AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

North Coast 500 Traveller Reviews

Reviews of North Coast 500

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 26
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
North Coast 500 by Songbird, 19 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

SIMPLY THE BEST

North Coast 500 proved every bit as good as we hoped for. It was some 50 years since I was there and my memories were re-enforced. Sheer beauty at every turn

North Coast 500 proved every bit as good as we hoped for. It was some 50 years since I was there and my memories were re-enforced. Sheer beauty at every turn

Rating for tour operator:

Despite the restrictions of COVID, McKinley Kidd were thoroughly professional, friendly and helpful from the outset.

North Coast 500 by Dickie, 19 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Remote, beautiful, bonny Svotland

Just completed the Scottish 500. Stunning scenery, good weather (we were lucky at this time of year!), amazing autumn colours. Even the current Covid restrictions couldn't spoil our enjoyment.

Just completed the Scottish 500. Stunning scenery, good weather (we were lucky at this time of year!), amazing autumn colours. Even the current Covid restrictions couldn't spoil our enjoyment.

Rating for tour operator:

MacKinlay Kidd made all of the arrangements for May 2020, and handled the changes caused by lockdown really well. Their communication throughout was great. The accomodation they selected based on our requests was really good, always very clean, great locations and friendly hosts. The information pack they supplied fefore our holiday was excellent. Full of clear directions and useful tips, it helped us get the most we could from the trip.

North Coast 500 by Alan & Donna, 15 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

McKinlay Kidd NC500 Holiday Sept 2020

The North Coast 500 holiday was a romantic and sentimental return to the north of Scotland where I proposed to my wife 40 years previously.

The North Coast 500 holiday was a romantic and sentimental return to the north of Scotland where I proposed to my wife 40 years previously.

Rating for tour operator:

The itinerary provided, the sights we witnessed and the contact details provided by McKinlay Kidd were first class. The accommodation booked for us had obviously been researched and fully met our expectations throughout the tour. The Coronavirus was re-emerging at the time of our holiday, however the social distancing and transmission measures taken by all the establishments visited during the trip were exemplary.

North Coast 500 by Mr J L 20, 13 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Lived up to our expectations

We arranged this holiday to celebrate our 70th birthdays, Ten years ago we travelled Canada for a month around the maritime route, we had heard so much about Scotland being very much like Canada we decided that in this special year we would tick this box off our bucket list, found McKinley Kidd on the internet, spoke to one of their advisors who was extremely helpful and who came back to us with an itinerary for us to agree and within no time ...

We arranged this holiday to celebrate our 70th birthdays, Ten years ago we travelled Canada for a month around the maritime route, we had heard so much about Scotland being very much like Canada we decided that in this special year we would tick this box off our bucket list, found McKinley Kidd on the internet, spoke to one of their advisors who was extremely helpful and who came back to us with an itinerary for us to agree and within no time our holiday was booked. The trip lived up to all our expectations, and will look forward to visiting some of the islands in Scotland next year.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely efficient very helpful and most informative, regarding changes due to the COVID pandemic.

North Coast 500 by Saxon Lady, 12 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Stunning

A real adventure from start to finish with magnificent scenery, individual accommodation and good food

A real adventure from start to finish with magnificent scenery, individual accommodation and good food

Rating for tour operator:

A real gem of a company offering a varied programme of holidays in the UK and Ireland.

North Coast 500 by JLH, 6 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Professional & excellent communication

Tailored the holiday to our specific requirements and were v flexible changing accommodation when flights were cancelled by BA and the whole trip moved by two days.

Tailored the holiday to our specific requirements and were v flexible changing accommodation when flights were cancelled by BA and the whole trip moved by two days.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, well informed and very responsive

North Coast 500 by Carbroke Mike, 3 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding Help and Organisation

Tour of the Scottish Highlands (Scottish 500) featuring outstanding scenery, gorgeois routes and five superb hotels.

Tour of the Scottish Highlands (Scottish 500) featuring outstanding scenery, gorgeois routes and five superb hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was really well organised, information provided in advance on what to see and do at every step of the way and hotels (which were all excellent) carefully selected. When our car broke down they quickly sorted out how to get to the nearest car hire, arranged the hire and kept in touch to ensure we were ok. AND this was all happening in the evening and early morning. They were superb, especially "pronounced K"!

North Coast 500 by Jan, 26 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

The entire road trip around the North of Scotland met our expectations thanks to the planning conversations with McKinley Kidd and the stunning landscapes we encountered around every bend in the road!

Although a lengthy coastal drive, thanks to the suggested breakdown of the journey into manageable and therefore enjoyable distances, it was not arduous. The hotel breaks with good food provided enough time to explore immediate areas with some relaxation time for pottering.

Although a lengthy coastal drive, thanks to the suggested breakdown of the journey into manageable and therefore enjoyable distances, it was not arduous. The hotel breaks with good food provided enough time to explore immediate areas with some relaxation time for pottering.

Rating for tour operator:

This is a company who listen to their customers and are happy to listen to all comments and queries. Accompanying paperwork is relevant and useful.

North Coast 500 by Grumpy, 24 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful tour of the north of Scotland and Orkney islands (The North 500).

My wife and I have long since wanted to visit the far north of Scotland and to drive the North 500 route. The route has become very popular with overseas visitors and finding good accommodation can be difficult. We decided to use McKinley Kidd and they arranged it all (incl ferries). They also provided an excellent guide to what we should see along the way. Their hotel/B&B choices were first class, and this made for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday...

My wife and I have long since wanted to visit the far north of Scotland and to drive the North 500 route. The route has become very popular with overseas visitors and finding good accommodation can be difficult. We decided to use McKinley Kidd and they arranged it all (incl ferries). They also provided an excellent guide to what we should see along the way. Their hotel/B&B choices were first class, and this made for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. At our various stops along the route we met others who had booked using McKinley Kidd and they, like us, were all delighted with the quality of service they had received.

Rating for tour operator:

Mcinley Kidd were happy to tailor our trip to meet our requirements. They supplied a comprehensive travel package, maps and local information which were all very useful. We are very pleased we used them and would happily do so again.

North Coast 500 by Lindymay , 23 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

One of the most amazing holidays ever

Fantastic scenery, some of the best in the world. Great locations, wonderful friendly places to stay and the fish was to die for.

Fantastic scenery, some of the best in the world. Great locations, wonderful friendly places to stay and the fish was to die for.

Rating for tour operator:

Always polite, helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble