AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
KE Adventure Travel

Edge of the Sahara Trek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Edge of the Sahara Trek

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 9
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 9
Reviews Accepted: 9
Reviews Rejected: 0
9 reviews
Sort by:
Edge of the Sahara Trek by Stroppy Camel, 14 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Saharan trek

It was a wonderful insight into life in the harsh environment of the Sahara. We saw the diversity of the surroundings (not just sand!) and understood more about the ecosystem there. The guides were fabulous and the food amazing. You had a challenging experience but with the comfort of knowing you were safe and well looked after.

It was a wonderful insight into life in the harsh environment of the Sahara. We saw the diversity of the surroundings (not just sand!) and understood more about the ecosystem there. The guides were fabulous and the food amazing. You had a challenging experience but with the comfort of knowing you were safe and well looked after.

Rating for tour operator:

KE have always lived up to my expectations. I have travelled with them four times now and will be doing so again in the future.

Edge of the Sahara Trek by Morad, 17 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Edge of the Sahara trek

4 day walk in the Sahara desert. We were picked up at the airport in Marrakesh, transfered the following day to Ouled Driss and walked 4 days in the beautiful dunes and reg of the Sahara. Our cook, Youssef, prepared awsome meals.

4 day walk in the Sahara desert. We were picked up at the airport in Marrakesh, transfered the following day to Ouled Driss and walked 4 days in the beautiful dunes and reg of the Sahara. Our cook, Youssef, prepared awsome meals.

Rating for tour operator:

KE adventure is an English speaking trekking agency. They offer walking trips around the world and take care of everything. The service received was great quality

Reviewer's images:
Edge of the Sahara Trek by Georgina, 24 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic - can't recommend highly enough!

I did this Trek holiday in January 2016 and had an absolutely fantastic time - it exceeded all my expectations. The organisation was fantastic and everything was thought through and provided for. Amazing fixed camps; delicious and healthy, fresh food at every meal; authentic Moroccan tea on tap; super helpful support team; the best guide ever! Hassan was a dream and I can't praise him highly enough - he was the highlight of my trip with his ...

I did this Trek holiday in January 2016 and had an absolutely fantastic time - it exceeded all my expectations. The organisation was fantastic and everything was thought through and provided for. Amazing fixed camps; delicious and healthy, fresh food at every meal; authentic Moroccan tea on tap; super helpful support team; the best guide ever! Hassan was a dream and I can't praise him highly enough - he was the highlight of my trip with his enthusiasm, knowledge and genuine care. He helped the group gel, kept us all on track, told jokes, kept us informed of plans each day and was happy to help with anything we needed. I also loved the elements of the organised trip that I wouldn't have got had I gone independently; the trip to a local spices shop with a short talk on different spices and their uses/health benefits; horse and carriage ride around Marrakesh after the final group meal; seeing the largest palm grove in Morocco etc. I would recommend this trip (and any with KE) to anyone, regardless of ability or previous experience and will definitely look to book another adventure with KE in the very near future!

Rating for tour operator:

KE were fantastic, keeping me informed through the months leading to my trip, with local information, contact details and updates.

Edge of the Sahara Trek by Crow, 23 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Sahara adventure

I recently returned from 3+ months of travel, during which I did the Edge of Sahara trek with KE Adventures. I was lucky enough to see many countries and get in a lot of great hiking, but the Sahara trip was the absolute highlight. It was well organized, demanding without being too demanding, and offered some of the most gorgeous hiking I've experienced anywhere. The food was excellent, the weather neither too hot nor too cold, and the tents ...

I recently returned from 3+ months of travel, during which I did the Edge of Sahara trek with KE Adventures. I was lucky enough to see many countries and get in a lot of great hiking, but the Sahara trip was the absolute highlight. It was well organized, demanding without being too demanding, and offered some of the most gorgeous hiking I've experienced anywhere. The food was excellent, the weather neither too hot nor too cold, and the tents and sleeping mats very comfortable. Trekking with camels meant carrying only daypacks and water, which kept the individual loads very do-able. Even the long drives to and from our starting point were interesting, giving the chance to see the Atlas and anti-Atlas mountains. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

KE kept things very organized and were very pleasant to deal with, reminding me when I needed to get them insurance and flight info, and handling trip extensions and shuttles with no hiccups.

