AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Andalucia

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 28
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 28
Reviews Accepted: 28
Reviews Rejected: 0
28 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by mcwarr, 1 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

A real away from it all holiday

Walking in the Sierra de Grazelema in Andalusia was Wonderful. It is quiet, beautiful and unspoilt. In terms of distance it is an hour and a half from the Costa del Sol but light years away as a holiday experience. Forget the beaches and go inland to encounter the people of Spain and their true culture. It was a self guided walking holiday takien by my husband and myself. We walked from white village to white village through stunning countryside ...

Walking in the Sierra de Grazelema in Andalusia was Wonderful. It is quiet, beautiful and unspoilt. In terms of distance it is an hour and a half from the Costa del Sol but light years away as a holiday experience. Forget the beaches and go inland to encounter the people of Spain and their true culture. It was a self guided walking holiday takien by my husband and myself. We walked from white village to white village through stunning countryside only coming across the odd shepherd with his goats or the occasional farmer. This was in contrast to walking up Snowdon in North Wales two weeks previously when we had to queue on the pass to reach the summit!

Rating for tour operator:

To the credit of On Foot Holidays their organisational skills are exceptional. They had thought of everything from comprehensive walking notes for self guiding, to emergency phone numbers and even a train timetable for us as our itinerary included train journeys. Their taxi driver ferried us as arranged and our luggage from hotel to hotel without any problems. The hotel choices were superb. Finally On Foot provide a very personal and professional service, something that is sadly lacking nowadays among holiday companies. I would definitely recommend booking with On Foot. I also hope to book another holiday with them in the not too distant future.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by the border reivers, 18 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

A real discovery of a fascinating region.

A walking holiday of great variety - Each day's walking was different. The detailed notes that went with the holiday (compiled by someone on the ground in the area) immensely enhanced our enjoyment and appreciation of the place. Accomodation was of a high standard throughout.

A walking holiday of great variety - Each day's walking was different. The detailed notes that went with the holiday (compiled by someone on the ground in the area) immensely enhanced our enjoyment and appreciation of the place. Accomodation was of a high standard throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and ready to deal with specific enquiries in advance. The quality of the information sent out for the holiday was first class.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Stella, 18 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great Walking Holiday in Andalucia over New Year

Our week's holiday in Andalucia was great – blue skies, sunny, but cold in the shade, beautiful scenery, nice hotels, friendly people, good food and really excellent walks. We had picnics on each of the 5 walking days and spent the last day looking round Ronda – a stunning town with Moorish architecture, a bull ring and many of the buildings teetering right on the edge of a gorge. The views from the bridge down into the gorge really take your ...

Our week's holiday in Andalucia was great – blue skies, sunny, but cold in the shade, beautiful scenery, nice hotels, friendly people, good food and really excellent walks. We had picnics on each of the 5 walking days and spent the last day looking round Ronda – a stunning town with Moorish architecture, a bull ring and many of the buildings teetering right on the edge of a gorge. The views from the bridge down into the gorge really take your breath away.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent advice and information when planning and booking the holiday. They answered any queries and adapted our holiday as we wanted to go over the New Year when their usual hotel was closed. The information pack contained everything required - full walk descriptions, maps and a background information booklet. Meticulous planning must go in to the choice of walks and written descriptions - they are completely accurate. This is our second holiday with On Foot and we will certainly book with them again. They always choose good, small hotels with lots of character, the walks are exceptionally good - going off the beaten track travelling through fantastic scenery.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by JSRLEX, 14 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Footloose in Andalucia

Our eighth European walking vacation, our first with On Foot Holidays, proved to be an extremely well conceived, rewarding journey among the small, beautiful white hill towns of Zahara de la Sierra, Grazalema, Benaocaz, Benaojan, and Ronda. The walking routes themselves were varied in terrain, pristine, and extremely interesting; the accompanying notes were utterly reliable and informative, and filled with valuable historical and natural context; ...

Our eighth European walking vacation, our first with On Foot Holidays, proved to be an extremely well conceived, rewarding journey among the small, beautiful white hill towns of Zahara de la Sierra, Grazalema, Benaocaz, Benaojan, and Ronda. The walking routes themselves were varied in terrain, pristine, and extremely interesting; the accompanying notes were utterly reliable and informative, and filled with valuable historical and natural context; and the accommodations and food recommendations were exactly right. This was a more adventuresome walk for us than those we have taken on extensively way marked routes in the UK, France, or Germany, and we found the experience very satisfying, given On Foot's remarkably thorough, responsive, and engaging support, from booking through arrival in Malaga and on the ground as we began our walk. Among the best walking vacations we have enjoyed, in territory new to us, and convenient for further explorations in Cordoba, Granada, and Malaga as well.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot's route planning and booking are personal, responsive, informative, and completely reliable. Fast answers to queries, engaged and interested service from the UK, and--surprising to us, and beyond expectations--upon arrival to begin our walk in Spain. An outstanding operating, with whom we will absolutely travel again. On Foot's team feel personal, available, and devoted to YOU as a traveler, in a handcrafted, supportive way.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Andalucian, 29 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exactly what we hoped for

This was a self-guided walking holiday where we walked between hotels carrying a day pack. The rest of our luggage was transported "out of sight". The walks were well described and quite wonderful. The hotels were, without exception, excellent without being over the top. Each one had its own quirky charm.

