AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising to the Cyclades Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising to the Cyclades

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 28
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 28
Reviews Accepted: 28
Reviews Rejected: 0
28 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising to the Cyclades by Kathy E, 24 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Archaeology and the Greek Islands: What could be better?

We were on a Turkish Gullet to access important and interesting archeological sites in the Aegean. This trip was varied, interesting and fun. We were a small group with two archeologists so there were plenty of interactions at the sites and on the gullet. Greece, and Turkey, are beautiful countries and it was very special to see the great variety, history and charm of these places. A highlight for me was when anchored for the night close ...

We were on a Turkish Gullet to access important and interesting archeological sites in the Aegean. This trip was varied, interesting and fun. We were a small group with two archeologists so there were plenty of interactions at the sites and on the gullet. Greece, and Turkey, are beautiful countries and it was very special to see the great variety, history and charm of these places. A highlight for me was when anchored for the night close to Delos so we could be on the island first thing and were able to spend hours there virtually with just our group. Additionally, our gullet/Captain/crew were excellent and the food was great. I particularly enjoyed our guides with their deep knowledge and love of the sites and area. Also, the people who go on these archeological tours are very interesting and engaging. I would go again.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second Peter Sommer's trip and it was excellent. The guides are excellent archeologists and the places you visit are carefully curated. They provide excellent overviews yet are flexible to enable a more individual experience too. The gullet was a beautiful boat, very comfortable and the crew very capable. The food and wines were excellent.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Mike, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to the Cyclades

This is my second holiday with the Peter Sommer organisation. To me it provided the ideal mix of learning something new, great fun and 2 weeks on a wonderful boat with a wonderful group of people and two expert guides who not only knew their "stuff" but gave us a series of unique and enriching experiences with food and wine and wonderful insights into the culture and history of the islands and their inhabitants. Their enthusiasm never flagged...

This is my second holiday with the Peter Sommer organisation. To me it provided the ideal mix of learning something new, great fun and 2 weeks on a wonderful boat with a wonderful group of people and two expert guides who not only knew their "stuff" but gave us a series of unique and enriching experiences with food and wine and wonderful insights into the culture and history of the islands and their inhabitants. Their enthusiasm never flagged. I am now looking forward to my next holiday, hopefully with Heinrich and Maria who I now consider to be my friends.

Rating for tour operator:

The oraganisation was wonderful and never missed a step. Excellent information was provided and our travel arrangements were impeccable.

Cruising to the Cyclades by M Brown, 15 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Adventure in the Cyclades

This is a 14 day gulet journey visiting many Cyclades islands. It is an archeological adventure not to be missed.

This is a 14 day gulet journey visiting many Cyclades islands. It is an archeological adventure not to be missed.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel brings together experts in creating archeology adventures. As tour operators, they excel in planning and execution. Customer service is top notch. The guides on the tour are exceptional; professional expertise is blended with local knowledge.

Cruising to the Cyclades by William1942, 14 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Cyclades, Aegean Sea

This excellent trip combined: • A well-found vessel with a skillful skipper and a capable crew • First-class onboard facilities and catering • Visits to the cultural, natural and culinary treasures of a series of beautiful islands • The knowledge and companionship of well-informed and agreeable guides It is hard to think of a better combination of experiences. All-in-all, the trip exceeded my expectations.

This excellent trip combined: • A well-found vessel with a skillful skipper and a capable crew • First-class onboard facilities and catering • Visits to the cultural, natural and culinary treasures of a series of beautiful islands • The knowledge and companionship of well-informed and agreeable guides It is hard to think of a better combination of experiences. All-in-all, the trip exceeded my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels Ltd Chippenham House 102 Monnow St. Monmouth NP25 3EQ UK

Cruising to the Cyclades by JimCleary, 14 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to the Cyclades - a superb trip around the Greek Islands

Travelling on a lovely wooden boat, the Aegean Clipper, we visited about 10 Greek islands, from Kos to Santorini. Our knowledgeable guides took us to museums, archaeological sites, volcanoes - everything there was to see. Meals on board were fresh & varied, and meals ashore were amazing - all kinds of local island specialities to taste & surprise.

