AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

From Šibenik to Zadar Traveller Reviews

Reviews of From Šibenik to Zadar

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 20
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 20
Reviews Accepted: 20
Reviews Rejected: 0
20 reviews
Sort by:
From Šibenik to Zadar by Ken, 3 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

A Wonderful Croatian Adventure

We traveled by gulet along the Dalmatian coast, anchoring near important archaeological sites, cities with ancient origins and a National Park along the way. My wife and I booked two back-to-back cruises with Peter Sommer Travel, this being the first one from Sibenick to Zadar (and back to Trogir, near Split). It was wonderful! Our guide, Filip, was extremely knowledgeable about all historical eras we encountered. For me, the Greek, pre-Roman ...

We traveled by gulet along the Dalmatian coast, anchoring near important archaeological sites, cities with ancient origins and a National Park along the way. My wife and I booked two back-to-back cruises with Peter Sommer Travel, this being the first one from Sibenick to Zadar (and back to Trogir, near Split). It was wonderful! Our guide, Filip, was extremely knowledgeable about all historical eras we encountered. For me, the Greek, pre-Roman (Libornian and Dalmatian), and Roman sites were the most exciting, and Filip was great at answering every single question I came up with, no matter how screwy. Being a native Croatian also meant that he could explain contemporary issues of culture and recent history in ways a non-native probably could not manage. Filip was energetic, funny, very sociable, attentive--a tremendous asset to both the social and the educational aspects of the trip. Local guides in several of the cities and archaeological sites we visited were also excellent. Living on a boat the size of our gulet was part of the adventure. Living quarters were "efficient," as they must be on a boat, but we had everything we needed and were extremely comfortable. Meals on board were spectacular. Given the small size of the galley, the cook worked small miracles for every meal. The 3-man crew was great, especially Marino, the second in command. He was an important part of the social glue that made the trip such a wonderful experience with his great sense of humor, overall competence, attentive helpfulness and great skill at catching squid. I wanted this trip to be a solid educational experience most of all, and it met all my expectations. And, of course, the Dalmatian coast is gorgeous!

Rating for tour operator:

This was an extremely well organized and well run trip. I was reassured by the thorough attention to COVID-related issues as well as to the historical/archaeological content of the cruise. The on-board staff (our guide and the ship's crew) all were very professional and made great efforts to make sure the trip was both educationally rich and great fun for all the guests.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Happy Traveler, 1 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Cruise in Croatia

We spent 2 weeks cruising along the coast of Croatia, visiting interesting archaeological sites, and walking in some of the beautiful national parks. The gulet was very comfortable, and the crew was friendly and helpful. The meals were unbelievably good, and swimming by the boat in the afternoons was delightul.

We spent 2 weeks cruising along the coast of Croatia, visiting interesting archaeological sites, and walking in some of the beautiful national parks. The gulet was very comfortable, and the crew was friendly and helpful. The meals were unbelievably good, and swimming by the boat in the afternoons was delightul.

Rating for tour operator:

You will not find a better tour operator anywhere than Peter Sommer Travels. This was our second tour (the first was in Crete), and as usual, everything was simply excellent.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Joe, 24 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Educational but decadent

The cruise through the northern Croatian waters was spectacular. The food wonderful. The guides were very informative. And the Adriatic was refreshing!

The cruise through the northern Croatian waters was spectacular. The food wonderful. The guides were very informative. And the Adriatic was refreshing!

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was just taken care of for us.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Debbie, 24 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cruising Dalmation coast Sibenik to zadar

One of my favorite trips! Accommodations were comfortable, food excellent, pace of trip perfect. Our guide was knowledgeable, energetic, and fun to be with, as were my fellow companions in travel. I can honestly report, there was nothing I did not like.

One of my favorite trips! Accommodations were comfortable, food excellent, pace of trip perfect. Our guide was knowledgeable, energetic, and fun to be with, as were my fellow companions in travel. I can honestly report, there was nothing I did not like.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter was helpful, kept in contact during the very confusing, disruptive COVID events. I always felt he was on top of the situation,, and maintaining health and safety standards. This was our second Peter Sommers trip, and I cannot say enough positive about him.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Bernie Powers, 22 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia: from Šibenik to Zadar.

A deferred and deflected vacation because of COVID and other world events. We originally planned to tour the Aegean by Gulet but when this was not possible, Peter Sommers offered us this as an alternative. In a group of ten, affable people with a well informed and attentive guide, we had a splendid time. It was a wonderful combination of relaxation and intense education from Filip, who possesses a doctorate in classical history and many ...

