AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising the Dodecanese Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising the Dodecanese

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 16
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 16
Reviews Accepted: 16
Reviews Rejected: 0
16 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Dodecanese by Dick and Jane from Houston, 22 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great Gulet tour of the Dodecanese islands

Two-week gulet tour of the Dodecanese islands with excellent guides and great food.

Two-week gulet tour of the Dodecanese islands with excellent guides and great food.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somers attracts highly educated tour guides who care deeply about their clients and the quality of the excursion. As a result, the clients they attract are themselves highly accomplished and interesting and flexible to the vicissitudes of international travel in this region.

Cruising the Dodecanese by Elaine, 19 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer Travels, May 29, 2022

This was my second experience of a Peter Sommer small ship sailing trip with a focus on the history of ancient Greece and Turkey., and its quality was, again, excellent. So much of the pleasure in this experience is created by the expertise, organizational abilities, and story-telling talents of the onboard guides--in this case, Drs, Michael Metcalfe and Nota Karmaouna. Over the course of the trip, they help you to build a sense of what made ...

This was my second experience of a Peter Sommer small ship sailing trip with a focus on the history of ancient Greece and Turkey., and its quality was, again, excellent. So much of the pleasure in this experience is created by the expertise, organizational abilities, and story-telling talents of the onboard guides--in this case, Drs, Michael Metcalfe and Nota Karmaouna. Over the course of the trip, they help you to build a sense of what made this area of the world important--intellectually, artistically, and historically and challenge you to debate and interpret what they show you. The small number of guests, and authentically-local shared meals together--both onboard and in lovely small family restaurants onshore--are a source of good conversations--and, indeed, future friendships. I am still engaged with interesting people that I met on the first trip and now this one. What more could you ask? I recommend these unique experiences whole-heartedly. . .

Rating for tour operator:

The Peter Sommer Travel staff offer an efficient, interactive, highly personal service.

Cruising the Dodecanese by Mr/Professor J E 22, 27 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Out of this world in the Dodecanese

My blogs on the trip can be found here, https://johnelkington.com/journal/page/2/, running backwards - from 13th June to 29th May. The guides, the crew, the visits, the food, the weather were all near perfect, though am not entirely sure we can credit the Peter Sommer team with the weather.

My blogs on the trip can be found here, https://johnelkington.com/journal/page/2/, running backwards - from 13th June to 29th May. The guides, the crew, the visits, the food, the weather were all near perfect, though am not entirely sure we can credit the Peter Sommer team with the weather.

Rating for tour operator:

The flights were not bundled, as they are with some other operators, but overall our experience exceeded our expectations. We certainly intend to travel with Peter Sommer again.

Cruising the Dodecanese by greengage summer, 27 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Sailing the Dodecanese

This trip was wonderful. We saw a lot, we learned a lot about the islands and their history, we had great meals both on and off the boat and we had time to explore both with the group and by ourselves. Our guides were exceptional, the captain and crew looked after us extremely well and I hope to travel with Peter Sommer Travels again before too long.

This trip was wonderful. We saw a lot, we learned a lot about the islands and their history, we had great meals both on and off the boat and we had time to explore both with the group and by ourselves. Our guides were exceptional, the captain and crew looked after us extremely well and I hope to travel with Peter Sommer Travels again before too long.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was very well organised and we were sent a detailed itinerary before leaving. I felt very confident that they would be on hand should there be any problems. Much recommended as a tour operator. Both efficient and great to deal with on a personal level, which for me is important.

Cruising the Dodecanese by HKW, 14 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Wonderful Way To Tour The Greek Islands

It was all I hoped it would be - a lovely mix of history, culture, food, wine, sailing and swimming. What I hadn’t imagined was the added bonus of 2 excellent guides who also provided entertaining accounts of mythology, brilliant storytelling and lots of laughs.

It was all I hoped it would be - a lovely mix of history, culture, food, wine, sailing and swimming. What I hadn’t imagined was the added bonus of 2 excellent guides who also provided entertaining accounts of mythology, brilliant storytelling and lots of laughs.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer put together a great trip. The boat and Captain were great. The two guides, Maria and Heinrich, made it extraordinary. Maria, aside from her great knowledge of history, took great care of us and made sure we wanted for nothing. The meals she organized off the boat were wonderfully varied, delicious and plentiful. Her Mythological re-enactments are classic! Heinrich’s knowledge of history and archeology was presented in a wonderfully entertaining and accessible way. And his after dinner storytelling was brilliant!