Travelling on a lovely wooden boat, the Aegean Clipper, we visited about 10 Greek islands, from Kos to Santorini. Our knowledgeable guides took us to museums, archaeological sites, volcanoes - everything there was to see. Meals on board were fresh & varied, and meals ashore were amazing - all kinds of local island specialities to taste & surprise.

Rating for tour operator:

A small company that I have travelled with many times - I think it's 16 trips now.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Shelby, 14 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to the Cyclades

This our third tour with Peter Sommer Travels. Based on the two prior tours we expected the Cruise to the Cyclades to be a superb experience. We were NOT disappointed. If we were in the group of Americans favored by the Republican Congressional majority and the Trumpster we would spend our gains, in part, by cruising with Peter Sommer three or four times a year. The huge variety of available tours; something to satisfy almost any interested ...

This our third tour with Peter Sommer Travels. Based on the two prior tours we expected the Cruise to the Cyclades to be a superb experience. We were NOT disappointed. If we were in the group of Americans favored by the Republican Congressional majority and the Trumpster we would spend our gains, in part, by cruising with Peter Sommer three or four times a year. The huge variety of available tours; something to satisfy almost any interested traveler, is a major part of the attraction. The small groups of people is far superior to the experience we have had with other cruising companies whose boats held 100 or more people. The details of what is visited and what the guest is shown are obviously carefully planned. Until one experiences a trip with Peter Sommer one doesn't realize the wonder experience you have with two guides continually available to teach, describe, and help the guest. The Turkish gulets are a superb choice as a mode of travel. We regret the worsening geopolitical situation may sharply reduce the availability of this mode of travel. I would advise someone who thinks that they know a lot about travel accommodations offered by cruises of any size to hold back on a review of such accommodations until they have lived on a gulet for 10-14 days. And, in addition, no raving about other cruise cuisine until they eat on a gulet staffed with a cook measuring up to the Peter Sommer Travel standards. We look forward to land travel with the company in the future as we have no reason to suspect that there will be any diminution in the cuisine to we will be given. North American residents should understand or realize that dealing with Peter Sommer Travel in the Midlands of England is as convenient and as personalized as dealing with a travel company or agents within a few miles of their home. Peter and his staff have gone out of their way on multiple occasions to make our trips more enjoyable. Working out the details of booking and payment has been much more tolerable with the Company than almost any of the other companies with which we have dealt. It's time to stop. Obviously, we would rank Peter Sommer Travel as our number one choice for any additional tours we might take in the future that involve the lands and seas upon which they offer tours. If only the pound would drop to parity with the dollar!! Thanks for this opportunity to offer our opinions. Del B. Coolidge, M.D.

Rating for tour operator:

I think I covered that in my long-winded diatribe.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Denise, 13 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Cyclades

I very much enjoyed my cruise in the Cyclades. Our guides Heinrich and Maria knew the archaeology and geography of the islands very well and were gifted story tellers, dramatizing each location. The ship’s crew were great, professional and friendly, and the cook quite amazing. Days began gently with a wonderful breakfast on board, and frequently ended with long evenings on deck again, eating local specialties (sweets and liqueurs), trading ...

I very much enjoyed my cruise in the Cyclades. Our guides Heinrich and Maria knew the archaeology and geography of the islands very well and were gifted story tellers, dramatizing each location. The ship’s crew were great, professional and friendly, and the cook quite amazing. Days began gently with a wonderful breakfast on board, and frequently ended with long evenings on deck again, eating local specialties (sweets and liqueurs), trading stories, myths and lamentable jokes. I loved passing small islands just visible on the horizon and then the slow approach to harbour, each island interesting in a different way. We visited tiny unique local museums, and also learned a lot about island industries: pumice and marble quarries, winemaking, and sponge fishing. The expected highlights were the sacred peace of Delos and the wonders of Akrotiri and the caldera of Santorini with whitewashed villages spread high along the cliff-tops like snow. The surprises for me were climbing down into the volcanic crater at Nisyros, walking inside a restored Roman Villa at Kos, the hospitality in small monasteries of aged nuns and priests, on Naxos seeing the sunset through the never-finished temple and finally the crossing to Bodrum Museum in Turkey, to see there the Uluburun, a salvaged 14th century BC boat. Maria and Heinrich were wonderful guides, magnificent in the couple of medical emergencies we had, and great at creating a cohesive group of happy tourists. Thank you.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter SommerTravels, highly professional, well organised: small group travel.

