AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Hadrians Wall Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Hadrians Wall

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 17
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 17
Reviews Accepted: 17
Reviews Rejected: 0
17 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrians Wall by Tim, 10 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking Holiday one week

My wife and I had a fabulous active outdoor holiday walking along Hadrian's Wall coast-to coast averaging 15 miles each day. High quality accommodation, luggage transfer, daily packed lunches and maps/guides were arranged by the tour operator at guest houses and small hotels etc. There were six in our group and we were also fundraising for a charity we are connected with.

My wife and I had a fabulous active outdoor holiday walking along Hadrian's Wall coast-to coast averaging 15 miles each day. High quality accommodation, luggage transfer, daily packed lunches and maps/guides were arranged by the tour operator at guest houses and small hotels etc. There were six in our group and we were also fundraising for a charity we are connected with.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Walking Holidays exceeded all our expectations. The arrangements were excellent and their service throughout was of the first order. We will certainly book future walking holidays with them and are planning one for 2019.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 15 Aug 2018:

Thank you for giving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and that it was a successful fundraising endeavor for you. We will be very happy to arrange another walk for you next year and look forward to welcoming you on your next adventure.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Chris, 28 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best of Hadrian's Wall

We had a few wonderful days with typical English weather, sun, rain and wind, everything was there. Beautiful landscape to walk through and the remains of the wall are fascinating from a historical point of view.

We had a few wonderful days with typical English weather, sun, rain and wind, everything was there. Beautiful landscape to walk through and the remains of the wall are fascinating from a historical point of view.

Rating for tour operator:

The accommodations and luggage transfers were well arranged, nice b&b’s and friendly people. In particular the new building at Carraw farm was beautiful. Good that you booked our evening dinner there because it is really in the middle of nowhere, but with a spectacular view over the valley. We heard from the local taxi driver that Corbridge is a nicer town than Hexham, although the Beumont hotel was good. Too bad that everything there was fully booked. That was actually our only (minor) comment.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. Sometimes itinerary locations can get fully booked, particularly at popular times. We take a lot of care in selecting the accommodations that we use and I am pleased that you enjoyed the ones we chose for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Hadrian's Wall Walk - July 2018, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall - walking holiday 9 nights

8 days walking on Hadrian's Wall from Wallsend to Bowness on Solway - 9 nights B&B in B&B's, guesthouses and small hotels. Our luggage was transported by car we (my husband and I) walked with day packs,

8 days walking on Hadrian's Wall from Wallsend to Bowness on Solway - 9 nights B&B in B&B's, guesthouses and small hotels. Our luggage was transported by car we (my husband and I) walked with day packs,

Rating for tour operator:

We have been lucky enough to have been on several walking, cycling holidays in Europe and USA, Mickledore have so far been superior to other tour operators we have experienced, their eye for detail is uncanny! I really can't say enough about our whole Mickledore experience; we will be using their services again.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great that the accommodations we selected for you and luggage transport services helped you to enjoy your holiday experience. We hope to welcome you back for your next walking adventure in the UK.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by FIFI, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

enjoyable and inspiring

a long held dream finally realised walking Hadrians wall that was challenging and fun meeting lots of interesting people

a long held dream finally realised walking Hadrians wall that was challenging and fun meeting lots of interesting people

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, professional and well planned

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

It is lovely to hear that a goal has been accomplished and that you enjoyed your walk. Thank you for your great feedback.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Anneke, 14 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking along the Hadrian's wall

The holiday was fantastic, the walkingtrack was beautiful and we had no rain, only sun, which is extraordinary . The bed and breakfastplaces were beautiful houses with comfortable rooms on nice locations and not to far to travel to at the end of the day. There was great hospitality from all the hosts.

