AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Shetland Fly-drive Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Shetland Fly-drive

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 12
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 12
Reviews Accepted: 12
Reviews Rejected: 0
12 reviews
Sort by:
Shetland Fly-drive by Peter O, 26 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful short break to Shetland.

The eight day trip was booked through McKinlay Kidd and was flawless. A hire car was ready at Sumburgh Airport and collection was straighforward. The first five nights were at a B&B in Lerwick. This was ideally located and of very good quality for comfort, service and filling breakfast. Moving onto Brea for the last three nights, the hotel here was excellent with a very comfortable room and very generous sized quality meals. From here, I was ...

The eight day trip was booked through McKinlay Kidd and was flawless. A hire car was ready at Sumburgh Airport and collection was straighforward. The first five nights were at a B&B in Lerwick. This was ideally located and of very good quality for comfort, service and filling breakfast. Moving onto Brea for the last three nights, the hotel here was excellent with a very comfortable room and very generous sized quality meals. From here, I was able to have a full day trip to Unst and another day walking in the northwest of the mainland. There were plenty walks completed and sights of much wildlife along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

They provided good comprehensive answers to questions I had during the planning stage. The bookings made of car, accommodation and ferry to Unst were faultless. Prior to going, I was kept updated on changes being made locally due to Covid restriction alterations. They provided very good customer focused service.

Shetland Fly-drive by Chris, 20 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Shetland self-drive

Excellent. Super to have a car sorted when we arrived. Accommodation excellent.

Excellent. Super to have a car sorted when we arrived. Accommodation excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Did not deal with McKinley Kidd. Our local House of Travel made all the bookings

Reviewer's images:
Shetland Fly-drive by MrOz, 3 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Shetland Fly & Drive

Just a short break - with 5 days on the island. After the hire car pickup, we drove to the north part of the island to stay in a great hotel in an old manor house. It was a great base for us to go on some beautiful day long walks (which we read about in some literature our tour operator left for us), and then come home to some great food and a pretty impressive whisky selection. Then after 3 days, we drove down to the southern end of the ...

Just a short break - with 5 days on the island. After the hire car pickup, we drove to the north part of the island to stay in a great hotel in an old manor house. It was a great base for us to go on some beautiful day long walks (which we read about in some literature our tour operator left for us), and then come home to some great food and a pretty impressive whisky selection. Then after 3 days, we drove down to the southern end of the island to a nice hotel over a pub - with more great food. All in all we had a fabulous time - saw ponies, puffins, and more sheep than you can imagine!!

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful with local knowledge when we were inquiring, and everything they booked for us was perfect for our trip.

Reviewer's images:
Shetland Fly-drive by Cinzia, 13 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Shetland fly and drive

We want to thank the whole Staff because we had a beautiful holiday. Everything was perfect. We found the documents and booklets at our Hotel in Glasgow so we could have a look in advance. The suggestions made by McKinlay Kidd responded to our expectations and interests. The Hotels they selected couldn't be more comfortable. We had a warm welcome, superb food. They were different but both the perfect choice. We hope to come back and have another ...

We want to thank the whole Staff because we had a beautiful holiday. Everything was perfect. We found the documents and booklets at our Hotel in Glasgow so we could have a look in advance. The suggestions made by McKinlay Kidd responded to our expectations and interests. The Hotels they selected couldn't be more comfortable. We had a warm welcome, superb food. They were different but both the perfect choice. We hope to come back and have another occasion to ask for their help. I highly recommend.

Rating for tour operator:

Kind, efficient, even patient because we changed a lot of times destinations.

Shetland Fly-drive by Notts lass, 14 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

great Shetland holiday

hotel historic and excellent in a beautiful location. we made very interesting across the whole of mainland. No time to visit the smaller ialands, so we'll have to come back!

hotel historic and excellent in a beautiful location. we made very interesting across the whole of mainland. No time to visit the smaller ialands, so we'll have to come back!

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, information, helpful.

Shetland Fly-drive by JBT, 5 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Shetland fly-drive, 3 nights

The holiday was a great introduction to the Shetland Islands. Luckily the weather was good so we were able to see a lot of the interesting places. The people were incredibly helpful and friendly.

The holiday was a great introduction to the Shetland Islands. Luckily the weather was good so we were able to see a lot of the interesting places. The people were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were very helpful in the planning stage of the holiday. Our car and hotels were to a high standard. Using the tour operator made the whole experience easier.

Shetland Fly-drive by Mavis Grind, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Shetlands experience

Three hotel stops on mainland Shetland and Unst. Excellent accommodation, food and service. Shetland is well worth returning to. Gorgeous scenery.

Three hotel stops on mainland Shetland and Unst. Excellent accommodation, food and service. Shetland is well worth returning to. Gorgeous scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd organisation and support excellent. All bookings worked out seamlessly. Plenty of information and guidance prior to trip. Exclusive Tour guide brilliant and very informative.

Shetland Fly-drive by Chris J, 23 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful.

We enjoyed exploring the mainland and some of the other islands of Shetland.

We enjoyed exploring the mainland and some of the other islands of Shetland.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked rather late and were very pleased that all our requests had been met. The arrangements for ferries and hotel went like clockwork and the information and suggestions given to us were very useful.We couldn't have asked for more.

Shetland Fly-drive by Blue Zebra, 31 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Short break to Shetland - 4 nights, 2 hotels

My husband and I went to Shetland for 4 nights (extending the standard 3 night offering) to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Scalloway Hotel and the Busta House hotel. There was plenty to see in the South and North of Shetland (although we preferred the walks available in the North as the scenery there was beautiful). Yell and Unst were also very easily accessible, with pre-booking the ferries very straightforward. Flying ...

My husband and I went to Shetland for 4 nights (extending the standard 3 night offering) to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Scalloway Hotel and the Busta House hotel. There was plenty to see in the South and North of Shetland (although we preferred the walks available in the North as the scenery there was beautiful). Yell and Unst were also very easily accessible, with pre-booking the ferries very straightforward. Flying from Southampton via Glasgow was also trouble free.

Rating for tour operator:

I made initial contact with McKinlay Kidd via their website (which I found very easy to use and most informative about the services they offered). They responded quickly to my enquiry and were extremely helpful when I asked to extend the standard stay by an extra night. I was given a choice of flights and the pre-holiday information pack was well presented and informative. I wouldn't hesitate to use them again or recommend them to others.

Shetland Fly-drive by Yorkshire lass, 26 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

holiday in the Shetland Islands

We were delighted with our holiday. The Busta hotel in Brae was comfortable and the food was very good especially the fish and shellfish. We enjoyed driving on the very quiet roads, looking at the wonderful scenery and bird life. Our four day holiday was very relaxing.

We were delighted with our holiday. The Busta hotel in Brae was comfortable and the food was very good especially the fish and shellfish. We enjoyed driving on the very quiet roads, looking at the wonderful scenery and bird life. Our four day holiday was very relaxing.