AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Discover Adventure Ltd

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mount Kilimanjaro Trek

Overall Holiday Rating
97%
Excellent 11
Good 0
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 12
Reviews Accepted: 12
Reviews Rejected: 0
12 reviews
Sort by:
Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by JJ, 16 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

Amazing experience that I will never forget

Amazing experience that I will never forget

Rating for tour operator:

Absolutely fantastic Well organised very safe would definitely use again.

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by Chris, 3 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

awesome, amazing, tough - perfect

amazing trek to the roof of Africa. Tough walking at altitude. Very testing, but a life memory and a brilliant personal achievement.

amazing trek to the roof of Africa. Tough walking at altitude. Very testing, but a life memory and a brilliant personal achievement.

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure were excellent. Our guide Christina was excellent.and made the whole trip just the best things. UK support was very good, I will travel with DA again!.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 07 Sep 2017:

Thank you so much Chris for such great feedback! We really appreciate it here in the office, as do our crew members, who strive to make your expereince as enjoyable and rewarding as possible. It makes all the hard work worthwhile! Looking forward to seeing you on another trip in the future!

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by katie, 31 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience with amazing support from discover adventure from start to finish.

I had an amazing time climbing Kilimanjaro with Discover Adventure. Despite suffering with altitude sickness, the team were fantastic in helping me reach the summit. Christina, the challenge leader was great throughout and the organisation was impeccable.

I had an amazing time climbing Kilimanjaro with Discover Adventure. Despite suffering with altitude sickness, the team were fantastic in helping me reach the summit. Christina, the challenge leader was great throughout and the organisation was impeccable.

Rating for tour operator:

as above

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 07 Sep 2017:

Thank you so much for your feedback, and well done on completing such a tough challenge despite all the elements! It means so much to us that you had such an enjoyable time, and makes all the hard work worth it! Hoping to see you on another of our challenges soon!

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by nakster, 3 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great local agent support, itinerary change needed

The itinerary and group size made what could be a really top trip, much more arduous, uncomfortable and, on summit day, dangerous than is necessary. As a result many people experienced unnecessary difficulties and illness. The local crew were extremely slick and professional and took care of the group and their needs very well. The Western leader also did a good job in keeping moral high and the group contained

The itinerary and group size made what could be a really top trip, much more arduous, uncomfortable and, on summit day, dangerous than is necessary. As a result many people experienced unnecessary difficulties and illness. The local crew were extremely slick and professional and took care of the group and their needs very well. The Western leader also did a good job in keeping moral high and the group contained

Rating for tour operator:

The trip is on the limits of what is safe in terms of rate of ascent. Group size of 28 per leader is well over the international guidance. It seems clear that the operator is putting profit above quality and safety.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 15 Mar 2017:

Hi Joanna,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, however, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We have addressed the points you have raised below:

The guide to client ratios are regulated by the Kilimanjaro National Park and so vary only very slightly depending on group size.
Discover Adventure’s safety management system is based on the whole team (local guides and UK-based guides/medics), not just the UK crew that we send to accompany the group. Unfortunately it is a misconception that if only 1 UK-based guide accompanies the group then that is the ratio. Many operators only use local guides.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 15 Mar 2017:

Further to our comments above, we provide a UK leader and doctor in addition to employing a local guide directly, which provides greater support than the ratio required locally. We work with a highly professional and experienced local operator; there are cheaper partners we could work with, but this is a safety and quality choice on our part. We always put client safety before profit and there are significant costs involved in providing the additional guides and medics.
The trip is very tough regardless of group size, but we are confident that the support we provide gives our customers the best chance of achieving the summit, altitude factors notwithstanding.

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by Kitty, 9 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

DA Kilimanjaro trip

Climbing Mount Kilimanjaro with Discover Adventure - a really rewarding experience and trip of a lifetime!

Climbing Mount Kilimanjaro with Discover Adventure - a really rewarding experience and trip of a lifetime!

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure arranged everything and it went seamlessly. They gave us all the best chance of completing our challenge and the whole group got to the top. The leaders and guides were best in their field and we felt in very safe hands.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 10 Oct 2016:

Thanks for sharing your feedback Kitty, we're glad you enjoyed the Kilimanjaro challenge experience and congratulations on making it to the roof of Africa!

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 10 Oct 2016:

We're so proud of everyone in your group for making it to Uhuru peak! You all did extremely well. Thanks for sharing your review and we'll pass on your feedback to our crew!

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by Babu, 7 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

An extremely challenging personal experience within a strong team environment motivated by spirited and empathetic leadership

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek...an inspirational adventure of discovery through succeeding levels of acclimatisation...physically...emotionally...and socially...a once in a lifetime experience!

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek...an inspirational adventure of discovery through succeeding levels of acclimatisation...physically...emotionally...and socially...a once in a lifetime experience!

