AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

NC4 Mar y Montaña Traveller Reviews

Reviews of NC4 Mar y Montaña

Overall Holiday Rating
94%
Excellent 7
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 10
Reviews Accepted: 10
Reviews Rejected: 0
10 reviews
Sort by:
NC4 Mar y Montaña by SAE, 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Flavour of Northern Spain

Stopped in lovely hotels and saw a huge variety of places which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Stopped in lovely hotels and saw a huge variety of places which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgable, friendly personal service.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Jul 2018:

Thank you Sharon for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your holiday in Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Jul 2018:

Thanks again for your kind words, it's really appreciated.

NC4 Mar y Montaña by Herby, 20 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

What a great holiday

The holiday was tailored to our requirement by Casas Cantabricas and organised perfectly. This area of Northern Spain, Cantabria and Asturias, was unexpectedly beautiful and easy to drive around.Anyone we met was pleasant and welcoming, the food and wine very good and relatively inexpensive. Unfortunately once the word gets out that this, easy to get to, destination is so good it will start to lose some of it's charm, so we will getting ...

The holiday was tailored to our requirement by Casas Cantabricas and organised perfectly. This area of Northern Spain, Cantabria and Asturias, was unexpectedly beautiful and easy to drive around.Anyone we met was pleasant and welcoming, the food and wine very good and relatively inexpensive. Unfortunately once the word gets out that this, easy to get to, destination is so good it will start to lose some of it's charm, so we will getting back as possible.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly recommended, organised everything to perfection and was so helpful and responsive to any questions.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Oct 2017:

Thank you Kate and Brian for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your holiday and you discovered the beautiful region of Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 Oct 2017:

Thanks for your kind words, we're very happy to see our hard work is appreciated and we look forward to hearing from you again soon!

NC4 Mar y Montaña by Andy160, 11 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Very enjoyable

9 days touring in Northern Spain staying at 4 atmospheric hotels

9 days touring in Northern Spain staying at 4 atmospheric hotels

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, we even had the pleasure of meeting director at our fist hotel, who was able to give us much more information.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Oct 2017:

Thank you Andy, we're glad you had a very enjoyable holiday in Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Oct 2017:

It was a pleasure meeting you too. We're always happy to share our love of the region with our customers and we try hard to ensure you enjoy your time.

NC4 Mar y Montaña by Herbi, 9 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great Experience

Enjoyed the regions in respect of scenery, dining and people. Would certainly recommend both the area and Casas Cantabricas.

Enjoyed the regions in respect of scenery, dining and people. Would certainly recommend both the area and Casas Cantabricas.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised, flexible and good value.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Oct 2017:

Thank you Brian. We're glad you had a good time discovering Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Oct 2017:

Thanks again for your comments, we're very pleased to see our work is appreciated!

NC4 Mar y Montaña by SarahB, 29 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful week discovering the delights of Asturias and Cantabria

We had a brilliant week in northern Spain,discovering an area previously unknown to us and a world away from the Costas and heavily developed islands. Our booking was processed quickly and efficiently, the hire car was ready on arrival and a much better one that we had anticipated. The Palacio de Libardon, our home for the first two nights was delightful and within easy reach of the coast. El Hoyal in Pesgauro up in the Picos de Europa was ...

We had a brilliant week in northern Spain,discovering an area previously unknown to us and a world away from the Costas and heavily developed islands. Our booking was processed quickly and efficiently, the hire car was ready on arrival and a much better one that we had anticipated. The Palacio de Libardon, our home for the first two nights was delightful and within easy reach of the coast. El Hoyal in Pesgauro up in the Picos de Europa was a more simple B&B, but absolutely spotless and with good food and a good base for walking in the mountains. Hotel Siglo XVIII just outside Santillana del Mar was also very pleasant and again well located for short trips out exploring.

Rating for tour operator:

Our booking was handled quickly and efficiently and although the company doesn't book flights, they investigated suitable flights for us which was really helpful. They then arranged for car hire at Asturias airport. The accommodation in all three places was great; small, characterful, privately owned and very friendly - just what we like. The App and guidebook were nice touches and really helpful when deciding what to do each day. We had a great holiday and would recommend Casa Cantabricas to anyone who is interested in visiting the less touristy areas of Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Oct 2017:

Thanks Sarah, we're very happy you enjoyed the fantastic hidden regions of Northern Spain, so different from the crowded beaches and islands.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Oct 2017:

Thanks again, we're very happy to see that all our work putting together the app and information packs have been so helpful!

NC4 Mar y Montaña by Pamden, 27 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A well planned itinerary in northern Spain using excellent hotels.

A week's fly drive holiday with hire car touring northern Spain (Asturias and Cantabria). Three different areas of northern Spain were chosen - the first hotel in a rural mountain area staying in the Palacio du Libardon was stunning. The second hotel was situated in the mountains and the third hotel near the coast. A wonderful way of seeing different regions of northern Spain.

A week's fly drive holiday with hire car touring northern Spain (Asturias and Cantabria). Three different areas of northern Spain were chosen - the first hotel in a rural mountain area staying in the Palacio du Libardon was stunning. The second hotel was situated in the mountains and the third hotel near the coast. A wonderful way of seeing different regions of northern Spain.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas were extremely helpful when arranging this holiday for us even when we needed to slightly alter our itinerary due to a delayed flight. They organised a taxi pick up from Bilbao airport when our flight arrived late at night. They provide a map and travel book. All the information from them (booking and travel) could be accessed on an app which also provided local information of the area.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jun 2017:

Thanks Pam - sounds like you had a great time! we'll be sure to pass your comments along to the hotels - especially Sandra in Palacio de Libardon!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jun 2017:

Glad to be of help and that things worked out for you in Bilbao after your delay.