A deferred and deflected vacation because of COVID and other world events. We originally planned to tour the Aegean by Gulet but when this was not possible, Peter Sommers offered us this as an alternative. In a group of ten, affable people with a well informed and attentive guide, we had a splendid time. It was a wonderful combination of relaxation and intense education from Filip, who possesses a doctorate in classical history and many tour guides for each point of debarkation. The ages of Greece, Rome, the Ostrogoth invasions, the kingdoms of Croatia, Hungary, the occupation under Napoleon, Venice and Austria all became real to those of us who live in times and distances remote. The food was great as well and the crew. Overall a very enriching experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Exceeded our expectations, especially considering the time of the COVID pandemic.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Mrs. P P 21, 21 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip on the Dalmatian coast

This was a one week archeological tour in Croatia. The crew provided us with excellent meals and service aboard the gulet, and we enjoyed the land adventures led by our knowledgeable guides. What a wonderful opportunity for learning the history- both ancient and modern - and meeting the friendly people of this area!

This was a one week archeological tour in Croatia. The crew provided us with excellent meals and service aboard the gulet, and we enjoyed the land adventures led by our knowledgeable guides. What a wonderful opportunity for learning the history- both ancient and modern - and meeting the friendly people of this area!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service and communication. Despite the many concerns of traveling during Covid we felt well-provided for by Peter’s attention to detail. Every effort was made to address our health and safety issues during the tour, aboard the boat and on land.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Mr M B 21, 6 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Very enjoyable and informative gulet cruise

A gulet was a very enjoyable and pleasant way of seeing the Dalmatian coast. Filip the guide was very knowledgeable and good at imparting his knowledge and also very good company. The other passengers were good company. And all the arrangements worked well

A gulet was a very enjoyable and pleasant way of seeing the Dalmatian coast. Filip the guide was very knowledgeable and good at imparting his knowledge and also very good company. The other passengers were good company. And all the arrangements worked well

Rating for tour operator:

Particularly good at providing well- qualified expert guides

From Šibenik to Zadar by Mr J B 21, 20 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Magical trip in a gulet along the Dalmatian coast

In a charming wooden gulet, which attracted much admiration from passers-by, we sailed along the Dalmatian coast calling in to delightful towns such as Zadar, Sibenik and Trogir and visiting some lesser known but fascinating sights such as Bribir fortress and the island town on Nin, guided and entertained by Filip, a highly knowledgeable and personable guide, in enjoyable company and well looked after by a friendly and attentive crew

In a charming wooden gulet, which attracted much admiration from passers-by, we sailed along the Dalmatian coast calling in to delightful towns such as Zadar, Sibenik and Trogir and visiting some lesser known but fascinating sights such as Bribir fortress and the island town on Nin, guided and entertained by Filip, a highly knowledgeable and personable guide, in enjoyable company and well looked after by a friendly and attentive crew

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a specialist in archaeological and historical holidays, with expert guides, although at a level accessible to the amateur, and with plenty of opportunity for enjoyment and relaxation as well as information and education

From Šibenik to Zadar by Sally and Bill, 23 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Best way to experience the Dalmatian Coast!

We loved everything about this tour. The boat was beautiful...exceptional layout for public spaces and nicely appointed cabins. Our guides, Filip and Mislav were amazing. They easily integrated with our group, possessed incredible expertise, led insightful tours, and were sensitive to the everyone's preferences and needs throughout the trip. We left with a much better appreciation of Croatia, it's people, and it's history. We look forward ...

We loved everything about this tour. The boat was beautiful...exceptional layout for public spaces and nicely appointed cabins. Our guides, Filip and Mislav were amazing. They easily integrated with our group, possessed incredible expertise, led insightful tours, and were sensitive to the everyone's preferences and needs throughout the trip. We left with a much better appreciation of Croatia, it's people, and it's history. We look forward to our next Peter Sommer tour!

Rating for tour operator:

We enjoyed personalized service throughout, from our initial inquiry to preparing for our tour, and from exceptional guides during our trip. It was clear a lot of effort was put forth behind the scenes to ensure no detail was overlooked. We never waited...the zodiac was always on time to pick us up; the tour vans and local guides were always there when we arrived ashore. We didn't have to figure out how to split the wine bill at dinner or the drink bill when we stopped at local cafes; Peter Sommer took care of this. A talented chef turned out great meals from a tiny galley, and we were treated to excellent meals at local restaurants ashore. All of this was seamlessly and thoughtfully presented in a way that looked effortless. We appreciate all the hard work that went into providing a flawless experience.

From Šibenik to Zadar by DMAR, 22 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer -- Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia Sib - Zad and the start date was 7 Sep 2019.

Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia Sib - Zad and the start date was 7 Sep 2019. Filip and Mislav were exceptional guides and hosts. The gulet Croatia was the perfect transportation and accommodation for our holiday. Food, agenda and service were all wonderful...we will travel with Peter Sommer again.

Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia Sib - Zad and the start date was 7 Sep 2019. Filip and Mislav were exceptional guides and hosts. The gulet Croatia was the perfect transportation and accommodation for our holiday. Food, agenda and service were all wonderful...we will travel with Peter Sommer again.

Rating for tour operator:

Filip and Mislav were knowledgeable, personable and passionate about Archeology and Croatia. They made our trip fun and memorable...can't say enough good things about them. Ask for them by name...you'll understand why we enjoyed traveling w/them.