AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 8
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 8
Reviews Accepted: 8
Reviews Rejected: 0
8 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Chuck, 3 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

A marvelous adventure along Turkey's Turquoise Coast.

Seven days of lovely cruising from Bodrum to Gocek on board a most comfortable and well appointed gulet. Each day provided a nice balance between the natural and cultural treasures this part of Turkey is known for. A trained archaeologist brought the vibrant area history to life and a local guide added color and commentary related to life as it exists today and also interpreted the wonderful culinary offerings offered up on board the gulet.

Seven days of lovely cruising from Bodrum to Gocek on board a most comfortable and well appointed gulet. Each day provided a nice balance between the natural and cultural treasures this part of Turkey is known for. A trained archaeologist brought the vibrant area history to life and a local guide added color and commentary related to life as it exists today and also interpreted the wonderful culinary offerings offered up on board the gulet.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer travels did a superb job coordinating the trip both before and during the journey. The personal touch is what makes this company stand out.

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Lexi, 1 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

A perfect holiday

This gulet cruise proved to be the perfect holiday. It was extremely well organized and we were happy to find a comfortable cabin on our arrival in Bodrum. The cruise manager and guide were well informed and helpful; each excursion was interesting and well prepared. The meals were delicious and the company of the other guests was very agreeable.

This gulet cruise proved to be the perfect holiday. It was extremely well organized and we were happy to find a comfortable cabin on our arrival in Bodrum. The cruise manager and guide were well informed and helpful; each excursion was interesting and well prepared. The meals were delicious and the company of the other guests was very agreeable.

Rating for tour operator:

From my first enquiry on the Peter Sommer website to the end of our holiday the service provided was perfect. We were given excellent personal advice as to which gulet cruise would suit us best. The transfers were on time and the luggage was taken care of most efficiently. The cruise Manager and Guide were very knowledgeable and attentive and together with a skillful and routined Captain and crew provided the framework for a perfect holiday. We would definitely travel again with Peter Sommer.

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by HNB, 27 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

touring the Carian coast

Celebrating our 40 years together (and GETTING out after COVID precautions for 18 months in US) ...Trip ran from Sunday to Sunday, Sept 26-Oct 3, as i recall... Schedule was for boating from site to site, gong ashore, visiting the ancient sites, and return... plenty of time for swimming, etc.

Celebrating our 40 years together (and GETTING out after COVID precautions for 18 months in US) ...Trip ran from Sunday to Sunday, Sept 26-Oct 3, as i recall... Schedule was for boating from site to site, gong ashore, visiting the ancient sites, and return... plenty of time for swimming, etc.

Rating for tour operator:

two Tour folks, historian and 'facilitator'... Peter and "JEM'...never saw his name spelled, so...phonetically, that was it. Boat folks, Capt. three crew, COOK,(outstanding) all quite good, having experienced another 2 week Sommers tour, in 2017., and they were just as excellent. two tour folks both excellent at their jobs, convivial, however, the difficulties of the climbs involved, affected my wife, starting on Monday, worsened Tuesday by climbing to the Rhodian fortress... So, we stayed on boat next 3-4 days, avoiding any climbing or extended walking. Excellent book collection on board. I also found the sites...not that interesting, unlike the tour thru the Cyclades in 2017... which was breathtakingly EXCELLENT. If you continue this tour, I'd recommend it as "Strenuous" ...and only for Very pbysically fit folks... Otherwise, a 'well=oiled machine' that P.SommersTravels has, all elements of trip, under Tour's control, went very well, indeed. Just we frail human were not quite up to its opportunities... Overall, WE are both pleased and would highly recommend this Tour Operator..

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Roxy, 27 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Gulet cruise

My husband chose this holiday as he has always wanted to do a Turkish “blue cruise”. I had never been on any type of cruise before, let alone a small group cruise, so I was a bit hesitant. However, the experience was really fantastic incorporating lots of time for swimming in stunning bays with crystal clear water as well as getting off the boat each day for some great hikes to fascinating ancient ruins. The food was very good and the tour ...

My husband chose this holiday as he has always wanted to do a Turkish “blue cruise”. I had never been on any type of cruise before, let alone a small group cruise, so I was a bit hesitant. However, the experience was really fantastic incorporating lots of time for swimming in stunning bays with crystal clear water as well as getting off the boat each day for some great hikes to fascinating ancient ruins. The food was very good and the tour guides were excellent. Everything detail was so well planned and the cabins were very comfortable.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a very professional operation which is evident in everything from the initial communications, information provided about the trip, quality of the vessel and competence of crew. Every detail was extremely well organized by the guides who were fantastic. I would love to book another holiday in the future with Peter Sommer Travels.

