AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Devon Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Devon

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 11
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 11
Reviews Accepted: 11
Reviews Rejected: 0
11 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Devon by Janet , 13 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Delightful Devon

My Husband and I walked in Devon for 4 days. We are not experienced hikers but keen walkers. The route was varied, interesting and challenging enough so we felt we deserved the terrific hospitality at the end of each day. All the accommodation was comfortable and quirky- places we would never have found on our own. The path directions were correct at all times- we only used the paper version. The weather was amazing.

My Husband and I walked in Devon for 4 days. We are not experienced hikers but keen walkers. The route was varied, interesting and challenging enough so we felt we deserved the terrific hospitality at the end of each day. All the accommodation was comfortable and quirky- places we would never have found on our own. The path directions were correct at all times- we only used the paper version. The weather was amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays came up with the goods again. My Daughter and I walked Tuscany in 2016 with this wonderful company. They were very efficient in every aspect down to a lovely taxi driver who met our train and took us to our starting village. Very friendly.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by Josh, 8 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tale of two rivers

Hiking through Devon arranged bo On Foot Holidays

Hiking through Devon arranged bo On Foot Holidays

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays provided superb service and we had a great time.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by Real Ale Walker , 28 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Devon

A walking holiday from Exeter to Dartmouth over six nights. On Foot arranged nightly accommodation, packed lunches and onward transport of luggage.

A walking holiday from Exeter to Dartmouth over six nights. On Foot arranged nightly accommodation, packed lunches and onward transport of luggage.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot was extremely professional in their dealings with me compared to similar operators. E mails answered promptly. Accommodation options offered. Pre-walk information (maps, info sheets and notes) arrived on time and was very professionally produced. Everything worked fine during the holiday.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by Jim, 25 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walking holiday in Devon

We arranged a seven night tour of the Tale of Two Rivers walk with On Foot Holidays in August. Very good communication from On Foot prior to the walk, and the walking directions as well as the other information in the Walker’s pack were very detailed and helpful. The walk itself was splendid; gorgeous scenery of south Devon, from the wooded Teign valley to the more stark hills of Dartmoor and the rolling hills and pastures of the South Hams...

We arranged a seven night tour of the Tale of Two Rivers walk with On Foot Holidays in August. Very good communication from On Foot prior to the walk, and the walking directions as well as the other information in the Walker’s pack were very detailed and helpful. The walk itself was splendid; gorgeous scenery of south Devon, from the wooded Teign valley to the more stark hills of Dartmoor and the rolling hills and pastures of the South Hams. We all thoroughly enjoyed the walks, which were fairly tough but not strenuous. Accommodation was also good, with cozy rooms and hearty pub fare for dinner each night. Overall a wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was very communicative up to the Hike and provided clear and concise directions, and were also helpful in arranging dinner reservations and other logistical necessities.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by ash, 28 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Four tales of two rivers in Devon

From Australia, we arranged a six day Dartmoor hiking trip with On Foot Holidays. The communications beforehand were clear and responses were prompt. The walking instructions and maps were detailed and accurate, the accomodation and baggage handling excellent, including provision for a vegan and the weather (not guaranteed by On Foot Holidays) was ideal. On the last day of our walk, one of the team slipped and broke her wrist. Returning to the ...

From Australia, we arranged a six day Dartmoor hiking trip with On Foot Holidays. The communications beforehand were clear and responses were prompt. The walking instructions and maps were detailed and accurate, the accomodation and baggage handling excellent, including provision for a vegan and the weather (not guaranteed by On Foot Holidays) was ideal. On the last day of our walk, one of the team slipped and broke her wrist. Returning to the accomodation, the innkeeper spent half a day ferrying us to various hospitals, On Foot was prompt in their response and support and whilst not an ideal end to the hike, it allowed us to feel confident in taking on a more challenging walk in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

From a range of self guided UK walking tours, we chose On Foot Holidays for their prompt, straightfoward and friendly responses to our initial questions, reasonable pricing in addition to the location and flexibility, timing and accomodation. Details for emergency support were clear and thorough and the walks themselves were terrific, providing a mix of moors and valley walks, local hamlets and villages with aspects of Devon country life that only the locals would be familiar with.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by Barb, 20 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Devon Hike!

