AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Undiscovered Destinations

The Heart of the Silk Road Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Heart of the Silk Road

Overall Holiday Rating
97%
Excellent 6
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 7
Reviews Accepted: 7
Reviews Rejected: 0
7 reviews
Sort by:
The Heart of the Silk Road by explorer travellers, 16 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan & Tajikistan - Heart of the Silk Road

Great experience of these three little toured countries, their history, their culture, their people and their place in place in linking various parts of the world from ancient times to today.

Great experience of these three little toured countries, their history, their culture, their people and their place in place in linking various parts of the world from ancient times to today.

Rating for tour operator:

The entire itinerary and its delivery was delivered above expectations. The content, the guides and drivers, the accommodation, the transport - were all excellent.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 16 May 2019:

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the tour.

The Heart of the Silk Road by Mike, 3 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Silk Road with Undiscovered-Destinations.com

What a great travel destination - the Silk Road! In 15 days we visited beautiful Uzbekistan, exotic Tajikistan, and slightly weird Turkmenistan. All were beautiful and fascinating and the people everywhere were friendly. We crossed deserts and mountains, both beautiful in their own way. It was thrilling to explore many "lost cities", some in their pristine though weathered condition and others beautifully restored. We ate lots of great food ...

What a great travel destination - the Silk Road! In 15 days we visited beautiful Uzbekistan, exotic Tajikistan, and slightly weird Turkmenistan. All were beautiful and fascinating and the people everywhere were friendly. We crossed deserts and mountains, both beautiful in their own way. It was thrilling to explore many "lost cities", some in their pristine though weathered condition and others beautifully restored. We ate lots of great food and I even thought about ordering some fermented camel's milk that I saw posted on a menu. Now is the time to visit this exotic destination! Everything that you need to have a great trip is available and at a very reasonable price. But I'm guessing that the Silk Road as a travel destination will soon be "discovered"! Go there now!

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was done very professionally. All of our guides were very knowledgeable about the sites we were visiting. And all of them went out of their ways to ensure that we were always comfortable, secure and happy. The accommodations were better than I had expected although of course some were not quite up to Western standards. The office communicated effectively with me before the trip about travel details etc. All in all a great trip and I am planning to travel with them in the future.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 04 Oct 2018:

Thank you for the great feedback and we are delighted that you found the tour so enjoyable

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 04 Oct 2018:

Thank you and we look forward to you travelling with us again soon.

The Heart of the Silk Road by Mrs C M 18, 3 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

excellent

A full on tour to Central asia

A full on tour to Central asia

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered destinations

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed the tour

The Heart of the Silk Road by Gu, 7 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A cultural, historical tour of three little known countries providing a wealth of experience.

An adventure into unknown territory which gave me an understanding of the area and opportunities to experience and explore the culture, history and current situations in three unique countries bonded by their geographical proximity to each other yet diverse in many ways.

An adventure into unknown territory which gave me an understanding of the area and opportunities to experience and explore the culture, history and current situations in three unique countries bonded by their geographical proximity to each other yet diverse in many ways.

Rating for tour operator:

An excellent itinerary which our contact at Undiscovered Destinations had experienced herself. Linda proved to be calm and patient with us through the difficult process of visa applications.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 20 Jun 2017:

Thank you for that feedback. We try and give our clients an understanding of the countries that they visit and a truly authentic experience. We are delighted that this was the case.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 20 Jun 2017:

Thank you.

The Heart of the Silk Road by GM, 17 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating Silk Road

We covered a lot of territory in Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan, seeing an extraordinary range of mosques, madrassas and mausoleums which had been reclaimed from the ravages of time and invaders. Happily, we also learnt about modern times and experienced it as we moved through the various countries. The accommodation was mid-range as advertised, and the guides were excellent, though one was a bit lack-lustre. The group we travelled ...

We covered a lot of territory in Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan, seeing an extraordinary range of mosques, madrassas and mausoleums which had been reclaimed from the ravages of time and invaders. Happily, we also learnt about modern times and experienced it as we moved through the various countries. The accommodation was mid-range as advertised, and the guides were excellent, though one was a bit lack-lustre. The group we travelled with were outstandingly agreeable, and I think we all contributed to each-other's enjoyment and belonging.

Rating for tour operator:

All aspects of our contact with them was efficient, and contact was prompt. The lasting issue I have, which nearly spoilt our trip, was the unnecessary difficulty of acquiring and Uzbekistan visa.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 20 Jun 2017:

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed the holiday.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 20 Jun 2017:

Thank you for this feedback.

The Heart of the Silk Road by Mrs H D 16, 26 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

A comprehensive travel in Silk Road territory

A fairly comprehensive travel around the major sights of Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan - a small group with efficient local guides who all had a good knowledge of English and good senses of humour.

A fairly comprehensive travel around the major sights of Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan - a small group with efficient local guides who all had a good knowledge of English and good senses of humour.

Rating for tour operator:

A very efficient organisation

The Heart of the Silk Road by AnnieW, 28 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Heart of the Silk Road, through Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan...

A return visit to Uzbekistan but interesting to compare with two other Stan states. Worked well with three sets of guides and drivers but distances travelled by road (poor conditions in Uzbekistan) too long and tiring as were frequent border crossings, on foot. Otherwise an excellent trip, well worth some discomfort. Scenically, historically and culturally a fascinating area, still to emerge from the Russian sphere of influence which has been ...

A return visit to Uzbekistan but interesting to compare with two other Stan states. Worked well with three sets of guides and drivers but distances travelled by road (poor conditions in Uzbekistan) too long and tiring as were frequent border crossings, on foot. Otherwise an excellent trip, well worth some discomfort. Scenically, historically and culturally a fascinating area, still to emerge from the Russian sphere of influence which has been largely beneficial. A great destination, largely unspoilt with good hotels and very friendly people.

Rating for tour operator:

A very helpful and efficient company.