The holiday was fantastic, the walkingtrack was beautiful and we had no rain, only sun, which is extraordinary . The bed and breakfastplaces were beautiful houses with comfortable rooms on nice locations and not to far to travel to at the end of the day. There was great hospitality from all the hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

The maps and other information we recieved before we started with our holiday, were very good. We got an e-mail to remember us of paying on time and to confirm when we had payed. It was easy to get in contact with Mickledore We could walk along the track in the aomount of days we wanted. The bed and breakfast places were booked for us with good distances in between.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the itinerary worked well for you. Thank you for your kind comments about our service and the accommodations we chose for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Brian66, 10 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

All went to plan

Having the whole holiday planned for you saved a lot of internet searching for accommodation at a busy time of the year. All of the B&B accommodation was of a good standard. Everything went to plan with booked dinners & lunches, baggage transfer and taxis. Well worth the money. The supplied maps and information sheets were invaluable. The weather was extremely favourable, the scenery changed daily and the museums made for excellent historical ...

Having the whole holiday planned for you saved a lot of internet searching for accommodation at a busy time of the year. All of the B&B accommodation was of a good standard. Everything went to plan with booked dinners & lunches, baggage transfer and taxis. Well worth the money. The supplied maps and information sheets were invaluable. The weather was extremely favourable, the scenery changed daily and the museums made for excellent historical interludes.

Rating for tour operator:

Personable, informative and helpful staff when making the booking and subsequently when seeking more information.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Jul 2018:

I am pleased to hear that you had a great time walking Hadrian's Wall. The historical information on the way and in the guidebook is great for adding an extra dimension to the route. Thanks for sending us your feedback.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Anita, 4 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

perfectly organized!!

It was our first walking holiday in England and it was a great joy to be there!!

It was our first walking holiday in England and it was a great joy to be there!!

Rating for tour operator:

Very good!!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your comments. It is great that you enjoyed your holiday and we would be happy to arrange your next walking adventure in the UK.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Art Thompson, 14 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore Walking Holidays - Hadrian's Wall Hike

Fabulous holiday. A six day walking tour of Hadrian's Wall starting in Corbridge and ending in Carlisle. Beautiful countryside and great people along the way. I had an absolutely wonderful holiday.

Fabulous holiday. A six day walking tour of Hadrian's Wall starting in Corbridge and ending in Carlisle. Beautiful countryside and great people along the way. I had an absolutely wonderful holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore took care of every detail. The nightly B&B accommodations, luggage transfers and the route information were all well done. The proprietors at the B&B's were all very accommodating and friendly. I traveled from the US for this holiday and I had some small reservations about booking with a company I did not know but I am very pleased to say that Mickledore did a fantastic job. I would recommend them to anyone. I will likely plan another trip with them next year.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that the arrangements we made for your walk helped you have such a fantastic experience. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We would be very happy to welcome you back for another walk next year.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Hoilday Walk, 14 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A fresh new experience, plenty of time to walk and relax and a superb option to socialise, if wanted, later in the day, with a new mix of people from around the globe, on a daily basis.

Walking holiday across Hadrian's wall, what a great experience. We met people from all around the world at breakfast each day, different people each time. Lots of time to enjoy the holiday we had booked for our selves but the opportunity to met other new people, having the same walk, when evening meals or the pub brought us together.

Walking holiday across Hadrian's wall, what a great experience. We met people from all around the world at breakfast each day, different people each time. Lots of time to enjoy the holiday we had booked for our selves but the opportunity to met other new people, having the same walk, when evening meals or the pub brought us together.

Rating for tour operator:

Back up there which we did not need to call on as pre holidsay literature was excellent.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your comments. Meeting new people, even briefly like during your walk, can add so much to the experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and found the information in your holiday pack so helpful.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Jack S., 13 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Splendid Hadrian's Wall walk

Took a five-day walk of the best of Hadrian's Wall through Mickeldore Travel. It was a wonderful, stress-free vacation.

Took a five-day walk of the best of Hadrian's Wall through Mickeldore Travel. It was a wonderful, stress-free vacation.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore arranged overnight stays, transported our luggage, organized an itinerary, and generally took marvelous care of us for the duration of the vacation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great that you found our support and organisation gave you the freedom to relax and enjoy your walk. We would be happy to arrange another adventure for you in future.
Sue