AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Hadrians Wall Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Hadrians Wall

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 41
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 42
Reviews Accepted: 42
Reviews Rejected: 0
42 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrians Wall by AllyM, 22 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful self-guided walking holiday

We had a fabulous few days' walking along the middle section of Hadrian's Wall.

We had a fabulous few days' walking along the middle section of Hadrian's Wall.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were prompt, efficient, friendly and helpful. The accommodation they booked for us was of a high standard and all guidance notes were accurate and well-planned.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Oct 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Hogan Hadrian Walk, 18 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrians Wall

6 family members celebrated retirement by walking a portion of Hadrians Wall in England.

6 family members celebrated retirement by walking a portion of Hadrians Wall in England.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore handled all of our travel arrangements without any issues. First class follow up and execution.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk. Such a lovely way to celebrate retirement. Thanks for your kind comments.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Roman Canucks, 17 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian’s Wall

After all the planning I cannot believe our incredible week walking Hadrian’s Wall is now over. We 16 Canadians, I being the only one that had any idea what we were going to face, thankfully we trained hard and handled everything each day threw at us, I was so proud of them all. What truly made this walking vacation such a success was Mickledore from our initial booking, the amazing accommodations and their prompt response to any query we knew ...

After all the planning I cannot believe our incredible week walking Hadrian’s Wall is now over. We 16 Canadians, I being the only one that had any idea what we were going to face, thankfully we trained hard and handled everything each day threw at us, I was so proud of them all. What truly made this walking vacation such a success was Mickledore from our initial booking, the amazing accommodations and their prompt response to any query we knew with confidence they had our backs. Thank you Mickledore, we will be walking with you again. Gillian. Ontario. Canada 🇨🇦

Rating for tour operator:

First rate service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Thanks for such great feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you all enjoyed your adventure. We will be very happy to welcome you back for further exciting trips in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Logo4, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb organisation by Mickeldore Travel

We have just come back from walking Hadrian's Wall, all organised by Mickledore Travel. The communication beforehand was excellent, and all our accommodation was lovely and immaculate. We met lots of other walkers along the way, many with other operators, and it was clear that they did not have the extensive information we had, nor the personalised itinerary nor the app. The app made it so simple to find our accommodation each night, and ...

We have just come back from walking Hadrian's Wall, all organised by Mickledore Travel. The communication beforehand was excellent, and all our accommodation was lovely and immaculate. We met lots of other walkers along the way, many with other operators, and it was clear that they did not have the extensive information we had, nor the personalised itinerary nor the app. The app made it so simple to find our accommodation each night, and all the phone numbers were there if we needed them.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third walking holiday with Mickledore, and we have had superb service every time. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable: they walk the trails themselves, so they can answer questions and discuss individual needs from their own experience. You receive a personalised itinerary in booklet form, as well as excellent information about local services along the way (cafés, food shops, restaurants, cash points, doctors' surgeries etc etc).

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Sep 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments about our customer service, and the lovely picture that you have included with your feedback. It is great to hear that the information in your holiday pack was comprehensive and helped you to enjoy your walk. We do take comments from your holiday feedback into account when reviewing the information we provide each year.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Eric, 5 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrians Walk

Perfectly arranged accommodations by Mickledore. Absolutely no hiccups with transporting luggage, finding accommodations, lunch packs, travel info, route description etc. In short: everything where Mickledore was responsible this was arranged very well. The hotels and B&B's varied in quality, most of them were very good or even memorable (in a positive sense). We did the walk (a National Trail) from East to West in 6 days. The first day and ...

Perfectly arranged accommodations by Mickledore. Absolutely no hiccups with transporting luggage, finding accommodations, lunch packs, travel info, route description etc. In short: everything where Mickledore was responsible this was arranged very well. The hotels and B&B's varied in quality, most of them were very good or even memorable (in a positive sense). We did the walk (a National Trail) from East to West in 6 days. The first day and second day were 'so so'; on day on there was lots of litter in the trail (the locals seem not very proud of their unique trail); day 2 required a lot of (near) road walking. We didn't see too much from the wall. Day 3 and 4 were fantastic; just like the brochures tell you. Day 5 and (more so) day 6 were really nice walks in a nice area but less Hadrians wall. We know Mickledore offers just the middle section; it was our own choice do do the whole thing; we really enjoyed it. We would do it in the same direction again; that way the last part is nicer that the other way around.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second Mickledore holiday and we couldn't be more pleased at how the holiday was arranged. We will definitely be back for more in 2020.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you. We will be very happy to welcome you back for another adventure next year.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by CR, 4 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall Walking Tour

Walked the entire length of Hadrian's wall! Excellent accommodation, excellent food, stellar planning and support. Would highly recommend this experience.