Edge of the Sahara Trek by Rogere, 17 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding walking on the edge of the Sahara

I particularly enjoyed Walking just after sunrise. Impromptu music from the camel crew. Walking along the crest of the larger dunes. Despite the different conditions, reminded me of alpine ridges. Interesting people in group [which I know you have no control over].

I particularly enjoyed Walking just after sunrise. Impromptu music from the camel crew. Walking along the crest of the larger dunes. Despite the different conditions, reminded me of alpine ridges. Interesting people in group [which I know you have no control over].

Rating for tour operator:

Outstanding throughout both in IK and in Morocco

Edge of the Sahara Trek by Aaron, 17 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Edge of the Sahara Trecking Holiday

Travelled to Morroco and spent 5 days local guide led trecking across the edge of the Sahara desert as well as passing through the Atlas mountains and spending some time in Marrakech. Fantastic trip which would recommend to anyone interested in visiting the region and experiencing the wild side of Morroco

Travelled to Morroco and spent 5 days local guide led trecking across the edge of the Sahara desert as well as passing through the Atlas mountains and spending some time in Marrakech. Fantastic trip which would recommend to anyone interested in visiting the region and experiencing the wild side of Morroco

Rating for tour operator:

Having travelled with KE Adventure Travel before knew they provided a friendly and efficient service which again they proved on this trip. Would travel with again and highly recommend

Edge of the Sahara Trek by MundoRosso, 24 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Trekking on the edge of the Sahara

A great four days trekking on the edge of the Sahara desert, with Hassan, our local guide. Visiting different areas on each day, it quickly became clear how varied the desert is. Whilst the high point - literally - was the ascent of the Erg Es Zahar dune, and the views out at sunset, each day brought its own highlights. These varied from evidence of earlier civilisations, including pottery and copper smelting, through to eating fresh sand ...

A great four days trekking on the edge of the Sahara desert, with Hassan, our local guide. Visiting different areas on each day, it quickly became clear how varied the desert is. Whilst the high point - literally - was the ascent of the Erg Es Zahar dune, and the views out at sunset, each day brought its own highlights. These varied from evidence of earlier civilisations, including pottery and copper smelting, through to eating fresh sand baked bread. Each day was well paced, and carefully judged for the conditions.

Rating for tour operator:

All was very well organised, and personalised to meet the needs of our group. A professional service.

Edge of the Sahara Trek by Desertgirl, 30 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Edge of Sahara Trek

This was a trek on the edge of the Sahara Desert. Supported by a trek leader, cook and camel herders and with Dromedary's(camels)to carry our luggage. The holiday exceeded my expectations with experiences like the trek leader and camel herders singing to us around a camp fire, under the stars on Christmas Day. The trek leader took an interest in everyone making sure that we all enjoyed our holiday. Wonderful experience. Thank you KE Adventure ...

This was a trek on the edge of the Sahara Desert. Supported by a trek leader, cook and camel herders and with Dromedary's(camels)to carry our luggage. The holiday exceeded my expectations with experiences like the trek leader and camel herders singing to us around a camp fire, under the stars on Christmas Day. The trek leader took an interest in everyone making sure that we all enjoyed our holiday. Wonderful experience. Thank you KE Adventure Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

I had not travelled with KE Adventure Travel previously but following this experience will definitely be using them again.

Edge of the Sahara Trek by sheff, 25 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Edge of Sahara Trek

Trekking for four days through the Moroccan desert south of the Atlas Mountains was an unforgettable experience and definitely lived up to my expectations. We were lucky to have a group that gelled immediately and whose fitness levels were comparable. The scenery was spectacular, especially on the first two days, and the guides were unfailing in their care, sociability and readiness to explain things. The trekking was sandwiched between two ...

Trekking for four days through the Moroccan desert south of the Atlas Mountains was an unforgettable experience and definitely lived up to my expectations. We were lucky to have a group that gelled immediately and whose fitness levels were comparable. The scenery was spectacular, especially on the first two days, and the guides were unfailing in their care, sociability and readiness to explain things. The trekking was sandwiched between two long days of travel over the Atlas, but easily compensated, in my opinion, for the length of those journeys.

Rating for tour operator:

KE were friendly and helpful at all stages. I would certainly travel with the company again and recommend it to others.