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Kiwi in New York, 27 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

High Expectations Exceeded

I had been wanting to take a Gulet voyage since my first visit to Turkey in the mid-eighties. The voyage with Peter Sommer Travels not only met my expectations of relaxation, great Turkish food, and good company but also provided me with leaning and insight of the ancient past and modern day realities. Very highly recommended.

I had been wanting to take a Gulet voyage since my first visit to Turkey in the mid-eighties. The voyage with Peter Sommer Travels not only met my expectations of relaxation, great Turkish food, and good company but also provided me with leaning and insight of the ancient past and modern day realities. Very highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Communication pre-voyage was excellent in what was very trying and uncertain times. Organization was excellent and from the very first moment of dropping the bags at the wharf you knew you were in good hands. The voyage went without a hitch and had flexible time to allow for small changes.

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by terrasofie, 26 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cruise by gullet along the Carian coast of Turkey

My second cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. They have made me fall in love with sea travel. Perfect from start to finish. Interesting and friendly co-travelers. The tour guide and manager were personable hosts and very informative. The crew was great, obviously always thinking ahead. And I enjoyed every meal the cook prepared. Our last meal was celebrated with his sparkler-topped glowing-like-a-jack-o-lantern watermelon. The coast furnished ...

My second cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. They have made me fall in love with sea travel. Perfect from start to finish. Interesting and friendly co-travelers. The tour guide and manager were personable hosts and very informative. The crew was great, obviously always thinking ahead. And I enjoyed every meal the cook prepared. Our last meal was celebrated with his sparkler-topped glowing-like-a-jack-o-lantern watermelon. The coast furnished lovely coves for overnight stays and the land was full of history. I've heard it said that Turkey is the best place to see surprisingly intact Greek ruins. It is true. So much is still there of the important towns of Knidos and Kaunos you can imagine living there.

Rating for tour operator:

I cannot say enough about Peter Sommer and his team. His itineraries are interesting, his crew members are well chosen for competency and attention to hospitality. Our hosts on board were friendly, helpful and full of information about our trip and the history of the sites. Information from the main office about the trip is comprehensive and sent in a timely manner. Transfers from airports to the cruise boat happen without problems. I was sad to leave such good company.

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Jill , 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised

It would be very hard to criticise anything on this cruise. It was sheer luxury right from the initial airport transfer. The food was consistently better than our previous 5 days in Istanbul. The staff were attentive, polite and well dressed. We were honoured to have an archeologist with such a wealth of experience as Serdar and he humbly helped us in many other ways explaining the day's schedule, food, customs, language etc. If you could have ...

It would be very hard to criticise anything on this cruise. It was sheer luxury right from the initial airport transfer. The food was consistently better than our previous 5 days in Istanbul. The staff were attentive, polite and well dressed. We were honoured to have an archeologist with such a wealth of experience as Serdar and he humbly helped us in many other ways explaining the day's schedule, food, customs, language etc. If you could have just cancelled the heatwave it would have been perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers has obviously perfected these cruises down to the last detail. He created a slightly different cruise especially for our party and it went without a hitch

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Carole and Jim, 19 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Memorable cruise on the Carian Coast with Peter Sommer cruises

We had been recommended to take this trip. This trip is one of the more memorable trips in our extensive travels. From the start of planning the trip we were delighted at the level of the service offered. From the moment we stepped on board our expectations were exceeded and stayed that way for the week. The food, scenery, our tour leader and guide plus the company of our fellow guests made it a wonderful week. The visits to the sites ...

We had been recommended to take this trip. This trip is one of the more memorable trips in our extensive travels. From the start of planning the trip we were delighted at the level of the service offered. From the moment we stepped on board our expectations were exceeded and stayed that way for the week. The food, scenery, our tour leader and guide plus the company of our fellow guests made it a wonderful week. The visits to the sites each day were a highlight made even better with a swim before and on returning to the Gulet. The crew were attentive and competent anticipating our needs at the same time not being intrusive,. The layout of the boat allowed convivial conversation over meals and space for people to have privacy for reading or snoozing whilst travelling between sites. Carole Ferrier and Jim Harvey Australia

Rating for tour operator:

When I made contact with Peter Sommer cruises, I received a phone call from England in our time zone to discuss what my wishes were and how to select a cruise. There was constant follow up and the cruise was booked. Two weeks before I was due to join the cruise I became very Iill in Hong Kong and had to cancel. Six months later Iwe booked again for a different cruise. Again the same personal service followed up with an international call in my time zone checking details. Also originally I had asked if they could recommend a travel agent to organise our land trip. We received the same or of service from that operator