AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

Alpes Maritimes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Alpes Maritimes

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 43
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 44
Reviews Accepted: 44
Reviews Rejected: 0
44 reviews
Sort by:
Alpes Maritimes by PJ, 20 Jul 2024
Holiday Rating:

A satisfying experience

A 5-night walking holiday in south-east France. Organisation was first-class, and provision of walk guidance was very good. Generally the accommodation and food provided were excellent, although not always.

A 5-night walking holiday in south-east France. Organisation was first-class, and provision of walk guidance was very good. Generally the accommodation and food provided were excellent, although not always.

Rating for tour operator:

We had not come across On Foot Holidays before, but we were very impressed with their efficient and yet personal service. A large amount of useful information was provided to help us enjoy our holiday to the full.

Alpes Maritimes by Sue, 10 Jul 2024
Holiday Rating:

Terrific hiking in Alpes Maritime

Terrific hiking - glorious peaceful countryside, wildlife and flowers, with the benefit of the clear and user friendly On Foot app. It's worth being properly fit to enjoy the longer hiking options. On Foot organisation and logistics are excellent. We had an issue with one hotel- the office swung into action to resolve it. Nothing but praise for the knowlgeable, fast, friendly and effective service from Ellen, Mary and Simon

Terrific hiking - glorious peaceful countryside, wildlife and flowers, with the benefit of the clear and user friendly On Foot app. It's worth being properly fit to enjoy the longer hiking options. On Foot organisation and logistics are excellent. We had an issue with one hotel- the office swung into action to resolve it. Nothing but praise for the knowlgeable, fast, friendly and effective service from Ellen, Mary and Simon

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent, as per above

Alpes Maritimes by SC Edinburgh, 2 Jul 2024
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking holiday with baggage transfers

A great week of self guided walking in the Alpes Maritime, from La Brigue to Menton. We really enjoyed the challenging walking routes and paths up into and through the mountains. The scenery was often beautiful and sometimes spectacular. We stayed in lovely hotels which, while sometimes relatively basic in terms of the accommodation, were always wonderfully friendly and welcoming.

A great week of self guided walking in the Alpes Maritime, from La Brigue to Menton. We really enjoyed the challenging walking routes and paths up into and through the mountains. The scenery was often beautiful and sometimes spectacular. We stayed in lovely hotels which, while sometimes relatively basic in terms of the accommodation, were always wonderfully friendly and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

Went the extra mile in helping organise this holiday, in arranging such lovely places for us to stay, in providing very good walking guides and materials, and in being generally very friendly and efficient in communications and response to queries and feedback.

Alpes Maritimes by Andrew, 13 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Stunning scenery, fascinating villages, and a well informed team

The route, scenery and instructions were excellent. As ever, the helpful team at on for the holidays were extremely knowledgeable and gave us everything we needed. to choose the right holiday for us. They were flexible and always willing to help.

The route, scenery and instructions were excellent. As ever, the helpful team at on for the holidays were extremely knowledgeable and gave us everything we needed. to choose the right holiday for us. They were flexible and always willing to help.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays are always eager to help and we have found them to be very knowledgeable. They find interesting accommodation along beautiful walking route.

Alpes Maritimes by Amelia, 9 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trek through the Alps-Maritime in France

Beautiful views, wonderfully small towns that were absolute gems. Hiking trails were well marked and the gps tracker made up for any uncertainties.

Beautiful views, wonderfully small towns that were absolute gems. Hiking trails were well marked and the gps tracker made up for any uncertainties.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my 2nd trip with On Foot. As before, always so quick to respond, so easy to work with. They have developed an excellent network of places to stay, as well as trails. Their local guide was very informative and helpful each time he was contacted, both by Whatsapp and by phone.

Alpes Maritimes by Ms P C 23, 23 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

A good range of walks with enough challenge for us both, fantastic scenery, excellent stops in really friendly villages and towns

The Alpes Maritimes are a hidden gem, only 20 kilometres from the coast but a different world of twisty roads, stunning villages perched on top of craggy cliffs, and the walking has all the variety you would expect from a mountainous region. The people are welcoming and friendly and the history is as fascinating as you would expect of a region so close to the border with Italy

The Alpes Maritimes are a hidden gem, only 20 kilometres from the coast but a different world of twisty roads, stunning villages perched on top of craggy cliffs, and the walking has all the variety you would expect from a mountainous region. The people are welcoming and friendly and the history is as fascinating as you would expect of a region so close to the border with Italy

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot are always impressive - nothing is left to chance as they check every detail of the arrangements and make sure the local contact is fully briefed on our particular needs. The briefing material is excellent and they respond fully and carefully to any requests we make of them.

Alpes Maritimes by Mr M T 23, 19 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Alpes Maritmes walking in France

Expertly co-ordinated by On-Foot we had a wonderful time walking the relatively remote Alpes Maritme close to the Italian border. La Brigue was much enjoyed, rustic, welcoming and off the beaten track.

Expertly co-ordinated by On-Foot we had a wonderful time walking the relatively remote Alpes Maritme close to the Italian border. La Brigue was much enjoyed, rustic, welcoming and off the beaten track.

Rating for tour operator:

Flawlessly planned and supported, we had a local contact on call if needed - we did not.

Alpes Maritimes by Igloopud, 6 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Adventure in south of france

We walked over 100 miles from La Brigue to Menton on the coast , staying in small b & b / small hotels. Our baggage was taken on each morning to our destination of the day . Walks were challenging as we opted for the hardest route , scenery was breathtaking …a real adventure into nature .

We walked over 100 miles from La Brigue to Menton on the coast , staying in small b & b / small hotels. Our baggage was taken on each morning to our destination of the day . Walks were challenging as we opted for the hardest route , scenery was breathtaking …a real adventure into nature .

Rating for tour operator:

On the foot holidays , it’s our second holiday with them …they do all the planning and we just follow instructions and have a wonderful time

Alpes Maritimes by Blue of San Francisco, 9 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

The French Alps Were a Summertime Wonder.

A fascinating walk up and down through the mountains and exploring the villages of Sospel, St Agnes and more. Also a luxurious stay at the end in Menton. Very peaceful and a really fascinating area. Loved the hosts and hostesses and our local contact, too. A real adventure and very happy to have explored this area thanks to the planning and work of On Foot Holidays!

A fascinating walk up and down through the mountains and exploring the villages of Sospel, St Agnes and more. Also a luxurious stay at the end in Menton. Very peaceful and a really fascinating area. Loved the hosts and hostesses and our local contact, too. A real adventure and very happy to have explored this area thanks to the planning and work of On Foot Holidays!

Rating for tour operator:

Meticulous, kind, responsive, thorough and detailed -- they think of everything! Could not do this kind of trip without them!

Alpes Maritimes by Ringo and Jax, 30 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous walk which was very well organised and gave us much flexibility

We loved the walk, the scenery, the accommodation and food. It was relaxing as we chose shorter options and we could explore the villages on the way

We loved the walk, the scenery, the accommodation and food. It was relaxing as we chose shorter options and we could explore the villages on the way

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation was quick to respond and had great attention to detail, they provided us with much information and access to maps and GPS. They made the walk quite personal too.