AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Hadrians Wall Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Hadrians Wall

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 38
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 39
Reviews Accepted: 39
Reviews Rejected: 0
39 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrians Wall by Logo4, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb organisation by Mickeldore Travel

We have just come back from walking Hadrian's Wall, all organised by Mickledore Travel. The communication beforehand was excellent, and all our accommodation was lovely and immaculate. We met lots of other walkers along the way, many with other operators, and it was clear that they did not have the extensive information we had, nor the personalised itinerary nor the app. The app made it so simple to find our accommodation each night, and ...

We have just come back from walking Hadrian's Wall, all organised by Mickledore Travel. The communication beforehand was excellent, and all our accommodation was lovely and immaculate. We met lots of other walkers along the way, many with other operators, and it was clear that they did not have the extensive information we had, nor the personalised itinerary nor the app. The app made it so simple to find our accommodation each night, and all the phone numbers were there if we needed them.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third walking holiday with Mickledore, and we have had superb service every time. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable: they walk the trails themselves, so they can answer questions and discuss individual needs from their own experience. You receive a personalised itinerary in booklet form, as well as excellent information about local services along the way (cafés, food shops, restaurants, cash points, doctors' surgeries etc etc).

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Sep 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments about our customer service, and the lovely picture that you have included with your feedback. It is great to hear that the information in your holiday pack was comprehensive and helped you to enjoy your walk. We do take comments from your holiday feedback into account when reviewing the information we provide each year.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Eric, 5 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrians Walk

Perfectly arranged accommodations by Mickledore. Absolutely no hiccups with transporting luggage, finding accommodations, lunch packs, travel info, route description etc. In short: everything where Mickledore was responsible this was arranged very well. The hotels and B&B's varied in quality, most of them were very good or even memorable (in a positive sense). We did the walk (a National Trail) from East to West in 6 days. The first day and ...

Perfectly arranged accommodations by Mickledore. Absolutely no hiccups with transporting luggage, finding accommodations, lunch packs, travel info, route description etc. In short: everything where Mickledore was responsible this was arranged very well. The hotels and B&B's varied in quality, most of them were very good or even memorable (in a positive sense). We did the walk (a National Trail) from East to West in 6 days. The first day and second day were 'so so'; on day on there was lots of litter in the trail (the locals seem not very proud of their unique trail); day 2 required a lot of (near) road walking. We didn't see too much from the wall. Day 3 and 4 were fantastic; just like the brochures tell you. Day 5 and (more so) day 6 were really nice walks in a nice area but less Hadrians wall. We know Mickledore offers just the middle section; it was our own choice do do the whole thing; we really enjoyed it. We would do it in the same direction again; that way the last part is nicer that the other way around.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second Mickledore holiday and we couldn't be more pleased at how the holiday was arranged. We will definitely be back for more in 2020.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you. We will be very happy to welcome you back for another adventure next year.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by CR, 4 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall Walking Tour

Walked the entire length of Hadrian's wall! Excellent accommodation, excellent food, stellar planning and support. Would highly recommend this experience.

Walked the entire length of Hadrian's wall! Excellent accommodation, excellent food, stellar planning and support. Would highly recommend this experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did an amazing job planning our trip! It was easy to communicate with them despite being in the United States and having an eight hour time difference. Mickledore eliminated the stress of planning and provided us with an affordable and wonderful walking tour. Can't wait to book with them again!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and we will be very happy to arrange another adventure for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Eddieboy, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

I felt that Mickledore was a valued customer of all the places we stayed

We walked the Hadrian' s wall path after many years of walking the SW Coast Path under our own steam but wanted to try an organised tour holiday with our baggage transferred and B&B's booked for us. Organising the trip was easy, we just provided the dates we wanted and the rest day, and they organised the rest. It was perfect. Our cases were always there when we arrived and the B&B's were great and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms ...

We walked the Hadrian' s wall path after many years of walking the SW Coast Path under our own steam but wanted to try an organised tour holiday with our baggage transferred and B&B's booked for us. Organising the trip was easy, we just provided the dates we wanted and the rest day, and they organised the rest. It was perfect. Our cases were always there when we arrived and the B&B's were great and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were at least good and often great with separate sitting rooms and friendly helpful owners. The overwhelming feeling was that Mickledore was a good company that they all enjoyed working with and we got the benefit.of it.

Rating for tour operator:

I picked Mickledore purely from their website as they specialised in the holiday we were looking for and made the booking process really easy.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2019:

It's great that you enjoyed your holiday experience with us and lovely to receive such great feedback about your walk. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by NancyV, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Terrific

We did the short hike, as we had a toddler with us—could not be more pleased; had a blast! Accommodations and hosts were warm and welcoming, food was incredible and everything worked like clockwork!

We did the short hike, as we had a toddler with us—could not be more pleased; had a blast! Accommodations and hosts were warm and welcoming, food was incredible and everything worked like clockwork!

Rating for tour operator:

We were provided with all materials well in advance, and all questions answered quickly and with a generous depth of information to make informed decisions. We felt very well-prepared for our adventure.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2019:

It's great that you all had a good time walking the Hadrian's Wall path, and that you found the information in your holiday pack helpful. Thanks for your great feedback.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Phil, 29 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian’s wall walk

A self guided walking tour from Corbridge to Carlisle, with arranged accommodation, bag transfers and packed lunches.

