AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Peru in Depth Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peru in Depth

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 10
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 11
Reviews Accepted: 11
Reviews Rejected: 0
11 reviews
Sort by:
Peru in Depth by Wanda, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

The trip was excellent, there was so much to see and we had a superb guide when I was with the group.

There was a great deal to see and do. The holiday was planned by excellent help from the JLA advisor in the UK. I adjusted the ordinary tour to ensure that I would not get altitude sickness, so i spent more time in Arequipa.

There was a great deal to see and do. The holiday was planned by excellent help from the JLA advisor in the UK. I adjusted the ordinary tour to ensure that I would not get altitude sickness, so i spent more time in Arequipa.

Rating for tour operator:

I planned the trip with help from Hannah at JLA in the UK. It was adjusted to suit my needs. I thought it would be last trip to South America, but I enjoyed the trip so much, I may well go to Peru again.

Peru in Depth by Travelling family, 12 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great organisation from start to finish - a wonderful, stress-free holiday seeing many fantastic sights

We toured Peru - Lima, Amazon, Macchu Picchu, Lake Titicaca. JLA put together a wonderful tour for us, co-ordination was impeccable. At every stage we were guided to get the best experience possible. We saw many wonderful sights and could not, I'm sure, have had such a great time without the guidance we received.

We toured Peru - Lima, Amazon, Macchu Picchu, Lake Titicaca. JLA put together a wonderful tour for us, co-ordination was impeccable. At every stage we were guided to get the best experience possible. We saw many wonderful sights and could not, I'm sure, have had such a great time without the guidance we received.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin American looked after us throughout. They ensured that flights were scheduled and checked in for, trains were co-ordinated and the whole experience was enjoyable and stress-free for us. They catered for a gluten allergy with the minimum of fuss and this was appreciated too.

Peru in Depth by Chesterfield Traveller, 2 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing and varied holiday in Peru and Bolivia

Visited the Peruvian cities/towns of Lima, Arequipa, Chivay, Puno, Cusco, Ollantaytambo and Aguas Calientes and the Bolivian cities/towns of La Paz and Copacabana. We also spent 2 nights in the Amazon Rainforest. The holiday included a number of included and optional excursions: city walking tours, condor spotting, floating islands, Inca ruins (including Machu Picchu), rainforest excursions, museum, convent, cathedral, hot springs, geological ...

Visited the Peruvian cities/towns of Lima, Arequipa, Chivay, Puno, Cusco, Ollantaytambo and Aguas Calientes and the Bolivian cities/towns of La Paz and Copacabana. We also spent 2 nights in the Amazon Rainforest. The holiday included a number of included and optional excursions: city walking tours, condor spotting, floating islands, Inca ruins (including Machu Picchu), rainforest excursions, museum, convent, cathedral, hot springs, geological sites, riding Telerificos in La Paz

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely efficient, providing comprehensive pre-tour information. Very flexible when it seemed a change of itinerary might have been required. Very knowledgeable and informative guides throughout. The Tour Leader was superb, his passion for the areas visited and their history infectious. he had a great command of English with the result that everything was easily understandable to us

Peru in Depth by flotSam34, 21 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Peru has so much to discover

I loved serene Lake Sandoval and the wildlife in the jungle. I loved the atmosphere in Cusco - so much to do, many museums and history, and I loved my hotel Rumi Punko. Amazing Inca and pre-Colombian art and architecture, then the colonial Spanish forced influence, the Condors, and Arequipa, Amazing panoramas on Lake Titicaca riding on the speed boat roof.

I loved serene Lake Sandoval and the wildlife in the jungle. I loved the atmosphere in Cusco - so much to do, many museums and history, and I loved my hotel Rumi Punko. Amazing Inca and pre-Colombian art and architecture, then the colonial Spanish forced influence, the Condors, and Arequipa, Amazing panoramas on Lake Titicaca riding on the speed boat roof.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America arranged a trip for me at very short notice and managed to fit is so much. Well done Konrad. Won't upload the 2800 photos and vieos but be assured I have some cracking photos.

Peru in Depth by Rhona, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous experience in Peru & Bolivia

The holiday covered all three eco climates and landscapes in Peru with the added benefit a visit to Bolivia. A well thought out comprehensive and diverse holiday covering the dessert, the Andes and the Amazon Rainforest. It covered cities (Lima, La Paz, Arequipa), wildlife (Colca Canyon condors & the Amazon), different cultures (Uros Reed Islands, The Sacred Valley, La Paz) and wonderful history (The Inca's - Machu Piccho & Cuzco, Sun Island ...