Walked the entire length of Hadrian's wall! Excellent accommodation, excellent food, stellar planning and support. Would highly recommend this experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did an amazing job planning our trip! It was easy to communicate with them despite being in the United States and having an eight hour time difference. Mickledore eliminated the stress of planning and provided us with an affordable and wonderful walking tour. Can't wait to book with them again!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and we will be very happy to arrange another adventure for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Eddieboy, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

I felt that Mickledore was a valued customer of all the places we stayed

We walked the Hadrian' s wall path after many years of walking the SW Coast Path under our own steam but wanted to try an organised tour holiday with our baggage transferred and B&B's booked for us. Organising the trip was easy, we just provided the dates we wanted and the rest day, and they organised the rest. It was perfect. Our cases were always there when we arrived and the B&B's were great and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms ...

We walked the Hadrian' s wall path after many years of walking the SW Coast Path under our own steam but wanted to try an organised tour holiday with our baggage transferred and B&B's booked for us. Organising the trip was easy, we just provided the dates we wanted and the rest day, and they organised the rest. It was perfect. Our cases were always there when we arrived and the B&B's were great and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were at least good and often great with separate sitting rooms and friendly helpful owners. The overwhelming feeling was that Mickledore was a good company that they all enjoyed working with and we got the benefit.of it.

Rating for tour operator:

I picked Mickledore purely from their website as they specialised in the holiday we were looking for and made the booking process really easy.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2019:

It's great that you enjoyed your holiday experience with us and lovely to receive such great feedback about your walk. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by NancyV, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Terrific

We did the short hike, as we had a toddler with us—could not be more pleased; had a blast! Accommodations and hosts were warm and welcoming, food was incredible and everything worked like clockwork!

We did the short hike, as we had a toddler with us—could not be more pleased; had a blast! Accommodations and hosts were warm and welcoming, food was incredible and everything worked like clockwork!

Rating for tour operator:

We were provided with all materials well in advance, and all questions answered quickly and with a generous depth of information to make informed decisions. We felt very well-prepared for our adventure.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2019:

It's great that you all had a good time walking the Hadrian's Wall path, and that you found the information in your holiday pack helpful. Thanks for your great feedback.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Phil, 29 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian’s wall walk

A self guided walking tour from Corbridge to Carlisle, with arranged accommodation, bag transfers and packed lunches.

A self guided walking tour from Corbridge to Carlisle, with arranged accommodation, bag transfers and packed lunches.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did a great job organising this last minute trip. They were very responsive and helpful.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments about the work of our team. It is great that you enjoyed your walk which we were happy to arrange for you. We would be pleased to arrange another walking adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Margy, 29 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful multigenerational family holiday!

A holiday with our son and two grandchildren,aged 12 and 14. We were not sure what to expect,but we all love history and the Hadrian's Wall walk organized by Mickledore did not disappoint! The scenery,landscape and history were amazing. The Bed and Breakfasts were first class,as was the organization and the luggage transfers. Our grandchildren want to repeat more adventures such as this,with us(which is a real compliment!!)

A holiday with our son and two grandchildren,aged 12 and 14. We were not sure what to expect,but we all love history and the Hadrian's Wall walk organized by Mickledore did not disappoint! The scenery,landscape and history were amazing. The Bed and Breakfasts were first class,as was the organization and the luggage transfers. Our grandchildren want to repeat more adventures such as this,with us(which is a real compliment!!)

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore lived up,to all our expectations!

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is great that you all got so much out of your holiday. We would be very happy to welcome you back for more walks in the UK in future.
Sue