A self guided walking tour from Corbridge to Carlisle, with arranged accommodation, bag transfers and packed lunches.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did a great job organising this last minute trip. They were very responsive and helpful.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments about the work of our team. It is great that you enjoyed your walk which we were happy to arrange for you. We would be pleased to arrange another walking adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Margy, 29 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful multigenerational family holiday!

A holiday with our son and two grandchildren,aged 12 and 14. We were not sure what to expect,but we all love history and the Hadrian's Wall walk organized by Mickledore did not disappoint! The scenery,landscape and history were amazing. The Bed and Breakfasts were first class,as was the organization and the luggage transfers. Our grandchildren want to repeat more adventures such as this,with us(which is a real compliment!!)

A holiday with our son and two grandchildren,aged 12 and 14. We were not sure what to expect,but we all love history and the Hadrian's Wall walk organized by Mickledore did not disappoint! The scenery,landscape and history were amazing. The Bed and Breakfasts were first class,as was the organization and the luggage transfers. Our grandchildren want to repeat more adventures such as this,with us(which is a real compliment!!)

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore lived up,to all our expectations!

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is great that you all got so much out of your holiday. We would be very happy to welcome you back for more walks in the UK in future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Yo and Leigh Visit, 27 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk on Hadrian’s Wall

We spent 10 days (8 walking days and 2 rest days) walking Hadrian’s Wall. We travel a lot and the walk along Hadrian’s Wall has to be at the top of our favorite Holidays. The scenery along the way was both varied and beautiful. From the sweeping vistas of the Steel Rigg area to the expansive sea views near Bowness-on-Solway it was all inspiring. Everyone we met along the way from other travelers to the B & B hosts were very friendly and sociable...

We spent 10 days (8 walking days and 2 rest days) walking Hadrian’s Wall. We travel a lot and the walk along Hadrian’s Wall has to be at the top of our favorite Holidays. The scenery along the way was both varied and beautiful. From the sweeping vistas of the Steel Rigg area to the expansive sea views near Bowness-on-Solway it was all inspiring. Everyone we met along the way from other travelers to the B & B hosts were very friendly and sociable. The history of the Wall is what drew us to the area and learning its story along the way was fascinating. It is a walk that should not be missed.

Rating for tour operator:

Hadrian’s Wall was our first multi day walk. When we started looking for a Tour Operator Mickledore caught our eye from the beginning. Starting with website to quick responses to questions, Mickledore was fantastic in helping us plan our walk. The accommodations chosen for us were first rate and the luggage transfers went off with out a hitch. The information package provided had everything we needed to help us prepare for our trip. The Mickledore App made sure that all of the information we might need along the way was at our fingertips. We will travel with Mickledore again.

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your lovely photos and the great feedback from your holiday. I am happy to hear that you found the walk interesting and enjoyed the fabulous changing views along the route. We would love to arrange another holiday for you in future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Hadrian's Wall Walker, 15 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Varied and relaxing

We walked Hadrian's Wall east-to-west, then added on a couple of days of the Cumbria Way to finish in Keswick. The terrain varied hugely along the way, from the city experience of Newcastle to the empty magnificence of the Solway Firth. Wildlife - flowers, birds and butterflies particularly - was our constant companion. We also found that the fellowship of other walkers is a great encouragement and incentive. Altogether great.

We walked Hadrian's Wall east-to-west, then added on a couple of days of the Cumbria Way to finish in Keswick. The terrain varied hugely along the way, from the city experience of Newcastle to the empty magnificence of the Solway Firth. Wildlife - flowers, birds and butterflies particularly - was our constant companion. We also found that the fellowship of other walkers is a great encouragement and incentive. Altogether great.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were very accommodating and flexible with the specific requests we made, such as including part of the Cumbria Way in the holiday. We opted to carry our own bags but on another occasion would probably choose to let them be transferred by Mickledore. The accommodation was normally excellent - the couple of places that were more ordinary were often situated in places where there was little choice, so the variation was understandable. We would certainly choose Mickledore again.

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Aug 2019:

Thank you for leaving us your feedback and photograph. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the places that we chose for you to stay.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Walkingwoman66, 8 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

We walked Hadrians Wall

Good information pack before hand and great advice from Mickledore re direction to walk in, where to have a days break etc. We did the whole Hadrians path and so learned about history of Newcastle, the Romans in that area, ion days when there was no physical wall there were still lots of interesting features an information such as the building of ditch defenses. Often very good views across to Scottish coast east or Cumbrians fells to west...

Good information pack before hand and great advice from Mickledore re direction to walk in, where to have a days break etc. We did the whole Hadrians path and so learned about history of Newcastle, the Romans in that area, ion days when there was no physical wall there were still lots of interesting features an information such as the building of ditch defenses. Often very good views across to Scottish coast east or Cumbrians fells to west. A range of English Heritage musuems to visit. Generally very good accomodation organised for us. Over 7 days we had heavy rain for 2-3 hours on 3 days otherwise dry. Terrain varies, some slow but steep climbs, some road walking, some woods, some tracks, some riverside.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were helpful from the start. I felt my questions were taken seriously and suggestions given. Good information pack. They had selected the b&bs based on how many days we wanted to do the walk over. Apart from one place they were all good with 2 being very good.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Aug 2019:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your holiday and lovely to hear that you found so much to interest you along the route.
Sue