Cruising the Dodecanese by Peter, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to the Dodecanese September 2019

Most enjoyable; visited beautiful locations, with great food and accomodation; a great group of fellow travellers

Most enjoyable; visited beautiful locations, with great food and accomodation; a great group of fellow travellers

Rating for tour operator:

great personalised service superb, knowledgable guides excellent organisation

Cruising the Dodecanese by anny, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dodecanese

This was our first holiday with Peter Sommers Travels, I really enjoyed it a lot the weather was good the gulet was very spacious and the food varied and tasty. our guides Heindrich and Maria both enthusiastic and informative.perfect! We were very well looked after and had some great travel mates, Perfect !!

This was our first holiday with Peter Sommers Travels, I really enjoyed it a lot the weather was good the gulet was very spacious and the food varied and tasty. our guides Heindrich and Maria both enthusiastic and informative.perfect! We were very well looked after and had some great travel mates, Perfect !!

Rating for tour operator:

I found Peter Sommer Travel Well organised informative and extremely helpful

Cruising the Dodecanese by Deb, 27 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

A superb educational experience in the Greek Dodecanese Islands

A 14-day tour of eight Dodecanese Greek Islands (Patmos, Leros, Kalymnos, Kos, Nisyros, Tilos, Chalki and Rhodes) and Samos, included three UNESCO World Heritage sites. The range of islands gave the opportunity of visiting locations of very different histories, culture, architecture and natural beauty. The itinerary included an extraordinary range of archaeological sites and architectural styles covering an extended period from the Greeks to ...

A 14-day tour of eight Dodecanese Greek Islands (Patmos, Leros, Kalymnos, Kos, Nisyros, Tilos, Chalki and Rhodes) and Samos, included three UNESCO World Heritage sites. The range of islands gave the opportunity of visiting locations of very different histories, culture, architecture and natural beauty. The itinerary included an extraordinary range of archaeological sites and architectural styles covering an extended period from the Greeks to post-Second World War, that is 1000s of years BC to the near present. Travel between the islands was aboard a 70m gullet, the ‘Aegean Clipper’. The vessel was very comfortable and provided numerous places to relax in all weather conditions. The accommodation was first class and the crew were eager to assist. We were exceptionally looked after by the tour coordinators prior to and post cruise and by the professional guides and ship’s captain and crew during the voyage. The two outstanding aspects of the cruise were the food and the quality of the professional guides. Half the dinners were onshore and especially selected by the guides in family tavernas to represent local cuisine. Onboard meals comprised a comprehensive assortment of salads, vegetables, meats and a range of cheeses, which were also selected by the guides to reflect the delicacy of each island. The proficiency of the professional guides was outstanding, probably the best I have experienced. Each guide had a different specialty – one was an expert in mythology and the other in classical history. They used these two skills to ’bounce-off’ each other in a most delightfully humorous and intellectual manner. Their presentation skills were very impressive and both had a deep understanding of their subject matter both having post-graduate qualifications. Overall, the quality of the tour was excellent and most enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator had to make late changes to our boarding and disembarking arrangements which entailed several ferry and bus transfers. This reorganization was undertaken seamlessly and paid for by the operator. Also, during the voyage realtime alterations to the ships track had to be made urgently due to weather conditions. Again, this was affected smoothly and efficiently. The operator’s choice of island in our travel plan was superb and it allowed for us to take in an incredible range of cultures and archaeological sites, including Carians, Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Venetians, Crusaders, Ottomans to Italian. This period covered the period 1000s of years BC to after the Second World War.

Reviewer's images:
Cruising the Dodecanese by Gav, 27 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

An exciting, perfectly organised tour of the Greek Dodecanese islands

Cruising the Dodecanese 22nd September, 2018 – 6th October, 2018 This 14-day tour took in eight Dodecanese Greek Islands (Patmos, Leros, Kalymnos, Kos, Nisyros, Tilos, Chalki and Rhodes), as well as Samos to the north. The islands were well chosen to represent different geography settings and histories, and being close to one another, steaming times were short. Three of the islands are UNESCO World Heritage sites – The careful choice of these ...

