AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip Traveller Reviews

Reviews of NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 7
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 7
Reviews Accepted: 7
Reviews Rejected: 0
7 reviews
Sort by:
NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by POPPYH, 18 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant trip to "secret" Galicia

Cannot fault the arrangements made by Casas Cantabricas. They booked us a road tour of Galicia with simply stunning small boutique hotels and guest houses - each one unique and each one faultless. We would never have found these gems ourselves. We experienced the real essence of a beautiful underestimated part of Spain through the friendliness and insights of the property owners. We are quite jaded travellers - both of us working in the hospitality ...

Cannot fault the arrangements made by Casas Cantabricas. They booked us a road tour of Galicia with simply stunning small boutique hotels and guest houses - each one unique and each one faultless. We would never have found these gems ourselves. We experienced the real essence of a beautiful underestimated part of Spain through the friendliness and insights of the property owners. We are quite jaded travellers - both of us working in the hospitality and travel industry- but this holiday way surpassed our expectations. We particularly liked the Vamoos app which placed all our holiday information - and more at our fingertips. We recommend Casas Cantabricas unreservedly - they are fantastic!

Rating for tour operator:

As above - cannot recommend highly enough.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Sep 2018:

Hi Elaine,

Many, many thanks from all the Casas team including the three hotel owners, to whom we’ve already passed your comments – that’s truly made everybody’s day!

Your comments reflect exactly what we try to achieve when setting up the tours – that our clients get to see the many facets of the region and experience a variety of hotel styles, from boutique to country-style to out-of-the-way surprises – and it’s really so rewarding to hear that you share our enthusiasm so wholeheartedly!

In particular it’s great to hear that you got so much from the hotel owners themselves. These small owner-run hotels (of which there are so many in Spain and Portugal) are the keystone of our tours and we believe it’s the owners’ passion and commitment which really make the difference – and on that tour you certainly got three of our best!

Also so good to hear your comments on the Vamoos app. As you can imagine there’s a lot of work goes in behind the scenes so again it’s rewarding to hear that it has hit the mark (especially from a hard-to-please trade insider!)

Thanks again and we hope we’ll hear from you again in the future!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Sep 2018:

As above - made our day!

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by Gordyp, 23 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Self drive tour of Galicia

Great holiday staying in several hotels in different parts of the region over a thirteen day period.Tour company organised routes for us to get from one hotel to the next and all relevant information. Organised a car hire and taxi transfer where necessary.

Great holiday staying in several hotels in different parts of the region over a thirteen day period.Tour company organised routes for us to get from one hotel to the next and all relevant information. Organised a car hire and taxi transfer where necessary.

Rating for tour operator:

They provided excellent information before we left. They organised excellent quirky hotels in interesting places. They provided us with accurate routes so that we could find our way from one stop to the next over the thirteen day period. Their app was invaluable in keeping us up to date with information in the relevant area, weather forecasts, and advice about what we should see. They were very flexible about responding to our needs and we had a custom made package which suited our needs completely.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Oct 2017:

Thank you Gordon and Christine. We're very happy you enjoyed Galicia and all its beauty.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Oct 2017:

Thank you very much for your kind words from everyone at Casas Cantabricas. It's great to see our hard work is appreciated.

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by JBee, 29 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Round tour of Galicia

We had a fabulous time discovering the lovely towns and food of Galicia. The weather was just right for us, 22-32 degrees and the small hotels were lovely, welcoming and helpful with suggestions of what to do and bookings for outings.

We had a fabulous time discovering the lovely towns and food of Galicia. The weather was just right for us, 22-32 degrees and the small hotels were lovely, welcoming and helpful with suggestions of what to do and bookings for outings.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas adapted the tour so we could have 14 days and start from Porto where our flights landed. We had advice from them regarding outings and they arranged that the hosts would help us book some attractions which are usually busy.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Oct 2017:

Thank you Janice, we're glad you enjoyed discovering Galicia, it is a superb region.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Oct 2017:

Thank you very much, we're always very happy to see our work is appreciated!

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by Alan, 8 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

A well organised, trouble free journey around Galicia

A 12 day trip spending two days at a number of small hotels, mostly refurbished farms in rural Galicia ending in the centre of Santiago de Compostela. Hotels were comfortable, staff friendy and helpful, food wonderful and very good value and the local wine a discovery. Car hire and taxis arranged for us by Casas Cantabricas and worked perfectly. Even the weather was wonderful. We visited many of the local towns and villages and thoroughly ...

