AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Catalonia

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 11
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 11
Reviews Accepted: 11
Reviews Rejected: 0
11 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by Lojeslj, 4 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing journey thru the Pyrenees

On Foot Holidays created an exceptional vacation for us. They were very helpful with planning, and while in-country, the trip was seamless. The materials provided for the trek were highly detailed, the towns, hotels, and restaurants were perfect, and the local support was very helpful. The trails were by and large well marked and easy to follow. The views were beautiful. We particularly enjoyed the small towns we stayed in. They were pictur...

On Foot Holidays created an exceptional vacation for us. They were very helpful with planning, and while in-country, the trip was seamless. The materials provided for the trek were highly detailed, the towns, hotels, and restaurants were perfect, and the local support was very helpful. The trails were by and large well marked and easy to follow. The views were beautiful. We particularly enjoyed the small towns we stayed in. They were picturesque, and seemed less traveled. It felt like we had the Pyrenees to ourselves.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was prompt with communications and very easy to work with. They supplied detailed notes, maps, and instructions for the walk, as well as several contacts in country. I'd highly recommend a vacation with them.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by VickyW, 27 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Walking in the hills of Catalonia

Fantastic walks, well off the beaten path. We barely saw another person during our hikes. The scenery was amazing and although the weather was cloudy and sometimes rainy we still thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Fantastic walks, well off the beaten path. We barely saw another person during our hikes. The scenery was amazing and although the weather was cloudy and sometimes rainy we still thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Our first On Foot Holiday and was everything we hoped for and more. Very helpful Home Office Staff, always prompt and helpful with replies to my e-mails. The walkers pack was very useful in preparing for our trip. All the details of our routes, transfers and meals were expertly organized and there were no issues during our holiday. Our accommodations were comfortable and the various hosts we met we all very friendly. The routes themselves were amazing!

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by VickyW, 27 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Walking in the hills of Catalonia

Fantastic walks, well off the beaten path. We barely saw another person during our hikes. The scenery was amazing and although the weather was cloudy and sometimes rainy we still thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Fantastic walks, well off the beaten path. We barely saw another person during our hikes. The scenery was amazing and although the weather was cloudy and sometimes rainy we still thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Our first On Foot Holiday and was everything we hoped for and more. Very helpful Home Office Staff, always prompt and helpful with replies to my e-mails. The walkers pack was very useful in preparing for our trip. All the details of our routes, transfers and meals were expertly organized and there were no issues during our holiday. Our accommodations were comfortable and the various hosts we met we all very friendly. The routes themselves were amazing!

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by Mr Jumbles, 8 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular scenery and great hiking in La Garrotxa in Catalonia

My children, aged 10 and 9, did a 6 day hike in La Garrotxa in Catalonia. The organisation on the part of On Foot was faultless and we very much enjoyed the trip on the whole. There was one day when we got quite wet but other than that the weather was wonderful. The hike contained some fairly steep uphill sections but, by and large, the kids managed it all quite easily

My children, aged 10 and 9, did a 6 day hike in La Garrotxa in Catalonia. The organisation on the part of On Foot was faultless and we very much enjoyed the trip on the whole. There was one day when we got quite wet but other than that the weather was wonderful. The hike contained some fairly steep uphill sections but, by and large, the kids managed it all quite easily

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot worked out daily hiking itineraries for our trip and we pretty much followed these. The itinerary contained detailed route notes and a GPX file which I used on my iPhone in case the notes were difficult to follow. On Foot also organised our accommodation at the end of each day and the hotels took our bags to the next hotel. All of this worked well and there were no issues to speak of. On Foot also supplied cultural and history notes about the area.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by Moonraker, 9 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful Spring Walking Holiday

Walking in the Catalan hills and staying in small hotels and farmhouses. The routes and accommodation were all arranged by On Foot Holidays, with the luggage being delivered each day.

Walking in the Catalan hills and staying in small hotels and farmhouses. The routes and accommodation were all arranged by On Foot Holidays, with the luggage being delivered each day.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and very helpful. Everything had been thought through. Passage of information excellent. Good people.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by Helen, 19 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Catalonia. An excellent walking holiday in an interesting area.

We loved the walking in Catalonia. The mountains were dramatic and each day was different in scenery. We were blessed with lovely hot weather in October. Mostly we met no other walkers except at the weekend when local come from the towns to pick mushrooms. We enjoyed the solitude, the grandeur of the mountains and the wild flowers and fruits. Everywhere we went the locals were friendly, for the most part we ate well, slept well and returned ...

We loved the walking in Catalonia. The mountains were dramatic and each day was different in scenery. We were blessed with lovely hot weather in October. Mostly we met no other walkers except at the weekend when local come from the towns to pick mushrooms. We enjoyed the solitude, the grandeur of the mountains and the wild flowers and fruits. Everywhere we went the locals were friendly, for the most part we ate well, slept well and returned fit and refreshed. It worked well to add on a few days in Barcelona, only 1 1/2 hours away by bus from the final destination.

Rating for tour operator:

We are regular walkers with On Foot and find that their service is second to none. They take the trouble to cater for each customer as individuals and design each holiday to suit any special circumstances if at all possible. The routes are wonderfully planned and every detail is taken care of; from baggage handling to special diets and from transport advice to local information on fauna and flora. Care is taken to choose accommodation with a personal touch wherever possible, a variety of individual guesthouses that you would never find yourself but are just right. Good food is a priority too. There are comprehensive walking notes and maps so you never get lost but can just enjoy the walking.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by Derek, 3 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Catalonia

A 5 day walk through Garrotxa self guided. Great notes that left nothing to chance and great accommodation too. Luggage transfer went without a hitch.

A 5 day walk through Garrotxa self guided. Great notes that left nothing to chance and great accommodation too. Luggage transfer went without a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays very helpful and had everything covered.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by Strider, 11 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk in Catalonia

We walked in the Garroxta area of Catalonia with On Foot Holidays for 7 days from Beguda north west of Girona airport to Olot, staying at hotels, hostals and a farmhouse. On Foot provided the organisation, and arranged accommodation and luggage transfer. We walked through fantastic scenery including extinct volcanoes, towering cliffs, rivers and pastures. A great way to get away from everything and everyone with comfortable overnight stays.

We walked in the Garroxta area of Catalonia with On Foot Holidays for 7 days from Beguda north west of Girona airport to Olot, staying at hotels, hostals and a farmhouse. On Foot provided the organisation, and arranged accommodation and luggage transfer. We walked through fantastic scenery including extinct volcanoes, towering cliffs, rivers and pastures. A great way to get away from everything and everyone with comfortable overnight stays.

Rating for tour operator:

We couldn't fault On Foot's organisation, indeed they went beyond what we expected and there were no hitches at all. Their local rep in Besalu went out of his way to help when I broke a tooth on day one. He located a dentist in Figueres and drove me there and back. All the accommodations were excellent, each having its own special appeal. Luggage transfer were efficient. It left us to enjoy the walk without any worries. We also appreciated On Foot's GPX files of the walk so on the few occasions we were unsure of the trail, we could establish our position relative to the trail and make the necessary correction.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by bigadore, 7 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Garrotxa Grandeur

My wife and I hiked six days in the Garrotxa region of Catalunya northwest of Barcelona. The route selected provided a fine mix of forest and flora, mediaeval villages, fascinating and spectacular geography. We'd been told to expect afternoon thundershowers at that time of year (September) but the weather turned out to be glorious -- sunny and clear, not a drop of rain. We hiked up to 20 km a day, climbing as much as 800 m, which was just about ...

My wife and I hiked six days in the Garrotxa region of Catalunya northwest of Barcelona. The route selected provided a fine mix of forest and flora, mediaeval villages, fascinating and spectacular geography. We'd been told to expect afternoon thundershowers at that time of year (September) but the weather turned out to be glorious -- sunny and clear, not a drop of rain. We hiked up to 20 km a day, climbing as much as 800 m, which was just about right for us 60-somethings. The hike gave us a trove of excellent photos and very positive memories.

Rating for tour operator:

Our arrangements (hotels, luggage transfer, navigation instructions etc.) were made by On Foot and they were all first-rate. We had no prior experience with On Foot so we didn't know what to expect but, looking at our experience in the rear-view mirror, we have nothing but good things to say about On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by MikeG, 7 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Catalunia

Excellent choice of accomodation, good maps for the walks, and good food - what more could you want. Very interesting walks with a variety of scenario.

Excellent choice of accomodation, good maps for the walks, and good food - what more could you want. Very interesting walks with a variety of scenario.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and knowledgeable.