AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 9
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 9
Reviews Accepted: 9
Reviews Rejected: 0
9 reviews
Sort by:
Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Alice E, 6 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary adventure around the third highest mountain in the world

For our first ever trip to the Himalayas we chose the Kanchenjunga Circuit run by The Mountain Company. This might seem unwise, as it is billed as a remote and challenging trip. However the personalized care we received before, during and after our trip made us feel safe, comfortable, and exhilarated throughout. We are going back, and wouldn't dream of going with any other tour operator.

For our first ever trip to the Himalayas we chose the Kanchenjunga Circuit run by The Mountain Company. This might seem unwise, as it is billed as a remote and challenging trip. However the personalized care we received before, during and after our trip made us feel safe, comfortable, and exhilarated throughout. We are going back, and wouldn't dream of going with any other tour operator.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was fantastic to deal with from start to finish. It was always clear whom we could contact, and during our initial communications that was Roland Hunter, the owner, who made sure this trip was right for us and that we were prepared. In the immediate run up to the trip we received immediate responses to all our questions, and then while on trek we were superbly cared for and motivated by Natalie Wilson, the Western Leader, and the highly experienced local sidar.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Basher, 31 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised trek around Kanchenjunga

I have done many organised treks in a Nepal, with various operators, but this was my first one with TMC and I would certainly use them again. The route up the western side to the ‘northern’ base-camp at Pangpema took us through a range of different vegetation and scenery as we gently acclimatised. The views were stunning throughout. We were thus all well and fit for the ascent of the passes to cross to the eastern side and ‘south’ camp at Oktang...

I have done many organised treks in a Nepal, with various operators, but this was my first one with TMC and I would certainly use them again. The route up the western side to the ‘northern’ base-camp at Pangpema took us through a range of different vegetation and scenery as we gently acclimatised. The views were stunning throughout. We were thus all well and fit for the ascent of the passes to cross to the eastern side and ‘south’ camp at Oktang. We had good weather and all the team made it. The crew, from guide to cooks to porters, were all excellent and good fun.

Rating for tour operator:

First time I had used TMC - after bumping into the owner two years ago in Kathmandu and being impressed by his approach. I was not disappointed. Everything was well thought-through - the itinerary, the timing to avoid the bad weather (we had a couple of hours of rain in 3 weeks), the excellent choice of staff, the pace and length of days to allow acclimatisation, and provision of excellent information. I would certainly use the company again.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Mountain Misty, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

2019 Kanchenjunga Circuit

A spectacular, challenging three-week trek into a rugged, remote area of eastern Nepal. Extremely well organized, from airport pickup to the gear check in Kathmandu through to the full 3 week trek, meeting every logistical and organizational challenge. A well-organized, hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters provided excellent service throughout the trek, meeting every logistical challenge head-on. Make no mistake, Kanchenjunga ...

A spectacular, challenging three-week trek into a rugged, remote area of eastern Nepal. Extremely well organized, from airport pickup to the gear check in Kathmandu through to the full 3 week trek, meeting every logistical and organizational challenge. A well-organized, hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters provided excellent service throughout the trek, meeting every logistical challenge head-on. Make no mistake, Kanchenjunga Circuit is a serious undertaking for even experienced trekkers, but ultimately I felt very well prepared for the challenges of the altitude, the weather and the rugged trekking. Truly memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

I have used The Mountain Company on a couple of occasions for lengthy "Circuit" treks in Manaslu and Kanchenjunga, and have found them very experienced and well-prepared. These are challenging treks to relatively remote areas and the operators need to be on their toes to "expect the unexpected" and act quickly when necessary. On both occasions I felt well prepared, well fed, safe, and able to focus on enjoying the scenery and cultural experiences. I always felt comfortable sharing any concerns I had. TMC are experts, no question, and I honestly wouldn't use anyone else for trekking in Nepal.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by NZpixie, 18 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kangchenjunga adventure

21 days of trekking through amazing villages where the people were so friendly and welcoming. Right from the start until the very end I was engrossed in the trip. We were well looked after by our guide and Sherpa,s

21 days of trekking through amazing villages where the people were so friendly and welcoming. Right from the start until the very end I was engrossed in the trip. We were well looked after by our guide and Sherpa,s

Rating for tour operator:

They were well organised with spare equipment, ie extra tents, very good first aid kits, and looked after us well at altitude

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Fox, 4 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

TRUE GRIT

The Mountain Company is a finely tuned guide service. It is professional, effective, efficient, organized, and highly affective to the needs of its clients. Who knows the width and depth of a guide service if absolutely everything goes smoothly. The 'True Grit' of a service organization is revealed when its staff/crew flawlessly problem solve any issues as they occur. It is noteworthy when highly acceptable solutions are presented. Kanchenjunga...

The Mountain Company is a finely tuned guide service. It is professional, effective, efficient, organized, and highly affective to the needs of its clients. Who knows the width and depth of a guide service if absolutely everything goes smoothly. The 'True Grit' of a service organization is revealed when its staff/crew flawlessly problem solve any issues as they occur. It is noteworthy when highly acceptable solutions are presented. Kanchenjunga... Five Treasures of the Eternal Snow. Natalie Wilson... Kanchenjunga's Sixth Treasure as lead guide for TMC Thank you to Natalie, Raj, Sangram, Jon, Sagar, Bal, and all porters/cook staff. In the 23 mountain climbs and treks that I have done on five continents, The Mountain Company rates an A+.

Rating for tour operator:

Please read review above.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Rogera65, 29 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga Circuit - An amazing experience in a remote trekking region

A long three week trek in a remote part of Nepal visiting Kanchenjunga North and South base camps. A very well organised camping trek with the group supported by a hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters. A mix of climates from temperate forests to cold high altitude tundra surrounding Himalayan mountains. Spectacular scenery. A special place.

A long three week trek in a remote part of Nepal visiting Kanchenjunga North and South base camps. A very well organised camping trek with the group supported by a hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters. A mix of climates from temperate forests to cold high altitude tundra surrounding Himalayan mountains. Spectacular scenery. A special place.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is a well organised and highly professional tour operator specialising in trekking holidays in the Himalayas. They pay special attention to ensure the safety and welfare of the trekkers. Highly recommended.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Rufus, 15 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga Circuit Himalayan Trek

I recently spent a wonderful 3 weeks trekking in the remote Kanchenjunga region of eastern Nepal. The trek was very demanding, with long days and plenty of prolonged ascents and descents over rough terrain. The scenery was superb and varied from lush, tropical vegetation to stark, snow capped mountain peaks. The weather was quite warm in the early stages of the trek. Later on we experienced some days of snow and also light rain. All just part ...

I recently spent a wonderful 3 weeks trekking in the remote Kanchenjunga region of eastern Nepal. The trek was very demanding, with long days and plenty of prolonged ascents and descents over rough terrain. The scenery was superb and varied from lush, tropical vegetation to stark, snow capped mountain peaks. The weather was quite warm in the early stages of the trek. Later on we experienced some days of snow and also light rain. All just part and parcel of trekking in the Himalaya. Luckily the tents that we slept in were very roomy and bomb proof. Another highlight of the trek was meeting the local people. They were unfailingly friendly and welcoming towards us. Having the opportunity to witness their culture first hand was a real privilege. None of this would have been possible of course without the devoted assistance of The Mountain Company staff. This included the trek leader, sirdar, guides, cook and his assistants, and of course the porters. I shall always look back on my trek to Kanchenjunga with a great deal of pleasure. It certainly exceeded all my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my 3rd attempt to do the Kanchenjunga trek; the first 2 attempts with another operator having unfortunately failed to proceed. The Mountain Company was recommended to me by a friend of a friend; this person having previously done several treks with them. Right from my first contact with the owner, Roland Hunter I was confident that I had made the correct choice. Roland is a person of vast mountaineering and trekking experience. It was a pleasure dealing with someone who is very hands on, and who had been there and done that many times before. Some other larger organisations employ people who are basically salespersons, and have probably never been on a trek themselves. The Mountain Company is extremely professional, both in their very informative website, and also in the very detailed and relevant information which they provide to participants on any of their treks. Any pre trip queries which I had were answered very promptly and helpfully by Roland himself. It was also a pleasure to meet Roland in person in Kathmandu just prior to the trek commencing. We stayed in the Tibet hotel in Kathmandu both before and after the trek. The rooms were basic, but roomy and clean and comparatively inexpensive. This is all that one requires. There is absolutely no need for expensive, up market accommodation, when one spends a minimal amount of time in your room. The trek leader Almas is a person of great leading experience. He has been guiding treks for 24 years, the past 14 years with The Mountain Company. I found him to be very approachable and helpful over the 3 week trek duration. Nothing was too much trouble and nothing seemed to fluster him. This also applied to the Sirdar, trekking guides, kitchen staff and the porters. I could not fault them. Everything was done willingly and with a smile, no matter what the request may have been. The staff were ever aware of our safety and welfare, and did everything to ensure that we had an enjoyable holiday experience in their country. All in all The Mountain Company is an extremely professional and well run organisation. I had a wonderful trekking holiday, and would have no hesitation in joining them for another trek if the opportunity arose.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Nina, 19 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Kanchenjunga Circuit - perfectly organized from A to Z