NC4 Mar y Montaña by Pugetsound, 11 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fun itinerary quickly conceived and smoothly executed

Casas Cantabrias is very accommodating. We called Andy McCullough after finding his company on the Web. He was in tune with our wants and got right down to planning, as we had given him less than a week's notice. I think we spoke on a Sunday. He booked us into places we enjoyed vary much and got us a good car. We were happy with the price. He responded quickly when we had a question. This company offers Good quality all around and Andy is...

Casas Cantabrias is very accommodating. We called Andy McCullough after finding his company on the Web. He was in tune with our wants and got right down to planning, as we had given him less than a week's notice. I think we spoke on a Sunday. He booked us into places we enjoyed vary much and got us a good car. We were happy with the price. He responded quickly when we had a question. This company offers Good quality all around and Andy is.a very nice person to deal with.

Rating for tour operator:

Guess I just did! We toured Northern Spain and picos de Europa for about a week. We stayed 2 nights each in 3 places and Andy set us up in a great little hotel for the start point in Bilbao.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Apr 2017:

Thanks Jyl for those lovely comments. It was a pleasure working with you and we're so glad you had such a nice time in northern Spain!

NC4 Mar y Montaña by Nanou, 11 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Variety of areas and landscapes

The tour in itself was a very good idea and the places very beautiful. However, the second hotel in the mountains was very isolated and a stay near Potes or in Potes would have been better plus it would have been nice to know in advance how the roads would be. We were 2 ladies of over 55 years old and the driving was quite tiring at times. Also as much as I know our trip was only 8 days, in hindsight, 3 days per place would be better than ...

The tour in itself was a very good idea and the places very beautiful. However, the second hotel in the mountains was very isolated and a stay near Potes or in Potes would have been better plus it would have been nice to know in advance how the roads would be. We were 2 ladies of over 55 years old and the driving was quite tiring at times. Also as much as I know our trip was only 8 days, in hindsight, 3 days per place would be better than 2 days to know the region a bit more and also to have time to rest as well. Of course that depends on the age of the tourists, I understand that. Otherwise, the hotels were comfortable and very beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful at all times. I would gladly recommend you and use you again.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation was wonderful. Choice of tours, hotels, styles, a book and a map sent to help us discover the regions, a hired car organised to avoid us setting it all up. That was a great help. And a last hotel close to the airport so as not to stress the last day, that was brilliant too. No complaint.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 16 Aug 2016:

Dear Nadine, thanks for those comments, that's very constructive and most appreciated. As you know we are very flexible and our expert team like to talk through all the details but even then it is hard to get it spot-on perfect for every client in terms of pacing and distances - we hope it wasn't too much of a strain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 16 Aug 2016:

And thanks so much for those comments - we do like to take care of the fine details and it's so rewarding when that is appreciated!

NC4 Mar y Montaña by ChrissyG, 10 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Northern Spain

We recently became aware of Picos de Europa and wanted to visit and to include country towards the Pyrenees and were going to drive through France or ferry to Bilbao, but in view of time needed for either we decided to fly to Bilbao and hire a car to tour around, effectively having an extra two days in spain!. We covered La Rioja, the Picos and Santillana del Mar. All very beautiful, unspoilt, not too touristy in the main, maybe due to time ...

We recently became aware of Picos de Europa and wanted to visit and to include country towards the Pyrenees and were going to drive through France or ferry to Bilbao, but in view of time needed for either we decided to fly to Bilbao and hire a car to tour around, effectively having an extra two days in spain!. We covered La Rioja, the Picos and Santillana del Mar. All very beautiful, unspoilt, not too touristy in the main, maybe due to time of travel - end May beginning June. Good roads, good driving. Just what we were looking for.

Rating for tour operator:

Found them on the internet, they were able to put together an itinery for us, to cover the areas were wanted to visit, arranged the car hire and accommodation. From the time of booking we were impressed with their service and their choice of accommodation proved very good. We will certainly consider using them again for any holidays in Northern Spain and would recommend them unreservedly.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 17 Jun 2016:

Great to hear we got it right Chris!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 17 Jun 2016:

Many thanks for your feedback Chris - makes it all worthwhile!

NC4 Mar y Montaña by Ali, 31 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

WONDERFUL EXCITING THRILLING HOLIDAY OF A LIFETIME!

Magical trip .....with three very different locations. Starting in a medieval city and finishing in Tamas in the Picos mountains. Completely stress free holiday as Andy had booked the hotels, organised the routes and we just relaxed and arrived at our destinations with ease. Felt as if we had been away for ages and one glorious day after another unfolded. We will return and 100 percent recommend Andy and Casa Cantabricas.

Magical trip .....with three very different locations. Starting in a medieval city and finishing in Tamas in the Picos mountains. Completely stress free holiday as Andy had booked the hotels, organised the routes and we just relaxed and arrived at our destinations with ease. Felt as if we had been away for ages and one glorious day after another unfolded. We will return and 100 percent recommend Andy and Casa Cantabricas.

Rating for tour operator:

Andy was faultless....thanks a million.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Jun 2016:

Well that's just made our day! Thank you so much Alison for that fantastic feedback, we'll make sure and pass your comments on to the whole team and especially the hotel owners who we're sure will be absolutely thrilled!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Jun 2016:

Likewise!