The holiday covered all three eco climates and landscapes in Peru with the added benefit a visit to Bolivia. A well thought out comprehensive and diverse holiday covering the dessert, the Andes and the Amazon Rainforest. It covered cities (Lima, La Paz, Arequipa), wildlife (Colca Canyon condors & the Amazon), different cultures (Uros Reed Islands, The Sacred Valley, La Paz) and wonderful history (The Inca's - Machu Piccho & Cuzco, Sun Island on Lake Titicaca and many more). The finer details were managed superbly by the Tour Company, Journey Latin America and our tour guide and used local guides for all daily tours. Fabulous

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America were a pleasure to deal with from enquiry to the holiday itself. The itinerary was superb and the hotels good. The expertise, experience and care of the JLA guide made the holiday seamless and a pleasure. The knowledge of the local guides were fabulous too. A well planned and amazing holiday

Peru in Depth by JMars244, 12 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exceeded our expectations - simply unforgettable

We travelled as a family of five over 16 days to Lima, the Amazon, Cusco and the Sacred Valley before completing the Inca trail and going onto visit Colca Canyon and Arequipa.

We travelled as a family of five over 16 days to Lima, the Amazon, Cusco and the Sacred Valley before completing the Inca trail and going onto visit Colca Canyon and Arequipa.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America were highly professional and we were hugely impressed by the seamless organisation of our trip and dedication/efficiency of the staff who arranged it on our behalf. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt we were given a high degree of service and support from the moment we booked until we returned home.

Peru in Depth by Travel Junkie, 12 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Memorable Trip to Peru

Our second trip to Peru, we did a bespoke trip to visit the lesser known Pre-Inca sites in the North that have recently been excavated and got off the beaten track. We went to Trujillo and Chiclayo on the coast North of Lima and were very impressed by the modern museums, particularly the Royal Tombs museum, surely the Lord of Sipan is Peru's Tutankhamen with amazing gold artefacts?. We then went up into the stunning Andes and enjoyed the Gocta ...

Our second trip to Peru, we did a bespoke trip to visit the lesser known Pre-Inca sites in the North that have recently been excavated and got off the beaten track. We went to Trujillo and Chiclayo on the coast North of Lima and were very impressed by the modern museums, particularly the Royal Tombs museum, surely the Lord of Sipan is Peru's Tutankhamen with amazing gold artefacts?. We then went up into the stunning Andes and enjoyed the Gocta waterfall, the new cable car to the amazing Kuelap and many other sites, all accompanied by our excellent guide but hardly any foreign tourists. Finally we relaxed at the Inkaterra on the Madre Dios; a fantastic experience of the jungle, that combined comfort with rainforest immersion.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America are a specialist in the region and this was our fifth trip with them. Planning was easy, as they are knowledgeable, efficient and helpful. On this occasion they helped move our trip back a year, due to family illness, which we really appreciated. Their partners on the ground were all excellent and the quality of guides first class with very good English. We will definitely be using them again for both group and bespoke travel.

Peru in Depth by Los Chinitos, 13 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

An incredible Peruvian family holiday

We have just had the most tremendous holiday in Peru. Thank you to Journey Latin America for your extraordinary efficiency, attention to detail and continued care both during the booking process and when we were travelling. We loved Peru. Highly recommend the Inca Trail - arriving in Machu Picchu having walked and camped was awesome. We loved the challenge. Arequippa is stunning, Cusco a must, Colca lodge and Condors extraordinary. Best ...

We have just had the most tremendous holiday in Peru. Thank you to Journey Latin America for your extraordinary efficiency, attention to detail and continued care both during the booking process and when we were travelling. We loved Peru. Highly recommend the Inca Trail - arriving in Machu Picchu having walked and camped was awesome. We loved the challenge. Arequippa is stunning, Cusco a must, Colca lodge and Condors extraordinary. Best hotel for us was El Tambo del Inka. Peruvian people are lovely, their food simply delicious and their history fascinating. Peru just kept impressing and delighting us. We cannot recommend this holiday more highly. It worked for us and we can't wait to return.

Rating for tour operator:

They were Stella. Simply splendid. JLA and Natalie in particular made our summer holiday perfect. We received brilliant service from the first phone call we made to JLA. Their attention to detail was superb. Excellent in every way. Thank you Natalie and JLA

Peru in Depth by Mr R B 17, 9 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Amazon, Peru & Bolivia

Our three and a half week tour was all we anticipated and more. Our local native guides knowledge and understanding was more than could be expected and we had an amazing time

Our three and a half week tour was all we anticipated and more. Our local native guides knowledge and understanding was more than could be expected and we had an amazing time

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America again provided a fantastic service and itinerary

Peru in Depth by Casgirl, 28 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Peru

JLA provided us with a personalised itinerary to explore key places in Peru. The trip was well planned to allow for acclimatisation to altitude. Hotels were excellent and well located and we visited amazing places, Arequipa, Colca canyon, lake Titikaka, Cusco, Sacred valley, Machu Pichu, and Amazon Rainforest.

JLA provided us with a personalised itinerary to explore key places in Peru. The trip was well planned to allow for acclimatisation to altitude. Hotels were excellent and well located and we visited amazing places, Arequipa, Colca canyon, lake Titikaka, Cusco, Sacred valley, Machu Pichu, and Amazon Rainforest.

Rating for tour operator:

JLA are outstanding. very knowledgeable about the places we were visiting. helpful and responded to queries. Their links with local agents are excellent and all arrangements were completed without fail.