AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

North Coast 500 Traveller Reviews

Reviews of North Coast 500

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 35
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 36
Reviews Accepted: 36
Reviews Rejected: 0
36 reviews
Sort by:
North Coast 500 by Flora, 2 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Highlands and Orkney

We had a 16 day holiday beginning in Glasgow, renting a car and driving first to Inverness and then on to Thurso before taking the ferry from Scrabster to Stromness. We stayed five days in the Orkneys, with vists to the main archeological and historical sites, as well wandering on beaches and footpaths! We traveled down part of the whiskey trail to the East Neuk into Edinburgh for a couple of days before returning to Glasgow for the flight ...

We had a 16 day holiday beginning in Glasgow, renting a car and driving first to Inverness and then on to Thurso before taking the ferry from Scrabster to Stromness. We stayed five days in the Orkneys, with vists to the main archeological and historical sites, as well wandering on beaches and footpaths! We traveled down part of the whiskey trail to the East Neuk into Edinburgh for a couple of days before returning to Glasgow for the flight home to the U.S.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second holiday booked through McKinlay Kidd. Our first was in 2014 which included Mull and Iona, the Outer Hebrides and the Isle of Skye. On both occasions our experience has been excellent. Accomodations and ferry crossings organized very seamlessly, including this summer when there was an emergency change of ferry departure due to a ferry cancellation. McKinlay Kidd rebooked us and found us an extra night accommodation. MKK is easy to communicate with via email, and our questions have always been answered promptly.

North Coast 500 by Matthew and Jill , 1 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely Perfect Five *****

Amazing. Wow factor from start to finish. With greatest thanx to Mckinley Kidd

Amazing. Wow factor from start to finish. With greatest thanx to Mckinley Kidd

Rating for tour operator:

Five Star company

North Coast 500 by Pee, 22 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

NC500

A holiday I had for some time wanted to experience. Did not disappoint. Fabulous scenery. Very lucky it didn’t rain. Went in April and had the roads to ourselves. Good food and accommodation. Lovely memories

A holiday I had for some time wanted to experience. Did not disappoint. Fabulous scenery. Very lucky it didn’t rain. Went in April and had the roads to ourselves. Good food and accommodation. Lovely memories

Rating for tour operator:

Used McKinlay Kidd before. . So we knew we were in good hands. They take a lot of trouble to make your holiday truly unique. Thank You

North Coast 500 by Paddy NC500, 5 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

North Coast 500 Tour

Our holiday was an eight day tour round the North coast of Scotland. We stayed in a mix of b&bs and hotels at four different locations, all of which were perfect for us.

Our holiday was an eight day tour round the North coast of Scotland. We stayed in a mix of b&bs and hotels at four different locations, all of which were perfect for us.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd, our tour operator, arranged the route and all accommodations for us. They also provided an app which includes details of all the locations, accommodation details, routes, places to visit and things to do. They took all the effort out of organising our trip and ultimately, we could not have made any better choices.

North Coast 500 by Laz2501, 9 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

NC500, what a brilliant drive!

We had a terrific time in Scotland, driving the NC500. Ideal time to go in mid March, as we were lucky with the weather, the roads were virtually empty and we were Midge free too! MK’s guide via the Vamoos app was a godsend in informing us what to see of interest and where to go to the next overnight stop. The satnav became redundant!

We had a terrific time in Scotland, driving the NC500. Ideal time to go in mid March, as we were lucky with the weather, the roads were virtually empty and we were Midge free too! MK’s guide via the Vamoos app was a godsend in informing us what to see of interest and where to go to the next overnight stop. The satnav became redundant!

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful staff who were a pleasure to deal with. Would book with MK again in the future with confidence.

North Coast 500 by Clare, 16 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trip to the Highlands

McKinlay Kidd booked us an amazing trip to the Scottish Highlands, driving the North Coast 500 route, staying in fabulous accomodation with delicious food and providing such a personal service with recommendations of sights to see or places to eat throughout our trip. We had the best time and would highly recommend McKinlay Kidd.

McKinlay Kidd booked us an amazing trip to the Scottish Highlands, driving the North Coast 500 route, staying in fabulous accomodation with delicious food and providing such a personal service with recommendations of sights to see or places to eat throughout our trip. We had the best time and would highly recommend McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

Service, attention to detail, local knowledge, support and advice is outstanding.

North Coast 500 by P&J B, 1 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Highlands

What a Place to explore the Scottish highlands and The NC500.Great scenery ,great hospitality.

What a Place to explore the Scottish highlands and The NC500.Great scenery ,great hospitality.

Rating for tour operator:

Very Helpful, perfect advice and detailed itinerary that made the holiday special.

North Coast 500 by Touring in Style, 21 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

NC500 in style

We had a fantastic time, amazing hotels, beautiful location and even good weather. We ate at some fantastic restaurants and tour some distilleries. The wildlife was great, seeing a red kite, two dolphin sitings, deer and buzzards.

We had a fantastic time, amazing hotels, beautiful location and even good weather. We ate at some fantastic restaurants and tour some distilleries. The wildlife was great, seeing a red kite, two dolphin sitings, deer and buzzards.

Rating for tour operator:

Mackinly Kidd coordinated our trip beautifully, ensuring we had enough time at each hotel to take in the local sites. It was lovely not having to worry about ferries etc.

North Coast 500 by Dolce, 22 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

North Coast 500 Experience

A touring holiday with our landrover. An amazing experience arranged for a 50th birthday present originally for 2020 but postponed until 2021. Although disapointed that we were unable to travel as planned last year it was welcomed following a full year working on an NHS Covid ward and having no respite until the trip. The trip delivered everything it promised and more. The time of year that we chose was perfect and it was great to travel on ...

A touring holiday with our landrover. An amazing experience arranged for a 50th birthday present originally for 2020 but postponed until 2021. Although disapointed that we were unable to travel as planned last year it was welcomed following a full year working on an NHS Covid ward and having no respite until the trip. The trip delivered everything it promised and more. The time of year that we chose was perfect and it was great to travel on empty roads with only sheep to negotiate.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operated gave us what we asked for and more

North Coast 500 by Songbird, 19 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

SIMPLY THE BEST

North Coast 500 proved every bit as good as we hoped for. It was some 50 years since I was there and my memories were re-enforced. Sheer beauty at every turn

North Coast 500 proved every bit as good as we hoped for. It was some 50 years since I was there and my memories were re-enforced. Sheer beauty at every turn

Rating for tour operator:

Despite the restrictions of COVID, McKinley Kidd were thoroughly professional, friendly and helpful from the outset.