Cruising the Dodecanese 22nd September, 2018 – 6th October, 2018 This 14-day tour took in eight Dodecanese Greek Islands (Patmos, Leros, Kalymnos, Kos, Nisyros, Tilos, Chalki and Rhodes), as well as Samos to the north. The islands were well chosen to represent different geography settings and histories, and being close to one another, steaming times were short. Three of the islands are UNESCO World Heritage sites – The careful choice of these islands gave us an appreciation of the different architecture, natural beauty, local culture and cuisines which we were able to enjoy at a leisurely pace making for a comprehensive understanding of the similarities and differences which made each island special The tour coordinators displayed excellent flexibility when the tour required schedule changes before and during the trip. Shortly before the cruise commenced it became necessary to board the gullet in Turkey instead of one of the islands. Peter Summer Travels re-arrange the schedule to suit the new venues, even personally escorting us by ferry to the Turkey starting point and back from Turkey to our original Greek Island discharge location (at no cost). And during the voyage an unprecedented cyclone entered our cruise space and the on-board guides and captain made immediate plans and re-routed the course without any interruption to the program. The ‘Aegean Clipper’ was a 70m gullet with boundless space in different parts of the boat to lie and read or chat in different weather conditions. The crew were courteous and always helpful. The vessel was stable and the cabins were bright, large and luxurious. The food was simply outstanding. Onboard breakfast was a salad, various cheeses, yoghurt, fruit, eggs in a variety of forms, tea/coffee. Lunch was a display of salads, cheeses, hot and cold vegetable dishes and the pie˴ce de resistance was a ‘spoon sweets’, especially chosen by one of the guides to represent the delicacy of each island that we had just visited. Dinner was something special. Half the evenings we ate ashore in a specially selected out-of-the-way family tavernas, which served home-made dishes typical of the island. The meal always comprised four starting plates and four main dishes, all exquisitely prepared and served. Visits to the nine islands represented a full range of cultures and histories from Carians, Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Venetians, Crusaders, Ottomans to the Italians covering the period 1000s of years BC to after the Second World War. The itinerary included extraordinary archaeological sites and examples of a range of architectural styles. The most impressive aspect of the cruise was proficiency of the professional guides. Our two guides had very different knowledge bases and skills, yet they complimented each other in a most harmonious manner producing a very professional, delightfully humorous and intellectual narrative. Both had a deep understanding of their subjects (mythology, ancient history and archaeology) and conveyed this knowledge most professionally. They were fluent in several languages, had field excavation experience and were trained academics with Masters and Doctorate qualifications from renowned universities and they were authors of books on local ancient history. Their presentation skills were truly impressive. These guides were by far the most proficient and delightful of my experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The islands chosen by the operator represented different geographic settings and histories, and were close to one another, shortening steaming times and maximizing sightseeing and island walks. Three of the islands are UNESCO World Heritage sites – The careful choice allowed a deep appreciation of different architectures, natural beauty, local culture and cuisines. The tour coordinator displayed excellent flexibility when the tour required re-scheduling before and during the trip. Shortly before the cruise commenced it became necessary to board the gullet in Turkey instead of one of the Greek islands. Peter Summer Travels re-arrange the schedule, even personally escorting us by ferry to the Turkey starting point and back from Turkey to our original Greek Island discharge location at no cost. And during the voyage an unprecedented cyclone forced immediate alteration to plans without any interruption to the program. The choice by the operator of a 70m-long stable gullet with boundless space, bright, large and luxurious cabins with a courteous and always helpful crew was greatly appreciated.

Cruising the Dodecanese by Patsy & Christopher, 3 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding in every respect. The best holiday either of us have been on.

The holiday was a conducted cruise on a gulet, our two ‘experts’ were both outstanding in every respect and wore their knowledge lightly but clearly had a deep knowledge of the whole area, its history, its place in Greek myth and not least its cuisine. The gulet was very well run with an outstanding master and a very willing, well trained friendly crew. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the catering on board very good as well. In ...

The holiday was a conducted cruise on a gulet, our two ‘experts’ were both outstanding in every respect and wore their knowledge lightly but clearly had a deep knowledge of the whole area, its history, its place in Greek myth and not least its cuisine. The gulet was very well run with an outstanding master and a very willing, well trained friendly crew. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the catering on board very good as well. In sum we cannot rate the whole experience highly enough in every respect - we are going again next season to a different area!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer runs a very efficient, very friendly, very knowleable and very helpful Team. Their pre-cruise brief was also outstanding - very helpful, full of interesting hints and advice and clearly written by those who run the cruises and not some PR rubbish! In our view they provide a unique experience and the cruise was excellent value for money.