 7 nights self catering in Asturias (heavenly views) a great location for visiting coast and inland, 2 nights in Santiago - stunned by the huge cathedral and other churches (again amazing staff in gorgeous hotel). Visited a Coruna by train (very easy). We highly recommend this area for those wanting a slightly different holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Leonor and his colleagues at Casas Cantabricas organised our holiday brilliantly. Every question was answered promptly, all our requests were taken into account. The car hire was painless, the directions given were impeccable. The Footsteps guide was a welcome added extra. Checking in and out of hotels was easy. All the pressure points of a holiday were taken care for us. Thank you so much for enabling us to have a truly relaxing break. We highly recommend the company.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 31 Aug 2017:

Thanks so much for that! It makes it all worthwhile to hear that you've had such an wonderful time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 31 Aug 2017:

Thanks for those kind words, Sophie. It was an absolute pleasure working with you to put the trip together and we hope to hear from you again soon!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Algie from Hordern, 5 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant Tour of Northern Spain

A very interesting tour of the Basque Country, Asturias and Galicia. Great Food, Great Scenery, Lovely Hotels and welcoming people.

A very interesting tour of the Basque Country, Asturias and Galicia. Great Food, Great Scenery, Lovely Hotels and welcoming people.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas proved to be a very efficient and knowledgeable holiday company who planned our route and hotels. Everything about the vacation was first class.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 05 Dec 2016:

Thanks Alan, glad to hear you had such a brilliant time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 05 Dec 2016:

Thanks for those kind words!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Algie, 12 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant Tour with Great Hotels

Casas Cantabricas arranged a stunning tour of Green Spain. They made it easy for us to get full enjoyment out of this lovely area. The tour was well paced giving us ample time to relax and enjoy the sights. The Hotels were very good and extremely interesting, fully matching our desire for older properties full of character. We would definitely use this company again and recommend anyone to do likewise.

Casas Cantabricas arranged a stunning tour of Green Spain. They made it easy for us to get full enjoyment out of this lovely area. The tour was well paced giving us ample time to relax and enjoy the sights. The Hotels were very good and extremely interesting, fully matching our desire for older properties full of character. We would definitely use this company again and recommend anyone to do likewise.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantrabicas proved to be very knowledgeable about the region visited. Their service was excellent, meeting all of our needs.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 21 Nov 2016:

Thanks Alan, great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience in northern Spain!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by P & J, 26 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Northern Spain - East to West

We toured, over14 days, from Bilbao to Santiago de Compostella. It was an interesting mix of coast, mountains and towns. The hotels we stayed in were very varied, including a medieval house, a grand villa, a monastery and an ultra modern hotel.

We toured, over14 days, from Bilbao to Santiago de Compostella. It was an interesting mix of coast, mountains and towns. The hotels we stayed in were very varied, including a medieval house, a grand villa, a monastery and an ultra modern hotel.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked the flights independently but everything else was arranged by Casa Cantabricas. Everything worked to plan and there were no problems. We were supplied with good information about all the areas we stayed in. The hotels had obviously been chosen carefully and the staff spoke English and were very helpful

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 03 Oct 2016:

Many thanks Paul, we're so glad that you had such a great time and enjoyed the mix of places we chose for you. We like to think that it's the individual characters of the hotels we use which make the difference to the trip and it's so rewarding when that element is appreciated!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Dave, 16 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

A well organised holiday with good hotels and a good route though Northern Spain

The holiday was very well organised. Everything went smoothly with the hire car, the hotels and the taxi transfers, and all the people involved in these (and with the bookings) were friendly and efficient. The route selected met our needs entirely, and took us to the key parts of Northern Spain. Hotel selection was good, both in terms of the quality of the hotels and their accessibility (particularly for Bilbao as the hotel was easily located ...

