AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

PC4 Wine and Mountains tour Traveller Reviews

Reviews of PC4 Wine and Mountains tour

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 5
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 5
Reviews Accepted: 5
Reviews Rejected: 0
5 reviews
Sort by:
PC4 Wine and Mountains tour by Stewart, 22 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stunning scenery, fantastic hotels

We enjoyed a ten day trip through North East Spain seeing some of the best the country has to offer and staying in small but comfortable and welcoming hotels.

We enjoyed a ten day trip through North East Spain seeing some of the best the country has to offer and staying in small but comfortable and welcoming hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

They gave an in depth knowledge of this part of Spain and were very helpful in providing detailed instructions for travelling around. The suggestions of places to visit were spot on.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Sep 2019:

Thanks Stewart for your fantastic feedback - a great start to the week!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Sep 2019:

And that's music to our ears - many thanks!

PC4 Wine and Mountains tour by Ash, 20 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful fortnight classic car driving in the Pyrenees

Hi Andy. Back now after a great trip thanks. One break down in David’s Midget which lost us 7 hours due to not having a magnetic screwdriver together with the local garage downing tools for their 2 hour lunch as they arrived on the truck. As discussed on the phone all we needed was the screwdriver and we would have been off!! Nevertheless come the return time of 3.30 and production of the tool we were away in 15 minutes with no further problem...

Hi Andy. Back now after a great trip thanks. One break down in David’s Midget which lost us 7 hours due to not having a magnetic screwdriver together with the local garage downing tools for their 2 hour lunch as they arrived on the truck. As discussed on the phone all we needed was the screwdriver and we would have been off!! Nevertheless come the return time of 3.30 and production of the tool we were away in 15 minutes with no further problem. David has now ordered a full set for next year!!! We were well impressed with the accommodation. Particular mention goes to Miguel at Posada la Pastora who was exceptional, from arranging parking in the square outside (in spite of the notices being attached to the cars threatening all sorts!!) to booking a splendid meal for us in a local bar. He and Inma could not have been more helpful and thoroughly deserve their high rating. Irigoienea had a local problem as a villager’s final send off was taking place and all the restaurants were closed but the owner did us a great simple Tapas meal which was just the job….. Daniel at Posada al Vent, we thought was trying too hard with his food and was lacking the warmth of Miguel. A wonderful property , but with an excellent restaurant 200m away he should bring his fare into line if he wants to attract guests. We couldn’t see how he could ever make it work on the current model given the huge investment in the exceptional building. El Privilegio we talked about on the phone. Antonio was excellent and gave us much local information. The restaurant was very good and the only issue was 18 Euros a night for parking without warning. Fair enough in the ski season but a rip off in summer………. Castillo del Collado was superb. Good restaurant and home strength G&Ts at 6 Euros rather than 10 experienced at al Vent for very weak ones!!!!! We loved the town and the wine cave tour we took. Many thanks again for keeping us updated with things and we look forward to using you again at some point.

Rating for tour operator:

Faultless service from Caminos by Casas Cantabricas. Even updates and checking up during the holiday. Great hotels chosen with very helpful owners.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Sep 2017:

Thanks Ashley - so glad to hear you had a great time. We'll pass on all your comments - both positive and constructive - to the hoteliers and hope to hear from you again sometime in the future!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Sep 2017:

And thanks for those kind words - most appreciated!

PC4 Wine and Mountains tour by Happy biker, 20 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Motorbike tour of northern Spain with Casa Cantabricas

We toured for 10 days from the mountians in the north and plains of Aaragon and Navarra. We saw lovely countryside and a wide range of wildlife, particularly birds of pray.

We toured for 10 days from the mountians in the north and plains of Aaragon and Navarra. We saw lovely countryside and a wide range of wildlife, particularly birds of pray.

Rating for tour operator:

Very frilendly and helpful when I made the booking. We received helpful advice and accompanying documentation to help with sight seeing, driving around.and point to point directions.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 22 Aug 2017:

Thanks, Alison! So glad you so thoroughly enjoyed your adventure - it sounds like you really made the most of it!

PC4 Wine and Mountains tour by O-Gs, 18 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular and varied tour of the Spanish Pyrenees

Our two-week fly/drive tour took us through the beautiful Alpine-like Basque territory, the spectacular mountain landscapes and medieval villages of Navarra, and the wine-producing area of Rioja. The tour was well put-together and went without hiccup. The hotels - 6 of them located in villages rather than towns - were all good and most outstanding and all about 2 to 2 1/2 hours' drive from each other. Each hotel gave us info on what to visit ...

Our two-week fly/drive tour took us through the beautiful Alpine-like Basque territory, the spectacular mountain landscapes and medieval villages of Navarra, and the wine-producing area of Rioja. The tour was well put-together and went without hiccup. The hotels - 6 of them located in villages rather than towns - were all good and most outstanding and all about 2 to 2 1/2 hours' drive from each other. Each hotel gave us info on what to visit nearby so we were able to make the most of this great holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas adapted one of their suggested tours for us and it turned out to be the perfect balance of distance/driving time to variety. Andy was very helpful, responsive, very knowledgeable of the area and hotels and made the whole experience a pleasure. The Vamoos app provided by the operator was an excellent quick on-the-go reference to all the holiday details.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Oct 2016:

Thanks Robin, it's wonderful to hear that you had such a fantastic time in the Pyrenees and that you enjoyed the variety of experiences on offer as you jump from valley to valley.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Oct 2016:

So glad to hear that it all worked so well and that you got such good use out of the app!

PC4 Wine and Mountains tour by James, 23 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Northern Spain Car Touring Holiday

Brittany Ferry to Santander then Pyrenees, fiesta in Uncastillo with bull running and Tudela cathedral, Bilboa and Gugenheim . A wonderful variety of locations. Excellent selection of small hotels, good food and historic sites. Sunshine. Brittany Ferries are part of the experience- excellent mini cruise there and back with French Cuisine.

Brittany Ferry to Santander then Pyrenees, fiesta in Uncastillo with bull running and Tudela cathedral, Bilboa and Gugenheim . A wonderful variety of locations. Excellent selection of small hotels, good food and historic sites. Sunshine. Brittany Ferries are part of the experience- excellent mini cruise there and back with French Cuisine.

Rating for tour operator:

The take the work out of organisation and use their local knowledge to plan the whole trip with ferry tickets , hotel bookings and maps supplied. They have an excellent system where they load your itinerary on an IPAD and phone with GPS tags and point to point directions. Well worth the money if you are busy at work and want a stress free planned break which is not a package holiday in the usual sense. You are given the tools to be an independent traveller. Great concept.We had a car breakdown which they were a great support to get fixed and alter the holiday route.It added to the fun as we had to re route to a city with an Audi dealer for our ageing TT sports car.I have no hesitation in recommending Casas Cantabrica. Its a great concept. They do it well. They support you when things go pear shaped with the car and you don't speak Spanish!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 26 Sep 2016:

Thanks James - we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the holiday so thoroughly - in spite of the hiccup with the car!