Rating for tour operator:

Very accommodating...handled all contingencies with efficiency and professionalism

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 07 Oct 2016:

Thanks very much for your feedback Jerald! We're so pleased that you had such a great personal experience! Well done on completing this tough challenge.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 07 Oct 2016:

Thank you, we'll be sure to pass this on to our crew and hope to welcome you on another fundraising challenge soon!

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by Jonny, 17 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

A breathtaking and lifechanging experience!

Our trip was a 10 day trip up and down Mt. Kilimanjaro via the Machame route. We were actually on the mountain for 6 days in total. It was a fantastic experience and one that I will never ever forget. The scenery, the changing landscape on the way up, the local people and summiting the roof of Africa.... Unbelievable!! If you're even considering climbing Kili, DO IT. And do it with Discover Adventure!

Our trip was a 10 day trip up and down Mt. Kilimanjaro via the Machame route. We were actually on the mountain for 6 days in total. It was a fantastic experience and one that I will never ever forget. The scenery, the changing landscape on the way up, the local people and summiting the roof of Africa.... Unbelievable!! If you're even considering climbing Kili, DO IT. And do it with Discover Adventure!

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure were excellent at every step of the way. The booking was quick and easy, they were all too happy to answer my many questions on the lead up to departure and there was good contact and updates throughout. All of the porters and local guides were fantastic - friendly, approachable and they'd do anything for you. Their knowledge of the mountain was second to none and we all felt very safe and well looked after in their hands. The food was excellent and plentiful, we always had fresh drinking water and there was warm water for washing every evening in camp. Our DA guide Vic was once again excellent. We couldn't of asked for any better. Vic was full of pearls of wisdom about trekking and camping that just made your trip that bit easier. What he didn't know about trekking up Kili wasn't worth knowing. Again he couldn't do enough for us, actually carrying my bag for me on day 3 on the lead up to Lava Tower when I was ill with altitude sickness. But he kept me going. He kept us all going and 100% of our trip summited - quite a rarity we were told. This is testament to Vic's leadership - he made the trip! He lead from the front and we had complete trust in him. And I know that all of the group felt the same! All in all an excellent ad entire and the trip of a lifetime. I'm already looking at what I can book next with DA!!

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 17 Mar 2016:

Thanks for sharing your feedback Jonathan! We're really pleased to hear that you completed this huge achievement of climbing Mount Kilimanjaro.
We hope you'll join Discover Adventure for another challenge soon.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 17 Mar 2016:

Thanks Jonathan, we'll make sure that your feedback is shared with our wider team as well as Vic and the crew! It's really appreciated.
We can't wait to hear what challenge you want to line up next!

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by Joel, 2 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely perfect

Such hard work but so so worth it

Such hard work but so so worth it

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 17 Mar 2016:

Thank you for your feedback Joel!

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 17 Mar 2016:

Thanks for your feedback Joel, we're so pleased to hear that you had a great challenge experience.

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by jadecolc, 1 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Best experience ever!

Climbing Kilimanjaro!

Climbing Kilimanjaro!

Rating for tour operator:

DA, couldn't had asked for better!

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 21 Sep 2015:

This truly is an iconic, once in a lifetime challenge so we are so pleased to hear that you felt this was a fantastic experience. You should be proud of your achievement and thank you for taking the time to feed back.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 21 Sep 2015:

Thank you for your kind words Jade, we hope to see you on another challenge soon.

Mount Kilimanjaro Trek by Sherpa, 22 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Kilimanjaro Trek

The trip was a six day trek to summit Kilimanjaro via the Machame Route. This is a tough trek by anyone's standards and requires a good level of fitness. It was one of the hardest things I have done but also one of the most rewarding. Not just the sense of achievement, but also being able to share the hardship and the beauty of Africa's highest peak with people who became new friends.

The trip was a six day trek to summit Kilimanjaro via the Machame Route. This is a tough trek by anyone's standards and requires a good level of fitness. It was one of the hardest things I have done but also one of the most rewarding. Not just the sense of achievement, but also being able to share the hardship and the beauty of Africa's highest peak with people who became new friends.

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Adventure Kilimanjaro Trek was excellent. It was well managed and the local Ashante Trek crew were easily the best on the mountain. Not just in term of their organisation but the pace control was superb, resulting in a very high success rate for a 6 day trip. They also took fantastic care of everyone on summit day. I even saw them massaging one ladies feet while cooking her pancakes in an effort to get her down safely. Well beyond the call of duty IMO. I would recommend Discover Adventure to anyone looking to go on an adventure trip not just Kilimanjaro, they clearly employ excellent staff both the UK Leaders as well as local support staff. I will certainly be using them again and am happy to recommend them toanyone else.

Discover Adventure Ltd responded to this review on 24 Oct 2014:

Thanks very much for your comments Stephen and we hope to see you on another challenge soon!