AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 848
Good 21
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 869
Reviews Accepted: 868
Reviews Rejected: 1
868 reviews
Sort by:
Sea Kayaking Introduction Course by Z J Carter, 16 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Sea Kayaking fun

I took this holiday to learn the basics of sea kayaking, and it was excellent. The guide that we had was very experienced and was able to cater for the various levels of experience that all the members of the trip had, with no one feeling left out of any part of the training or the paddling tours that were undertaken. The accommodation was good, and provided the perfect base for us to explore the surrounding area in the Kayaks. I learned a lot ...

I took this holiday to learn the basics of sea kayaking, and it was excellent. The guide that we had was very experienced and was able to cater for the various levels of experience that all the members of the trip had, with no one feeling left out of any part of the training or the paddling tours that were undertaken. The accommodation was good, and provided the perfect base for us to explore the surrounding area in the Kayaks. I learned a lot on this holiday and will take another one at a later date.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland provided an excellent package for this holiday, the equipment supplied was perfect for the holiday, the Guide was able to perform the tasks of teacher/mentor with great enthusiasm, which increased the fun of the trip. The accommodation supplied was of a good standard and was equal to our needs, and the information package supplied both before and during the holiday was just right for the level of knowledge that I had. All in all an great holiday and I will definitely consider using Wilderness Scotland again for similar holidays.

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by James, 11 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland Knoydart Trip was outstanding.

Our recent experience with Wilderness Scotland exceeded our expectations in almost all respects with regard to trip itinerary & guide leadership, meals & accommodation and trip support. Even when adverse weather forced changes to itinerary, the alternate plan offered excellent experience for all concerned. Highly recommended!!

Our recent experience with Wilderness Scotland exceeded our expectations in almost all respects with regard to trip itinerary & guide leadership, meals & accommodation and trip support. Even when adverse weather forced changes to itinerary, the alternate plan offered excellent experience for all concerned. Highly recommended!!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland appear to offer trips of the highest quality, taking great pride in ensuring the guest experience is superb. Our guide was outstanding and the accommodation, meals & support were excellent.

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by morag2015, 11 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous guided walking tour

We spent a week on the Knoydart Peninsula based from Doune Stone Lodges through Wilderness Scotland. It was fabulous from start to finish, from the exceptional facilities and meals; scenic hiking routes; island visits; and friendly and professional guide, Kirsty.

We spent a week on the Knoydart Peninsula based from Doune Stone Lodges through Wilderness Scotland. It was fabulous from start to finish, from the exceptional facilities and meals; scenic hiking routes; island visits; and friendly and professional guide, Kirsty.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland has a fabulous website which is easy to navigate and very informative. All details are covered and the trip was delivered as outlined on the itinerary. Appears to be a very professional tour operator and one we would recommend in the future.

Wilderness Scotland by Huge, 11 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland review

Wilderness Scotland First time with them - Everything went very well

Wilderness Scotland First time with them - Everything went very well

Walking - Outer Hebrides & Skye by Jean, 9 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great trip

We were on a walking holiday in Skye and Harris with a group of eight people plus a guide. I found this just the right number and they were all very nice people. Arrangements before and during the trip were very efficient. The guide was excellent - knowledgeable without being patronising, patient and good humoured. Accommodation and meals were very good.A most enjoyable trip.

We were on a walking holiday in Skye and Harris with a group of eight people plus a guide. I found this just the right number and they were all very nice people. Arrangements before and during the trip were very efficient. The guide was excellent - knowledgeable without being patronising, patient and good humoured. Accommodation and meals were very good.A most enjoyable trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland are a very good tour operator. This is our second trip with them and won't be our last!

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Amateur, 9 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

See my comments to the company.

Ditti

Ditti

Rating for tour operator:

Small groups, expert guides

Wilderness Scotland by Superted, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Shetland: an enchanting island.

Wonderful coastal walks with sea-birds and seals; impressive rocky coastlines; ancient brochs and croft houses; a memorable sea-cruise near Bressay and Noss; a hill-climb up Rona's Hill; a walk through nesting skuas to the northmost part of Unst to see Muckle Flugga lighthouse. Altogether a fascinating walking holiday.

Wonderful coastal walks with sea-birds and seals; impressive rocky coastlines; ancient brochs and croft houses; a memorable sea-cruise near Bressay and Noss; a hill-climb up Rona's Hill; a walk through nesting skuas to the northmost part of Unst to see Muckle Flugga lighthouse. Altogether a fascinating walking holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland help me to see and enjoy parts of Scotland which I would otherwise not see and enjoy.

Wilderness Scotland by Old Guy, 7 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic!

West Highland Way. It was a great outing, even though the weather was bad. The sites and the inns made up for the bad weather.

West Highland Way. It was a great outing, even though the weather was bad. The sites and the inns made up for the bad weather.

Rating for tour operator:

We were self guided, but the information and maps were thorough.

Wilderness Scotland by Island-hopper, 1 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A fantstic journey exploring the haunting beauty of the islands

Very well organised. Our guide was excellent , bringing out the individual characters of each place we visited. The three Hotels used were all excellnt in very different ways. All travel arrangements handled smoothly , we nevr had to rush for any of our connections. A brilliant holiday.

Very well organised. Our guide was excellent , bringing out the individual characters of each place we visited. The three Hotels used were all excellnt in very different ways. All travel arrangements handled smoothly , we nevr had to rush for any of our connections. A brilliant holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very easy to deal with , especially when I had to change my plans. Good communication thoughout.

Wilderness Scotland by TheOneAtTheBack, 1 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Cycling in the Hebrides

5 day cycling trip (plus 2 days travel) Excellent introduction to the Hebrides - wonderful opportunity to get close to the land and wildlife, while seeing the range of landscapes from Barra to Lewis. Wonderful food and accommodation - the picnics provided were sublime after hours on the bike, and considerable effort had been invested by Wildnerness Scotland to find really good hotels and restaurants. Cycling was challenging in parts ...

5 day cycling trip (plus 2 days travel) Excellent introduction to the Hebrides - wonderful opportunity to get close to the land and wildlife, while seeing the range of landscapes from Barra to Lewis. Wonderful food and accommodation - the picnics provided were sublime after hours on the bike, and considerable effort had been invested by Wildnerness Scotland to find really good hotels and restaurants. Cycling was challenging in parts for a complete beginner, but the guides were welcoming, flexible and encouraging, and nothing was ever too much trouble.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised, flexible, responsive to individual needs, with excellent knowledge of the area and wonderful guides