AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Dorset Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Dorset

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 21
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 23
Reviews Accepted: 23
Reviews Rejected: 0
23 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kenthappytripper, 2 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday across Dorset to the coast

Brilliant five day walk from Tisbury to Lyme Regis. Beautiful scenery, quiet country lanes and miles of walking along the Wessex ridgeway with amazing views in all directions. Last day along the coastal path, hilly but stunningly beautiful. Great accomodation and food along the way.

Brilliant five day walk from Tisbury to Lyme Regis. Beautiful scenery, quiet country lanes and miles of walking along the Wessex ridgeway with amazing views in all directions. Last day along the coastal path, hilly but stunningly beautiful. Great accomodation and food along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail by On Foot, the walking route details are incredibly thorough and helpful so there is no excuse for getting lost! Accomodation choices were perfect, and carefully selected. On Foot were readily accessible when needed. Lots of communication before the holiday. We felt very well looked after in every respect. This was our second holiday with On Foot and can't wait to do another.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Philip I, 27 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Superbly organised holiday in beautiful, bucolic surroundings

A wonderful holiday walking through the Dorset countryside. The route had been carefully planned such that we barely encountered anyone and were able to enjoy the wildlife and scenery for ourselves. Everything had been taken care of so that we could enjoy our wonderful surroundings, without worrying about where we would be eating dinner, spending the night and whether our luggage had arrived! Perfect!

A wonderful holiday walking through the Dorset countryside. The route had been carefully planned such that we barely encountered anyone and were able to enjoy the wildlife and scenery for ourselves. Everything had been taken care of so that we could enjoy our wonderful surroundings, without worrying about where we would be eating dinner, spending the night and whether our luggage had arrived! Perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble for them. We felt we had a very personal service and that, had we needed to, they would have been there to offer support and help.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by CS, 24 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Invigorating and fun walking holiday

We walked OnFoot's 7-night 'In the footsteps of Thomas Hardy' trail in Dorset at the start of July. Managed two days without rain, which was a bonus! The walks were beautiful - green rolling hills and flower-filled meadows - and the distances varied from day-to-day so even we geriatric 60+s could keep going. The accommodation was very well chosen, and we had some of the best food we've had on a holiday like this. The whole adventure was first rate...

We walked OnFoot's 7-night 'In the footsteps of Thomas Hardy' trail in Dorset at the start of July. Managed two days without rain, which was a bonus! The walks were beautiful - green rolling hills and flower-filled meadows - and the distances varied from day-to-day so even we geriatric 60+s could keep going. The accommodation was very well chosen, and we had some of the best food we've had on a holiday like this. The whole adventure was first rate.

Rating for tour operator:

Whoever you speak to or email at OnFoot they are always friendly, helpful and approachable. And if the person you speak to first hasn't walked a particular route, they quickly put you through to someone who has - so all advice and opinions are given from first hand experience. They are simply outstanding.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Jackie , 2 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Dorset with On Foot Holidays

We had a wonderful four days walking (self guided) in stages from Salisbury to Lyme Regis, with our suitcases taken from hotel to hotel. . The walks were really varied and largely off the beaten track. And through such rolling beautiful Dorset countryside, ranging from woods and meadows, to quaint thatched house villages to medieval churches and the dramatic South coast cliff path. We had some amazing food along the way. We were new to walking ...

We had a wonderful four days walking (self guided) in stages from Salisbury to Lyme Regis, with our suitcases taken from hotel to hotel. . The walks were really varied and largely off the beaten track. And through such rolling beautiful Dorset countryside, ranging from woods and meadows, to quaint thatched house villages to medieval churches and the dramatic South coast cliff path. We had some amazing food along the way. We were new to walking holidays and On Foot Holidays has hooked us.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays had prepared everything -we had really detailed walking notes and maps, hotels and cabs were booked, train timetables provided and they gave us a wealth of information about the places and areas we were visiting. And practical information in advance. Restaurants were booked and recommended (finale at Mark Hix Oyster and Fish House) And all done with smiling enthusiasm and utter attention to detail. They made us feel relaxed and confident, nothing left to chance.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by happy hikers , 27 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

fantastic walk through Dorset

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very ...

