AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Dorset Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Dorset

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 25
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Jill, 27 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Peaceful and beautiful

It was a beautiful walk--being out in the country with the animals and crops, walking through green fields and hopping (not really hopping . . .) over styles. The accommodations were delightful, and the food along the way was delicious. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

It was a beautiful walk--being out in the country with the animals and crops, walking through green fields and hopping (not really hopping . . .) over styles. The accommodations were delightful, and the food along the way was delicious. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

The On Foot folks were extremely prompt in replying to our emails--answering questions as well as anticipating some (ie Covid testing in the UK). We stopped by their office in Salisbury and had a very nice chat and a cup of tea with Mary. It was fun talking to her and seeing their headquarters. They were all very helpful and gracious.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Dennis from Streatham, 23 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Energetic days; relaxing evenings.

80 miles walking in 6 days in the Dorset country side, finishing on the Jurassic Coast. Comfortable accommodation with good, sometimes excellent evening meals.

80 miles walking in 6 days in the Dorset country side, finishing on the Jurassic Coast. Comfortable accommodation with good, sometimes excellent evening meals.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and personable, a good combination. Willing to help and advise when required, but levae you to get on with it if you knwo what you are doing.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Blue from San Francisco, 23 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Another Perfect Walking Adventure Thanks to On Foot Holidays

Walked the Dorset tour in July of this summer. Was completely worth going through all of the quarantine and testing restrictions required to travel during these pandemic days. Continue to be astonished at the beauty of the countryside and the pride my teen and I felt when accomplishing these long and often solitary walks through farms and forests was incredible. The food and welcoming atmosphere and luxurious rooms at Plush and also Evershot ...

Walked the Dorset tour in July of this summer. Was completely worth going through all of the quarantine and testing restrictions required to travel during these pandemic days. Continue to be astonished at the beauty of the countryside and the pride my teen and I felt when accomplishing these long and often solitary walks through farms and forests was incredible. The food and welcoming atmosphere and luxurious rooms at Plush and also Evershot were just magnificent. Every detail and every step is carefully planned out for you by the great Harriet and Simon and we were so grateful for all of their work to create and upkeep this adventure. Thank you for another trip with memories we truly treasure.

Rating for tour operator:

So organized! So detailed! Always responsive, caring and they have an excellent sense of humor, too. Couldn't be better!

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Parke, 4 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays in Dorset - absolutely brilliant - couldn’t have been better

We have walked with at least 5 walking tour operators and On Foot was far and away the best. The accommodations and the food were both outstanding. And the directions were simple and comprehensive (compass bearings and GPX file optional)

We have walked with at least 5 walking tour operators and On Foot was far and away the best. The accommodations and the food were both outstanding. And the directions were simple and comprehensive (compass bearings and GPX file optional)

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful and flexible

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kenthappytripper, 2 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday across Dorset to the coast

Brilliant five day walk from Tisbury to Lyme Regis. Beautiful scenery, quiet country lanes and miles of walking along the Wessex ridgeway with amazing views in all directions. Last day along the coastal path, hilly but stunningly beautiful. Great accomodation and food along the way.

Brilliant five day walk from Tisbury to Lyme Regis. Beautiful scenery, quiet country lanes and miles of walking along the Wessex ridgeway with amazing views in all directions. Last day along the coastal path, hilly but stunningly beautiful. Great accomodation and food along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail by On Foot, the walking route details are incredibly thorough and helpful so there is no excuse for getting lost! Accomodation choices were perfect, and carefully selected. On Foot were readily accessible when needed. Lots of communication before the holiday. We felt very well looked after in every respect. This was our second holiday with On Foot and can't wait to do another.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Philip I, 27 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Superbly organised holiday in beautiful, bucolic surroundings

A wonderful holiday walking through the Dorset countryside. The route had been carefully planned such that we barely encountered anyone and were able to enjoy the wildlife and scenery for ourselves. Everything had been taken care of so that we could enjoy our wonderful surroundings, without worrying about where we would be eating dinner, spending the night and whether our luggage had arrived! Perfect!

