AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Andalucia

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 34
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 34
Reviews Accepted: 34
Reviews Rejected: 0
34 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Lans, 8 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Andalucia (Spain): mountains, valleys and white-washed villages.

In short: OUTSDANDING. 8 nights (6 days of walking) through the beautiful Grazalema area, ending in Ronda. Breathtaking scenery, challenging (for me) walking on stunning trails with few, if any, other people around. Cozy, homey accommodation and superb food. And as an extra bonus perfect weather during the entire trip.

In short: OUTSDANDING. 8 nights (6 days of walking) through the beautiful Grazalema area, ending in Ronda. Breathtaking scenery, challenging (for me) walking on stunning trails with few, if any, other people around. Cozy, homey accommodation and superb food. And as an extra bonus perfect weather during the entire trip.

Rating for tour operator:

I became aware of OnFoot after reading a travel article (published in 2019) in the Washington Post about their ‘Galicia – Lighthouse Way’ walk. Was immediately intrigued and booked the trip shortly thereafter. After Covid delays, in 2021 I walked the Lighthouse way and did the ‘Mallorca: Sierra de Tramuntana’ journey. I’ve been hooked on OnFoot ever since. Besides the extremely well-planned itineraries, stunning (and challenging) walking, great accommodation, and food their service, client focus, and general competence have exceeded my expectations. I can reiterate this as I’ve now done four of their walks (added Andalucia and ‘Basque Country to San Sebastian’ walks this year). I travel on my own and OnFoot have an explicit policy of not over-charging single travelers, which I greatly appreciate. Finally, I find the trips to be extremely good value. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Andie, 9 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A really memorable holiday

We enjoyed the walks in Andalucia so much and everything was so incredibly well organised that the stress of travelling and route finding was completely removed.

We enjoyed the walks in Andalucia so much and everything was so incredibly well organised that the stress of travelling and route finding was completely removed.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by JohnN, 1 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A first rate walking holiday in a beautiful part of Spain

This was an eight day walking tour of the 'pueblos blancos' of the Grazelema area of Andalucia. The holiday was impeccably planned by On Foot. The hotels were all a delight to stay in, all small locally run establishments with friendly and helpful staff. Transfers of luggage (and on two days, of us) were pre arranged and this worked well. The walks were all great. They were all well known to the local contact who has published books on walking ...

This was an eight day walking tour of the 'pueblos blancos' of the Grazelema area of Andalucia. The holiday was impeccably planned by On Foot. The hotels were all a delight to stay in, all small locally run establishments with friendly and helpful staff. Transfers of luggage (and on two days, of us) were pre arranged and this worked well. The walks were all great. They were all well known to the local contact who has published books on walking in this area, and he gave detailed and helpful descriptions of the routes with an accompaying map. We were also sent a gpx file so that all the routes could be viewed on our mobile phones as we proceeded, and position checked with GPS. We hardly had to use the phones but it was reassuring to have this. The walks were mostly moderate, at most 18 km with several hundred metres of ascent, we found the estimated times were pretty accurate which helped us plan our days. The walks themselves were varied, interesting and through quiet and beautiful landscapes (on our two longest days we met nobody at all en route). Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys walking.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot have offered an excellent service throughout. Our first holiday planned with them was in March 2020 and had to be cancelled due to the Covid outbreak in Spain. They were very supportive and offered a refund or rebooking later. This was really appreciated, it must have been a very worrying and stressful time for all in the business but this was never evident in our conversations with them. Whatever was going on, their public face was calm reassuring and helpful. Our holiday was eventually in April 2022. Throughout On Foot were very good. Their website is eay to use with clear information. They responded very quickly to contacts - mostly by email, but they were also very helpful over the phone too. The itinerary and costs were very clear. The team were able to make specific suggestions (eg about room types at specific hotels, places to eat etc) and had good first hand knowledge of the area, specific travel issues (eg the online Covid documentation for Spain etc). The holiday itself was very good, the route and stays had been carefully selected. We were travelling to Granada independently after our On Foot holiday ended and the team kindly send us information on travel arrangements to get there from Ronda. Overall, the On Foot team are highly recommended.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by LizF, 27 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

On Foot - Andalucia - 6 nights

A fantastic trip for a family of 4 (including two teenagers!) with excellent walks, super walking notes as well as fantastic general guidance from On Foot. Their organisation of the trip was fabulous. Wonderful hotels, great food suggestions, and seamless organisation.

A fantastic trip for a family of 4 (including two teenagers!) with excellent walks, super walking notes as well as fantastic general guidance from On Foot. Their organisation of the trip was fabulous. Wonderful hotels, great food suggestions, and seamless organisation.

