AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot - Lighthouse Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot - Lighthouse Way

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 47
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 47
Reviews Accepted: 47
Reviews Rejected: 0
47 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Lesley, 3 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic holiday from start to finish. We were beautifully looked after at every step.

We walked the Lighthouse Way in Galicia. On Foot talked us through the route, and suggested changes to suit our needs. The route and accommodation exceeded our expectations, and the local guide Aznar was very helpful with advice and sorting any issues that arose.

We walked the Lighthouse Way in Galicia. On Foot talked us through the route, and suggested changes to suit our needs. The route and accommodation exceeded our expectations, and the local guide Aznar was very helpful with advice and sorting any issues that arose.

Rating for tour operator:

Great route and interesting local accommodation that was friendly and comfortable. We were in lovely places we'd never have found ourselves. Our local guide Aznar was a star with excellent advice and prompt help when required.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by KateY, 4 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous trip

We walked the Lighthouse Way with On Foot. Everything, from the accommodation and hosts, luggage pickups, route plans and GPS was well organised and excellent. Food also excellent and we got some great recommendations for places to eat. It meant we could focus on the gorgeous walk, safe in the knowledge that everything else was taken care of.

We walked the Lighthouse Way with On Foot. Everything, from the accommodation and hosts, luggage pickups, route plans and GPS was well organised and excellent. Food also excellent and we got some great recommendations for places to eat. It meant we could focus on the gorgeous walk, safe in the knowledge that everything else was taken care of.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot....really nice people, and everything was so well organised for us. We've already recommended them to our walking friends!

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Dennis, 1 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walk on the Camino dos Faros

A truly great walk along the Galician coast from Laxe to Finisterra. Beautiful wild flowers in late May. On Foot lodging selection was great and their local representative, Aznar, was always available to assist.

A truly great walk along the Galician coast from Laxe to Finisterra. Beautiful wild flowers in late May. On Foot lodging selection was great and their local representative, Aznar, was always available to assist.

Rating for tour operator:

From office staff to local representative to taxi drivers all provided personal service to make for a perfect hike. A pleasure to do business with. Great support materials like maps, descriptions and history.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Rosemary from Montana, 26 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Galicia's Lighthouse Way

Five female friends in our 60's hiked the 10 day itinerary of the Lighthouse Way. This is an existing route established about 10 years ago. The path followed the undulating northwestern coast of Spain's Galicia region. The route follows the coast and is well marked with small green dots and arrows. We hiked from 9-14 miles (14 - 24 km) daily. The route was along sea cliffs with the waves crashing below. It crossed a dozen almost deserted white ...

Five female friends in our 60's hiked the 10 day itinerary of the Lighthouse Way. This is an existing route established about 10 years ago. The path followed the undulating northwestern coast of Spain's Galicia region. The route follows the coast and is well marked with small green dots and arrows. We hiked from 9-14 miles (14 - 24 km) daily. The route was along sea cliffs with the waves crashing below. It crossed a dozen almost deserted white sand beaches, with us stopping often to swim or nap. Many times we were hiking up mountains along the coast to windmill farms or at sea level walking along flat paths through the woods. The weather was fabulous with a breeze off the ocean. Our final day had rain. We passed through tiny hamlets, fishing villages and small towns. We visited numerous light houses along the way and stayed in an old lighthouse on the last day. All of the lodging choices we amazing small bed and breakfasts, country inns or small family run hotels. The meals were fabulous with about1/3 of them supplied by our hosts. The local Onfoot contact Aznar kept and eye on us checking in daily and arranging taxi transfers or suggesting dining options. This is one of the best vacations I didn't have to plan myself. I would do another trip with Onfoot in a heartbeat!

Rating for tour operator:

Onfoot always responded to our emails very promptly. They answered all of our questions very thoroughly and were very personable. They were patient with us when we were slow to submit required information. They way the trips are designed, the routes, the lodging choices, the restaurant suggestions, the luggage transport, and the local contact were all spot on. We felt well taken care of but not pampered. The maps and route notes were outstanding and arrived in time for us to review them before the trip. Everyone was very kind and helpful especially our local contact who checked in on us including one hiker who got sick.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Angie, 11 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Coastal Route with Great Accommodation

I returned a couple of weeks ago from a perfect holiday walking the Camino dos Faros. This was one of the best holidays I can recall. Everything went according to plan: the accommodation was excellent and varied; the walking superb throughout. Aznar was the perfect contact, helping me with options of restaurants that could cater for my demanding diet, among other offers of help and advice.. I am vegetarian out of choice, but have to avoid gluten, ...

I returned a couple of weeks ago from a perfect holiday walking the Camino dos Faros. This was one of the best holidays I can recall. Everything went according to plan: the accommodation was excellent and varied; the walking superb throughout. Aznar was the perfect contact, helping me with options of restaurants that could cater for my demanding diet, among other offers of help and advice.. I am vegetarian out of choice, but have to avoid gluten, this combination placing extra demands in an area not frequented by overseas tourists. I can't tell you how therapeutic this route proved to be. I had booked the holiday about two and a half years earlier, and of course, it had to be postponed. The views were superb, with the sound of the sea almost always close at hand. However, the route also involved crossing areas of huge sand dunes and following lengthy river inlets, with local birdlife prolific. Certain species such as the Kentish plover are offered nesting protection. There was also a great variety of wild flowers throughout the route. I came across very few people en route. On Foot Holidays offered short cuts if necessary, with taxi journeys always offered, as some of the days' walking were lengthy. I personally didn't use these alternatives, as I was keen to walk all day every day! This company is thorough, with nothing omitted. I can only urge others to go on their walking holidays. I personally had a few days after the holiday in Santiago de Compostela and then a couple of days in Vigo in order to take a day trip to the Cies Islands. I loved this group of islands, a nature reserve part of the Atlantic Islands National Park, with four well signed hiking trails. Vigo is a vibrant and beautiful city, and of course, Santiago's sights are already well known as the culmination for a number of the Camino routes. I found the sheer numbers a little overwhelming after the relative isolation of the Camino dos Faros, and preferred Vigo in many ways. Thank you On Foot Holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays omitted nothing from the itinerary. They offered information about travel to the start and end points of the route. The notes accompanying the actual route were thorough, facilitating ease of route finding. Accommodation was varied and always comfortable, with my diet always catered for (not always easy). Aznar, the contact, offered valuable information and often arranged a suitable restaurant for the evening that could cater for me. I will definitely seek out their holidays again. There were alternatives available for those not wishing to do the whole route every day, although I always wanted to complete the full itinerary on offer.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Stronger Each Year, 20 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Stunning and challenging coastal walk

We spent 9 days walking The Lighthouse Way over 10 days total. Lots of great prep and information and real time support from the folks at On Foot.

We spent 9 days walking The Lighthouse Way over 10 days total. Lots of great prep and information and real time support from the folks at On Foot.

Rating for tour operator:

Prepared us well and our incountry contact was responsive, flexible and very helpful.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Andalona, 29 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful walk along the north coast of Spain

Camino dos Faros, 7 day walk

Camino dos Faros, 7 day walk

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot handled everything beautifully, in these challenging times

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by LauraS, 14 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Lighthouse Way, Galicia, Spain

Walking, swimming, eating and drinking, sleeping

Walking, swimming, eating and drinking, sleeping

Rating for tour operator:

Very conscientious, paid attention to detail, thought of everything

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by DavidE, 8 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

A Slice of Heaven in Northwest Spain

We hiked the Camino dos Faros along the Costa da Morte in Galicia Spain. Stayed at some lovely small hotels and B&B’s in quaint little fishing villages, with excellent service and friendly staff. The restaurants for the most part were top notch and the seafood was the best we have ever tasted. The hiking was challenging at times, and the beauty of the area is unparalleled. Galicia is like a little slice of heaven

We hiked the Camino dos Faros along the Costa da Morte in Galicia Spain. Stayed at some lovely small hotels and B&B’s in quaint little fishing villages, with excellent service and friendly staff. The restaurants for the most part were top notch and the seafood was the best we have ever tasted. The hiking was challenging at times, and the beauty of the area is unparalleled. Galicia is like a little slice of heaven

Rating for tour operator:

Working with On Foot Holidays was a real pleasure. All of the staff I worked with were very friendly, professional, efficient, and knowledgeable. They were always very prompt in responding to questions, and the “walkers pack” they provided was very comprehensive. I will have no problem recommending them, or working with them in the future.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Yongate, 12 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

The best ever

We walked along the Atlantic coast in Spain, the Camino de Morte!!? It was staggeringly beautiful, remote, unspoilt. There were 11 of us(all women, all in our ‘silver’years). We’ve walked all over together and the Lighthouse Way is definitely one of the best. The hotels were brilliant, better than we expected and the food, especially sea food , was staggeringly good, probably the freshest fish we’ve ever had. Finishing at Finisterre, the end ...

We walked along the Atlantic coast in Spain, the Camino de Morte!!? It was staggeringly beautiful, remote, unspoilt. There were 11 of us(all women, all in our ‘silver’years). We’ve walked all over together and the Lighthouse Way is definitely one of the best. The hotels were brilliant, better than we expected and the food, especially sea food , was staggeringly good, probably the freshest fish we’ve ever had. Finishing at Finisterre, the end of the world, was a high moment. We laughed, drank, ate, walked in the sun in fantastic scenery, what more can you ask for?

Rating for tour operator:

They help you plan, what is, a perfect holiday for you. Tailor made to comfort level. We like knowing they are there for back up if anything goes wrong. And it did, they sorted problems in minutes ( literally) . They are soooo friendly on the phone, I feel as though I know them. They’ve been to where we go, checking and looking at venues and routes. They KNOW their business which fills me with confidence. There is no comparison to other companies, they are the best.