A wonderful holiday walking through the Dorset countryside. The route had been carefully planned such that we barely encountered anyone and were able to enjoy the wildlife and scenery for ourselves. Everything had been taken care of so that we could enjoy our wonderful surroundings, without worrying about where we would be eating dinner, spending the night and whether our luggage had arrived! Perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble for them. We felt we had a very personal service and that, had we needed to, they would have been there to offer support and help.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by CS, 24 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Invigorating and fun walking holiday

We walked OnFoot's 7-night 'In the footsteps of Thomas Hardy' trail in Dorset at the start of July. Managed two days without rain, which was a bonus! The walks were beautiful - green rolling hills and flower-filled meadows - and the distances varied from day-to-day so even we geriatric 60+s could keep going. The accommodation was very well chosen, and we had some of the best food we've had on a holiday like this. The whole adventure was first rate...

We walked OnFoot's 7-night 'In the footsteps of Thomas Hardy' trail in Dorset at the start of July. Managed two days without rain, which was a bonus! The walks were beautiful - green rolling hills and flower-filled meadows - and the distances varied from day-to-day so even we geriatric 60+s could keep going. The accommodation was very well chosen, and we had some of the best food we've had on a holiday like this. The whole adventure was first rate.

Rating for tour operator:

Whoever you speak to or email at OnFoot they are always friendly, helpful and approachable. And if the person you speak to first hasn't walked a particular route, they quickly put you through to someone who has - so all advice and opinions are given from first hand experience. They are simply outstanding.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Jackie , 2 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Dorset with On Foot Holidays

We had a wonderful four days walking (self guided) in stages from Salisbury to Lyme Regis, with our suitcases taken from hotel to hotel. . The walks were really varied and largely off the beaten track. And through such rolling beautiful Dorset countryside, ranging from woods and meadows, to quaint thatched house villages to medieval churches and the dramatic South coast cliff path. We had some amazing food along the way. We were new to walking ...

We had a wonderful four days walking (self guided) in stages from Salisbury to Lyme Regis, with our suitcases taken from hotel to hotel. . The walks were really varied and largely off the beaten track. And through such rolling beautiful Dorset countryside, ranging from woods and meadows, to quaint thatched house villages to medieval churches and the dramatic South coast cliff path. We had some amazing food along the way. We were new to walking holidays and On Foot Holidays has hooked us.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays had prepared everything -we had really detailed walking notes and maps, hotels and cabs were booked, train timetables provided and they gave us a wealth of information about the places and areas we were visiting. And practical information in advance. Restaurants were booked and recommended (finale at Mark Hix Oyster and Fish House) And all done with smiling enthusiasm and utter attention to detail. They made us feel relaxed and confident, nothing left to chance.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by happy hikers , 27 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

fantastic walk through Dorset

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very ...

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very difficult - but great excercise ! and great fun

Rating for tour operator:

nothing was too much trouble. we had a burst tyre on our journey so were 3 hours delayed - but somebody waited for us - then we discovered we had forgotten the holiday notes - complete with directions and details of all the bookings ! again - more printed off for us without fuss. very helpful and great walks

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kewarra, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Galicia and Dorset - up to the usual high standard.

These are the 10th and 11th walks I have done with my wife through Walks on Foot based in Salisbury. Both were up to the usual high standard and we will almost certainly do more walks in the next few years. Even with somewhat inclement weather the walks were enjoyable - reflecting good facilities, great routes and useful information.

These are the 10th and 11th walks I have done with my wife through Walks on Foot based in Salisbury. Both were up to the usual high standard and we will almost certainly do more walks in the next few years. Even with somewhat inclement weather the walks were enjoyable - reflecting good facilities, great routes and useful information.

Rating for tour operator:

As above, we have now completed eleven walks with this operator and this year took the opportunity to visit their operational office in Salisbury. Their materials have consistently been high standard and support also. We have had only one major delay due to airline issues in the past (a decade ago in Turkey, not the fault of WoF) and WoF promptly rerouted to accommodate. We are particularly