AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

From Kos to Patmos Traveller Reviews

Reviews of From Kos to Patmos

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 12
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 13
Reviews Accepted: 13
Reviews Rejected: 0
13 reviews
Sort by:
From Kos to Patmos by Laurie and John Gosch, 8 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Gullet Experience

We chose Peter Sommer’s Cruising the Aegean: from Kos to Patmos because of our love of the Greek Islands and classical archeology. Peter’s travel team arranged a beautiful, educational, as well as very relaxing trip. We were so fortunate to have two expert guides, as our local guide Tassos, is a specialist in Byzantine archaeology. Our expert guide, Tony Spawforth is an accomplished author and expert on classical history. He was delightful ...

We chose Peter Sommer’s Cruising the Aegean: from Kos to Patmos because of our love of the Greek Islands and classical archeology. Peter’s travel team arranged a beautiful, educational, as well as very relaxing trip. We were so fortunate to have two expert guides, as our local guide Tassos, is a specialist in Byzantine archaeology. Our expert guide, Tony Spawforth is an accomplished author and expert on classical history. He was delightful and had a great sense of humor. This was our first time on a gullet, and we thoroughly enjoyed the barefoot experience, delicious family style meals, camaraderie with fellow passengers and guides, and being pampered by the excellent crew. Peter Sommer’s cruises are definitely a repeater and we are already planning next year’s cruise.

Rating for tour operator:

We chose Peter Sommer’s Cruising the Aegean: from Kos to Patmos because of our love of the Greek Islands and classical archeology. Peter’s travel team arranged a beautiful, educational, as well as very relaxing trip. We were so fortunate to have two expert guides, as our local guide Tassos, is a specialist in Byzantine archaeology. Our expert guide, Tony Spawforth is an accomplished author and expert on classical history. He was delightful and had a great sense of humor. This was our first time on a gullet, and we thoroughly enjoyed the barefoot experience, delicious family style meals, camaraderie with fellow passengers and guides, and being pampered by the excellent crew. Peter Sommer’s cruises are definitely a repeater and we are already planning next year’s cruise.

From Kos to Patmos by Skipper, 17 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Another great Sumer with Peter Somer

Cruising the Aegean: From Kos to Patmos Dates 26th May 2018 to 2nd June 2018 The trip really began several days earlier when we booked into a small but very beautiful hotel “Su” in Bodrum recommended by Peter Sommer. The staff were exceptionally attentive and the food outstanding. Our cabin on SUNWORLD IX was larger than we expected given our previous trips in Gulets and made life extremely easy. The captain, crew and guides were ...

Cruising the Aegean: From Kos to Patmos Dates 26th May 2018 to 2nd June 2018 The trip really began several days earlier when we booked into a small but very beautiful hotel “Su” in Bodrum recommended by Peter Sommer. The staff were exceptionally attentive and the food outstanding. Our cabin on SUNWORLD IX was larger than we expected given our previous trips in Gulets and made life extremely easy. The captain, crew and guides were all interesting and went out of their way to accommodate our every wish. I had been having walking problems and the guides did everything possible to make sure I did not stand too long or walk too far. Michael Metcalfe’s lectures and conversations were a pleasure to attend and Nota Karamaouna, a native of Greece added a sense of fun to every trip. Meal times were an event; the regional cooking was exceptional and occasionally outstanding; cooking of fresh fish perfect. Visits to restaurants and vineyards were unique and introduce us to great wines and some very good fine dining. In particular on Leros we visited the winery Domaine Hatzidakis which makes only a few thousand bottles a year but on site tasted fantastic. Also on Leros Michael gave a very detailed account of the invasion of the island by the Germans during WWII and we visited the Associated Common Wealth war cemetery. As soon as I am fit I will be booking my next trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Outstanding concern for clients wellbeing

From Kos to Patmos by Traveller416, 2 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A First-Class way to visit some of the smaller Greek Islands of the Aegean!

We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise of the Dodecanese Islands aboard a Turkish Gullet. The pace of on-shore tours and historical sights, iwith relaxation and swimming/snorkelling off the boat was wonderful. The chef provided a great variation of delicious Turkish and European treats at every meal. We also frequently enjoyed meals at local restaurants and tavernas at our ports of call. The well-appointed cabin was a perfect refuge every night.

We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise of the Dodecanese Islands aboard a Turkish Gullet. The pace of on-shore tours and historical sights, iwith relaxation and swimming/snorkelling off the boat was wonderful. The chef provided a great variation of delicious Turkish and European treats at every meal. We also frequently enjoyed meals at local restaurants and tavernas at our ports of call. The well-appointed cabin was a perfect refuge every night.

Rating for tour operator:

From start to Finish, Peter Sommers Travel offers first class service. All necesary information was provided in a timely fashion, and all logistics of the trip were perfectly managed - not a single hiccup!

From Kos to Patmos by Minou, 21 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Consummate care and attention by the staff and crew used for Peter Sommer's Travel: Cruising the Aegean, from Kos to Patmos

A perfect combination of excellent descriptions of the history of the locations we visited, really interesting local restaurants, good food on board the gullet and lovely scenery. The perfect weather and interesting sailing added greatly to the experience as did the congenial company.