The holiday was very well organised. Everything went smoothly with the hire car, the hotels and the taxi transfers, and all the people involved in these (and with the bookings) were friendly and efficient. The route selected met our needs entirely, and took us to the key parts of Northern Spain. Hotel selection was good, both in terms of the quality of the hotels and their accessibility (particularly for Bilbao as the hotel was easily located by car, and the city centre was very close and easily and pleasantly reached via the funicular railway. The idea of leaving the hire car at Santiago airport and doing the remaining transfers by taxis was very good, as a car would just be a hindrance in Santiago. All the above made for a pleasant and sress-free holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly, efficient and easy to deal with when booking, and clearly had the experience and knowledge to put together an excellent package of route, transfers and hotels. The Vamoos application (on Ipad for me) worked very well and meant my documentation was all in one place. A nice touch was the arrival of a guidebook and map shortly before we left.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Jun 2016:

Thanky you so much David - that's most appreciated! We're so glad we hit the mark with the hotels and that you appreciated some of the finer details (like the transfers in Santiago and the hotel location in Bilbao) which we like to think make the whole thing tick

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Jun 2016:

And thanks for that feedback - there's obviously a lot goes into the app in particular and it's lovely to see it's appreciated!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Bart Simpson, 2 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Santander - Santiago - Santander over 8 days

We travelled in early April, arriving in Santander on April 6th, travelling to Libardon for 2 nights. We then travelled to La Senra for one night before arriving in Santiago on Saturday afternoon. After one night there we returned to Santander stopping in Puerto do Vego { 2 nights) and Santillana for one night. Each hotel stop was superb, where we were made most welcome. The programme put together by Casas Cantabricas was excellent in every way...

We travelled in early April, arriving in Santander on April 6th, travelling to Libardon for 2 nights. We then travelled to La Senra for one night before arriving in Santiago on Saturday afternoon. After one night there we returned to Santander stopping in Puerto do Vego { 2 nights) and Santillana for one night. Each hotel stop was superb, where we were made most welcome. The programme put together by Casas Cantabricas was excellent in every way. I had not been in Northern Spain since 2005 and this was a memorable week for both of us. I plan to return in 2017.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantibricas put together an excellent bespoke programme for us which met and surpassed our expectations. This involved hotel and car hire package, which worked very well.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 May 2016:

Thanks Bart, that's great feedback and the first of 2016 - most appreciated!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 May 2016:

And thanks for those comments. We were only too happy to adapt our standard route to the bespoke Camino and thrilled to hear it turned out so well!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Tony, 12 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great variety in an unspoilt part of Spain

Mixture of historic cities and rural locations, with many unspoilt beaches and coastal villages in one of the best parts of Spain. The old towns in Bilbao and Santiago de Compostela offered the chance to walk through medieval streets with many shops, bars and restaurants. Santillana del Mar was a real surprise - an ancient town almost unaltered over the centuries, but with interesting shops and good restaurants. Luarca is a jewel of a fishing ...

Mixture of historic cities and rural locations, with many unspoilt beaches and coastal villages in one of the best parts of Spain. The old towns in Bilbao and Santiago de Compostela offered the chance to walk through medieval streets with many shops, bars and restaurants. Santillana del Mar was a real surprise - an ancient town almost unaltered over the centuries, but with interesting shops and good restaurants. Luarca is a jewel of a fishing village, with ancient harbour, excellent beaches and none of the tourist attractions and modern hotels that, for me, spoil large parts of Spain, especially in the south. All our hotels were excellent, all being small and very traditional - several of them historic buildings of some note.

Rating for tour operator:

Very useful to have everything arranged for us, but to our individual specification and not as part of a package or tourist group. We arranged our own flights, but everything else was done for us. This included a hire car at Bilbao airport, which we left at Santiago de Compostela two weeks later, maps and instructions to guide us to each of the six locations we stayed in, guide books and information about the whole area and the booking of traditional small hotels in unusual locations that we would never have found ourselves. The tour operator had personal, first-hand knowledge of all the places we stayed at and was well-known to all the hotel owners.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2015:

That's fantastic Tony, many thanks! Knowing that you have travelled quite extensively in southern Spain it's all the more satisfying that you found the north so much to your liking.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2015:

And thanks so much for those kind words, most appreciated!

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Dr J H 15, 9 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Northern Spain Adventure

A fantastic trip through the real Spain. Historic villages, cities, beaches, fishing villages and the magnificent Picos. Relaxation, history, walking and plenty of great food. Small, friendly family run hotels each with something special.

A fantastic trip through the real Spain. Historic villages, cities, beaches, fishing villages and the magnificent Picos. Relaxation, history, walking and plenty of great food. Small, friendly family run hotels each with something special.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful at every contact and excellent local knowledge....really got the feeling they care about their tours and would definitely travel with them again.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

Excellent! So pleased to hear that you had such a great time - sounds like you really discovered the essence of Northern Spain!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

We certainly do care and it's lovely when that is acknowledged. We'd love to hear from you again in the future and are preparing plenty of exciting new tours in other parts of 'Real Spain'