AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Hadrians Wall Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Hadrians Wall

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 24
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 24
Reviews Accepted: 24
Reviews Rejected: 0
24 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrians Wall by Ageing walker, 8 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Effective and efficient service

A walking holiday along Hadrian's Wall, lasting 6 days.

A walking holiday along Hadrian's Wall, lasting 6 days.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore took a good deal of care in arranging our holiday for 13 people, with some arriving and leaving during the period. There were, no doubt, plenty of organisational headaches, but these weren't obvious to us. Interestingly, the people providing services to Mickeldore were very supportive of the company.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your walk and that the arrangements we made for your group worked so well for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Lydia, 27 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing walking with comfort

Walking Hadrian's wall was an amazing experience without the worry of taking my luggage from one place to the next. Mickledore did all of that. All I had to do was walk and enjoy the views. All accomodation was top standard.

Walking Hadrian's wall was an amazing experience without the worry of taking my luggage from one place to the next. Mickledore did all of that. All I had to do was walk and enjoy the views. All accomodation was top standard.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and informative.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

Thank you for the lovely feedback about your holiday. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the fabulous views along the way.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Marty, 25 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian’s wall walk 6 days

Walking from Corbridge to Carlisle. Excellent views. Great accommodation. Welcoming and exciting.

Walking from Corbridge to Carlisle. Excellent views. Great accommodation. Welcoming and exciting.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore arranged everything with professionalism. I knew exactly what to do and where to go.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and your stays at the accommodations we selected for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Dr. C D 18, 17 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian Wall walk

As above. Great views, great weather, great accommodations.

As above. Great views, great weather, great accommodations.

Rating for tour operator:

All the information was useful. I enjoyed the self-guided holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 18 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your comments. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the information we provided for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Kat, 6 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking along Hadrian's wall path

Our family of 5 walked from Corbridge to Brampton and stayed in wonderful B&B's along the way. Our luggage was transported and we were given a packed lunch when we left each place. We had time to stop at some of the Roman forts along the way and saw most of what's left of Hadrian's wall - amazing!

Our family of 5 walked from Corbridge to Brampton and stayed in wonderful B&B's along the way. Our luggage was transported and we were given a packed lunch when we left each place. We had time to stop at some of the Roman forts along the way and saw most of what's left of Hadrian's wall - amazing!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organised everything really well and chose lovely B&B's for us to stay in. They managed to find accommodation for the 5 of us (which can sometimes be a challenge!) and sent all the relevant information including suggested places to eat our evening meals, detailed directions to each place and of course maps and guides books for the walk itself.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Sep 2018:

It is great that you and your family had a fantastic time on your walk and that the information we provided in your holiday pack was useful for you. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Richie, 18 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking Hadrians Wall North England

Five days walking with friends, lovely weather except one day of rain, great trip, great accommodation.

Five days walking with friends, lovely weather except one day of rain, great trip, great accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing is too much trouble, if changes are required they are catered for without always charging. The landladies/landlords of the B&Bs are always chosen carefully as they are all so amenable and helpful, facilities are always clean and we have on occasion been driven to and from the B&B by them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Aug 2018:

Hadrian's Wall is a great path and I am glad you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations along the way. Thank you for leaving us your kind feedback.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by VWI, 16 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

We had a wonderful time walking Hadrian's wall

We walked the wall in 8 days, very relaxed. We met a lot of nice people, weslept in great guesthouses and enjoyed the local pubs in the evening.

We walked the wall in 8 days, very relaxed. We met a lot of nice people, weslept in great guesthouses and enjoyed the local pubs in the evening.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good communication and a perfect organisation during our holliday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 16 Aug 2018:

How lovely to see that you enjoyed your holiday and the accommodations that we chose for your walk. Thank you for your kind comments.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Tim, 10 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking Holiday one week

My wife and I had a fabulous active outdoor holiday walking along Hadrian's Wall coast-to coast averaging 15 miles each day. High quality accommodation, luggage transfer, daily packed lunches and maps/guides were arranged by the tour operator at guest houses and small hotels etc. There were six in our group and we were also fundraising for a charity we are connected with.

My wife and I had a fabulous active outdoor holiday walking along Hadrian's Wall coast-to coast averaging 15 miles each day. High quality accommodation, luggage transfer, daily packed lunches and maps/guides were arranged by the tour operator at guest houses and small hotels etc. There were six in our group and we were also fundraising for a charity we are connected with.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Walking Holidays exceeded all our expectations. The arrangements were excellent and their service throughout was of the first order. We will certainly book future walking holidays with them and are planning one for 2019.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 15 Aug 2018:

Thank you for giving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and that it was a successful fundraising endeavor for you. We will be very happy to arrange another walk for you next year and look forward to welcoming you on your next adventure.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Chris, 28 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best of Hadrian's Wall

We had a few wonderful days with typical English weather, sun, rain and wind, everything was there. Beautiful landscape to walk through and the remains of the wall are fascinating from a historical point of view.

We had a few wonderful days with typical English weather, sun, rain and wind, everything was there. Beautiful landscape to walk through and the remains of the wall are fascinating from a historical point of view.

Rating for tour operator:

The accommodations and luggage transfers were well arranged, nice b&b’s and friendly people. In particular the new building at Carraw farm was beautiful. Good that you booked our evening dinner there because it is really in the middle of nowhere, but with a spectacular view over the valley. We heard from the local taxi driver that Corbridge is a nicer town than Hexham, although the Beumont hotel was good. Too bad that everything there was fully booked. That was actually our only (minor) comment.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. Sometimes itinerary locations can get fully booked, particularly at popular times. We take a lot of care in selecting the accommodations that we use and I am pleased that you enjoyed the ones we chose for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Hadrian's Wall Walk - July 2018, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall - walking holiday 9 nights

8 days walking on Hadrian's Wall from Wallsend to Bowness on Solway - 9 nights B&B in B&B's, guesthouses and small hotels. Our luggage was transported by car we (my husband and I) walked with day packs,

8 days walking on Hadrian's Wall from Wallsend to Bowness on Solway - 9 nights B&B in B&B's, guesthouses and small hotels. Our luggage was transported by car we (my husband and I) walked with day packs,

Rating for tour operator:

We have been lucky enough to have been on several walking, cycling holidays in Europe and USA, Mickledore have so far been superior to other tour operators we have experienced, their eye for detail is uncanny! I really can't say enough about our whole Mickledore experience; we will be using their services again.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great that the accommodations we selected for you and luggage transport services helped you to enjoy your holiday experience. We hope to welcome you back for your next walking adventure in the UK.
Sue