AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tribes Travel

Classic Costa Rica adventure Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Classic Costa Rica adventure

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 10
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 10
Reviews Accepted: 10
Reviews Rejected: 0
10 reviews
Sort by:
Classic Costa Rica adventure by Gingamonkey, 28 Mar 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Holiday in Costa Rica !

We visited four locations with Tribes. Tortuguero is a trek from San Jose and is hidden out in mangrove canals near the Carribean coast. Some amazing wildlife with crocodiles and caymans, various monkeys and plenty of birdlife including toucans. The Evergreen lodge was comfortable and the food was good and they do have what seems to be a troupe of Capuchins that love to spend time in the area. Next was Arenal staying near La Fortuna at Volcano ...

We visited four locations with Tribes. Tortuguero is a trek from San Jose and is hidden out in mangrove canals near the Carribean coast. Some amazing wildlife with crocodiles and caymans, various monkeys and plenty of birdlife including toucans. The Evergreen lodge was comfortable and the food was good and they do have what seems to be a troupe of Capuchins that love to spend time in the area. Next was Arenal staying near La Fortuna at Volcano Lodge and Springs. They have a few hot spring pools, one with a pool bar and a nice restaurant where you can watch the birds having breakfast while you do too. Plenty of wildlife in the lodge gardens too including a hummingbird in its nest. We did a hanging bridges tour which was great and a zipline experience over the trees and waterfalls (one being 1 km long). Also a sloth tour and a Volcano hike. Plenty to do and there are some nice restaurants in La Fortuna. Then off to Monteverde the cloud forest teeming with wildlife including Coati and Hummingbirds and plenty of birds including the resplendent quetzal which we saw twice with the second time being a group of males and a female. You can also take a hike through monteverde reserve to look our to the Pacific coast and back across to Arenal and further if the visibility is good. Curi Cancha reserve is a good bet to see the Quetzal. We stayed in Monteverde Lodge and Gardens which was placed perfectly for a very short walk to town and restaurants and not too far from Curi Cancha reserve and the butterfly Gardens. The breakfasts at the hotel were very good indeed. We finished the holiday on the Pacific Coast at the Margaritaville resort on an all inclusive package. The room was a pool view room and we could see the beach too. The all inclusive package was very well catered for and although we are not all inclusive types we enjoyed it and went for walks in the surrounding area. The surrounding area has a great bar down the beach called Loco Coco and the other beach to the North has a great place for watersports and food and drink called Hemmingways. We also did a turtle tour that we did through Viator, who are always good for any additional tours in country. All in all the holiday was great and we can tick Costa Rica off feeling like we have seen and done all that we wanted and more. One final thing is you can deal with your phone on WiFi only and on Airplane mode throughout with things downloaded to your device for when you are travelling and also would be useful to have a Spanish phrase book or translator downloaded onto your phone. Enjoy !

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes were very easy to work with. Spoke to Alex originally and Paul later and the Vamoos app is very handy. I would say that it would be good if the more detailed paperwork handed to you on the trip from Airport to hotel would be good to have as an electronic copy too every time, so ask for that if you can.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 28 Mar 2023:

We're really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and thanks so much for the feedback.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Bethan , 27 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic holiday in Costa Rica!

I travelled to Costa Rica with my family in December 2022. This was a long awaited trip, after being stuck in Australia away from my family for three years, and it did not disappoint! We enjoyed all the places we visited, particularly Tortuguero and the Osa Peninsula/Corcovado NP, for their remoteness and the amazing wildlife. In these places we saw multiple sloths, three species of monkey and many beautiful birds, among other animals. We loved ...

I travelled to Costa Rica with my family in December 2022. This was a long awaited trip, after being stuck in Australia away from my family for three years, and it did not disappoint! We enjoyed all the places we visited, particularly Tortuguero and the Osa Peninsula/Corcovado NP, for their remoteness and the amazing wildlife. In these places we saw multiple sloths, three species of monkey and many beautiful birds, among other animals. We loved Evergreen Lodge (Tortuguero) and Aguila de Osa (Osa Peninsula), as the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and food was amazing! Another place that stood out was Arenal. We stayed in Tabacon Resort, which has acres of its own thermal springs to swim in, which were magnificent. We also really enjoyed zip lining through the rainforest at this place. I would highly recommend Costa Rica to anyone!

Rating for tour operator:

Our agent Paul was super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and quickly put together and itinerary for us, taking on board all our ideas and requests. In Costa Rica, everything ran smoothly. Our transfers and rental car all arrived on schedule, and our accommodation was as expected or exceeded our expectation. Thank you Tribes Travel/Costa Rica Specialists for facilitating this fantastic trip, and I look forward to booking future trips with you!

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 27 Jan 2023:

We're so pleased you had such a great time :-)
We'd love to help you with more trips in the future.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Norfolk Broad, 18 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Costa Rica Adventure

Wildlife galore, Crazy and exciting boat trips, Lovely scenery, excellent lodges and hotels

Wildlife galore, Crazy and exciting boat trips, Lovely scenery, excellent lodges and hotels

Rating for tour operator:

From the word go enthusiastic, interested, knowledgeable, excellent app, Vamoos.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 26 Mar 2020:

Costa Rica is such a great country, isn't it? Glad you enjoyed it so much.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Nick Tucker, 5 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic holiday to Costa Rica visiting San Jose, Tortuguero National Park, Arenal Volcano, Monteverde and Playa Potrero.

A perfect combination of locations to experience the stunning scenery and wildlife of Costa Rica. Travelling by boat through the Tortuguero National Park rainforest and observing the wildlife was a highlight for us. But so was seeing the volcano summit at Arenal and the hummingbirds at Monteverde. We drove across the country from the Caribbean to the Pacific in a 4x4 and always felt safe. The people we met were all very friendly and helpful.

A perfect combination of locations to experience the stunning scenery and wildlife of Costa Rica. Travelling by boat through the Tortuguero National Park rainforest and observing the wildlife was a highlight for us. But so was seeing the volcano summit at Arenal and the hummingbirds at Monteverde. We drove across the country from the Caribbean to the Pacific in a 4x4 and always felt safe. The people we met were all very friendly and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes were efficient, professional and good value.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 12 Apr 2019:

Costa Rica is such a wonderful country, and we're so pleased you had such a great time.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by A&J Smith, 31 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife tour of Costa Rica

Wonderful variety of wildlife and ecosystems, staying in lovely accommodation

Wonderful variety of wildlife and ecosystems, staying in lovely accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

They listened to what we wanted and put together an excellent tour for us. They were good at answering questions, providing information and communicating with us

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 01 Apr 2019:

We're very pleased that you had such a good time in Costa Rica with us.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by SlothGirl, 26 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

All life is here!

A 2 week trip in Costa Rica gave us cloud and rain forests, beaches and volcanoes, trails, waterfalls and hot springs. All life is here. We were blessed with πŸ¦ŽπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸ¦πŸ¦œπŸπŸΏπŸπŸ•·πŸ¦‡πŸžπŸΈπŸ›πŸ¦‚πŸ¦œπŸ¦œπŸ¦œ at every turn and only scratched the surface of all that Costa Rica has to offer.

A 2 week trip in Costa Rica gave us cloud and rain forests, beaches and volcanoes, trails, waterfalls and hot springs. All life is here. We were blessed with πŸ¦ŽπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸ¦πŸ¦œπŸπŸΏπŸπŸ•·πŸ¦‡πŸžπŸΈπŸ›πŸ¦‚πŸ¦œπŸ¦œπŸ¦œ at every turn and only scratched the surface of all that Costa Rica has to offer.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes helped us pull together a suitably paced holiday with good range of activities and rest. The hotels were all good locations and having a car meant we could visit local restaurants and bars as we wished,

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 01 Apr 2019:

How wonderful. Sounds to me like you need to go back :-)!!

Classic Costa Rica adventure by FrankN, 26 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Varied Costa Rica

Travelled from Caribbean coastover to the Pacific, visiting 4 national parks. Excellent viewings of wildlife, and wonderful beaches. Only drawbacks were the poor state of many of the roads.

Travelled from Caribbean coastover to the Pacific, visiting 4 national parks. Excellent viewings of wildlife, and wonderful beaches. Only drawbacks were the poor state of many of the roads.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable and helpful. Suggested itinerary was excellent, and all travel arrangements worked well.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

Thanks Frank. Yes, some roads leave a bit to be desired, but Costa Rica is SO worth the odd bit of discomfort as I'm sure you'll agree. Delighted you had a great trip.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Andy from Surrey, 22 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife trip to Costa Rica

We spent 2 weeks in 4 different parts of Costa Rica. We had all our transfers arranged and some excursions.

We spent 2 weeks in 4 different parts of Costa Rica. We had all our transfers arranged and some excursions.

Rating for tour operator:

We felt Tribes were extremely organised and developed the exact trip we had requested. They provided a very detailed itinerary well ahead of the date of travel and provided lots of useful information. they definitely listened to the types of accommodation I requested and booked accordingly. I loved the app and all the detailed information. it meant everything was easy to check and the maps were very useful too.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 04 Dec 2018:

We're chuffed that you had such a good time. Thanks for booking with us.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by ChemBros18, 4 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Incredible, varied holiday in the wonderful country of Costa Rica

4 sites holiday from East to West coats of Costa Rica. Loads of amazing wildlife, some thrillling activities (white water rafting, zip wiring) and great chill-out time on one of best beach resorts you could wish for (Tamarindo)

4 sites holiday from East to West coats of Costa Rica. Loads of amazing wildlife, some thrillling activities (white water rafting, zip wiring) and great chill-out time on one of best beach resorts you could wish for (Tamarindo)

Rating for tour operator:

Very informative. Flexed itinaray to our needs. Quick turnaround. Gave me a lot of confidence in their recommendations as the advisor had personally visited all the locations and accomodation.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 05 Sep 2018:

Thanks for your good feedback Mark. We're pleased that Costa Rica hit the spot and were delighted to be able to help.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Jaykay, 9 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Jim King

Excellent, the itinerary for our trip to Costa Rica could not have been bettered.

Excellent, the itinerary for our trip to Costa Rica could not have been bettered.

Rating for tour operator:

They organised everything we requested perfectly.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 11 Jun 2018:

Isn't it great when something you've been wanting to see for a while turns out to be as good as you'd hoped! Thanks Jim. It was our pleasure to help you.