First time in Nepal, I wanted a trek in a secluded, remote area with breathtaking mountain views. The Kanchenjunga Circuit offered all this and much more. I would highly recommend this trek to anyone who wants to escape the "crowds" in the Everest and Annapurna region. For me as a newcomer to Nepal and high altitude it was also a very suitable trek as the acclimatization is very well taken care of in the itinerary. The trek visits both the ...

First time in Nepal, I wanted a trek in a secluded, remote area with breathtaking mountain views. The Kanchenjunga Circuit offered all this and much more. I would highly recommend this trek to anyone who wants to escape the "crowds" in the Everest and Annapurna region. For me as a newcomer to Nepal and high altitude it was also a very suitable trek as the acclimatization is very well taken care of in the itinerary. The trek visits both the North and the South Base camp of Kanchenjunga, which are linked by the Mirgin La pass. The scenery is breathtaking and diverse on both sides. Our trek leader, Almas Khan, is certainly one of the best you can get. With his wealth of mountain experience I always felt 100% safe in his hands. Furthermore, he is an excellent leader and people manager with a fun sense of humor. Also the local crew did a very good job, that is the local mountain guides, porters and kitchen crew. The food was tasty and varied, and there was no lack of it. I was more worried of gaining weight than losing weight. The camp sites became more spectacular the higher we went. The tents were spacious and of high quality. The whole trek was perfectly organized from A to Z. E.g. even the tents were numbered so that one has the same tent every night. Also pre-departure information and support was excellent. Roland, the owner of the company, answered all my questions to full satisfaction and in no time. Before leaving Kathmandu for the trek he met the whole group for a final info session together with Almas.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is an outstanding and trustful tour operator with a personal touch. They are very professional in every aspect, from the the webpage, to the pre-departure information, to the trek itself and the final survey. I have never been on such a well-organized trip, where I felt that they can handle any situation. The customer service is really top, very professional, personal and friendly. I haven't seen better in the tour operator business so far. For example, I arrived few weeks before the trek in Kathmandu and Roland, the owner of the company, invited me for a coffee to answer further questions or simply chat about the trek. Where else does one get such a personal gesture as a standard customer nowadays! My next trek in the Himalayas will for sure be with The Mountain Company again.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by SnoMo, 12 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga, Nepal

21 day trek in the Kanchenjunga region of Nepal. Challenging with beautiful view of high mountain peaks and rewarding encounters with local Nepalese in various villages along the way.

21 day trek in the Kanchenjunga region of Nepal. Challenging with beautiful view of high mountain peaks and rewarding encounters with local Nepalese in various villages along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Rolland, owner of The Mountain Company, was very responsive to all enquires. Provided all the necessary info (trekking gear, what to expect and etc) right from the start. He is a hands-on guy and goes to Kathmandu frequently to ensure things are in place for the treks. The crew was very friendly, professional and looked after all our needs. Trek leader, Almas Khan, looked after all the details while we were trekking. He looked after not only the trekkers but also ensure the rest of the crew are doing well. This is good to see. I believe it is the operating philosophy of The Mountain Company to ensure everyone's well being is looked after.