A perfect combination of excellent descriptions of the history of the locations we visited, really interesting local restaurants, good food on board the gullet and lovely scenery. The perfect weather and interesting sailing added greatly to the experience as did the congenial company.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provides an extremely competent service with all the extras like taxi pickups completely covered. They assess the likes and competence of their guests and provide all the extra services required.

From Kos to Patmos by Skelly, 18 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Every day an exciting new experience

Cruise around Greek Islands with visits to museums and archaeology sites, swimming and visits to restaurants. Food on board the equal of the best restaurants.

Cruise around Greek Islands with visits to museums and archaeology sites, swimming and visits to restaurants. Food on board the equal of the best restaurants.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was planned to a T. Nohangging around except at passport control in Kos.

From Kos to Patmos by Pam USA , 13 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Aegean from Kos to Patmos

Our trip was amazing, far exceeded our wildest expectations! The crew & tour guides were so professional, accommodating and attended our every need & questions, many times before we asked!! We toured historical ruins & places that we would not seen on our own! Did I mention the food?? The meals were of the highest quality & appealed to everyone! We loved the late afternoon treat! This was a graduation gift for my three Grandchildren & the crew ...

Our trip was amazing, far exceeded our wildest expectations! The crew & tour guides were so professional, accommodating and attended our every need & questions, many times before we asked!! We toured historical ruins & places that we would not seen on our own! Did I mention the food?? The meals were of the highest quality & appealed to everyone! We loved the late afternoon treat! This was a graduation gift for my three Grandchildren & the crew & guides made it so special for them! The boat was immaculate & our cabins were cleaned daily! This was the trip of a lifetime & would definitely recommend to anyone!! Thank you again to the crew, Nota & Heinrich for their kindness to us!

Rating for tour operator:

Not sure if you are asking about Peter Sommer Travels or Nota & Heinrich? As you can see above, this is a first class operation & I will be recommending to my friends & family!

From Kos to Patmos by Penny, Australia, 18 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Archaeology and Greek Is heaven

I travelled with Peter Sommer's gulet Kos to Patmos trip in September and had a wonderful week cruising around some of the lesser known Greek islands. We were accompanied by an expert guide and tour manager, both of whom made our onshore site and museum visits come alive, providing just the right amount of detail. Food on board was spectacular, a real feat given the small galley.

I travelled with Peter Sommer's gulet Kos to Patmos trip in September and had a wonderful week cruising around some of the lesser known Greek islands. We were accompanied by an expert guide and tour manager, both of whom made our onshore site and museum visits come alive, providing just the right amount of detail. Food on board was spectacular, a real feat given the small galley.

Rating for tour operator:

The company was professional right from the time of inquiry and booking, through to my airport transfer at the end of the week.

From Kos to Patmos by Kimberley, 12 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and filled with things to do

It was really nice to have such a structured holiday where everything was planned out for us. The crew of the ship were welcoming and helpful and the food provided was delicious. There was plenty of opportunity for us to go swimming or do exercise and I felt like we could easily have a say in what we wanted to do.

It was really nice to have such a structured holiday where everything was planned out for us. The crew of the ship were welcoming and helpful and the food provided was delicious. There was plenty of opportunity for us to go swimming or do exercise and I felt like we could easily have a say in what we wanted to do.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was very well prepared and planned and the two tour guides were so helpful and informative

From Kos to Patmos by dalliance, 1 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Aegean: from Kos to Patmos

We are repeat customers with Peter Somer Cruises. We spent a week in company with a small number of like minded travellers, cruising the northern Dodacanese Islands with frequent excursions ashore to examine ancient and current attractions. The crew of four looked after our every need on board and provided excellent meals, our tour guide and our academic history commentator were excellent.

We are repeat customers with Peter Somer Cruises. We spent a week in company with a small number of like minded travellers, cruising the northern Dodacanese Islands with frequent excursions ashore to examine ancient and current attractions. The crew of four looked after our every need on board and provided excellent meals, our tour guide and our academic history commentator were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator provided detailed information before and during the tour, including background history of the region. Additional information regarding local accommodation and arrangements was promptly supplied to suit our individual travel needs before and after the tour, and airport transfers were seamless. The gullet we travelled on was well equipped and maintained, and kept in pristine condition throughout. The crew operated the ship's tender and gangway system with competence, taking extra care with less able passengers, and also operated an efficient bar and refreshment service. As mentioned above, catering was excellent with three generous meals provided on board or occasionally on shore.

From Kos to Patmos by Susan and Bill, 17 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Lovely gulet cruise in the Greek Dodecanese

Our first trip to Greece included a weeklong gulet cruise with Peter Sommers cruising the Dodecanese islands. With 2 guides (an art historian and an archaeologist), an excellent staff, 10 other congenial passengers, and outstanding weather, we could not have had a better time.

Our first trip to Greece included a weeklong gulet cruise with Peter Sommers cruising the Dodecanese islands. With 2 guides (an art historian and an archaeologist), an excellent staff, 10 other congenial passengers, and outstanding weather, we could not have had a better time.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels