AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Dorset Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Dorset

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 16
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kewarra, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Galicia and Dorset - up to the usual high standard.

These are the 10th and 11th walks I have done with my wife through Walks on Foot based in Salisbury. Both were up to the usual high standard and we will almost certainly do more walks in the next few years. Even with somewhat inclement weather the walks were enjoyable - reflecting good facilities, great routes and useful information.

These are the 10th and 11th walks I have done with my wife through Walks on Foot based in Salisbury. Both were up to the usual high standard and we will almost certainly do more walks in the next few years. Even with somewhat inclement weather the walks were enjoyable - reflecting good facilities, great routes and useful information.

Rating for tour operator:

As above, we have now completed eleven walks with this operator and this year took the opportunity to visit their operational office in Salisbury. Their materials have consistently been high standard and support also. We have had only one major delay due to airline issues in the past (a decade ago in Turkey, not the fault of WoF) and WoF promptly rerouted to accommodate. We are particularly

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by A Sproule, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Idyllic countryside walking trip with excellent accommodations & food

We walked for 6 days through the Dorset countryside, with our first night in Salisbury and finishing in Lyme Regis. Each night we stayed at a B&B (the food and accommodations were universally excellent), and our luggage was transported between destinations each night such that we only had to take a day pack with us. The route was beautiful, with changing landscapes and a variety of interesting sights along the way.

We walked for 6 days through the Dorset countryside, with our first night in Salisbury and finishing in Lyme Regis. Each night we stayed at a B&B (the food and accommodations were universally excellent), and our luggage was transported between destinations each night such that we only had to take a day pack with us. The route was beautiful, with changing landscapes and a variety of interesting sights along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot offered a very friendly, personal service. We even got to meet our route specialist at the beginning of the trip in Salisbury, and were welcomed by all of the staff at the office. They were professional and well-organized with a very personal touch. It's easy to see that they put a lot of care and effort into planning their routes, choosing the best places to stay, and providing incredibly precise walking directions and support to ensure you have an enjoyable and hassle-free trip.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kate D, 20 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Thomas Hardy Way walking holiday with On Foot Holidays

8 days of fairly long walks with options for shortening the length. One rest day. Great little country pubs as overnight stays.

8 days of fairly long walks with options for shortening the length. One rest day. Great little country pubs as overnight stays.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised, prompt communicators, helpful and friendly, thorough with information beforehand and to take with you, good suggestions to make your holiday more enjoyable, staff had personal experience with our route.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Mags, 3 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful English Countryside

We did a walking holiday in Dorset. It was called In the Footsteps of Thomas Hardy. We were blessed with beautiful weather. It was a wonderful experience walking through fields of barley and wheat, through farms with sheep and cows. We crossed styles and went through gates. Because of pre existing right of way since medieval times, we were free to wander through private fields and farms. The little English villages like Cerne Abbas and Evershot ...

We did a walking holiday in Dorset. It was called In the Footsteps of Thomas Hardy. We were blessed with beautiful weather. It was a wonderful experience walking through fields of barley and wheat, through farms with sheep and cows. We crossed styles and went through gates. Because of pre existing right of way since medieval times, we were free to wander through private fields and farms. The little English villages like Cerne Abbas and Evershot were delightful.

Rating for tour operator:

A friend of mine told me about On Foot holidays, she had a very good experience with them in 2017, so we booked with them. They were fantastic from the word GO. We found them to be very helpful and friendly. They sent us a package before we left home with excellent notes and maps etc.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Stina, 5 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A memorable walk in Dorset

Six Norwegians, did this walk in six days. Our average age 71, and we had no problems in fulfilling this walk. Beautiful landscapes, nice and charming hotels/inns, excellent food and good beds !

Six Norwegians, did this walk in six days. Our average age 71, and we had no problems in fulfilling this walk. Beautiful landscapes, nice and charming hotels/inns, excellent food and good beds !

Rating for tour operator:

A representative from OnFoot met us the first day in Salisbury. It made us feel very welcome. The walking descriptions and maps detailed and easy to follow.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Peter T, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

A stunning walk through quiet and beautiful Dorset

We walked from Salisbury to Lyme Regis through lovely Spring countyside, wild garlic and bluebells lined the lanes and old drover’s routes we were direct along with easy to flooow maps and instructions, the choice of accommodation was great. The hotels were welcoming and dog friendly. The food and quality of accommodation was excellent.

We walked from Salisbury to Lyme Regis through lovely Spring countyside, wild garlic and bluebells lined the lanes and old drover’s routes we were direct along with easy to flooow maps and instructions, the choice of accommodation was great. The hotels were welcoming and dog friendly. The food and quality of accommodation was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot provide excellent walking notes, GPS flies and notes on the sights and villages and towns on the route, they couldn’t have been more helpful in sorting out our walk and facilitating the trip with our dog.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Ken In Moraga, 10 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walking Tour from Salisbury to Lyme Regis

Our walking tour took us through lovely countryside, interesting old villages and beautiful coastal areas. All of our lodgings were very good or excellent. The daily trail directions were not difficult at all to follow but having a cell phone with a compass app is or a compass is a must. Several times we took the shorter options which the directions offer. This is the third walking holiday we have done with On Foot and we heartily recommend them...

Our walking tour took us through lovely countryside, interesting old villages and beautiful coastal areas. All of our lodgings were very good or excellent. The daily trail directions were not difficult at all to follow but having a cell phone with a compass app is or a compass is a must. Several times we took the shorter options which the directions offer. This is the third walking holiday we have done with On Foot and we heartily recommend them.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy to work with, friendly and very responsive.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kenny Kookaburra, 28 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

More difficult than understood in advance

Loved the Dorset scenery, villages, etc. All beautiful. However the weather had been damp early, so the cow paddocks were extremely difficult to walk in. Some of the hills (eg Dorset Cap) were extremely difficult to climb in the mud. The climb along the supposed "carriage track" into Shaftesbury on the first day was so hard, since the track has been washed away! Several tracks were very overgrown. We wonder if the organisers have reviewed the ...

Loved the Dorset scenery, villages, etc. All beautiful. However the weather had been damp early, so the cow paddocks were extremely difficult to walk in. Some of the hills (eg Dorset Cap) were extremely difficult to climb in the mud. The climb along the supposed "carriage track" into Shaftesbury on the first day was so hard, since the track has been washed away! Several tracks were very overgrown. We wonder if the organisers have reviewed the tracks, signposts, etc, in recent times! We had difficulty following some of the instructions. On several occasions, we had to double back once we realised we were "lost". This added distance and time to the walk. On day 5, we started at Mapperton, tried to follow directions, then after an hour, found ourselves walking back into Mapperton! We were advised by the taxi drivers that most people do NOT walk the whole distance of the tour each day, instead they take the shorter options, for the same reasons we did. The last day, coastal route to Lyme Regis, is virtually impossible for people like us. Our young fit daughter walked with us on 1 day, from Cerne Abbas to Evershot, and even she found it difficult in the conditions.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly when we met them before the walk. Didn't explain the difficulties nearly enough.

On Foot Holidays responded to this review on 07 Jun 2016:

Hi - you had rotten weather and that didn't help. We re-walk all our walks each year to check path condition and the quality of the directions, so that shouldn't have been the reason - in fact our Harriet walked the whole route this spring. The route is rated easy-medium, and maybe this is a little light. We will review this (together will all our routes) in the coming months in time for next year's offering. For now, we are sorry it didn't work for you, and will elarn from this.

On Foot Holidays responded to this review on 07 Jun 2016:

We will look at the grading of this walk for next year and are very sorry that you felt wrongly advised. The general reaction to the walk has been very positive, but we accept that it is not a walk for everyone.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Boston Hiker, 24 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

An outstanding experience.

A self guided tour of SW UK. Excellent hiking terrain through rolling English countryside, quaint small towns, and friendly B&Bs. The latter were all outstanding and two cases exceptional accommodations. The tour was memorable, not only because of the terrain, but the unpredictable English weather. It led us to laughter as we'd switch from winter gear to summer gear in the span of ten minutes. Snow and driving rain to sunshine.

A self guided tour of SW UK. Excellent hiking terrain through rolling English countryside, quaint small towns, and friendly B&Bs. The latter were all outstanding and two cases exceptional accommodations. The tour was memorable, not only because of the terrain, but the unpredictable English weather. It led us to laughter as we'd switch from winter gear to summer gear in the span of ten minutes. Snow and driving rain to sunshine.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays has been, through hikes that my family and I have taken (Italy twice, Croatia, Spain, French Alps, and now the UK) an outstanding organization. They are professional, caring, organized, detail oriented, and address issues if they were to occur. To get a call letting us know that the B&B operator was going to be 30 minutes late and that they had made arrangements for us, was just outstanding. The self guided tour documents are clear, accurate, and very helpful. I will continue with On Foot Holidays for my next set of hikes. An outstanding organization.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Max , 16 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Mr

A great walk though a beautiful part of the country (especially in spring when the bluebells are out). Lovely scenery and pretty villages and some interesting old buildings. Good accomodation.

A great walk though a beautiful part of the country (especially in spring when the bluebells are out). Lovely scenery and pretty villages and some interesting old buildings. Good accomodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Top quality walking instructions, maps and local information, provided by knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff.