AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Dorset Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Dorset

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 30
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 32
Reviews Accepted: 32
Reviews Rejected: 0
32 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by SNBVT, 28 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Excellent self-guided walking tour in Dorset, UK

We had a lovely 6 day, 7 night self-guided inn to inn walking tour in Dorset, UK in September 2022. The countryside and villages were beautiful and full of history. We began the walk in Tisbury and continued on until we reached the coast where we relaxed for a couple days following our walk.

We had a lovely 6 day, 7 night self-guided inn to inn walking tour in Dorset, UK in September 2022. The countryside and villages were beautiful and full of history. We began the walk in Tisbury and continued on until we reached the coast where we relaxed for a couple days following our walk.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays handled all the arrangements for lodging and dinners, baggage transfers and, taxi transfers. They provided all information related to travel (getting to the start of the walk, transfers back to the airport, etc). They gave us a very thorough history of the areas we walked. The route notes were excellent and often suggested in the notes places to stop for coffee or a picnic lunch. On Foot also provided information on restaurants, shops, tipping, local customs, etc.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by PamRosenthal, 20 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lovely walk through Dorset, even with uncertain weather.

On Foot's Dorset holiday has delightful views, lovely countryside, friendly people, and interesting stops, sometimes at historical and literary venues (Dorset is Thomas Hardy country, and Lyme Regis has all kinds of literary associations including Jane Austen). The beginning, at Salisbury, gives you time to check out that magnificent cathedral, also a plus. But there were also happy surprises, like Bridport's lovely Georgian architecture. It's ...

On Foot's Dorset holiday has delightful views, lovely countryside, friendly people, and interesting stops, sometimes at historical and literary venues (Dorset is Thomas Hardy country, and Lyme Regis has all kinds of literary associations including Jane Austen). The beginning, at Salisbury, gives you time to check out that magnificent cathedral, also a plus. But there were also happy surprises, like Bridport's lovely Georgian architecture. It's England, though, so the weather is... well, English, and we got caught in quite a downpour our first day out. Luckily, our wonderful on-the-ground representative kept in touch with us, and helped us shorten that walk, as well as making other useful tweaks to our itinerary on the coming days (we're in our late 70s and this is our first hike since before the pandemic). So it all turned out terrific, culminating in sun and clear skies on our last two walks, and we would recommend this holiday (and On Foot Holidays) to all hikers. Note also that the food is wonderful at the Acorn Inn at Evershot, and we loved our spacious and super-comfortable room at the Bridge Hotel in Bridport.

Rating for tour operator:

So smart, helpful, and friendly, both during the planning stage and during the trip itself. Thank you so much, Harriet!

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Ludevine, 18 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Dorset - from pastural delight to the stuning Jurassic Coast..

Everything was absolutely perfect. The stunning walks which led me through the most amazingly gorgeous countryside. The small hamlets with houses draped in roses, to the welcoming inns with their well appointed rooms that served up delicious meals. I saw places that most people would not be able to see because of their remoteness and just plain not knowing that they are out there. The walking route was truly magnificent. Could not ask for ...

Everything was absolutely perfect. The stunning walks which led me through the most amazingly gorgeous countryside. The small hamlets with houses draped in roses, to the welcoming inns with their well appointed rooms that served up delicious meals. I saw places that most people would not be able to see because of their remoteness and just plain not knowing that they are out there. The walking route was truly magnificent. Could not ask for a better experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The communication with On Foot Holiday was as smooth as anything I have ever experienced. They got back to me with inquiries large and small in a timely manner. The route notes were extraordinary, mind you, I am a first time walker plus I did this solo yet managed never to get lost. I credit this to the clarity of OFH's directions. Very little road walking. Just an extremely well mapped out route taking me through spectacular countryside. The inns chosen by OFH were absolutely spot on.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Andrew, 29 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Discovering Dorset

Really enjoyable holiday walking through beautiful countryside with quaint villages and worthwhile places of interest.

Really enjoyable holiday walking through beautiful countryside with quaint villages and worthwhile places of interest.

Rating for tour operator:

Good support from booking the holiday, and throughout the trip. Responded to questions very quickly and did their best to find a suitable solution. Good itinerary staying at interesting places and excellent route directions. Took safety very seriously and offered lots of sensible advice.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Steve the walker, 11 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A perfectly planned walk in quiet countryside

A 70 mile, six day walk across rural Dorset, using minor public footpaths throughout and staying in quality pub / B&B accommodation en route. All aspects of the holiday were meticulously organised by On Foot Holidays, with nothing whatsoever going wrong. The route was broadly from the NE to SW corners of Dorset & rural throughout. The route was set to enable us to visit all the cultural sites in the locality of the walk, increasing the interest ...

A 70 mile, six day walk across rural Dorset, using minor public footpaths throughout and staying in quality pub / B&B accommodation en route. All aspects of the holiday were meticulously organised by On Foot Holidays, with nothing whatsoever going wrong. The route was broadly from the NE to SW corners of Dorset & rural throughout. The route was set to enable us to visit all the cultural sites in the locality of the walk, increasing the interest and diversity. We also encountered numerous references to Thomas Hardy, reflected in the walk title ‘In the Footsteps of Thomas Hardy’.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife & I are regular walkers of long distance paths. When we walk on major routes (eg South West Coast Path) we arrange everything ourselves. On this occasion, we wanted to walk in unknown (for us) rural Dorset., so decided it would be better to enlist the help of a tour operator. We couldn’t have found one better than On Foot Holidays. Accommodation, luggage transfer, route maps & directions were all excellent. Even better was the walk route. There is no way a stranger to the area could have devised such a complex and interesting walk themselves. It was over relatively minor public footpaths, many of which were unsigned. A real testament to the effort put in by On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Jill, 27 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Peaceful and beautiful

It was a beautiful walk--being out in the country with the animals and crops, walking through green fields and hopping (not really hopping . . .) over styles. The accommodations were delightful, and the food along the way was delicious. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

It was a beautiful walk--being out in the country with the animals and crops, walking through green fields and hopping (not really hopping . . .) over styles. The accommodations were delightful, and the food along the way was delicious. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

The On Foot folks were extremely prompt in replying to our emails--answering questions as well as anticipating some (ie Covid testing in the UK). We stopped by their office in Salisbury and had a very nice chat and a cup of tea with Mary. It was fun talking to her and seeing their headquarters. They were all very helpful and gracious.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Dennis from Streatham, 23 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Energetic days; relaxing evenings.

80 miles walking in 6 days in the Dorset country side, finishing on the Jurassic Coast. Comfortable accommodation with good, sometimes excellent evening meals.

80 miles walking in 6 days in the Dorset country side, finishing on the Jurassic Coast. Comfortable accommodation with good, sometimes excellent evening meals.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and personable, a good combination. Willing to help and advise when required, but levae you to get on with it if you knwo what you are doing.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Blue from San Francisco, 23 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Another Perfect Walking Adventure Thanks to On Foot Holidays

Walked the Dorset tour in July of this summer. Was completely worth going through all of the quarantine and testing restrictions required to travel during these pandemic days. Continue to be astonished at the beauty of the countryside and the pride my teen and I felt when accomplishing these long and often solitary walks through farms and forests was incredible. The food and welcoming atmosphere and luxurious rooms at Plush and also Evershot ...

Walked the Dorset tour in July of this summer. Was completely worth going through all of the quarantine and testing restrictions required to travel during these pandemic days. Continue to be astonished at the beauty of the countryside and the pride my teen and I felt when accomplishing these long and often solitary walks through farms and forests was incredible. The food and welcoming atmosphere and luxurious rooms at Plush and also Evershot were just magnificent. Every detail and every step is carefully planned out for you by the great Harriet and Simon and we were so grateful for all of their work to create and upkeep this adventure. Thank you for another trip with memories we truly treasure.

Rating for tour operator:

So organized! So detailed! Always responsive, caring and they have an excellent sense of humor, too. Couldn't be better!

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Parke, 4 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays in Dorset - absolutely brilliant - couldn’t have been better

We have walked with at least 5 walking tour operators and On Foot was far and away the best. The accommodations and the food were both outstanding. And the directions were simple and comprehensive (compass bearings and GPX file optional)

We have walked with at least 5 walking tour operators and On Foot was far and away the best. The accommodations and the food were both outstanding. And the directions were simple and comprehensive (compass bearings and GPX file optional)

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful and flexible

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Kenthappytripper, 2 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday across Dorset to the coast

Brilliant five day walk from Tisbury to Lyme Regis. Beautiful scenery, quiet country lanes and miles of walking along the Wessex ridgeway with amazing views in all directions. Last day along the coastal path, hilly but stunningly beautiful. Great accomodation and food along the way.

Brilliant five day walk from Tisbury to Lyme Regis. Beautiful scenery, quiet country lanes and miles of walking along the Wessex ridgeway with amazing views in all directions. Last day along the coastal path, hilly but stunningly beautiful. Great accomodation and food along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail by On Foot, the walking route details are incredibly thorough and helpful so there is no excuse for getting lost! Accomodation choices were perfect, and carefully selected. On Foot were readily accessible when needed. Lots of communication before the holiday. We felt very well looked after in every respect. This was our second holiday with On Foot and can't wait to do another.