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very difficult - but great excercise ! and great fun

Rating for tour operator:

nothing was too much trouble. we had a burst tyre on our journey so were 3 hours delayed - but somebody waited for us - then we discovered we had forgotten the holiday notes - complete with directions and details of all the bookings ! again - more printed off for us without fuss. very helpful and great walks

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kewarra, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Galicia and Dorset - up to the usual high standard.

These are the 10th and 11th walks I have done with my wife through Walks on Foot based in Salisbury. Both were up to the usual high standard and we will almost certainly do more walks in the next few years. Even with somewhat inclement weather the walks were enjoyable - reflecting good facilities, great routes and useful information.

These are the 10th and 11th walks I have done with my wife through Walks on Foot based in Salisbury. Both were up to the usual high standard and we will almost certainly do more walks in the next few years. Even with somewhat inclement weather the walks were enjoyable - reflecting good facilities, great routes and useful information.

Rating for tour operator:

As above, we have now completed eleven walks with this operator and this year took the opportunity to visit their operational office in Salisbury. Their materials have consistently been high standard and support also. We have had only one major delay due to airline issues in the past (a decade ago in Turkey, not the fault of WoF) and WoF promptly rerouted to accommodate. We are particularly

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by A Sproule, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Idyllic countryside walking trip with excellent accommodations & food

We walked for 6 days through the Dorset countryside, with our first night in Salisbury and finishing in Lyme Regis. Each night we stayed at a B&B (the food and accommodations were universally excellent), and our luggage was transported between destinations each night such that we only had to take a day pack with us. The route was beautiful, with changing landscapes and a variety of interesting sights along the way.

We walked for 6 days through the Dorset countryside, with our first night in Salisbury and finishing in Lyme Regis. Each night we stayed at a B&B (the food and accommodations were universally excellent), and our luggage was transported between destinations each night such that we only had to take a day pack with us. The route was beautiful, with changing landscapes and a variety of interesting sights along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot offered a very friendly, personal service. We even got to meet our route specialist at the beginning of the trip in Salisbury, and were welcomed by all of the staff at the office. They were professional and well-organized with a very personal touch. It's easy to see that they put a lot of care and effort into planning their routes, choosing the best places to stay, and providing incredibly precise walking directions and support to ensure you have an enjoyable and hassle-free trip.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kate D, 20 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Thomas Hardy Way walking holiday with On Foot Holidays

8 days of fairly long walks with options for shortening the length. One rest day. Great little country pubs as overnight stays.

8 days of fairly long walks with options for shortening the length. One rest day. Great little country pubs as overnight stays.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised, prompt communicators, helpful and friendly, thorough with information beforehand and to take with you, good suggestions to make your holiday more enjoyable, staff had personal experience with our route.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Mags, 3 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful English Countryside

We did a walking holiday in Dorset. It was called In the Footsteps of Thomas Hardy. We were blessed with beautiful weather. It was a wonderful experience walking through fields of barley and wheat, through farms with sheep and cows. We crossed styles and went through gates. Because of pre existing right of way since medieval times, we were free to wander through private fields and farms. The little English villages like Cerne Abbas and Evershot ...

We did a walking holiday in Dorset. It was called In the Footsteps of Thomas Hardy. We were blessed with beautiful weather. It was a wonderful experience walking through fields of barley and wheat, through farms with sheep and cows. We crossed styles and went through gates. Because of pre existing right of way since medieval times, we were free to wander through private fields and farms. The little English villages like Cerne Abbas and Evershot were delightful.

Rating for tour operator:

A friend of mine told me about On Foot holidays, she had a very good experience with them in 2017, so we booked with them. They were fantastic from the word GO. We found them to be very helpful and friendly. They sent us a package before we left home with excellent notes and maps etc.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Stina, 5 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A memorable walk in Dorset

Six Norwegians, did this walk in six days. Our average age 71, and we had no problems in fulfilling this walk. Beautiful landscapes, nice and charming hotels/inns, excellent food and good beds !

Six Norwegians, did this walk in six days. Our average age 71, and we had no problems in fulfilling this walk. Beautiful landscapes, nice and charming hotels/inns, excellent food and good beds !

Rating for tour operator:

A representative from OnFoot met us the first day in Salisbury. It made us feel very welcome. The walking descriptions and maps detailed and easy to follow.