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic. Besides the above, the advice they gave us concerning travelling in light of the pandemic was very sensible. They were friendly, approachable and everything ran like clockwork.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by A&B, 18 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Marvellous self guided walk

Very well organised self guided walk in the Andalusian hills, staying in lovely white painted villages.

Very well organised self guided walk in the Andalusian hills, staying in lovely white painted villages.

Rating for tour operator:

Feels like we’re ‘phoning friends when we book a walk. Nothing’s too much trouble

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Ms A P 22, 10 Feb 2022
Holiday Rating:

Andalusia

We walked from Zahara de La Sierra to Ronda. We took five days and then did an extra two days of sightseeing and walking in Ronda. We started January 25 and had consistently sunny weather with highs of about 16 degrees. It felt like 22 at midday. The mountains and hills which we walked through were spectacular. We saw ibex, lots of birds, a fox and mini farm animals. It was a mixture of hiking on trails and walking on small roads and dirt tracks ...

We walked from Zahara de La Sierra to Ronda. We took five days and then did an extra two days of sightseeing and walking in Ronda. We started January 25 and had consistently sunny weather with highs of about 16 degrees. It felt like 22 at midday. The mountains and hills which we walked through were spectacular. We saw ibex, lots of birds, a fox and mini farm animals. It was a mixture of hiking on trails and walking on small roads and dirt tracks The accommodations were all charming and it was heroic of On Foot Holidays to find us lodging in the middle of winter.

Rating for tour operator:

It is a company based in the UK which we have used in the past for walking in England. They are extremely responsive and well organized and have terrific local contacts. They also have identified excellent lodgings on both our walks. The route notes are excellent, better than other walking companies we used before we discovered On Foot. This is a fabulous way to experience “slow travel”.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by O'swinedup, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Andalucia Walking Tour

Working with On Foot Holidays, my family (myself, my wife, our 2 adult daughters and my son-in-law) hiked in the area of the Grazalema National Park in Andalucia, Spain.

Working with On Foot Holidays, my family (myself, my wife, our 2 adult daughters and my son-in-law) hiked in the area of the Grazalema National Park in Andalucia, Spain.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays made all of the arrangements, including accommodations, walking directions, some of the meals, and some ground transportation. They were exceptionally well-organized and helpful, and a pleasure to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by JRR, 6 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking tour of the white villages in Andalucia Spain

We just finished a 6-day independent hike in Andalucia Spain supported by On Foot Holidays. They arranged our lodging, gave us detailed trail descriptions including a GPS file to help us navigate, and moved our luggage from inn to inn. The inns were all very comfortable and all of the logistics of our trip were handled without any problems.

We just finished a 6-day independent hike in Andalucia Spain supported by On Foot Holidays. They arranged our lodging, gave us detailed trail descriptions including a GPS file to help us navigate, and moved our luggage from inn to inn. The inns were all very comfortable and all of the logistics of our trip were handled without any problems.

Rating for tour operator:

We are already looking for another hiking trip sponsored by On Foot Holidays. The attention we got before the trip and the arrangements they made for our lodging, breakfasts, lunches, and luggage transfer were flawless.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Mrs F S 19, 20 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant Andalucía walk

6 of us walked from zahara to Ronda . All accommodation excellent but especially in zahara , los todeos . Walks easy to understand . Can’t fault on foot holidays everything went to plan . Will book again .

6 of us walked from zahara to Ronda . All accommodation excellent but especially in zahara , los todeos . Walks easy to understand . Can’t fault on foot holidays everything went to plan . Will book again .

Rating for tour operator:

Independent walking holiday specialist

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by F & D, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring a quiet corner of Spain

We walked in Andalusia, between some of the Pueblos Blancos, or white villages This holiday provided us with a great opportunity to experience the countryside and learn about the area's flora and fauna. We hiked through groves of cork oaks, passed through pastures of cows and black pigs and watched griffon vultures soar overhead. Our information package and walking instructions were very clear. The walking instructions were very clear ...

We walked in Andalusia, between some of the Pueblos Blancos, or white villages This holiday provided us with a great opportunity to experience the countryside and learn about the area's flora and fauna. We hiked through groves of cork oaks, passed through pastures of cows and black pigs and watched griffon vultures soar overhead. Our information package and walking instructions were very clear. The walking instructions were very clear and helpful, and the package of information provided us with interesting notes of the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays responded promptly to our initial inquiry, and from that point on, gave us detailed information and supported our trip planning. We were impressed that they have someone in the area we were planning to hike, whose role it is to review the trail and ensure that instructions were still accurate. This contact was also available if were to have difficulties, which was reassuring.