A 12 day trip spending two days at a number of small hotels, mostly refurbished farms in rural Galicia ending in the centre of Santiago de Compostela. Hotels were comfortable, staff friendy and helpful, food wonderful and very good value and the local wine a discovery. Car hire and taxis arranged for us by Casas Cantabricas and worked perfectly. Even the weather was wonderful. We visited many of the local towns and villages and thoroughly enjoyed the local culture and history. A wonderful area unspoilt so far by too much tourism.

Rating for tour operator:

They organised everything except the flights. Customised our itinery, and accepted our changes happily when we increased our party size. Provided maps and a useful guide book as well as booking taxis and car hire. Choice of hotels was perfect.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Jul 2017:

Many thanks Alan, sounds like you had a super time in Galicia! You seem to share our own enthusiasm for the region and in particular the wonderful wines (many of which are unknown in the UK). Hope you'll come back for more!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Jul 2017:

And thanks for those kind words - especially happy to hear your comment on the hotel choice.

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by December sunshine, 15 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Self drive touring Galicia at hotels booked by Casas Cantabricas.

14 days travelling in northern Spain with 6 different hotels and the freedom to explore each day as we chose. While Galicia is not really well developed for tourists and it was sometimes hard to find things we had a very good holiday. We enjoyed the lovely scenery, hotels and good food. You would need to be fairly self-reliant to gain value out of this sort of holiday.

14 days travelling in northern Spain with 6 different hotels and the freedom to explore each day as we chose. While Galicia is not really well developed for tourists and it was sometimes hard to find things we had a very good holiday. We enjoyed the lovely scenery, hotels and good food. You would need to be fairly self-reliant to gain value out of this sort of holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

A tour organised for us, taking into account our preferences.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 16 Aug 2016:

Thanks June, that's most appreciated! Galicia is certainly a real travel experience but it sounds as if you got the best of it and we hope all our information and touring pack helped

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by Jim, 6 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Very professional service with everything arranged superbly well.

Flight into Porto then car hire into Northern Spain. Cases booked four hotels for us and provided us with some fantastic information and recommendations. Great hotels which were recommended and very well organised throughout. Would strongly recommend.

Flight into Porto then car hire into Northern Spain. Cases booked four hotels for us and provided us with some fantastic information and recommendations. Great hotels which were recommended and very well organised throughout. Would strongly recommend.

Rating for tour operator:

Superb - as above

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 07 Jun 2016:

Thanks Jim - that's great to hear!

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by Adventurer, 27 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

touring fortnight in Galicia

A wonderful holiday travelling throughout Galicia, staying at small rural hotels. The route combined beaches, mountains, river valleys and towns. Each hotel was special in its own way and their locations meant that we could explore areas of Galicia that we had not visited on previous trips. Some of the routes that we chose to drive would not be for the feint-hearted driver, but the rewards were so worth the efforts. Breath-taking views, ...

A wonderful holiday travelling throughout Galicia, staying at small rural hotels. The route combined beaches, mountains, river valleys and towns. Each hotel was special in its own way and their locations meant that we could explore areas of Galicia that we had not visited on previous trips. Some of the routes that we chose to drive would not be for the feint-hearted driver, but the rewards were so worth the efforts. Breath-taking views, superb scenery, such peace and quiet and only Spanish being spoken.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas has now arranged 5 holidays for us in Spain and northern Portugal. They have all been wonderful. We are quite selective in the kinds of places we like to stay, but we have never been disappointed and that is quite a record as on each trip we have stayed in at least 5 different hotels. The information provided beforehand is always thorough and useful, helping us to reach our destinations and also knowing something of the area before arriving. After each trip we do find ourselves looking forward to booking another one with Casas Cantabricas!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jul 2015:

Many thanks Julia, that's really most appreciated and we're so glad you enjoyed your Galician adventure. This time you really got off the beaten track, which is all the more satisfying for us when it works out well.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jul 2015:

And thank you so much for those comments. We do pride ourselves on our personal service and in-depth local knowledge so it makes it all worthwhile when that is recognised by our clients - and particularly in view of our long track-history with yourselves!