My sister and I booked the Devon walking tour in May and worked with Harriet and others at On Foot Holidays. We were delighted beyond belief - lovely scenery, perfect accommodations, good food and wonderful people!

My sister and I booked the Devon walking tour in May and worked with Harriet and others at On Foot Holidays. We were delighted beyond belief - lovely scenery, perfect accommodations, good food and wonderful people!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot staff were super accommodating, very detailed and replied to any query in a timely manner. I even spoke with them on the phone and they couldn’t have been more friendly and kind.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by From SF, 24 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Devonshire Walking Holiday

Perfectly organized and a marvelous experience...no detail was overlooked...thank you for the experience of a lifetime!

Perfectly organized and a marvelous experience...no detail was overlooked...thank you for the experience of a lifetime!

Rating for tour operator:

Fabulously attentive and organized!

On Foot Holidays - Devon by JR, 18 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A walk through beauty

The Tale of two rivers walk is a lovely combination of dramatic moorland and sleepy river valleys. We had beautiful weather and the service was from OnFoot was attentive but not intrusive.

The Tale of two rivers walk is a lovely combination of dramatic moorland and sleepy river valleys. We had beautiful weather and the service was from OnFoot was attentive but not intrusive.

Rating for tour operator:

They responded very quickly to any questions and provided very friendly and efficient service.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by Jill, 24 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Everything We Hoped For!

Everyone in the family (teenagers included!) agreed it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. We got lucky with the weather - seven days of perfect walking weather in England in June. No small feat. The walking route was a lovely combination of fields, moors, woods and small towns, and the beginning and end points were locations we could have spent a few extra days exploring. Every day we started with a huge breakfast, and then set ...

Everyone in the family (teenagers included!) agreed it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. We got lucky with the weather - seven days of perfect walking weather in England in June. No small feat. The walking route was a lovely combination of fields, moors, woods and small towns, and the beginning and end points were locations we could have spent a few extra days exploring. Every day we started with a huge breakfast, and then set out on our route for the day. It was an ideal vacation for us - surrounded by nature, active and challenging, but with a shower and fabulous pub meal awaiting us at the end. It was a luxury to focus on the countryside and our hiking, not the logistics of it all. We would do it again, and will.

Rating for tour operator:

Honestly, this was one of the best companies I've dealt with in a long time, and I don't say that lightly. They responded to my questions promptly, designed an outstanding route with shortening options, followed up with excellent trip materials (maps, directions, tourist attractions, history), offered advice and support for the trip, and solicited honest feedback afterwards. They PAID ATTENTION TO THE DETAILS. I find that rare these days, and it's critical to the success of a trip like this. I booked this trip with On Foot Holidays based on the personal recommendation of a friend who had used them before and still does. I would highly recommend On Foot Holidays, without caveat or reservation.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by JustRetiring, 23 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking on Dartmoor with Uncle Tom Cobley and all

This was a brilliantly designed and varied 7 day walk in south Devon, across the eastern fringes of Dartmoor, through quaint South Hams villages and ending up by the sea in history-laden Dartmouth. Too many highlights to mention here, but if you can do this walk in September, make sure you spend the second Tuesday of that month in Widecombe-in-the-Moor, at the age-old Widecombe Fair. Tom Cobley still rides his old grey mare there....

This was a brilliantly designed and varied 7 day walk in south Devon, across the eastern fringes of Dartmoor, through quaint South Hams villages and ending up by the sea in history-laden Dartmouth. Too many highlights to mention here, but if you can do this walk in September, make sure you spend the second Tuesday of that month in Widecombe-in-the-Moor, at the age-old Widecombe Fair. Tom Cobley still rides his old grey mare there....

Rating for tour operator:

It is impossible to fault On Foot Holidays. The whole holiday experience with them was a delight. Great customer service, detailed and accurate daily walking notes, excellent B&B choices, superbly varied route and always available if needed.