Cruising to the Cyclades by D. C., 25 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Adventure, learning, gourmet dining, and the experience of beauty

Our two weeks aboard the Aegean Clipper made this Greek island vacation one of the best times we ever had. There is interest and beauty in every direction on these islands and at sea. Each meal was a delight and a wonder. Our guides narration was great throughout, at turns thoughtful and funny. Both guides were approachable, well organized, and plainly concerned that we get the most from our experience. So many events stand out, hiking in the ...

Our two weeks aboard the Aegean Clipper made this Greek island vacation one of the best times we ever had. There is interest and beauty in every direction on these islands and at sea. Each meal was a delight and a wonder. Our guides narration was great throughout, at turns thoughtful and funny. Both guides were approachable, well organized, and plainly concerned that we get the most from our experience. So many events stand out, hiking in the hills on Naxos, the ancient cathedrals, swimming in the blue water, museums full of the most ancient works. We loved it.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels was our choice due to the serious archeology chops of the company and its guides. What a delight then to find the guides as adept at booking a gourmet meal and arranging for us to make it there as to discussing the finer points of spolia. The tour operator was generous, covering many admissions fees and other expenses that we had expected to pay ourselves. While not inexpensive, they provide wonderful value for the money in every way. We are happy and recommend them.

Cruising to the Cyclades by CaliforniaTerri, 31 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

The trip I've dreamed of

I’ve long dreamed of a trip to Greece centered on visiting islands but was daunted by the amount of research and planning this would entail. Then I happened upon the website of Peter Sommer Travels and knew I had found the perfect fit. Just the right size ship, just enough tour members to feel like a big family, an itinerary of places seen before and places totally new, a program including history, art, local culture and food, swimming, and ...

I’ve long dreamed of a trip to Greece centered on visiting islands but was daunted by the amount of research and planning this would entail. Then I happened upon the website of Peter Sommer Travels and knew I had found the perfect fit. Just the right size ship, just enough tour members to feel like a big family, an itinerary of places seen before and places totally new, a program including history, art, local culture and food, swimming, and relaxation, expert guides, food and transportation provided. Now, having returned from the trip I can say it was everything that was promised and I highly recommend it. Our ship and crew were wonderful, the tour members were interesting people and great company, our guides were excellent organizers and communicators, and also friendly, humorous, and considerate companions, the food was marvelous, watching islands all around us as we made our way among them, and seeing our destinations get larger and larger as we approached was unforgettable, each island became an individual as we learned what was special about it, and to be traveling the same sea routes as the ancient seafarers is a memory to treasure.

Rating for tour operator:

This is an excellent company to travel with. The itinerary, the guides, the ship and its crew, the food, the activities, the fellow passengers, all were simply the best.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Mark G , Auckland NZ., 30 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A happy combination of relaxation , activity , education and fabulous cuisine.

The holiday far exceeded our expectations , not only in regard to sites visited , but also in regard to friendliness of the crew , the delicious meals on board and the experience of eating local food at various small restaurants. Our tour guides looked after , educated and entertained us beautifully. The experience of travelling onboard a Gulat was just magical and very nice being a small number of visitors when visiting islands and sites.

The holiday far exceeded our expectations , not only in regard to sites visited , but also in regard to friendliness of the crew , the delicious meals on board and the experience of eating local food at various small restaurants. Our tour guides looked after , educated and entertained us beautifully. The experience of travelling onboard a Gulat was just magical and very nice being a small number of visitors when visiting islands and sites.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel were extremely professional , friendly , responsive and helpful to deal with. Really felt we were receiving personal treatment. Couldn't fault the experience in any way.