This was a self-guided walking holiday where we walked between hotels carrying a day pack. The rest of our luggage was transported "out of sight". The walks were well described and quite wonderful. The hotels were, without exception, excellent without being over the top. Each one had its own quirky charm.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays' organisation was excellent. From the knowledge base of the staff at the time of booking all the way through to the holiday itself. Excellent choice of hotels, thoughtful board choices, attention to detail around "day off" options and potential taxi needs through to very detailed walking notes and maps (certainly needed in our case). Thoroughly recommended.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Mr S B 15, 28 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

A self-guided walking holiday in Andalucia.

We had six days' of walking In the Grazalema Natural Park in Andalucia, followed by two days relaxing in Ronda. The walking took us off the beaten track through very varied countryside, with spectacular views and opportunities to see wildlife such as eagles and vultures. The accommodation provided en route was excellent, with all our hosts being very welcoming and helpful. The food was also a major highlight of this trip!

We had six days' of walking In the Grazalema Natural Park in Andalucia, followed by two days relaxing in Ronda. The walking took us off the beaten track through very varied countryside, with spectacular views and opportunities to see wildlife such as eagles and vultures. The accommodation provided en route was excellent, with all our hosts being very welcoming and helpful. The food was also a major highlight of this trip!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays again provided the efficient and seamless service we have come to expect from them. In an age of 'select a number' phone systems, it is a breath of fresh air to have your call answered straightaway by a real person, who immediately knows who you are and has full details of your trip to hand. This was our fourth holiday with them and we plan to work through as many of their trips as we can over the next few years!

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by misanthrope, 25 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

brilliant organisation

The success of a Self-guided walking holiday depends on preparation and backup. Our walking holiday in Andalucia was a great success because the guidance was brilliant and the accommodation, etc were great. we were even able to change what we did on the last day the previous evening!

The success of a Self-guided walking holiday depends on preparation and backup. Our walking holiday in Andalucia was a great success because the guidance was brilliant and the accommodation, etc were great. we were even able to change what we did on the last day the previous evening!

Rating for tour operator:

Incredibly helpful.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Roy, 18 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Delightful from start to finish.

The walks were along very interesting routes and the accommodation was always a pleasant surprise at the end of the day. Having your luggage transferred adds to the overall enjoyment of the trip.

The walks were along very interesting routes and the accommodation was always a pleasant surprise at the end of the day. Having your luggage transferred adds to the overall enjoyment of the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Without fail they are very pleasant to deal with and efficient in every detail. They demonstrate a really caring attitude to their clients. Nothing is too much trouble.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Dan, 17 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Andalucian Cultural Trek

My On Foot Andalucian holiday was very memorable. I loved getting into the ancient heart of Andalucia, hiking through antique olive orchards and pastures that were created by hand centuries ago. We hiked down an 1800 year old Roman road. We climbed an ancient watchtower. We passed by countless stone fences from time immemorial, some very high in the mountains, that told the agricultural history of the area. And we passed by flocks of goat and ...

My On Foot Andalucian holiday was very memorable. I loved getting into the ancient heart of Andalucia, hiking through antique olive orchards and pastures that were created by hand centuries ago. We hiked down an 1800 year old Roman road. We climbed an ancient watchtower. We passed by countless stone fences from time immemorial, some very high in the mountains, that told the agricultural history of the area. And we passed by flocks of goat and sheep, sometimes with attending shepherds, that made it a living history. I marveled at the connection I felt with the history of this area throughout the holiday. The hike was well thought out. The lengths were perfect for a challenging daily trek ,but allowing enough time to find our hotels, freshen up, and head out for some daily tapas and exploration of the local town. i will remember this holiday for it's beauty, solitude and unique cultural experience for years to come. I have already spread the word about On Foot Holidays to friends and family and am looking at booking future trips for myself. I highly recommend On Foot to anyone who is looking for a genuine cultural experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The service provided by On Foot Holidays exceeded my expectations. The level of organization was perfect. On Foot thought of every detail, from packing tips, to help with travel suggestions to and from the route. In addition they personalized the experience by helping coordinate my trip with the trip of another client and close friend of mine. Though we made separate bookings On Foot knew that we planned to hike together and went out of their way to book us in the same hotels and restaurants when possible. From booking questions through travel preparation and finally in follow up On Foot was very responsive. Emails were returned promptly and all questions were addressed directly and thoroughly and with a cheery tone. I couldn't be happier with On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by pp, 8 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Joyful walking in stunning nature

We walked in Andalucia through breathtaking scenery and enjoyed every day. Months later we still reminisce.

We walked in Andalucia through breathtaking scenery and enjoyed every day. Months later we still reminisce.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was as described. Nothing but positive dealings. Super happy with OnFoot holidays.